# MINUTES Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council Public Meeting

# November 17, 2021, 11 a.m. ET

The meeting was opened by Mel Hardy, Director of the IRS Office of National Public Liaison who gave welcoming remarks followed by John Lipold, Designated Federal Officer, Branch Chief, IRS Office of National Public Liaison, who provided housekeeping information regarding the meeting. Mr. Lipold welcomed the public to the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council's ("IRSAC") November annual public meeting.

Mr. Lipold turned the meeting over to Ben Deneka, Chairman, IRSAC, to provide welcoming remarks. Mr. Deneka also introduced the themes of the IRSAC's 2021 Public Report (the "Report") and thanked all who worked to produce it. Mr. Deneka introduced Carol Lew, Vice Chair, IRSAC, who thanked Mr. Deneka, the IRS, and the IRSAC for their work on the report. Mel Hardy then introduced the Commissioner of Internal Revenue, Charles P. Rettig, who provided welcoming remarks and opening comments. Commissioner Rettig also thanked outgoing IRSAC members for their service.

Mr. Deneka then presented an overview of the Report to the Commissioner, including a discussion of the themes of the Report. The following General Report Topics were then presented to the Commissioner:

- 1. Adequate Funding for the IRS Phil Poirier, Member, Wage & Investment Subgroup
- Implementation of the Taxpayer First Act Section 1302, Modernization of Internal Revenue Service Organizational Structure – Joseph Novak, Chair, Large Business & International Subgroup
- 3. Independent Office of Appeals Steven Klitzner, Member, Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
- 4. Reduction in Electronic Filing Threshold for Information Return Filers Wendy Walker, Member, Information Reporting Subgroup
- 5. Circular 230 Revisions Kelly Myers, Member, Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
- 6. Postponing Deadlines Under Revenue Procedure 2018-58 with respect to Information Return Filers Carol Lew, IRSAC, Vice-Chair.

Each Subgroup then presented a topic to the Commissioner after introductions of members by the applicable Subgroup Chair: Alexandra Cruz, Information Reporting; Joseph Novak, Large Business & International; Robert Panoff, Small Business/Self-Employed; Nancy Ruoff on behalf of April Goff, Tax Exempt & Government Entities; and Martin Armstrong, Wage & Investment:

- Information Reporting Subgroup
  - Payors of Income Related to Digital Assets Need Information Reporting Withholding Guidance – Wendy Walker, Member, Information Reporting Subgroup
- Large Business & International Subgroup
  - Continuation of Rev. Proc. 94-69 Joseph Novak, Chair, Large Business & International Subgroup



0

- Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
  - The Compliance Effort Around Abusive Promotors and Preparers Robert Panoff, Chair, Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
- Tax Exempt & Government Entities Subgroup
  - Update, Expand, and Promote Online IRS Guidance for Federal, State, and Local Governments, – Nancy Ruoff, Member, Tax Exempt & Government Entities Subgroup
- Wage & Investment
  - Improving the Taxpayer Experience with Taxpayer Digital Communication Outbound Notification (TDC-ON) Application (Recently Renamed as Digital Notices and Letters (DN&L)) – Martin Armstrong, Chair, Wage and Investment Subgroup

After a short break each Subgroup, after introductions by the applicable Subgroup Chair, presented the remaining issues in the Report as follows:

- Large Business & International Subgroup Presented to Nikole Flax, Commissioner, Large Business & International
  - Consider Reasonable Cause Prior to Assessing Penalties on International Information Reporting Forms – T. Charles Parr III, Member, Large Business & International Subgroup
  - Protecting the Personal Identifiable Information of Responsible Parties Katie Sunderland, Member, Large Business & International Subgroup
  - Ensuring the Timely Issuance of Certificate of Residency Forms Katie Sunderland
- Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup Presented to De Lon Harris, Deputy Commissioner, Examination, Small Business/Self-Employed, Darren Guillot, Deputy Commissioner, Collection, Small Business/Self-Employed
  - The IRS COVID-19 Response Mary Jo Werner, Member, Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
- Wage & Investment Subgroup Presented to David Alito, Deputy Commissioner, Wage & Investment
  - Review of Paid Preparer Due Diligence Training Module Denise Jackson, Member, Wage & Investment Subgroup
  - Determining the Usefulness of Publication 535 Martin Rule, Member, Wage & Investment Subgroup
  - Determining the Usefulness of Publication 938 Antonio Gonzalez, Member, Wage & Investment Subgroup
  - Encouraging Taxpayers to Maximize the Use of Electronic Filing of all Tax Returns, Forms, and Payments – Kathryn Tracy, Member, Wage & Investment Subgroup
- Tax Exempt & Government Entities Subgroup Presented to Sunita Lough, Commissioner, Tax Exempt & Government Entities, Edward Killen, Deputy Commissioner, Tax Exempt and Government Entities
  - Form 990-N and 990-EZ Thresholds Jodi Kessler, Member, Tax Exempt & Government Entities Subgroup
  - Reducing the User Fee for Private Letter Rulings for Local, State, and Indian Tribal Governments Related to Tax-Advantaged Bonds – Sharon Brown, Member, Tax Exempt & Government Entities Subgroup
- Information Reporting Subgroup Presented to Nancy Erwin, Acting Deputy Associate Chief Counsel, International, Ashton P. Trice, Deputy Associate Chief Counsel, Procedure and Administration
  - Foreign Student and Scholar Social Security and Medicare Exemptions Kevin Valuet, Member, Information Reporting Subgroup
  - Section 1446(f): Withholding on Transfers of Interests in Publicly Traded Partnerships
    Seth Poloner, Member, Information Reporting Subgroup
  - Negative Rates Seth Poloner, Member, Information Reporting Subgroup

After closing remarks by Ben Deneka and Carol Lew, Mel Hardy closed the meeting at 2:45 p.m. ET.

#### **IRSAC Public Meeting Attendees – November 17, 2021**

# IRSAC

Ben Deneka, IRSAC Chair Carol Lew, IRSAC Vice Chair Ted Afield Martin Armstrong Sharon Brown Jeremiah Coder Sam Cohen Alexandra Cruz Deborah Fox Antonio Gonzalez Robert Howren Denise Jackson Jodi Kessler Steve Klitzner Kathleen Lach Kelly Myers Joseph Novak Robert Panoff Charles Parr Phil Poirier Seth Poloner Dawn Rhea Martin Rule Nancy Ruoff Paul Sterbenz Katie Sunderland Kathryn Tracy Kevin Valuet Wendy Walker Katrina Welch Daniel Welytok Mary Jo Werner Charles Yovino

## IRS

Charles Rettig, Commissioner of Internal Revenue John Lipold, IRSAC DFO David Alito Debra Awalt Ramona Bailey Tanya Barbosa Johnnie Beale Anita Bower Anna Brown Stephanie Burch Casey Conrad Roseann Cutrone Nancy Erwin Sharyn Fisk Nikole Flax Adrienne Griffin Melvin Hardy Shawn Hooks

Maria Jaramillo Cynthia Jones Mireille Khoury Edward Killen Terry Lemons Sunita Lough Robert Marvin Timothy McCormally Lawrence Mosblech Wanda Patrick Nancy Rose Ashton Trice Brian Ward

## Public attendees

Ed Babitzke Jared Ballew Peter Barca Latryna Carlton Manny Dominguez Alison Flores Larry Gray Kathy Hettick William Hoffman Eric Inkrott Mary Kallewaard Courtney Kay-Decker Robert Kerr John Kreger Phyllis Jo Kubey Chris LaRose Julie Magee Jyme Mariani Sherice McCarthy-Hill Danielle McDowell Mimi Nolan Jim Paille Andy Phillips Kathy Pickering Tim Shaw Pat Thompson