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Part III 11 80 

Index 22 162 

Section references are to the Internal 

Revenue Code unless otherwise noted. 

Future Developments 

For the latest information about 

developments related to Form 720 and its 

instructions, such as legislation enacted after 

they were published, go to IRS.gov/Form720. 

What's New 

The section 4261 airline ticket taxes 

and the section 4043 surtax on fuel 

used in a fractional ownership aircraft 

may expire during the quarter on March 8, 

2024. Also on that date, the section 4081 and 

4083 taxes on noncommercial aviation 

kerosene and gasoline may be lowered to the 

permanent $.043/gal rate. See Future 

Developments, earlier. 

https://www.irs.gov/form720
https://www.irs.gov/form720
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Inflation Adjustments for 2024 

Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106). The section 

4161 tax on arrow shafts is increased to 

$0.62 per arrow shaft. 

Transportation of persons by air (IRS No. 

26). The section 4261 tax on the amount 

paid for each domestic segment of taxable air 

transportation is increased to $5.00. 

Use of international air travel facilities 

(IRS No. 27).  The section 4261 tax on the 

amount paid for international flights is 

increased to $22.20 per person for flights that 

begin or end in the United States. The section 

4261 tax per person for domestic segments 

beginning or ending in Alaska or Hawaii is 

increased to $11.10 (applies only to 

departures). 

Reminders 

Superfund tax. The Inflation Reduction Act 

of 2022 (the Act) reinstates and increases the 



6 

section 4611 Hazardous Substance Superfund 

financing rate (petroleum Superfund tax rate) 

on domestic crude oil (IRS No. 53) and 

imported petroleum products (IRS No. 16), 

effective January 1, 2023 (the taxes 

previously expired on December 31,1995). 

The new IRS Nos. 53 and 16 are added to 

Form 720, Part I. 

Renewable diesel and kerosene changes. 

The Act made the following changes to the 

definition of renewable diesel and the 

treatment of kerosene, effective for fuel sold 

or used after 2022. 

• Renewable diesel no longer includes fuel 

derived from biomass that meets the 

requirements of a Department of Defense 

specification for military jet fuel or an 

American Society of Testing Materials 

(ASTM) specification for aviation turbine 

fuel. 
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• Kerosene is no longer treated as diesel 

fuel for purposes of the renewable diesel 

mixture credit. 

Sustainable aviation fuel credit. The Act 

created a sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) 

credit under sections 40B and 6426(k), 

effective January 1, 2023, so line 12d is 

added to Form 720, Schedule C. 

Liquefied hydrogen. The Act removed 

liquefied hydrogen from the definition of 

alternative fuel under section 6426(d)(2) for 

purposes of the alternative fuel credit and 

alternative fuel mixture credit for fuel sold or 

used after 2022. 

Kerosene used in aviation. Kerosene is 

generally taxed at $.244 per gallon unless a 

reduced rate applies. The $.244 per gallon tax 

rate applies to kerosene removals unless it is 

removed from a terminal or refinery (or a 

qualified refueler truck, tanker, or tank wagon 

that is treated as a terminal) directly into the 
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fuel tank of an aircraft. See Kerosene for use 

in aviation (IRS Nos. 69, 77, and 111), later. 

Butane mixture doesn’t qualify for a 

credit. A mixture of butane (or other gasoline 

blendstock) and gasoline is a mixture of two 

taxable fuels. Therefore, it isn’t an alternative 

fuel mixture and doesn’t qualify for the 

section 6426 alternative fuel mixture credit. 

See section 6426(e)(2) and Rev. Rul. 2018-

02 at IRS.gov/IRB/ 2018-02_IRB#RR-2018-

02. 

Reducing your excise tax liability. For 

federal income tax purposes, reduce your 

expense for the section 4081 excise tax, 

whether taken as a deduction or as a 

component of cost of goods sold, by the 

amount of excise tax credits allowable under 

sections 6426(c), (e), and (k) (biodiesel 

mixture, alternative fuel mixture, and SAF, 

respectively). Similarly, reduce your expense 

for the section 4041 excise tax, whether 

taken as a deduction or as a component of 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2018-02_IRB#RR-2018-02
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2018-02_IRB#RR-2018-02
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2018-02_IRB#RR-2018-02
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cost of goods sold, by the amount of excise 

tax credit allowable under section 6426(d) 

(alternative fuel credit). 

Exported gasoline blendstocks. Claims for 

exported gasoline blendstocks taxed at $.001 

per gallon are made on Schedule C, line 14b. 

Continue to use line 1b to make claims for 

exported gasoline blendstocks taxed at $.184 

per gallon. 

Electronic filing. You can electronically file 

Form 720 through any electronic return 

originator (ERO), transmitter, and/or 

intermediate service provider (ISP) 

participating in the IRS e-file program for 

excise taxes. For more information on e-file, 

go to Excise Tax e-File & Compliance (ETEC) 

Programs - Forms 720, 2290, and 8849. 

Federal tax deposits made by electronic 

funds transfer. Generally, you must use 

electronic funds transfer to make federal tax 

deposits, such as deposits of employment tax, 

excise tax (for exceptions, see Payment of 

https://www.irs.gov/e-file-providers/excise-tax-e-file-compliance-etec-programs-form-720-2290-and-8849
https://www.irs.gov/e-file-providers/excise-tax-e-file-compliance-etec-programs-form-720-2290-and-8849
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Taxes, later), and corporate income tax. 

Generally, electronic funds transfers are made 

using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment 

System (EFTPS). If you don't want to use 

EFTPS, you can arrange for your tax 

professional, financial institution, payroll 

service, or other trusted third party to make 

deposits on your behalf. EFTPS is a free 

service provided by the Department of the 

Treasury. 

To get more information about EFTPS or to 

enroll in EFTPS, go to EFTPS.gov or call 800-

555-4477. See Pub. 966. 

General Instructions 

Purpose of Form 

Use Form 720 and attachments to report your 

liability by IRS No. and pay the excise taxes 

listed on the form. If you report a liability on 

Part I or Part II, you may be eligible to use 

Schedule C to claim a credit. 

https://www.eftps.gov/
https://www.eftps.gov/
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Who Must File 

See Patient-centered outcomes 

research (PCOR) fee (IRS No. 133) in 

Part II for special rules about who 

must file to report the PCOR fee. 

You must file Form 720 if: 

• You were liable for, or responsible for 

collecting, any of the federal excise taxes 

listed on Form 720, Parts I and II, for a 

prior quarter and you haven’t filed a final 

return; or  

• You are liable for, or responsible for 

collecting, any of the federal excise taxes 

listed on Form 720, Parts I and II, for the 

current quarter. 

See How To File, later, for more information. 
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When To File 

You must file a return for each quarter of the 

calendar year as follows. 

Quarter covered Due by 

Jan., Feb., Mar. April 30 

Apr., May, June July 31 

July, Aug., Sept. October 31 

Oct., Nov., Dec. January 31 

If any due date for filing a return falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you may 

file the return on the next business day. 

Send your return to the IRS using the U.S. 

Postal Service or a designated private delivery 

service to meet the “timely mailing as timely 
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filing/paying” rule. See Private Delivery 

Services, later. 

Floor stocks tax. Report the floor stocks tax 

on ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS 

No. 20, on the return due by July 31 of each 

year. The tax payment is due by June 30. See 

Floor Stocks Tax, later. 

Where To File 

Send Form 720 to: 

Department of the Treasury 

Internal Revenue Service 

Ogden, UT 84201-0009 

How To File 

If you aren't reporting a tax that you normally 

report, enter a zero on the appropriate line on 

Form 720, Part I or II. Also, if you have no 

tax to report, enter “None” on Form 720, Part 

III, line 3; sign and date the return. If you file 

the second quarter Form 720 only to report 

the PCOR fee, no filing is required in other 
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quarters unless you have to report other fees 

or taxes. 

If you have adjustments to liabilities reported 

for prior quarters, see Form 720-X, Amended 

Quarterly Federal Excise Tax Return. Don't 

enter adjustments on Form 720. 

If you attach additional sheets, enter your 

name and EIN on each sheet. 

Final Return 

File a final return if you have been filing Form 

720 and you:  

1. Go out of business, or 

2. Won't owe excise taxes that are 

reportable on Form 720 in future 

quarters. 

If you are only filing to report zero tax 

and you won't owe excise tax in future 

quarters, check the Final return box 

above Part I of Form 720. 
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Recordkeeping 

Keep copies of your tax return, records, and 

accounts of all transactions to show that the 

correct tax has been paid. Keep records to 

support all claims and all exemptions at least 

4 years from the latest of the date: 

• The tax became due,  

• You paid the tax, or 

• You filed a claim. 

Penalties and Interest 

If you receive a notice about a penalty after 

you file this return, reply to the notice with an 

explanation and we will determine if you meet 

reasonable-cause criteria. Don't include an 

explanation when you file your return. 

Trust fund recovery penalty. If 

communications, air transportation, and 

indoor tanning services taxes are collected 

but not paid to the U.S. Treasury or are 

willfully not collected, the trust fund recovery 
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penalty may apply. The penalty is the full 

amount of the unpaid tax. 

The trust fund recovery penalty may be 

imposed on all persons who are determined 

by the IRS to be responsible for collecting, 

accounting for, and paying over these taxes, 

and who acted willfully in not doing so. 

A responsible person can be an officer or 

employee of a corporation, a partner or 

employee of a partnership, an employee of a 

sole proprietorship, an accountant, or a 

volunteer director/trustee. A responsible 

person may also include one who signs 

checks for the business or otherwise has 

authority to cause the spending of business 

funds. 

Willfully means voluntarily, consciously, and 

intentionally. A responsible person acts 

willfully if they know the required actions 

aren't taking place. 
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Additional Information 

You may find the following products helpful 

when preparing Form 720 and any 

attachments. 

• Pub. 510, Excise Taxes, contains 

definitions and examples that will help you 

prepare Form 720. Pub. 510 also contains 

information on fuel tax credits and 

refunds. 

• Pub. 509, Tax Calendars, has deposit and 

payment due dates for federal excise 

taxes listed in this publication.  

• Notice 2005-4 (fuel tax guidance), 2005-2 

I.R.B. 289, at IRS.gov/IRB/2005-

02_IRB#NOT-2005-4. 

• Notice 2005-24 (sales of gasoline on oil 

company credit cards), 2005-12 I.R.B. 

757, atIRS.gov/IRB/2005-12_IRB#NOT-

2005-24. 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-02_IRB#NOT-2005-4
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-02_IRB#NOT-2005-4
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-02_IRB#NOT-2005-4
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-12_IRB#NOT-2005-24
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-12_IRB#NOT-2005-24
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-12_IRB#NOT-2005-24
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• Notice 2005-62 (biodiesel and aviation-

grade kerosene), 2005-35 I.R.B. 443, 

atIRS.gov/IRB/2005-35_IRB#NOT-2005-

62. 

• Notice 2005-80 (LUST, kerosene, claims 

by credit card issuers, and mechanical dye 

injection), 2005-46 I.R.B. 953, at 

IRS.gov/IRB/2005-46_IRB#NOT-2005-80. 

• Notice 2006-92 (alternative fuels and 

mixtures), 2006-43 I.R.B. 774, 

atIRS.gov/IRB/2006-43_IRB#NOT-2006-

92. 

• Notice 2007-97 (alternative fuel and 

alternative fuel mixtures), 2007-49 I.R.B. 

1092, atIRS.gov/IRB/2007-49_IRB#NOT-

2007-97. 

• Notice 2008-110 (biodiesel and cellulosic 

biofuel), 2008-51 I.R.B. 1298, 

atIRS.gov/IRB/2008-51_IRB#NOT-2008-

110. 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-35_IRB#NOT-2005-62
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-35_IRB#NOT-2005-62
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-46_IRB#NOT-2005-80
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2005-46_IRB#NOT-2005-80
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2006-43_IRB#NOT-2006-92
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2006-43_IRB#NOT-2006-92
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2007-49_IRB#NOT-2007-97
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2007-49_IRB#NOT-2007-97
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2007-49_IRB#NOT-2007-97
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2008-51_IRB#NOT-2008-110
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2008-51_IRB#NOT-2008-110
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• Notice 2010-68 (Alaska dyed diesel 

exemption), 2010-44 I.R.B. 576, at 

IRS.gov/IRB/2010-44_IRB#NOT-2010-68.  

• Notice 2012-27 (fractional aircraft), 2012-

17 I.R.B. 849, at IRS.gov/IRB/2012-

17_IRB#NOT-2012-27. 

• Treasury Decision (T.D.) 9670 (tanning 

tax), 2014-29 I.R.B. 121, at 

IRS.gov/IRB/2014-29_IRB#TD-9670.  

• T.D. 9621 (indoor tanning), 2013-28 

I.R.B. 49, at IRS.gov/IRB/2013-

28_IRB#TD-9621. 

• Rev. Rul. 2016-03 (foreign reinsurance), 

2016-3 I.R.B. 282, at IRS.gov/IRB/2016-

03_IRB#RR-2016-03. 

• Rev. Rul. 2018-02 (butane mixture) at 

IRS.gov/IRB/ 2006-92_IRB#RR-2018-02. 

• Rev. Proc. 2023-34 (inflation 

adjustments), 2023-48 I.R.B., at 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2010-44_IRB#NOT-2010-68
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2012-17_IRB#NOT-2012-27
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2012-17_IRB#NOT-2012-27
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2012-17_IRB#NOT-2012-27
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2014-29_IRB#TD-9670
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2014-29_IRB#TD-9670
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2013-28_IRB#TD-9621
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2013-28_IRB#TD-9621
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2016-03_IRB#RR-2016-03
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2016-03_IRB#RR-2016-03
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-18-02.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-18-02.pdf
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IRS.gov/IRB/2023-48_IRB#REV-PROC-

2023-34. 

• Notice 2022-59 (patient-centered 

outcomes research (PCOR) fee), 2022-48 

I.R.B. 498, at IRS.gov/NOT-2022-59. 

• T.D. 9948 (exemption for amounts paid 

for certain aircraft management services) 

at IRS.gov/IRB/ 2021-06_IRB#TD-9948. 

• Notice 2023-6 (sustainable aviation fuel 

credit) at IRS.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-

06.pdf. 

• Announcement 2023-18 (stock buy backs) 

at IRS.gov/pub/ irs-drop/a-23-18.pdf. 

• Notice 2023-52 (sales of a designated 

drug during statutory period) at 

IRS.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-52.pdf. 

• Notice 2023-28 (reinstatement of the 

“Superfund” excise taxes) at 

IRS.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-28.pdf. 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-48_IRB#REV-PROC-2023-34
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-48_IRB#REV-PROC-2023-34
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-22-59.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-22-59.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2021-06_IRB#TD-9948
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2021-06_IRB#TD-9948
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2021-06_IRB#TD-9948
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-06.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-06.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-06.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/a-23-18.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/a-23-18.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/a-23-18.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-52.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-28.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-28.pdf
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• Rev. Proc. 2022-26 (request a 

determination that a substance be added 

to or removed from the list of taxable 

substances) at IRS.gov/IRB/2022-29. 

• Rev. Proc. 2023-20 (modifies the effective 

date of additions to the list of taxable 

substances) at IRS.gov/IRB/ 2023-15. 

• Notice 2024-6 (sustainable aviation fuel 

credit safe harbors) at IRS.gov/IRB/2024-

02_IRB#NOT-2024-6. 

Private Delivery Services (PDSs) 

You can use PDSs designated by the IRS to 

meet the “timely mailing as timely 

filing/paying” rule for tax returns and 

payments. Go to IRS.gov/PDS for the current 

list of designated services. The PDS can tell 

you how to get written proof of the mail date. 

For the IRS mailing address to use if you are 

using a PDS, go to 

IRS.gov/PDSStreetAddresses.  

 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2022-29_IRB#REV-PROC-2022-26
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-15_IRB#REV-PROC-2023-20
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-15_IRB#REV-PROC-2023-20
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-15_IRB#REV-PROC-2023-20
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2024-02_IRB#NOT-2024-6
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2024-02_IRB#NOT-2024-6
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2024-02_IRB#NOT-2024-6
https://www.irs.gov/pds
https://www.irs.gov/pdsstreetaddresses
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PDSs can’t deliver items to P.O. boxes. 

You must use the U.S. Postal Service 

to mail any item to an IRS P.O. box 

address. 

Photographs of Missing Children 

The IRS is a proud partner with the National 

Center for Missing & Exploited Children® 

(NCMEC). Photographs of missing children 

selected by the Center may appear in 

instructions on pages that would otherwise be 

blank. You can help bring these children home 

by looking at the photographs and calling 1-

800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678) if you 

recognize a child. 

Specific Instructions 

Name and Address 

Enter your name, address, and the quarter 

ending date (month and year). If your 

address changes, check the address change 

box above Form 720, Part I. 

https://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.missingkids.org/
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P.O. box. If the post office doesn't deliver 

mail to the street address and you have a 

P.O. box, show the box number instead of the 

street address. 

Foreign address. Follow the country's 

practice for entering the postal code. Don't 

abbreviate the country name. 

Employer Identification Number (EIN) 

Enter the correct EIN. If you are a one-time 

filer, you may not need an EIN. See Gas 

guzzler tax (IRS No. 40), later. If you don't 

have an EIN, you may apply for one online by 

going to IRS.gov/EIN. You may also apply for 

an EIN by faxing or mailing Form SS-4, 

Application for Employer Identification 

Number, to the IRS. 

Disregarded entities and qualified 

subchapter S subsidiaries. Qualified 

subchapter S subsidiaries (QSubs) and 

eligible single-owner disregarded entities are 

treated as separate entities for excise tax and 

https://www.irs.gov/ein
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reporting purposes. QSubs and eligible single-

owner disregarded entities must pay and 

report excise taxes (other than IRS Nos. 31, 

51, and 117), register for most excise tax 

activities, and claim any refunds, credits, and 

payments under their EINs. These actions 

can't take place under the owner's taxpayer 

identification number (TIN). Some QSubs and 

disregarded entities may already have an 

EIN. However, if you are unsure, please call 

the IRS Business and Specialty Tax Line at 

800-829-4933. 

Generally, QSubs and eligible single-owner 

disregarded entities will continue to be 

treated as disregarded entities for other 

federal tax purposes (other than employment 

taxes).  

Thus, taxpayers filing Form 4136, with Form 

1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, or 

1040-SR, U.S Tax Return for Seniors, can use 

the owner's TIN. For more information, see 

Regulations section 301.7701-2(c)(2). 
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Signature 

Form 720 must be signed by a person 

authorized by the entity to sign this return. 

Third Party Designee 

If you want to allow an employee of your 

business, a return preparer, or other third 

party to discuss your Form 720 with the IRS, 

check the “Yes” box on Form 720 under Third 

Party Designee. Also, enter the designee's 

name, phone number, and any five digits that 

person chooses as their personal identification 

number (PIN). 

By checking the “Yes” box, you are 

authorizing the IRS to speak with the 

designee to answer any questions relating to 

the processing of, or the information reported 

on, Form 720. You are also authorizing the 

designee to: 

• Exchange information concerning Form 

720 with the IRS,  
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and 

• Respond to certain IRS notices that you 

have shared with your designee relating to 

Form 720. The IRS won't send notices to 

your designee. 

You aren't authorizing the designee to receive 

any refund check, bind you to anything 

(including additional tax liability), or 

otherwise represent you before the IRS. If 

you want to expand the designee's authority, 

see Pub. 947, Practice Before the IRS and 

Power of Attorney. 

The authorization will automatically expire 1 

year from the due date (without regard to 

extensions) for filing your Form 720. If you or 

your designee wants to revoke this 

authorization, send a written statement of 

revocation to: 

Department of the Treasury 

Internal Revenue Service  

Cincinnati, OH 45999 
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See Pub. 947 for more information. 

Paid Preparer Use Only 

A paid preparer must sign Form 720 and 

provide the information in the Paid Preparer 

Use Only section at the end of the form if the 

preparer was paid to prepare the form and 

isn't an employee of the filing entity. The 

preparer must give you a copy of the form in 

addition to the copy to be filed with the IRS. 

If you are a paid preparer, enter your 

Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) in 

the space provided. Include your complete 

address. If you work for a firm, you must also 

enter the firm’s name and the EIN of the firm. 

However, you can't use the EIN of the tax 

preparation firm in place of your PTIN. You 

can apply for a PTIN online or by filing Form 

W-12,  

IRS Paid Preparer Tax Identification Number 

(PTIN) Application and Renewal. For more 
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information about applying for a PTIN online, 

go to IRS.gov/PTIN. 

Part I 

Environmental Taxes 

Use Form 6627, Environmental Taxes, to 

figure the environmental taxes on: 

• Domestic petroleum superfund tax, IRS 

No. 53. 

• Chemicals (other than ODCs), IRS No. 54. 

• Imported chemical substances, IRS No. 

17. 

• Imported petroleum products superfund 

tax, IRS No. 16. 

• Oil spill liability, IRS Nos. 18 and 21. 

• Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS 

No. 98. 

https://www.irs.gov/ptin
https://www.irs.gov/ptin
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• Imported products that used ODCs as 

materials in the manufacture or 

production of the product, IRS No. 19.  

• The floor stocks tax on ODCs, IRS No. 20 

(reported on Form 720, Part II). 

Attach Form 6627 to Form 720. The tax rates 

for these taxes are shown on Form 6627. 

Communications Taxes 

Communications Services (IRS No. 22) 

The tax is 3% of amounts paid for local 

telephone service and teletypewriter 

exchange service. 

Who Must File 

The person receiving the payment for 

communications services must collect and 

submit the tax and file the return. Enter the 

amount of tax collected or considered 

collected for the quarter. 
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Credits or Refunds 

If tax is collected and paid over for 

nontaxable services from the communications 

tax, the collector may request a credit or 

refund as described below. 

Collectors. The collector may request a 

credit or refund only if it has repaid the tax to 

the person from whom the tax was collected, 

or obtained the consent of that person to the 

allowance of the credit or refund. These 

requirements also apply to nontaxable service 

refunds. 

Collectors using the regular method for 

deposits. Collectors using the regular 

method for deposits must use Form 720-X to 

request a credit or refund. 

Collectors using the alternative method 

for deposits. Collectors using the alternative 

method for deposits must adjust their 

separate accounts for the credit or refund. For 
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more information, see Alternative method 

(IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28), later. 

Air Transportation Taxes 

Transportation of Persons by Air (IRS 

No. 26) 

The taxes on transportation of persons by air 

are the percentage tax and the domestic 

segment tax. Add the percentage tax and the 

domestic segment tax to get the total tax on 

transportation of persons by air. 

Note. The percentage and domestic segment 

taxes don't apply on a flight if the surtax on 

fuel used in a fractional ownership program 

aircraft is imposed. For more information, see 

Surtax on any liquid used in a fractional 

ownership program aircraft as fuel (IRS No. 

13), later. 
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Who Must File 

The person receiving the payment for air 

transportation services must do all of the 

following. 

• Collect the tax. 

• Submit the tax. 

• File Form 720 to report the amount of the 

tax collected, or considered collected, for 

the quarter. 

Exemption for amounts paid for aircraft 

management services.  Effective December 

23, 2017, certain payments related to the 

management of private aircraft are exempt 

from the excise taxes imposed on taxable 

transportation by air. See Pub. 510. 

Percentage tax.  The percentage tax is 

7.5% of amounts paid for taxable 

transportation of persons by air. 
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Domestic segment tax.  For calendar year 

2024, the tax on the amount paid for each 

domestic segment of taxable transportation is 

$5.00. 

Example. In January 2024, Frank Jones pays 

$268.00 to a commercial airline for a flight in 

January from Washington to Chicago with a 

stopover in Cleveland. The flight has two 

segments. The price includes the $240 fare 

and $28.00 excise tax [($240 × 7.5%) + (2 

× $5.00)] for which Frank is liable. The airline 

collects the tax from Frank and submits it to 

the government. 

Charter flights.  If an aircraft is chartered, 

and the flight isn't one where the tax on fuel 

used in a fractional ownership program 

aircraft is imposed, the domestic segment tax 

for each segment of taxable transportation is 

figured by multiplying the tax by the number 

of passengers transported on the aircraft. 
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Example.  In March 2024, Tim Clark pays 

$1,145.00 to an air charter service to carry 

seven employees from Washington to Detroit 

with a stopover in Pittsburgh. The flight has 

two segments. The price includes the $1,000 

charter payment and $145.00 excise tax 

[($1,000 × 7.5%) + (2 × $5.00 × 7 

passengers)] for which Tim is liable. The 

charter service collects the tax from Tim and 

submits it to the government. 

Rural airports. If a segment is to or from a 

rural airport, the domestic segment tax 

doesn't apply. 

Transportation of Property by Air (IRS 

No. 28) 

The tax is 6.25% of amounts paid for 

transportation of property by air. The tax 

doesn't apply if the surtax on fuel used in a 

fractional ownership program aircraft is 

imposed. See Surtax on any liquid used in a 

fractional ownership program aircraft as fuel 

(IRS No. 13), later. 
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Use of International Air Travel Facilities 

(IRS No. 27) 

For calendar year 2024, the section 4261 

excise tax on any amount paid for 

international air transportation, if the 

transportation begins or ends in the United 

States, is generally $22.20. However, a lower 

rate of tax applies to a domestic segment 

beginning or ending in Alaska or Hawaii, and 

the tax applies only to departures. For 

calendar year 2024, the rate of tax is $11.10. 

Communications and Air 

Transportation Taxes—Uncollected 

Tax Report 

A separate report is required to be filed by 

collecting agents of communications services 

(local and teletypewriter service) and air 

transportation taxes if the person from whom 

the facilities or services tax (the tax) is 

required to be collected (the taxpayer) 

refuses to pay the tax, or it's impossible for 
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the collecting agent to collect the tax. The 

report must contain the name and address of 

the taxpayer, the type of facility provided or 

service rendered, the amount paid for the 

facility or service (the amount on which the 

tax is based), and the date paid. 

Regular method taxpayers. For regular 

method taxpayers, the report must be filed by 

the due date of the Form 720 on which the 

tax would have been reported. 

Alternative method taxpayers. For 

alternative method taxpayers, the report 

must be filed by the due date of the Form 720 

that includes an adjustment to the separate 

account for the uncollected tax. See 

Alternative method (IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 

28), later. 
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Where to file your uncollected tax report. 

Don't file the uncollected tax report with 

Form 720. Instead, mail the report to: 

Department of the Treasury 

Internal Revenue Service 

Cincinnati, OH 45999 

Fuel Taxes 

First taxpayer's report. If you are reporting 

gallons of taxable fuel that may again be 

subject to tax, you may need to file a first 

taxpayer's report. The report must contain all 

the information as shown in the Model 

Certificate B in the Appendix of Pub. 510. 

The person who paid the first tax must do all 

of the following. 

• Give a copy of the first taxpayer's report 

to the buyer. 

• File the first taxpayer's report with Form 

720 for the quarter for which the report 

relates. 
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• Enter “EXCISE—FIRST TAXPAYER'S 

REPORT” across the top of a separate 

copy of the report, and by the due date of 

Form 720, send the copy to: 

Department of the Treasury 

Internal Revenue Service 

Cincinnati, OH 45999-0555 

Diesel (IRS No. 60). If you are liable for the 

diesel fuel tax on removal at the terminal 

rack, report these gallons on line 60(a). If 

you are liable for the diesel fuel tax on events 

other than removal at the terminal rack, 

report these gallons on line 60(b). If you are 

liable for the diesel fuel tax because you have 

produced diesel by blending biodiesel with 

taxed diesel outside of the bulk 

transfer/terminal system, report these gallons 

of biodiesel on line 60(c). If you report 

gallons on line 60(c), don't report those 

gallons on line 60(b). 



39 

Multiply the total number of gallons subject to 

tax on lines 60(a), 60(b), and 60(c) by $.244 

and make one entry in the tax column. 

See Schedule T. Two-Party Exchange 

Information Reporting, later, if applicable. 

Diesel-water emulsion (IRS No. 104). If 

you are liable for the reduced rate (see 

below) of tax on a diesel-water emulsion 

removal at the terminal rack or other taxable 

event, report these gallons on the line for IRS 

No. 104. 

Requirements. All of the following 

requirements must be met to be eligible for 

the reduced rate: (a) the diesel-water 

emulsion must contain at least 14% water; 

(b) the emulsion additive must be registered 

by a U.S. manufacturer with the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under 

the Clean Air Act, section 211 (as in effect on 

March 31, 2003); and (c) the taxpayer must 

be registered by the IRS. If these 

requirements aren't met, you must report the 
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sale, removal, or use of a diesel-water 

emulsion as diesel. 

IRS Nos. 105, 107, and 119. Tax is 

imposed at $.001 per gallon on removals, 

entries, and sales of gasoline, diesel, and 

kerosene described as exempt transactions. 

Multiply the total number of gallons subject to 

tax for each fuel by $.001 and enter the 

amount in the tax column for the following 

IRS Nos. 

• IRS No. 105, dyed diesel, LUST tax. 

• IRS No. 107, dyed kerosene, LUST tax. 

• IRS No. 119, LUST tax, other exempt 

removals; report gasoline blendstocks, 

kerosene used for a feedstock purpose, 

and diesel or kerosene sold or used in 

Alaska. 

Kerosene (IRS No. 35). If you are liable for 

the kerosene tax on removal at the terminal 

rack (not located at an airport), report these 

gallons on line 35(a). If you are liable for the 
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kerosene tax on events other than removal at 

the terminal rack, report these gallons of 

kerosene on line 35(b). 

Multiply the total number of gallons subject to 

tax on lines 35(a) and 35(b) by $.244 and 

make one entry in the tax column. 

See Schedule T. Two-Party Exchange 

Information Reporting, later, if applicable. 

Kerosene for use in aviation (IRS Nos. 

69, 77, and 111). Generally, kerosene is 

taxed at $.244 per gallon unless a reduced 

rate applies. See Kerosene for Use in Aviation 

in Pub. 510, for more details about these 

reduced rates. 

• If you're liable for kerosene tax on 

removal directly from a terminal into the 

fuel tank of an aircraft for use in aviation, 

the tax rate is $.219 per gallon. This rate 

applies to kerosene used in 

noncommercial aviation. This rate can also 

apply to kerosene used in commercial 
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aviation or for nontaxable aviation uses if 

the requirements for a further reduced 

rate aren't met. Report these gallons on 

the line for IRS No. 69. 

• If you're liable for kerosene tax on 

removal directly from a terminal into the 

fuel tank of an aircraft for use in 

commercial aviation (other than foreign 

trade), the tax rate is $.044 per gallon. 

Report these gallons on the line for IRS 

No. 77. The line for IRS No. 77 is only 

applicable to registered commercial 

aviation operators (Form 637 "Y" 

Registrant). 

• If you’re liable for kerosene tax on 

removal directly from a terminal into the 

fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable 

uses, the tax rate is $.001. Report these 

gallons on the line for IRS No. 111. 

See Pub. 510 for foreign trade rules. 
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Note. Fuel used in a fractional ownership 

program aircraft is also subject to a surtax of 

$.141 per gallon. For more information, see 

Surtax on any liquid used in a fractional 

ownership program aircraft as fuel (IRS No. 

13), later. 

Other fuels (IRS No. 79). You are liable for 

the tax on the fuels listed below when they 

are delivered into the fuel supply tank of a 

motor vehicle or motorboat (or trains for B-

100). Use the following table to determine the 

tax for each gallon. Fill in the number of 

gallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate 

column on the line for IRS No. 79. If more 

than one rate applies, leave the Rate column 

blank and attach a schedule showing the 

rates and number of gallons taxed at each 

rate. 
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Fuel Tax 

Rate 

per 

Gallon 

Qualified— 

Ethanol produced from coal . .  $.184 

Methanol produced from coal .184 

Partially exempt— 

Ethanol produced from natural gas .114 

Methanol produced from natural 

gas . . . . . . . . . . . . .0925 

B-100 (100% biodiesel) . . . . . . . .  .244 

Liquefied gas derived from biomass  .184 

Other fuels not shown . . . . . . . . .  .184 
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Gasoline (IRS No. 62). If you are liable for 

the gasoline tax on removal at the terminal 

rack, report these gallons on line 62(a). If 

you are liable for the gasoline tax on events 

other than removal at the terminal rack, 

report these gallons on line 62(b). If you are 

liable for the gasoline tax because you have 

blended alcohol with taxed gasoline outside of 

the bulk transfer/terminal system, report 

these gallons of alcohol on line 62(b). 

Multiply the total number of gallons subject to 

tax on lines 62(a) and 62(b) by $.184. 

Combine the tax for lines 62(a) and 62(b) 

and make one entry in the tax column. 

See Schedule T. Two-Party Exchange 

Information Reporting, later, if applicable. 

Surtax on any liquid used in a fractional 

ownership program aircraft as fuel (IRS 

No. 13). Fuel used in a fractional ownership 

program aircraft, as defined below, after 

March 31, 2012, is subject to a surtax of 

$.141 per gallon. The fractional ownership 
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program manager is liable for the surtax. If 

you are liable, report these gallons on the line 

for IRS No. 13. 

The surtax applies in addition to any other 

taxes imposed on the removal, entry, use, or 

sale of the fuel. If the surtax is imposed, the 

flight isn't considered commercial aviation. 

Instead, the tax on the fuel used in the flight 

is imposed at the noncommercial aviation rate 

of $.219 per gallon (IRS No. 69). If the surtax 

is imposed, the following taxes don't apply. 

• Transportation of persons by air (IRS No. 

26). 

• Transportation of property by air (IRS No. 

28). 

• Use of international air travel facilities 

(IRS No. 27). 
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Fractional ownership aircraft program is 

a program under which: 

• A single fractional ownership program 

manager provides fractional ownership 

program management services on behalf 

of the fractional owners; 

• There are one or more fractional owners 

per fractional program aircraft, with at 

least one fractional program aircraft 

having more than one owner; 

• For at least two fractional program 

aircraft, none of the ownership interests in 

the aircraft are less than the minimum  

• fractional ownership interest or held by 

the program manager; 

• There exists a dry-lease aircraft exchange 

arrangement among all of the fractional 

owners; and 

• There are multi-year program agreements 

covering the fractional ownership, 
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fractional ownership program 

management services, and dry-lease 

aircraft exchange aspects of the program. 

Fractional program aircraft. Any aircraft 

that, in any fractional ownership aircraft 

program, is listed as a fractional program 

aircraft in the management specifications 

issued to the manager of such program by 

the Federal Aviation Administration under 

subpart K of part 91, title 14, Code of Federal 

Regulations, and is registered in the United 

States. 

Fractional program aircraft aren't considered 

used for transportation of a qualified 

fractional owner, or on account of such 

qualified fractional owner, when they are used 

for flight demonstration, maintenance, or 

crew training. In such situations, the flight 

isn't commercial aviation. Instead, the tax on 

the fuel used in the flight is imposed at the 

noncommercial aviation rate. 
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Fractional owner. Any person owning any 

interest (including the entire interest) in a 

fractional program aircraft. 

Dry-lease aircraft exchange. An 

agreement, documented by the written 

program agreements, under which the 

fractional program aircraft are available, on 

an as-needed basis without crew, to each 

fractional owner. 

Special rule relating to deadhead service.  

A fractional program aircraft won't be 

considered to be used on account of a 

qualified fractional owner when it's used in 

deadhead service and a person other than a 

qualified fractional owner is separately 

charged for such service. 

More information. See section 4043 for 

more information on the surtax. 

Aviation gasoline (IRS No. 14). Aviation 

gasoline is taxed at the rate shown on Form 

720. 



50 

Also, a surtax of $.141 per gallon applies on 

fuel used in an aircraft which is part of a 

fractional ownership program. 

For further information on fractional 

ownership program aircraft, see Surtax on 

any liquid used in a fractional ownership 

program aircraft as fuel (IRS No. 13), earlier. 

Alternative fuel (IRS Nos. 112, 118, 

and 120–124).  

Alternative fuel is any liquid other than gas 

oil, fuel oil, or any product taxable under 

section 4081. You are liable for tax on 

alternative fuel delivered into the fuel supply 

tank of a motor vehicle or motorboat, or on 

certain bulk sales. Report the tax on the line 

for the IRS No. listed in the following table. 

Alternative Fuel IRS 

No. 

Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) 112 
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“P Series” fuels 118 

Compressed natural gas (CNG) 120 

Liquefied hydrogen 121 

Fischer-Tropsch process liquid fuel 

from coal (including peat) 122 

Liquid fuel derived from biomass 123 

Liquefied natural gas (LNG) 124 

For sales or uses after 2015, the following 

gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) or diesel 

gallon equivalent (DGE) applies.  

• LPG (includes propane, pentane, or 

mixtures of those gases), taxed at $.183 

per GGE, has a GGE of 5.75 pounds or 

1.353 gallons of LPG. 
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• LNG, taxed at $.243 per DGE, has a DGE 

of 6.06 pounds or 1.71 gallons of LNG. 

• CNG, taxed at $.183 per GGE, has a GGE 

of 5.66 pounds or 123.57 cubic feet of 

CNG. 

Example. 10,000 gallons of LNG ÷ 1.71 = 

5,848 DGE x $.243 = $1,421.06 tax. 

Retail Tax 

Truck, Trailer, and Semitrailer Chassis 

and Bodies, and Tractors (IRS No. 33) 

The tax is 12% of the sales price on the first 

retail sale of each unit. The tax applies to: 

• Truck chassis and bodies, except truck 

chassis and bodies suitable for use with a 

vehicle with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) 

of 33,000 pounds or less; 

• Trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies, 

except trailer and semitrailer chassis and 

bodies suitable for use with a vehicle with 

a GVW of 26,000 pounds or less; and 
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• Tractors of the kind chiefly used for 

highway transportation in combination 

with a trailer or semitrailer, except 

tractors that have a GVW of 19,500 

pounds or less and a gross combined 

weight of 33,000 pounds or less. 

Generally, gross combined weight means the 

weight of a tractor and the weight of its 

trailer(s). 

The tax imposed on parts and accessories 

sold on or in connection with the units listed 

above and the tax imposed on the separate 

purchase of parts and accessories for the 

units listed above don't apply to an idling 

reduction device, described next, or to 

insulation that has an R value of at least R35 

per inch. 

Idling reduction device. Any device or 

system of devices that provides the tractor 

with services, such as heat, air conditioning, 

and electricity, without the use of the main 

drive engine while the tractor is temporarily 
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parked or stationary. The device must be 

affixed to the tractor and determined by the 

Administrator of the EPA, in consultation with 

the Secretary of Energy and Secretary of 

Transportation, to reduce idling while parked 

or stationary. 

Figure the tax for each vehicle sold and enter 

the total for the quarter on the line for IRS 

No. 33. 

Gross vehicle weight. The gross vehicle 

weight (GVW) means the maximum total 

weight of a loaded vehicle. Generally, this 

maximum total weight is the GVW rating 

provided by the manufacturer or determined 

by the seller of the completed article. The 

seller's GVW rating must be determined for 

excise tax purposes on the basis of the 

strength of the chassis frame and the axle 

capacity and placement. The seller may not 

take into account any readily attachable 

components (such as tires or rim assemblies) 

in determining the GVW. See Regulations 
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section 145.4051-1(e)(3) for more 

information. 

The following four classifications of truck body 

types meet the suitable-for-use standard and 

will be excluded from the retail excise tax. 

• Platform truck bodies 21 feet or less in 

length. 

• Dry freight and refrigerated truck van 

bodies 24 feet or less in length. 

• Dump truck bodies with load capacities of 

8 cubic yards or less. 

• Refuse packer truck bodies with load 

capacities of 20 cubic yards or less. 

Section 4051(d) tire credit. A tax credit 

may be claimed equal to the amount of tax 

that has been imposed on each tire that is 

sold on or in connection with the first retail 

sale of a taxable vehicle reported on IRS No. 

33. Claim the section 4051(d) tire credit on 

Schedule C, line 14a. 
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Ship Passenger Tax 

Transportation by water (IRS No. 29). A 

tax is imposed on the operator of commercial 

ships. The tax is $3 for each passenger on a 

commercial passenger ship that has berth or 

stateroom accommodations for at least 17 

passengers if the trip is over 1 or more 

nights. A voyage extends “over 1 or more 

nights” if it lasts longer than 24 hours. The 

tax also applies to passengers on any 

commercial ship that transports passengers 

engaged in gambling aboard the ship beyond 

the territorial waters of the United States. 

Enter the number of passengers for the 

quarter on the line for IRS No. 29. 

Other Excise Tax 

Obligations not in registered form (IRS 

No. 31). For obligations issued during the 

quarter, enter the principal amount of the 

obligation multiplied by the number of 

calendar years (or portion thereof) during the 
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period beginning on the issue date and ending 

on the maturity date on the line for IRS No. 

31. 

Foreign Insurance Taxes 

Policies issued by foreign insurers (IRS 

No. 30). Enter the amount of premiums paid 

during the quarter on policies issued by 

foreign insurers. Multiply the premiums paid 

by the rates listed on Form 720 and enter the 

total for the three types of insurance on the 

line for IRS No. 30. 

Section 4371(3) tax on foreign 

reinsurance premiums no longer applies. 

The 1% tax doesn’t apply to premiums paid 

on a policy of reinsurance issued by one 

foreign reinsurer to another foreign insurer or 

reinsurer, under the situations described in 

Rev. Rul. 2008-15, 2008-12 I.R.B. 633. See 

Rev. Rul. 2016-03, 2016-3 I.R.B. 282, 

available at IRS.gov/IRB/2016-03_IRB#RR-

2016-03. 

https://www.irs.gov/irb/2016-03_IRB#RR-2016-03
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2016-03_IRB#RR-2016-03
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Who must file. The person who pays the 

premium to the foreign insurer (or to any 

nonresident person such as a foreign broker) 

must pay the tax and file the return. 

Otherwise, any person who issued or sold the 

policy, or who is insured under the policy, is 

required to pay the tax and file the return. 

Treaty-based return positions under 

section 6114. Foreign insurers and 

reinsurers who take the position that a treaty 

of the United States overrules, or otherwise 

modifies, an Internal Revenue law of the 

United States must disclose such position. 

This disclosure must be made once a year on 

a statement which must report the payments 

of premiums that are exempt from the excise 

tax on policies issued by foreign insurers for 

the previous calendar year. This statement is 

filed with the first quarter Form 720, which is 

due before May 1 of each year. 
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You may be able to use Form 8833, Treaty-

Based Return Position Disclosure Under 

Section 6114 or 7701(b), as a disclosure 

statement. 

At the top of Form 720, enter “Section 6114 

Treaty.” If you have no other transactions 

reportable on Form 720, complete Form 720 

as follows. 

1. If this is your final return, check the 

Final return box. 

2. Enter “None” on lines 1 and 3. 

3. Sign the return. 

You need an EIN to file Form 720. If you don't 

have an EIN, see Employer Identification 

Number (EIN), earlier. 

Where to file your treaty-based return 

positions under section 6114. All filers 

should mail Form 720 with the attached Form 

8833 or disclosure statement to the address 

listed under Where To File, earlier. See the 
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Caution under Private Delivery Services 

(PDSs), earlier. 

Manufacturers Taxes 

Don't include the excise tax on coal in 

the sales price when determining 

which tax rate to use for IRS Nos. 36, 

37, 38, and 39. 

Underground mined coal (IRS Nos. 36 

and 37). The tax on underground mined coal 

is the lower of $1.10 per ton or 4.4% of the 

sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. 36 

the number of tons of underground mined 

coal sold at $25 or more per ton. Enter on the 

line for IRS No. 37 the total sales price for all 

sales of underground mined coal sold at a 

selling price of less than $25 per ton. 

Surface mined coal (IRS Nos. 38 and 39). 

The tax on surface mined coal is the lower of 

$.55 per ton or 4.4% of the sales price. Enter 

on the line for IRS No. 38 the number of tons 

of surface mined coal sold at $12.50 or more 
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per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 39 the 

total sales price for all sales of surface mined 

coal sold at a selling price of less than $12.50 

per ton. 

Taxable tires (IRS Nos. 108, 109, and 

113). A tax is imposed on taxable tires sold 

by the manufacturer, producer, or importer at 

the rate of $.0945 ($.04725 in the case of a 

bias ply tire or super single tire) for each 10 

pounds of the maximum rated load capacity 

over 3,500 pounds. Figure the tax for each 

tire sold in each category, as shown in the 

following chart, and enter the total for the 

quarter on the line for IRS No. 108, 109, or 

113. Enter the number of tires for each IRS 

No. 

IRS No. 
Taxable Tire 

Category 

Rate (for 

each 10 

pounds of 

the 

maximum 
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rated load 

capacity 

over 3,500 

pounds) 

108 

Taxable tires 

other than bias 

ply or super single 

tires $.0945 

109 

Taxable tires, bias 

ply or super single 

tires (other than 

super single tires 

designed for 

steering) 

.04725 

113 

Taxable tires, 

super single tires 

designed for 

steering 

.0945 

A taxable tire is any tire of the type used on 

highway vehicles if wholly or partially made of 
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rubber and if marked according to federal 

regulations for highway use. A bias ply tire is 

a pneumatic tire on which the ply cords that 

extend to the beads are laid at alternate 

angles substantially less than 90 degrees to 

the centerline of the tread. A super single tire 

is a tire greater than 13 inches in cross 

section width designed to replace two tires in 

a dual fitment, but doesn't include any tire 

designed for steering. 

Gas guzzler tax (IRS No. 40). Use Form 

6197, Gas Guzzler Tax, to figure the liability 

for this tax. Attach Form 6197 to Form 720. 

The tax rates for the gas guzzler tax are 

shown on Form 6197. 

One-time filing. If you import a gas guzzling 

automobile, you may be eligible to make a 

one-time filing of Form 720 and Form 6197 if 

you meet all of the following conditions. 

• You don't import gas guzzling automobiles 

in the course of your trade or business. 
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• You aren't required to file Form 720 

reporting excise taxes for the calendar 

quarter, except for a one-time filing. 

Follow the steps below to make a one-time 

filing. 

1. File Form 720 for the quarter in which 

you incur liability for the tax. See 

When To File, earlier. 

2. Pay the tax with Form 720. No 

deposits are required. 

3. If you are an individual and don't have 

an EIN, enter your social security 

number (SSN) or individual taxpayer 

identification number (ITIN) on Form 

720 and Form 720-V, Payment 

Voucher, in the space for the EIN. 

4. Check the one-time filing box on the 

line for the gas guzzler tax. 

Vaccine taxes (IRS No. 97). A tax is 

imposed on the sale or use of a vaccine 
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manufactured, produced, or entered into the 

United States at $.75 per dose if it: 

• Contains diptheria toxoid, tetanus toxoid, 

pertussis bacteria, extracted or partial cell 

bacteria, specific pertussis antigens, or 

polio virus; 

• Is against measles, mumps, rubella, 

hepatitis A, hepatitis B, chicken pox, 

rotavirus gastroenteritis, or human 

papillomavirus; 

• Is any HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) 

vaccine; 

• Is any meningococcal vaccine; 

• Is any conjugate vaccine against 

streptococcus pneumonia; or 

• Any trivalent vaccine against seasonal 

influenza or any other vaccine against 

seasonal influenza. 

The effective date for the tax on any other 

vaccine against seasonal influenza is the later 
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of August 1, 2013, or the date the Secretary 

of the Department of Health and Human 

Services lists a vaccine against seasonal 

influenza for purposes of compensation for 

any vaccine-related injury or death through 

the Vaccine Injury Compensation Trust Fund. 

If any taxable vaccine is combined with one 

or more additional taxable vaccines, then the 

tax is imposed on each vaccine included in 

the combination. 

Example. MMR contains three taxable 

vaccines: measles, mumps, and rubella. The 

tax per dose on MMR is $2.25 (3 x $.75). 

Add the tax for each taxable vaccine and 

enter the total tax on the line for IRS No. 97. 

Part II 

Patient-centered outcomes research 

(PCOR) fee (IRS No. 133). The PCOR fee is 

imposed on issuers of specified health 

insurance policies (section 4375) and plan 
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sponsors of applicable self-insured health 

plans (section 4376) for policy and plan years 

ending on or after October 1, 2012. 

Generally, references to taxes on Form 720 

include this fee. 

Specified health insurance policies. For 

issuers of specified health insurance policies, 

the fee for a policy year ending on or after 

October 1, 2022, but before October 1, 2023, 

is $3.00 (line 133(b)) ($2.79 for a policy year 

ending on or after October 1, 2021, but 

before October 1, 2022 (line 133(a)), 

multiplied by the average number of lives 

covered under the policy for that policy year. 

Generally, issuers of specified health 

insurance policies must use one of the 

following four alternative methods to 

determine the average number of lives 

covered under a policy for the policy year. 

1. The actual count method. 

2. The snapshot method. 
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3. The member months method. 

4. The state form method. 

Applicable self-insured health plans. For 

plan sponsors of applicable self-insured health 

plans, the fee for a plan year ending on or 

after October 1, 2022, but before October 1, 

2023, is $3.00 (line 133(d)) ($2.79 for a 

policy year ending on or after October 1, 

2021, but before October 1, 2022 (line 

133(c)), multiplied by the average number of 

lives covered under the plan for that plan 

year. Generally, plan sponsors of applicable 

self-insured health plans must use one of the 

following three alternative methods to 

determine the average number of lives 

covered under a plan for the plan year. 

1. Actual count method. 

2. Snapshot method. 

3. Form 5500 method. 
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Reporting and paying the fee. File Form 

720 annually to report and pay the fee on the 

second quarter Form 720 no later than July 

31 of the calendar year immediately following 

the last day of the policy year or plan year to 

which the fee applies. Because the rate used 

to determine the fee varies from year to year, 

you should determine the fee using the 

instructions for the second quarter Form 720. 

If you file Form 720 only to report the fee, 

don't file Form 720 for the first, third, or 

fourth quarter of the year. If you file Form 

720 to report quarterly excise tax liability for 

the first, third, or fourth quarter of the year 

(for example, filers reporting the foreign 

insurance tax (IRS No. 30), don't make an 

entry on the line for IRS No. 133 on those 

filings). 

Deposits aren't required for this fee, so 

issuers and plan sponsors aren't required to 

pay the fee using EFTPS. However, if the fee 

is paid using EFTPS, the payment should be 
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applied to the second quarter. See Electronic 

deposit requirement under Payment of Taxes, 

later. 

Report the average number of lives covered 

in column (a). Apply the applicable rate ((b) 

Rate for avg. covered life) and enter the fee 

in column (c). 

Combine the fees for specified health 

insurance policies and applicable self-insured 

health plans and enter the total in the tax 

column on the line for IRS No. 133. 

More information.  For more information, 

including methods for calculating the average 

number of lives covered, see sections 4375, 

4376, and 4377. 

Sport fishing equipment (other than 

fishing rods and fishing poles) (IRS No. 

41). The tax on sport fishing equipment is 

10% of the sales price. The tax is paid by the 

manufacturer, producer, or importer. Taxable 

articles include reels, fly fishing lines (and 
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other lines not over 130 pounds test), fishing 

spears, spear guns, spear tips, terminal 

tackle, fishing supplies and accessories, and 

any parts or accessories sold on or in 

connection with these articles. See Pub. 510 

for a complete list of taxable articles. Add the 

tax on each sale during the quarter and enter 

the total on the line for IRS No. 41. 

Fishing rods and fishing poles (IRS No. 

110). The tax on fishing rods and fishing 

poles (and component parts) taxed at a rate 

of 10% will have a maximum tax of $10 per 

article. The tax is paid by the manufacturer, 

producer, or importer. Add the tax on each 

sale during the quarter and enter the total on 

the line for IRS No. 110. 

Electric outboard motors (IRS No. 42). 

The tax on an electric outboard motor is 3% 

of the sales price. The tax is paid by the 

manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the 

tax on each sale during the quarter and enter 

the total on the line for IRS No. 42. 
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Fishing tackle boxes (IRS No. 114). The 

tax on fishing tackle boxes is 3% of the sales 

price. The tax is paid by the manufacturer, 

producer, or importer. Add the tax on each 

sale during the quarter and enter the total on 

the line for IRS No. 114. 

Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points 

(IRS No. 44). The tax on bows is 11% of the 

sales price. The tax is paid by the 

manufacturer, producer, or importer. It 

applies to bows having a peak draw weight of 

30 pounds or more. The tax is also imposed 

on the sale of any part or accessory suitable 

for inclusion in or attachment to a taxable 

bow and any quiver, broadhead, or point 

suitable for use with arrows described below. 

Add the tax on each sale during the quarter 

and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 44. 

Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106). The tax on 

arrow shafts is increased to $0.62 per arrow 

shaft. The tax is paid by the manufacturer, 

producer, or importer of any arrow shaft 
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(whether sold separately or incorporated as 

part of a finished or unfinished product) of a 

type used in the manufacture of any arrow 

which after its assembly meets either of the 

following conditions. 

• It measures 18 inches or more in overall 

length. 

• It measures less than 18 inches in overall 

length but is suitable for use with a 

taxable bow, described earlier. 

Exemption for certain wooden arrows. 

The tax doesn't apply to any shaft made of all 

natural wood with no laminations or artificial 

means of enhancing the spine of such shaft 

(whether sold separately or incorporated as 

part of a finished or unfinished product) and 

used in the manufacture of any arrow which 

after its assembly meets both of the following 

conditions. 

• It measures 5/16 of an inch or less in 

diameter. 
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• It isn't suitable for use with a taxable bow, 

described earlier. 

Add the tax on each sale during the quarter 

and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 

106. 

Indoor Tanning Services Tax 

Indoor tanning services (IRS No. 140). 

The tax on indoor tanning service is 10% of 

the amount paid for that service. The tax is 

paid by the person paying for the indoor 

tanning service and is collected by the person 

receiving payment for the indoor tanning 

services. 

Who must file. The person receiving the 

payment for indoor tanning services 

(collector) must collect and remit the tax and 

file the return. If the tax isn't collected for 

any reason, the collector is liable for the tax. 

Definition of indoor tanning services. 

Indoor tanning service means a service 

employing any electronic product designed to 



75 

incorporate one or more ultraviolet lamps and 

intended for the irradiation of an individual by 

ultraviolet radiation, with wavelengths in air 

between 200 and 400 nanometers, to induce 

skin tanning. The term doesn't include 

phototherapy service performed by, and on 

the premises of, a licensed medical 

professional (such as a dermatologist, 

psychologist, or registered nurse). See 

Regulations section 49.5000B-1 for more 

information and special rules for qualified 

physical fitness facilities, undesignated 

payment cards, and bundled payments. 

Enter the amount of indoor tanning services 

tax collected (or due for failing to collect the 

tax) for the quarter on the line for IRS No. 

140. 

Other Part II Taxes 

Inland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 

64). If you are liable for the inland 

waterways fuel use tax, report the number of 
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gallons subject to tax on the line for IRS No. 

64. Certain fuels must also be reported under 

IRS No. 125 (discussed next). 

The inland waterways fuel use tax 

applies at the rate listed on Form 720. 

This is in addition to all other taxes 

imposed on the sale or use of the fuel. 

Leaking underground storage tank 

(LUST) tax on inland waterways fuel use 

(IRS No. 125). The LUST tax must be paid 

on any liquid fuel used on inland waterways 

that isn't subject to LUST tax under section 

4041(d) or 4081. For example, gallons of 

Bunker C residual fuel oil must be reported 

under both IRS Nos. 64 and 125. 

Section 40 fuels (IRS No. 51). An excise 

tax is imposed (recaptured) if you claim the 

second generation biofuel producer credit and 

you don't use the fuel for the purposes 

described under Qualified Second Generation 

Biofuel Production in the Instructions for Form 

6478, Biofuel Producer Credit. When 
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recapturing, you must pay a tax on each 

gallon of second generation biofuel at the rate 

you used to figure the credit. 

The tax rate for second generation biofuel is 

$1.01 per gallon. Fill in the number of gallons 

and the appropriate rate in the Rate column 

on the line for IRS No. 51. 

Biodiesel sold as, but not used as, fuel 

(IRS No. 117). You must pay a tax 

(recapture) on each gallon of biodiesel or 

renewable diesel on which a credit was 

claimed at the rate used to figure the credit if 

you: 

• Use it (including a mixture) other than as 

a fuel; 

• Buy it at retail and use it to create a 

mixture; 

• Separate it from a mixture; or 

• Use agri-biodiesel on which the small agri-

biodiesel producer credit was claimed for a 
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use not described under Qualified Agri-

Biodiesel Production in the Instructions for 

Form 8864, Biodiesel, Renewable Diesel, 

or Sustainable Aviation Fuels Credit. 

The tax is $1.00 per gallon of biodiesel, agri-

biodiesel, and renewable diesel. An additional 

$.10 is added if the agri-biodiesel benefited 

from the small agri-biodiesel producer credit. 

Fill in the number of gallons and the 

appropriate rate in the Rate column on the 

line for IRS No. 117. If more than one rate 

applies, leave the Rate column blank and 

attach a schedule showing the rates and 

number of gallons taxed at each rate. 

Floor Stocks Tax 

Ozone-depleting chemicals floor stocks 

tax (IRS No. 20). Use Form 6627 to figure 

the liability for this tax. Enter the amount 

from Form 6627, Part IV, line 4, column (d), 

on the line for IRS No. 20. Attach Form 6627 
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to the Form 720 that is due July 31 of each 

year. 

Excise Tax on Repurchase of 

Corporate Stock 

IRS No. 150. No regulations have been 

issued requiring the reporting, nor payment, 

of this tax. Don’t report a liability on the line 

for IRS No. 150 until further notice. See 

Announcement 2023-18. 

Sales of Designated Drugs During 

Statutory Periods 

IRS No. 142. Section 5000D imposes an 

excise tax on the sale by the manufacturer, 

producer, or importer of any designated drug 

during a day that falls within a period 

described in section 5000D(b). Under 

proposed regulations, REG-11669-23, (also 

see Notice 2023-52), you’ll be required to 

report any section 5000D drug tax liability on 

your Form 720. 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/a-23-18.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/irb/2023-42_IRB
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-52.pdf
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These proposed regulations, once adopted as 

final regulations in a Treasury Decision (TD) 

published in the Federal Register, will apply to 

calendar quarters beginning on or after 

October 1, 2023. You may rely on these 

proposed regulations for your returns 

beginning on October 1, 2023 (4th quarter), 

and before the date the TD is published. 

Since the TD may not be published timely by 

the January 31, 2024, due date of your 4th 

quarter return, you may be required to file 

Form 720-X, Amended Quarterly Federal 

Excise Tax Return, once the TD is published 

to report revisions to your originally reported 

section 5000D liability. 

Part III 

Line 4. Report on Form 720, line 4, the total 

claims from Schedule C, line 15. See 

Schedule C. Claims, later. 

Line 6. Include on line 6 the amount from 

line 11 of your previous return that you 
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applied to this return and the amount from 

Form 720-X, line 5b. 

Note. Include on line 6 of your next return 

the amount from line 11 you want to have 

applied to that return. 

If you owe other federal tax, interest, 

or penalty, the overpayment on line 11 

and line 7 will first be applied to the 

unpaid amounts. 

Line 10. If line 3 is more than line 9, enter 

the difference on line 10. You don't have to 

pay if line 10 is under $1.00. 

You may pay the amount shown on line 10 by 

EFTPS, check or money order, or, if filing 

electronically, electronic funds withdrawal 

(direct debit). If you pay by EFTPS or direct 

debit, don't file Form 720-V. 
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If you don't deposit as required and, 

instead, pay the taxes with Form 720, 

you may be subject to a penalty. 

Payment of Taxes 

Generally, semimonthly deposits of excise 

taxes are required. A semimonthly period is 

the first 15 days of a month (the first 

semimonthly period) or the 16th through the 

last day of a month (the second semimonthly 

period). 

However, no deposit is required for the 

situations listed below. The taxes are payable 

with the return. 

• The net liability for taxes listed on Form 

720, Part I, doesn't exceed $2,500 for the 

quarter. 

• The gas guzzler tax is being paid on a 

one-time filing. See Gas guzzler tax (IRS 

No. 40), earlier. 
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• The PCOR fee is being paid with a second 

quarter Form 720. See Patient-centered 

outcomes research (PCOR) fee (IRS No. 

133), earlier. 

• The liability is for taxes listed on Form 

720, Part II, except the floor stocks tax, 

which generally requires a single deposit. 

Special rule for deposits of taxes in 

September 2024. If you are required to 

make deposits, see the chart below. The 

special rule doesn't apply to taxes not 

required to be deposited (see Payment of 

Taxes, earlier). See Regulations sections 

40.6302(c)-2 and 40.6302(c)-3 for rules to 

figure the net tax liability for the deposits due 

in September. 
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Additional Deposit of Taxes in September 

2024 

For the period 

Type of Tax 

Beginning 

on 

Ending 

on 

Due 

Date 

Regular method 

taxes  

Sept. 16 Sept. 26 Sept. 

29 

Alternative 

method taxes 

(IRS Nos. 22, 

26, 27, and 28) 

(based on 

amounts billed) 

Sept. 1 Sept. 11 
Sept. 

29 

Using the regular method: For the 

remaining days in September (27–30), 

make your deposits by the 14th day of 

October. Using the alternative method: For 

the remaining days in September (12–30), 

please see Pub. 509 for deposit dates. 


