2021 年子女稅優惠以及子女稅優惠預付款 - 主題 H:在您 2021 年的納稅申報表上折抵子女稅優惠預付款

解答1。當您在 2022 年報稅季申報 2021 年的納稅申報表時,您將需要比較:

  1. 您在 2021 年收到的子女稅優惠預付款總額;和
  2. 您可以在 2021 年納稅申報表中正確申領的子女稅優惠。

子女稅優惠超額部分:如果您的子女稅優惠超出您的子女稅優惠預付款,您可以在您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申領剩餘的子女稅優惠。

子女稅優惠預付款超額部分如果您領取的子女稅優惠預付款總額超過了您可以在 2021 納稅年度正確申領的子女稅優惠,您可能需要向國稅局償還部分或全部超額款項。

國稅局在 2022 年 1 月將會向您發送 6419 號信件,提供在 2021 年向您發放的子女稅優惠總額的資訊。請將這封關於您的子女稅優惠預付款的信件與您的稅務記錄一起保存。您在 2022 年的報稅季申報 2021 年的納稅申報表時將可能會需要參照此信件。

解答2。您在 2021 年領取的子女稅優惠是根據國稅局預計您能在 2021 納稅年度適當獲得的子女稅優惠計算的。法律要求此估算植依照兩個主要資訊來源計算:

  1. 您的 2020 納稅年度的納稅申報表,或者,如果無法獲取該納稅申報表,則使用您 2019 納稅年度的納稅申報表;以及
  2. 您在 2021 年向國稅局提供的任何更新資訊,包括透過子女稅優惠更新入口網站(CTC UP提供的資訊,這將允許您在整個 2021 年向國稅局更新您的子女稅優惠資訊,包括您合資格子女的數量、收入,以及申報身份等任何變化。

家庭和生活狀況在任何一年中都可能發生很大的改變。下列清單提供了可能會導致超額發放子女稅優惠預付款的變化的範例。

  • 一位與您同住且符合資格的子女可能會在 2021 年搬家,並在 2021 納稅年度一半以上的時間與不同的人一起居住。
  • 您的收入在 2021 年增加了。
  • 您的申報身份在 2021 年發生了變化。
  • 您的主要住所在 2021 年一半以上的時間都在美國境外。

由於此類正常的家庭和生活變化,您領取的子女稅優惠預付款可能會超出您在 2021 年的納稅申報表上能正確申領的子女稅優惠。
有關子女稅優惠預付款的更多資訊,包括您的主要住所的定義的資訊,請參閱主題B:子女稅優惠預付款的資格和2021年子女稅優惠的資格

解答3。可以。國稅局鼓勵您在 2021 年間使用子女稅優惠更新入口網站(CTC UP,以幫助確保國稅局掌握有關您獲得 2021 年子女稅優惠資格的最新資訊。此更新後的資訊將幫助國稅局持續提高國稅局在計算您 2021 年的納稅申報表中可獲得的子女稅優惠的估算值的準確性。CTC UP啟動後,將允許你選擇不接收子女稅優惠預付款,並更新你的銀行賬戶信息。國稅局將在今年晚些時候為CTC UP增加一些功能,詳見在2021年期間,如果我的銀行、郵寄地址、收入或家庭的信息發生變化,怎麼辦?中的描述。

在更新您能適當領取的子女稅優惠的估算值後,國稅局就可以在 2021 年適當地減少您的子女稅優惠預付款金額。

重要資訊:這些調整將減少向您超額發放子女稅優惠預付款的可能性,否則您將可能需要在 2022 年向 國稅局償還這些款項。

有關子女稅優惠更新入口網站的詳細資訊以及新功能將會在何時新增至子女稅優惠更新入口網站的資訊,請參閱主題F:2021年期間更新你的子女稅優惠資訊
 

解答4。有可能。如果您有資格獲得本主題 H 中所述的還款保護,您將無需償還部分或全部超額領取的款項。如果您不符合還款保護的資格,您將需要在 2021 年的納稅申報表中以額外所得稅申報超額款項的全額。這筆額外所得稅將減少您的退稅金額或增加您在 2021 年應繳納的總稅款。

解答5。根據您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申報的身份,如果您經修正的調整後總收入符合或高於下列金額,您則不符合任何還款保護的資格。

  • $120,000 美元(如果結婚且聯合申報,或以符合資格的寡婦或鰥夫身份申報);
  • $100,000 美元(如果您以戶長的身份申報);或者
  • $80,000 美元(如果您是單身申報者或結婚但個別申報)。

有關經修正的調整後總收入的定義,請參閱主題C:2021年子女稅優惠的計算方法

解答6。如果您 2021 年的主要住所有超過一半以上的時間都是在美國,並且根據您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申報的身份,如果您 2021 年的經修正的調整後總收入 (AGI) 符合或低於以下金額,您即符合還款保護全額的資格且無須繳回任何超額部分:

  • $60,000 美元(如果結婚且聯合申報,或以符合資格的寡婦或鰥夫身份申報);
  • $50,000 美元(如果您以戶長的身份申報);或者
  • $40,000 美元(如果您是單身申報者或結婚但個別申報)。

如果您經修正的調整後總收入高於這些金額,或者您 2021 年的主要住所有超過一半都不是在美國,那麼您的還款保護就有可能受限。

有關主要住所的定義的更多資訊,主題B:子女稅優惠預付款的資格和2021年子女稅優惠的資格。有關經修正的調整後總收入的定義,請參閱主題C:2021年子女稅優惠的計算方法

解答7。如果您有資格獲得還款保護,則您超額領取的子女稅優惠預付款的稅務義務金額最多可減少還款保護全額。還款保護全額等於 $2,000 美元,並乘以下列各事項:

  • 國稅局在初步估計您的子女稅優惠預付款考量的合資格子女的人數,減去
  • 在判定 2021 年納稅申報表上能申領的子女稅優惠時正確考量的合資格子女的人數。

範例:您正確地在 2020 年的納稅申報表上申領了三位合資格的子女,但僅在 2021 年的納稅申報表上申領了一位合資格的子女。如果您符合資格的話,您可以獲取高達 $4,000 美元的還款保護(也就是針對每位超額領取的合資格子女獲得 $2,000 美元)。

根據您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申報的身份,如果您經修正的調整後總收入(AGI)符合或低於下列金額您將可針對每位超額領取的合資格子女申請 $2,000 美元的全額還款保護:

  • $60,000 美元(如果結婚且聯合申報,或以符合資格的寡婦或鰥夫身份申報);
  • $50,000 美元(如果您以戶長的身份申報);或者
  • $40,000 美元(如果您是單身申報者或結婚但個別申報)。

有關經修正的調整後總收入的定義,請參閱主題C:2021年子女稅優惠的計算方法

解答8。會的。根據您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申報的身份,您的還款保護金額將會根據您經修正的調整後總收入(AGI)高於下列金額的部分減少:

  • $60,000 美元(如果結婚且聯合申報,或以符合資格的寡婦或鰥夫身份申報);
  • $50,000 美元(如果您以戶長的身份申報);或者
  • $40,000 美元(如果您是單身申報者或結婚但個別申報)。

此還款保護金額會隨著您的經修正的調整後總收入(AGI)高於上述金額而遞減或減少。根據您 2021 年的納稅申報表上申報的身份,當您的經修正的調整後總收入(AGI)符合或高於上述金額時,您的還款保護金額將會等於 $0 美元,並且您的還款金額將不會減少。

  • $120,000 美元(如果結婚且聯合申報,或以符合資格的寡婦或鰥夫身份申報);
  • $100,000 美元(如以戶長的身份申報);或者
  • $80,000 美元(如果您是單身申報者或結婚但個別申報)。

範例:您與您的配偶聯合申報了 2020 納稅年度的納稅申報表,並為三位合資格子女正確申領了子女稅優惠。國稅局會根據這些合資格的子女估算您的子女稅優惠預付款總額。然而,當您以 $75,000 美元的經修正的調整後總收入聯合申報 2021 年的納稅申報表時,您僅為一名何資格的子女申領了子女稅優惠,並因而超額領取了兩名子女的子女稅優惠。您 $75,000 美元的經修正的調整後總收入超出了您適用的 $60,000 美元的經修正的調整後總收入門檻 25%。您可能獲得的 $4,000 美元還款保護全額(也就是針對每位超額領取的合資格子女獲得 $2,000 美元)下降了 25%,變為 $3,000 美元。

解答9。大多數需要償還子女稅優惠預付款超額部分的個人都會透過減少原先會獲得的聯邦所得稅退稅來償還該欠款。然而,如果您積欠的款項超過您的退稅,國稅局一般會與無法繳納的納稅人協調。對這些積欠的款項制定繳款協議的流程與其他積欠的稅款的流程相同。有關如何支付逾期的聯邦所得稅的更多資訊,請參閱繳納您的稅款

解答10。會的。國稅局在 2022 年 1 月將會向您發送 6419 號信件,提供在 2021 年向您發放的子女稅優惠總額的資訊。請將這封關於您的子女稅優惠預付款的信件與您的稅務記錄一起保存。您在 2022 年的報稅季申報 2021 年的納稅申報表時將可能會需要參照此信件。

此信將會郵寄至截至信件郵寄日您記錄在案的地址。這一般會是您最近期的納稅申報表上的地址,或透過子女稅優惠更新入口網站(CTC UP或美國郵政服務(USPS)更新的地址。如要瞭解更多有關子女稅優惠更新入口網站的資訊,請參閱主題 F:在 2021 年更新您的子女稅優惠的資訊

2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments — Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return

A1. When you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season, you will need to compare:

  1. The total amount of the advance Child Tax Credit payments that you received during 2021; with
  2. The amount of the Child Tax Credit that you can properly claim on your 2021 tax return.

Excess Child Tax Credit Amount: If the amount of your Child Tax Credit exceeds the total amount of your advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the remaining amount of your Child Tax Credit on your 2021 tax return.

Excess Advance Child Tax Credit Payment Amount: If you receive a total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that exceeds the amount of Child Tax Credit that you can properly claim on your 2021 tax year, you may need to repay to the IRS some or all of that excess payment.

In January 2022, the IRS will send you Letter 6419 to provide the total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that were disbursed to you during 2021. Please keep this letter regarding your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your tax records. You may need to refer to this letter when you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season.

A2. The amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that you receive during 2021 is based on the IRS’s estimate of the Child Tax Credit amount that you properly would be allowed for the 2021 tax year. The law requires this estimate to be based on two primary sources of information:

  1. Your 2020 tax year return or, if that return is not available, your 2019 tax year return; and
  2. Any updated information you provide to the IRS in 2021, including information provided through the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP), which will allow you to update with the IRS your Child Tax Credit information throughout 2021, including any changes in the number of your qualifying children, changes in your income, and changes in your filing status.

Family and life situations can be fluid throughout a given year. The following list provides examples of changes that could result in excess advance Child Tax Credit payments.

  • A qualifying child who resided with you may change homes during 2021 and reside more than half of the 2021 tax year with a different individual.
  • Your income increases in 2021.
  • Your filing status changes for 2021.
  • Your main home was outside of the United States for more than half of 2021.

As a result of these types of ordinary family and life changes, you may receive a total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that exceeds the amount of Child Tax Credit that you properly are allowed on your 2021 tax return.

For more information regarding eligibility for advance Child Tax Credit payments, including the definition of your main home, see Topic B: Eligibility for Advance Child Tax Credit Payments and the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A3. Yes. The IRS urges you to use the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) throughout 2021 to help ensure that the IRS has the most up-to-date information regarding your eligibility for the 2021 Child Tax Credit. This updated information will help the IRS continue to improve the accuracy of the IRS’s estimate of the Child Tax Credit amount that you will be allowed on your 2021 tax return. CTC UP launched and will allow you to elect not to receive advance Child Tax Credit payments and update your bank account information. The IRS will add features to CTC UP later this year, which are described in What if information about my bank, mailing address, income, or family has changed during 2021?

With this updated estimate of your properly allowed Child Tax Credit amount, the IRS can appropriately reduce your advance Child Tax Credit payment amounts throughout 2021.

Important: These adjustments will reduce the potential for advance Child Tax Credit overpayments to you, which you otherwise might need to pay back to the IRS in 2022.

For more information regarding CTC UP, and when new features will be added to CTC UP, see Topic F: Updating Your Child Tax Credit Information During 2021.

A4. Maybe. If you qualify for the repayment protection described in this Topic H, you will be excused from repaying some or all of the excess amount. If you do not qualify for repayment protection, you will need to report the entire excess amount on your 2021 tax return as additional income tax. This additional income tax will reduce the amount of your tax refund or increase your total tax due for 2021.

A5. You won’t qualify for any repayment protection if your modified AGI is at or above the amounts listed below based on the filing status on your 2021 tax return.

  • $120,000 if you are married and filing a joint return or if filing as a qualifying widow or widower;
  • $100,000 if you are filing as head of household; and
  • $80,000 if you are a single filer or are married and filing a separate return.

For information on the definition of modified AGI, see Topic C: Calculation of the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A6. You qualify for full repayment protection and won’t need to repay any excess amount if your main home was in the United States for more than half of 2021 and your modified adjusted gross income (AGI) for 2021 is at or below the following amount based on the filing status on your 2021 tax return:

  • $60,000 if you are married and filing a joint return or if filing as a qualifying widow or widower;
  • $50,000 if you are filing as head of household; and
  • $40,000 if you are a single filer or are married and filing a separate return.

Your repayment protection may be limited if your modified AGI exceeds these amounts or your main home was not in the United States for more than half of 2021.

For more on the definition of your main home, see Topic B: Eligibility for Advance Child Tax Credit Payments and the 2021 Child Tax Credit. For information on the definition of modified AGI, see Topic C: Calculation of the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A7. If you qualify for repayment protection, the amount of your tax liability from excess advance Child Tax Credit payments is reduced by up to the full repayment protection amount. The full repayment protection amount equals $2,000, multiplied by the following:

  • The number of qualifying children that the IRS took into account in determining the IRS’s initial estimate of your advance Child Tax Credit payments, minus
  • The number of qualifying children properly taken into account in determining the allowed Child Tax Credit amount on your 2021 tax return.

Example: You properly claimed three qualifying children on your 2020 tax return, but claim only one qualifying child on your 2021 tax return. You can receive up to $4,000 in repayment protection (that is, $2,000 for each excess qualifying child) if you qualify.

You will be able to apply the full repayment protection amount of $2,000 for each excess qualifying child if your modified adjusted gross income (AGI) is at or below the following amounts based on the filing status on your 2021 tax return:

  • $60,000 if you are married and filing a joint return or if filing as a qualifying widow or widower;
  • $50,000 if you are filing as head of household; and
  • $40,000 if you are a single filer or you are married and filing a separate return.

For information on the definition of modified AGI, see Topic C: Calculation of the 2021 Child Tax Credit.

A8. Yes. Your repayment protection amount will decrease based on how much your modified adjusted gross income (AGI) is greater than the following amounts based on the filing status on your 2021 tax return:

  • $60,000 if you are married and filing a joint return or if filing as a qualifying widow or widower;
  • $50,000 if you are filing as head of household; and
  • $40,000 if you are a single filer or are married and filing a separate return.

This repayment protection amount is then phased out – or reduced – as your modified AGI exceeds the amount above. Your repayment protection amount will equal $0 and your repayment amount will not be reduced when your modified AGI is at or above this higher amount based on the filing status on your 2021 tax return:

  • $120,000 if married and filing a joint return or if filing as a qualifying widow or widower;
  • $100,000 if filing as head of household; or
  • $80,000 if you are a single filer or are married and filing a separate return.

Example: You filed a joint return with your spouse for tax year 2020 and properly claimed the Child Tax Credit for three qualifying children. The IRS estimated your total advance Child Tax Credit payment amount based on these qualifying children. However, when you file your 2021 joint tax return with a modified AGI of $75,000, you claim the Child Tax Credit for only one qualifying child – and therefore have two excess qualifying children. Your modified AGI of $75,000 exceeds your applicable $60,000 modified AGI threshold by 25 percent. Your potential full repayment protection amount of $4,000 (that is, $2,000 for each excess qualifying child) is reduced by 25 percent to $3,000.

A9. The majority of individuals who need to repay excess advance Child Tax Credit payments will satisfy that balance through a reduction in their expected federal income tax refund. However, if you owe a balance in excess of your refund, the IRS routinely works with taxpayers who owe amounts they cannot afford to pay. The process to make a payment arrangement for these balances due is the same as for other tax balances. For further information on how to pay your past due federal income tax liability, see Paying Your Taxes.

A10. Yes. In January 2022, the IRS will send you Letter 6419 to provide the total amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments that were disbursed to you during 2021. Please keep this letter regarding your advance Child Tax Credit payments with your tax records. You may need to refer to this letter when you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season.

This letter will be mailed to your address on file as of the letter’s mailing date. This generally will be the address on your most recent tax return, or as updated through the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) or the United States Postal Service (USPS). For more information regarding CTC UP, see Topic F: Updating Your Child Tax Credit Information During 2021.