2021 年子女稅務優惠以及子女稅務優惠預付款——主題 A:一般資訊

這些常見問題的更新已於 2022 年 5 月 20 日在情況說明書 2022-29 (英文)PDF中向公眾發布。
 

解答 1:子女稅務優惠預付款是國稅局根據預估的子女稅務優惠的 50% 進行提前支付的,該預估金估算額是根據您將可能會在 2021 年申報單納稅申報單上正確申領的子女稅務優惠計算的。如果國稅局在 6 月底前已處理您的 2020 年或 2019 年的申報單納稅申報單,則這些每月款項將根據該申報單納稅申報單從 2021 年 7 月開始支付到 2021 年 12 月。

備註:子女稅務優惠預付款額度不是根據其他被撫養人稅務優惠額計算的,其他被撫養人稅務優惠額是無法退稅款的。有關其他被撫養人稅務優惠額的更多資訊,請參閱國稅局副表8812(表單 1040)72 號出版物——子女稅務優惠以及其他被撫養人稅務優惠額(英文)

解答 2:一般而言,什麼都不用做。如果您有資格基於 2020 年或 2019 年的申報單納稅申報單(包括您在 2020 年在 IRS.gov 上輸入的經濟影響補助金的非申報人工具,或在 2021 年輸入的子女稅收稅務優惠非申報者工具)獲得子女稅務優惠預付款,您一般能自動領取那些款項而毋須採取任何額外行動。

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申報單中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅收稅務優惠,但未收到子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

有關資格以及子女稅務優惠預付款是如何發放的更多資訊,請參閱主題 B:子女稅務優惠預付款和 2021 年子女稅務優惠的資格性主題 E:子女稅務優惠預付款流程

解答 3:不需要。即便您的收入為 0 美元,如果您具備資格,您仍可獲得子女稅務優惠預付款。

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申報單中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅收稅務優惠,但未收到子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

有關資格性的資訊,請參閱主題B:子女稅務優惠預付款的資格和2021年子女稅務優惠的資格

解答 4:如果您無法或選擇不使用子女稅收稅務優惠非申報人註冊工具、國稅局免費申報服務或免費申報可填入表單來申報 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單,還有註冊會計師、註冊稅務師、律師和其他人士等多種類型的報稅員可協助您申報申報單納稅申報單。有關這些和其他可能適合您的其他報稅員的更多資訊,請瀏覽需要人協助填寫納稅申報單?

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申報單中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅收稅務優惠,但未收到子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在 2022 年報稅季節提交 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

解答 5:如果您寧願在申報 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單申領全額稅務優惠額而偏好不領取每月的子女稅務優惠預付款,或者如果您知道您在 2021 稅務年度不符合子女稅務優惠的資格,您將能夠透過子女稅務優惠更新入口網站(CTC UP取消子女稅務優惠預付款。

解答 6:國稅局將於 7 月 15 日開始發放子女稅務優惠預付款。在那之後,款項將會按月發放,直至 2021 年 12 月。

如要瞭解有關如何子女稅務優惠預付款的更多資訊,請參閱主題 E:子女稅務優惠預付款流程

解答 7:會的。國稅局會在 2021年 6 月向您發送 6417 號信件。該信將通知您每月預計能收到的子女稅務優惠款項。該信還將說明您可以在何處找到有關子女稅務優惠預付款的更多資訊。

解答 8:如果您有一名符合條件的子女,您就有資格獲得子女稅務優惠預付款。此外,您(或您的配偶,如果已婚並聯合申報)必須在 50 州的其中一州或哥倫比亞特區擁有一個主要住所超過半年的時間。您的主要住所可以是您經常居住的任何地方。您的主要住所可以是您的房屋、公寓、移動房屋、庇護所、臨時住所或其他地點,並且不需要在整個納稅年度處於同一實際地點。您不需要永久地址來領取這些款項。如果您因疾病、教育、出差、休假或服兵役而暫時離開您的主要住所,您一般會被視為住在您的主要住所中。

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申報單中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅收稅務優惠,但未收到子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

有關子女稅務優惠預付款以及一般子女稅務優惠的資格性的更多資訊,請參閱主題 B:子女稅務優惠預付款的資格和2021年子女稅務優惠的資格

有關您的收入會如何減少子女稅務優惠款項的資訊,請參閱主題 C:2021年子女稅務優惠的計算方法

解答 9:不會。惟若您在 2021 年聯邦所得稅報稅上未能正確地將您的子女稅務優惠預付款與您有資格獲得的子女稅收稅務優惠數額進行核對,國稅局對您的報稅處理將會遭到延遲。

關於如何在2021年納稅申報單上核對您的預付子女稅收稅務優惠和子女稅收稅務優惠的更多資訊,請參閱主題 H:在 2021 年的納稅申報單上核對您的預付子女稅收稅務優惠款項。

解答 10:不需要。子女稅務優惠預付款不是收入,並且不會在您的 2021 年申報單納稅申報單中列為收入。子女稅務優惠預付款是您 2021 納稅年度子女稅務優惠的預付款。

然而,您在 2021 年領取的子女稅務優惠預付款總額是根據國稅局對您 2021 年的子女稅務優惠的估算。如果總額大於您在 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單中可申領的子女稅務優惠,您可能會需要在 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單中償還多發的款項。例如,如果您在 2021 年時不再擁有合資格的子女,但仍根據兩位在 2020 年的申報單納稅申報單上正確申領的合資格子女領取子女稅務優惠預付款時,那麼除非您符合還款保護的資格,否則您根據那兩位子女領取的子女稅務優惠預付款將會加入至您在 2021 年的收入。如要瞭解更多有關您的還款保護資格的資訊,以及如何在您 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單上將您的子女稅務優惠預付款與子女稅務優惠進行核對,請參閱主題 H:在 2021 年的納稅申報單上核對您的預付子女稅收稅務優惠款項。

解答 11:會的。國稅局在 2022 年 1 月已向您發送 6419 號信件,提供在 2021 年向您發放的子女稅務優惠總額的資訊。請將這封關於您的子女稅務優惠預付款的信件與您的稅務記錄一起保存。您在申報 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單時將可能會需要參照此信件。

有關此信的更多資訊,以及如何在 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單上將您的子女稅務優惠預付款與子女稅務優惠進行核對的資訊,請參閱主題 H:在您 2021 年的申報單納稅申報單上折抵子女稅務優惠預付款

解答 12:不會。在判定您或任何其他人是否有資格獲得補助或援助,或者您或任何其他人可以領取多少聯邦計劃或任何全部或部分由聯邦資金資助的州或地方計劃下的補助或援助時,子女稅務優惠預付款不能算作收入。在您收到該款項後的至少 12 個月內,這些計劃也不能將子女稅收稅務優惠額預付款視為判定資格性的資源。

解答 13:國稅局將會在 IRS.gov 上提供子女稅務優惠更新入口網站(CTC UP,這將會讓您能夠向國稅局更新銀行帳戶等資訊。​​​​​​此入口網站已不在有效,IRS 已完成發放子女稅務優惠預付款。

如果您申報了 2021 年的納稅申報單,IRS 將使用您在納稅申報單上輸入的銀行帳戶資訊發送您的退稅款(如果您會收到)。

解答 14:國稅局鼓勵呼籲每個人都警惕那些試圖使用子女稅務優惠預付款作為幌子以掩護竊取個人資訊和金錢的騙局的詐騙者。國稅局不會透過電子郵件、簡訊或社交媒體等管道主動要求個人或財務資訊,或甚至是與子女稅務優惠預付款相關的資訊。另外,請提防聲稱含有與子女稅務優惠預付款或子女稅務優惠退稅款相關的特殊資訊的附件或連結的電子郵件。

如果您收到與國稅局相關的可疑電子郵件,請參閱舉報釣魚或線上詐騙以獲取額外資訊。

解答 15:國稅局將會發佈能透過社群媒體、電子郵件,以及其他方式輕鬆分享的額外資料或資訊。國稅局敦促僱主、社區團體、非營利組織、協會、教育團體以及能聯絡到與兒童有關的任何其他人士分享有關 2021 納稅年度的子女稅務優惠範圍擴大的資訊。您可以在 2021 年子女稅收稅務優惠和預付子女稅收稅務優惠:資源和指南(英文)中找到分享的資料。

國稅局將繼續提供有關如何申領 2021 年子女稅收稅務優惠的資料,以及如何將您的子女稅務優惠預付款與您有資格獲得的 2021 年子女稅收稅務優惠數額進行核對。

關於如何在2021年納稅申報單上核對您的子女稅務優惠預付款和子女稅收稅務優惠的更多資訊,請參閱主題 H:在 2021 年的納稅申報單上核對您的預付子女稅收稅務優惠款項

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申報單中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅收稅務優惠,但未收到子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

解答 16:在美國東部時間 11 月 29 日晚上 11 點 59 分之前進行的更新,將反映在 12 月份的每月付款中。若您需要更新合格子女人數或申報身分,請在您申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時進行相應更新。

*您可以進行更改的日期 您可以做什麼
2021 年 6 月 21 日
  • 取消預付款
  • 查看您的預付款清單
2021 年 6 月 30 日
  • 從 8 月開始更改您的銀行資訊以進行付款
2021 年 8 月 20 日
  • 更改您的地址
2021 年 11 月 1 日
  • 更改您的收入資訊
2021 年 11 月 29 日
  • CTC UP 上更新資訊的最後日期,以影響在 12 月發放的預付子女稅收稅務優惠。
  • 子女稅收稅務優惠更新入口網站亦有西班牙語版本。

    (更新入口網站已失效。)

*日期可能會有變化

2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments — Topic A: General Information

These updated FAQs were released to the public in Fact Sheet 2022-29PDF, May 20, 2022.

A1. Advance Child Tax Credit payments are early payments from the IRS of 50 percent of the estimated amount of the Child Tax Credit that you may properly claim on your 2021 tax return. If the IRS processed your 2020 tax return or 2019 tax return before the end of June 2021, these monthly payments began in July and continued through December 2021, based on the information contained in that return.

Note: Advance Child Tax Credit payment amounts were not based on the Credit for Other Dependents, which is not refundable. For more information about the Credit for Other Dependents, see IRS Schedule 8812 (Form 1040), Credits for Qualifying Children and Other Dependents.

A2. Generally, nothing. If you were eligible to receive advance Child Tax Credit payments based on your 2020 tax return or 2019 tax return (including information you entered into the Non-Filer tool for Economic Impact Payments on IRS.gov in 2020, or the Child Tax Credit Non-filer Sign-up Tool in 2021), you generally received those payments automatically without needing to take any additional action.

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return. 

​​​​​For more information regarding eligibility and how advance Child Tax Credit payments have been disbursed, see Topic B: Eligibility for Advance Child Tax Credit Payments and the 2021 Child Tax Credit and Topic E: Advance Payment Process of the Child Tax Credit.​​​

A3. No. Even if you had $0 in income, you could have received advance Child Tax Credit payments if you were eligible. 

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return.  

For information regarding eligibility, see Topic B: Eligibility for Advance Child Tax Credit Payments and the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A4. If you cannot or choose not to use IRS Free File, or Free File Fillable Forms to file your 2021 tax return, there are various types of tax return preparers, including certified public accountants, enrolled agents, attorneys, and others who can assist you in filing your return. For more information about these and other return preparers who might be right for you, visit Need someone to prepare your tax return?

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return.

A5. If you preferred not to receive monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments because you would rather claim the full credit when you file your 2021 tax return, or you knew you were not eligible for the Child Tax Credit for your 2021 tax year, the IRS provided an option to unenroll from advance Child Tax Credit payments through the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP). 

A6. The IRS began disbursing advance Child Tax Credit payments on July 15. After that, payments were disbursed on a monthly basis through December 2021.

For more information regarding how advance Child Tax Credit payments were disbursed, see Topic E: Advance Payment Process of the Child Tax Credit.

A7. Yes. In June 2021, the IRS sent Letter 6417. This letter informed recipients of the amount of their estimated Child Tax Credit monthly payments. This letter also indicated where recipients could find additional information about advance Child Tax Credit payments.

A8. You qualified for advance Child Tax Credit payments if you had a qualifying child. Also, you — or your spouse, if married filing a joint return — must have had your main home in one of the 50 states or the District of Columbia for more than half the year. Your main home can be any location where you regularly live. Your main home may be your house, apartment, mobile home, shelter, temporary lodging, or other location and doesn’t need to be the same physical location throughout the taxable year. You don’t need a permanent address to get these payments. If you are temporarily away from your main home because of illness, education, business, vacation, or military service, you are generally treated as living in your main home.

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return.

For more information regarding eligibility for advance Child Tax Credit payments, and the Child Tax Credit generally, see ​​​​​​Topic B: Eligibility for Advance Child Tax Credit Payments and the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

For information on how the amount of your Child Tax Credit could be reduced based on the amount of your income, see Topic C: Calculation of the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A9. No.  However, if you fail to properly reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with the amount of Child Tax Credit for which you are eligible on your 2021 federal income tax return, processing of your return by the IRS will be delayed.

For more information regarding how to reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your Child Tax Credit on your 2021 tax return, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return.

A10. No. Advance Child Tax Credit payments are not income and will not be reported as income on your 2021 tax return. Advance Child Tax Credit payments are advance payments of your tax year 2021 Child Tax Credit.

However, the total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that you received during 2021 was based on the IRS’s estimate of your 2021 Child Tax Credit. If the total of your advance Child Tax Credit payments is greater than the Child Tax Credit amount that you are allowed to claim on your 2021 tax return, you may have to repay the excess amount on your 2021 tax return. For example, if you received advance Child Tax Credit payments for two qualifying children properly claimed on your 2020 tax return, but you no longer have qualifying children in 2021, the advance Child Tax Credit payments that you received based on those children are added to your 2021 income tax unless you qualify for repayment protection. For more information regarding your eligibility for repayment protection, and how to reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your Child Tax Credit on your 2021 tax return, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return.

A11. Yes. In January 2022, the IRS sent Letter 6419 to provide the total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that were disbursed to you during 2021. Please keep this letter regarding your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your tax records. You may need to refer to this letter when you file your 2021 tax return.

For more information regarding this letter and how to reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your Child Tax Credit on your 2021 return, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return.

A12. No. Advance Child Tax Credit payments cannot be counted as income when determining if you or anyone else is eligible for benefits or assistance, or how much you or anyone else can receive, under any federal program or under any state or local program financed in whole or in part with federal funds. These programs also cannot count advance Child Tax Credit payments as a resource for purposes of determining eligibility for at least 12 months after you receive them.

The IRS launched on IRS.gov a Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP), which allowed you to update information with the IRS. The portal is no longer available, and the IRS has completed disbursing advance Child Tax Credit payments.

If you file a 2021 return, the IRS will use the bank account information you enter on your tax return to send your refund, if you are receiving one.

A14. The IRS has urged everyone to be on the lookout for scam artists trying to use advance Child Tax Credit payments or the Child Tax Credit as a cover for schemes to steal personal information and money.  The IRS doesn't initiate contact by email, text messages, or social media channels to request personal or financial information – even information related to advance Child Tax Credit payments. Also, watch out for emails with attachments or links claiming to have special information about advance Child Tax Credit payments or refunds of the Child Tax Credit.

If you receive a suspicious IRS-related email, see Report Phishing and Online Scams for additional information.

A15. The IRS has materials and information that can be easily shared by social media, email, and other methods. The IRS urges employers, community groups, non-profits, associations, education groups, and anyone else with connections to people with children to share information about the Child Tax Credit expansions for the 2021 tax year. You can find materials to share at 2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments: Resources and Guidance.

The IRS will continue to provide materials on how to claim the 2021 Child Tax Credit, as well as how to reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with the amount of 2021 Child Tax Credit for which you are eligible.

For more information regarding how to reconcile your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your Child Tax Credit on your 2021 tax return, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return.

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return.

A16. Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly payment disbursed in December. Updates to the number of qualifying children or filing status should be made when you file your 2021 tax return.

*Date You Can Make Changes What You Can Do
June 21, 2021
  • Find out if you're eligible
  • Unenroll from payments
  • See a list of your payments
June 30, 2021
  • Make changes to your bank information for your payments beginning in August
August 20, 2021
  • Make changes to your address
November 1, 2021
  • Make changes to your income
November 29, 2021
  • Final date to update information on Child Tax Credit Update Portal to impact advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December. 
  • Child Tax Credit Update Portal available in Spanish
(The Update Portal is no longer available.)

* Dates subject to change