Future Developments

For the latest information about developments related to Schedule F (Form 990) and its instructions, such as legislation enacted after they were published, go to www.irs.gov/form990.

General Instructions


Terms in bold are defined in the Glossary of the Instructions for Form 990.

Purpose of Schedule

Schedule F (Form 990) is used by an organization that files Form 990 to provide information on its activities conducted outside the United States by the organization at any time during the tax year.

Activities conducted outside the United States include grants and other assistance, program-related investments, fundraising activities, unrelated trade or business, program services, investments, or maintaining offices, employees, or agents for the purpose of conducting any such activities in regions outside the United States.

United States is defined as the 50 states and the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the United States Virgin Islands. A “foreign country” is any sovereignty that is not the United States.

Information is to be reported based on the geographic regions described below. Report activities conducted by the organization directly or indirectly through a disregarded entity, or through a joint venture treated as a partnership.

For purposes of Schedule F (Form 990), grants and other assistance includes awards, prizes, contributions, noncash assistance, cash allocations, stipends, scholarships, fellowships, research grants, and similar payments and distributions made by the organization during the tax year to foreign organizations, foreign governments, and foreign individuals. It also includes grants and other assistance to domestic individuals or domestic organizations for the purpose of providing grants to designated foreign beneficiaries. It does not include salaries or other compensation to employees or payments to independent contractors; the payment of any benefit by a section 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association (VEBA) to employees of a sponsoring organization or contributing employer, if such payment is made under the terms of the VEBA trust and in compliance with section 505; or payments or other assistance to affiliates or branch offices that are not organized as legal entities separate from the filing organization.

Program services” are activities conducted by the organization outside the United States that form the basis of the organization's exemption from federal income tax. Examples of program services include, but are not limited to, operating an orphanage, school, hospital, church, temple, mosque, or synagogue; disaster relief efforts; and providing indigent relief.

Parts II and III of Schedule F (Form 990), and the Part I, line 3 table of Schedule F, may be duplicated to list additional activities per region (Part I), grants and other assistance to organizations or entities outside the United States (Part II), or grants and other assistance to individuals outside the United States (Part III) that do not fit on the first page of these parts. Number each page of each part.

Who Must File

An organization that answered “Yes” on Form 990, Part IV, Checklist of Required Schedules, line 14b, 15, or 16, must complete the appropriate parts of Schedule F (Form 990) and attach Schedule F (Form 990) to Form 990.

If an organization is not required to file Form 990 but chooses to do so, it must file a complete return and provide all of the information requested, including the required schedules.


Reporting on Schedule F (Form 990) is based on the following geographic regions.


Central America and the Caribbean

Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, and British Virgin Islands.

East Asia and the Pacific

Australia, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, China (including Hong Kong), East Timor, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Nauru, New Zealand, North Korea, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYR Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales).

Middle East and North Africa

Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen.

North America

Canada and Mexico, but not the United States.

Russia and Neighboring States

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

South Asia

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Sub-Saharan Africa

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote D'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

If an organization's activities involve a country not listed earlier, designate the appropriate region for the country.

More Online Instructions