## News Release

Washington, D.C.

Media Contact: 202.317.4000 Public Contact: 800.829.1040

## IRS "Taxpayer Bill of Rights" Now Available in 6 Languages; 10 Key Rights Outlined in Updated Publication 1

IR-2014-80, Aug. 12, 2014

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service announced today that its cornerstone "<u>Taxpayer Bill of Rights</u>" document is now available in six languages.

Newly-revised versions of Publication 1, "<u>Your Rights as a Taxpayer</u>," are now posted on IRS.gov in English, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Russian and Vietnamese. By making this important publication available in multiple languages, the IRS hopes to increase the number of Americans who know and understand their rights under the tax law.

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights takes the multiple existing rights embedded in the tax code and groups them into 10 broad categories, making them easier to find and understand.

"We believe that these rights are critically important for people to know and understand, and translating them into additional languages helps us reach even more taxpayers," IRS Commissioner John Koskinen said. "We encourage people to take a moment to read the Bill of Rights."

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains 10 provisions. They are:

- 1. The Right to Be Informed
- 2. The Right to Quality Service
- 3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax
- 4. The Right to Challenge the IRS's Position and Be Heard
- 5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum
- 6. The Right to Finality
- 7. The Right to Privacy
- 8. The Right to Confidentiality

- 9. The Right to Retain Representation
- 10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System

The IRS has created a special section of IRS.gov to highlight the 10 rights. The website will continue to be updated with information as it becomes available.

—30—