IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

EO Update November 8, 2010

Issue Number: 2010-26

 



Inside This Issue

 

Special EO Tax Law Training Edition

  1. Starting Off Right: A Webinar for New 501(c)(3) Organizations 
  2. Workshops for Small and Mid-Size 501(c)(3) Organizations
  3. Western Conference on Tax-Exempt Organizations
  4. National Phone Forum: Recordkeeping

 


1.  Starting Off Right: A Webinar for New 501(c)(3) Organizations 

The IRS will offer a free 45-minute webinar for newly formed 501(c)(3)s - and established organizations that would like a refresher -on November 18 at 2 p.m (EST).  Two specialists from the IRS Exempt Organizations division will explain what new tax-exempts need to do (and what they will want to avoid) to comply with IRS rules and keep their tax status in good standing in years to come. Register today and start off right.

 


  2.  Workshops for Small and Mid-Size 501(c)(3) Organizations

Registration is still available for our Workshops for Small and Mid-Size 501(c)(3) Organizations to be presented in Phoenix, AZ on December 7, 8, or 9 in collaboration with Lodestar Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Innovation, Arizona State University. 

Each one-day workshop, presented by experienced Exempt Organizations specialists, will explain what 501(c)(3) organizations must do to keep their tax-exempt status and comply with tax obligations. This introductory workshop is designed for administrators or volunteers who are responsible for an organization's tax compliance. Pre-registration is required. 

Check our Calendar of Events for more information and to learn about anticipated 2011 workshop locations.

 


3.  Western Conference on Tax-Exempt Organizations

The annual Western Conference on Tax-Exempt Organizations will be held on November 18-19, 2010 at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel at California Plaza in Los Angeles, CA.  IRS Exempt Organizations and Loyola Law School jointly sponsor the two-day program for tax professionals and organization executives.  Register now.

 


4.  National Phone Forum: Recordkeeping

The IRS Small Business/Self Employed Division will offer a free phone forum on recordkeeping on December 1, 2010. Small and mid-size exempt organizations may find this phone forum useful, as many have the same recordkeeping issues as small businesses.  The forum will cover:

  • Why books and records are necessary
  • How the IRS defines books and records
  • What specific types of records are needed
  • How books and records should be maintained

as well as other topics.

Tax professionals may receive a Certicate of Completion that can be used to request Continuing Professional Education Credit if the forum meets the professional organization's or state's CPE requirements.  Enrolled agents receive one CPE credit for a 50-minute participation from the start of the program.

Sign up now for the event of your choice.  Select the time that works best for you.

CONFERENCE ACCESS CODES:
108604 - 10:00 a.m. (ET); 9:00 a.m. (CT); 8:00 a.m. (MT); 7:00 a.m. (PT)
886646 - 1:00 p.m. (ET); 12:00 p.m. (CT); 11:00 a.m. (MT); 10:00 a.m. (PT)
116600 - 4:00 p.m. (ET); 3:00 p.m. (CT); 2:00 p.m. (MT); 1:00 p.m. (PT)

Register at the AT&T TeleConference Services. Reservations are limited, so register early. You will receive a personal identification number to join the conference. If you have never registered with AT&T for a prior phone forum, you will first need to click on create a profile. If you require special accommodations (for example, Braille, large print or interpreter services) please contact Brian Finn at: nationalphoneforum@irs.gov. We will e-mail presentation materials the day before the forum. If you do not receive this e-mail by noon the day before the event, please e-mail us at nationalphoneforum@irs.gov to request the materials.

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 05-Nov-2013