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IRS Has $1 Billion for People Who Have Not Filed a 2008 Income Tax Return 

IRS YouTube Videos: Haven't Filed a Tax Return in Years?: English | Spanish | ASL 

IR-2012-26, Feb. 23, 2012 
 
WASHINGTON — Refunds totaling more than $1 billion may be waiting for one million 
people who did not file a federal income tax return for 2008, the Internal Revenue 
Service announced today. However, to collect the money, a return for 2008 must be 
filed with the IRS no later than Tuesday, April 17, 2012. 
 
The IRS estimates that half of these potential 2008 refunds are over $600. 
 
In some cases, people may not have filed their 2008 returns because they had too little 
income to require filing a tax return even though they had taxes withheld from their 
wages or made quarterly estimated payments. In cases where a return was not filed, 
the law provides most taxpayers with a three-year window of opportunity for claiming a 
refund. If no return is filed to claim a refund within three years, the money becomes 
property of the U.S. Treasury. 
 
For 2008 returns, the window closes on April 17, 2012. The law requires that the return 
be properly addressed, mailed and postmarked by that date. There is no penalty for 
filing a late return qualifying for a refund. 
 
The IRS reminds taxpayers seeking a 2008 refund that their checks may be held if they 
have not filed tax returns for 2009 and 2010. In addition, the refund will be applied to 
any amounts still owed to the IRS, and may be used to offset unpaid child support or 
past due federal debts such as student loans. 
 
By failing to file a return, people stand to lose more than refunds of taxes withheld or 
paid during 2008. Some people, especially those who did not receive an economic 
stimulus payment in 2008, may qualify for the Recovery Rebate Credit. In addition, 
many low-and moderate-income workers may not have claimed the Earned Income Tax 
Credit (EITC). The EITC helps individuals and families whose incomes are below 
certain thresholds. The thresholds for 2008 were: 

• $38,646 ($41,646 if married filing jointly) for those with two or more 
qualifying children,  

• $33,995 ($36,995 if married filing jointly) for people with one qualifying 
child, and  

 



• $12,880 ($15,880 if married filing jointly) for those with no qualifying 
children. 

For more information, visit the EITC Home Page on IRS.gov. 
 
Current and prior year tax forms and instructions are available on the Forms and 
Publications page of IRS.gov or by calling toll-free 800-TAX-FORM (800-829-3676). 
Taxpayers who are missing Forms W-2, 1098, 1099 or 5498 for 2008, 2009 or 2010 
should request copies from their employer, bank or other payer. If these efforts are 
unsuccessful, taxpayers can get a free transcript showing information from these year-
end documents by ordering it on IRS.gov, filing Form 4506-T, or by calling 800-908-
9946. 
 
Individuals Who Did Not File a 2008 Return with a Potential Refund 
 

State Individuals Median 
Potential 
Refund* 

Total Potential 
Refunds ($000)* 

Alabama 18,400 $641 $15,738 
Alaska 5,800 $641 $5,952 
Arizona 29,000 $558 $24,913 
Arkansas 9,600 $620 $8,152 
California 122,500 $595 $112,201 
Colorado 20,500 $589 $18,909 
Connecticut 12,500 $697 $13,893 
Delaware 4,200 $644 $3,784 
Dist of Columbia 4,000 $642 $3,791 
Florida 70,400 $650 $66,974 
Georgia 35,800 $581 $30,661 
Hawaii 7,600 $714 $8,307 
Idaho 4,700 $541 $3,878 
Illinois 40,800 $692 $40,712 
Indiana 21,800 $664 $19,590 
Iowa 10,600 $658 $9,295 
Kansas 11,500 $631 $10,084 
Kentucky 12,300 $640 $10,501 
Louisiana 20,500 $662 $18,859 
Maine 4,000 $579 $3,248 
Maryland 24,600 $641 $22,591 
Massachusetts 23,900 $699 $22,957 
Michigan 33,300 $660 $30,903 
Minnesota 15,200 $584 $12,772 
Mississippi 9,900 $591 $8,254 
Missouri 21,600 $593 $18,213 
Montana 3,600 $599 $3,192 
Nebraska 5,100 $623 $4,371 
Nevada 14,500 $619 $13,381 



New Hampshire 4,300 $733 $4,518 
New Jersey 31,300 $716 $31,185 
New Mexico 8,000 $611 $7,420 
New York 60,300 $686 $61,240 
North Carolina 30,800 $558 $24,997 
North Dakota 2,000 $625 $1,895 
Ohio 36,400 $622 $31,018 
Oklahoma 16,800 $620 $14,787 
Oregon 18,500 $527 $14,819 
Pennsylvania 38,700 $695 $35,565 
Rhode Island 3,400 $674 $3,040 
South Carolina 12,200 $547 $10,158 
South Dakota 2,300 $669 $2,234 
Tennessee 18,400 $626 $16,130 
Texas 96,200 $689 $97,057 
Utah 7,800 $536 $6,676 
Vermont 1,700 $647 $1,410 
Virginia 30,800 $624 $28,670 
Washington 29,900 $705 $32,138 
West Virginia 4,300 $687 $4,068 
Wisconsin 14,100 $592 $11,885 
Wyoming 2,600 $773 $2,919 
Total 1,089,000 $637 $1,009,905 

* Excluding the Earned Income Tax Credit and other credits. 
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