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Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue ServiceInstructions for Form 720


(Rev. January 2006)
Quarterly Federal Excise Tax Return
Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless otherwise noted.


calendar quarters of 2006. See Safe Harbor Rule onGeneral Instructions page 9.
• The line for the luxury tax (IRS No. 92) will be deleted.
The tax expired after December 31, 2002, and the leaseWhat’s New
periods ended December 31, 2005.


Changes Effective For The First Calendar
Electronic PaymentQuarter of 2006
Now, more than ever before, businesses can enjoy the• The tax on arrow shafts (IRS No.106) has increased to
benefits of paying their federal taxes electronically.$.40 per arrow shaft.
Whether you rely on a tax professional or handle your• The tax on use of international air travel facilities (IRS
own taxes, the IRS offers you a convenient program toNo. 27) has increased for amounts paid during 2006. For
make it easier. Spend less time on taxes and more timeflights that begin or end in the United States, the rate will
running your business. Use Electronic Federal Taxbe $14.50 per person. For domestic segments that begin
Payment System (EFTPS) to your benefit. Foror end in Alaska or Hawaii (applies only to departures),
information on EFTPS, visit www.eftps.gov or call EFTPSthe rate will be $7.30 per person.
Customer Service at 1-800-555-4477. Also see How To• For amounts paid for each domestic segment of Make Deposits on page 8.taxable transportation of persons by air (IRS No. 26), the


domestic segment tax has increased to $3.30 per
Purpose of Formsegment for transportation that begins in 2006.


• The one-time filing checkbox has been moved to the Use Form 720 and attachments to report liability by IRS
gas guzzler tax line (IRS No. 40). See Gas guzzler tax on No. and pay the excise taxes listed on the form.
page 6.
• Taxpayers reporting tax on B-100 (100% biodiesel) When To File
should use the other fuels line (IRS No. 79) on Form 720. You must file a return for each quarter of the calendar
See Other fuels on page 4. year as follows:


The Energy Policy Act of 2005 and the Safe,
Quarter covered Due byAccountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity
Jan., Feb., Mar. April 30Act of 2005 (SAFETEA) contain the following provisions


effective after December 31, 2005. Apr., May, June July 31• Effective January 1, 2006, the rate of tax for a
July, Aug., Sept. October 31diesel-water fuel emulsion will be $.198 per gallon if


certain requirements are met. IRS No. 104 has been Oct., Nov., Dec. January 31
added to Form 720
• Renewable diesel will generally be treated the same as If any due date for filing a return falls on a Saturday,biodiesel for credit purposes. New line 13c has been Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file the return on theadded to Schedule C for renewable diesel mixtures. next business day.• Three new IRS Nos. have been added to report


Send your return to the IRS using the U.S. Postaltaxable tires instead of IRS No. 66.
Service or a designated private delivery service to meet1. IRS No. 108, Taxable tires other than biasply or the “timely mailing as timely filing/paying” rule. Seesuper single tires. Private Delivery Services on page 2.2. IRS No. 109, Taxable tires, biasply or super single
Floor stocks tax. Report the floor stocks tax ontires (other than super single tires designed for steering).
ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 20, on the3. IRS No. 113, Taxable tires, super single tires
return due by July 31 of each year. The tax payment isdesigned for steering.
due by June 30. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7.• Old line 14 of Schedule C, Gasoline, has been deleted.


Claims for sales of certain taxable fuel to state and local Where To Filegovernments and nonprofit educational organizations can
Send Form 720 to the Internal Revenue Service Center,be made by registered credit card issuers on line new
Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009.14d if certain conditions are met.


How To FileChanges Effective For The Second Calendar
If you are not reporting a tax that you normally report,Quarter of 2006
enter a zero on the appropriate line in Part I or II (Form• The oil spill liability taxes (IRS Nos. 18 and 21) have
720). Also, if you have no tax to report, write “None” onbeen reinstated beginning April 1, 2006.
line 3, Part III; sign and date the return.• Current Form 720 filers who will be liable for the oil


spill liability taxes beginning in April 2006 cannot use the If you have adjustments to liabilities reported for prior
safe harbor method for deposits in the second and third quarters, see Form 720X, Amended Quarterly Federal


Cat. No. 64240C







Page 2 of 16 Instructions for Form 720 14:58 -  9-FEB-2006


The type and rule above prints on all proofs including departmental reproduction proofs. MUST be removed before printing.


Excise Tax Return. Do not enter adjustments on • Publication 509, Tax Calendars for 2006, has deposit
Form 720. and payment due dates for all federal excise taxes.


• Notice 2005-4. You can find Notice 2005-4 on pageIf you attach additional sheets, write your name and
289 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-2 at www.irs.gov/EIN on each sheet.
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-02.pdf.
• Notice 2005-24. You can find Notice 2005-24 on pageFinal Return
757 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-12 at www.irs.gov/File a final return if you have been filing Form 720 and
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-12.pdf.you: • Notice 2005-62.You can find Notice 2005-62 on page


1. Go out of business or 443 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-35 at www.irs.gov/
2. Will not owe excise taxes that are reportable on pub/irs-irbs/irb05-35.pdf.


Form 720 in future quarters. • Notice 2005-80. You can find Notice 2005-80 on page
953 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-46 at www.irs.gov/


If you are only filing to report zero tax and you will pub/irs-irbs/irb05-46.pdf.
not owe excise tax in future quarters, check the You may also call the business and specialty tax linefinal return box above Part I of Form 720. The IRS


TIP
at 1-800-829-4933 with your excise tax questions. Thewill then stop sending Package 720 to you each quarter. hours of operation are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00
p.m. local time.Recordkeeping


Keep copies of your tax return, records, and accounts of Private Delivery Services
all transactions to show that the correct tax has been You can use certain private delivery services designated
paid. Keep records to support all claims and all by the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filing/
exemptions at least 4 years from the latest of the date: paying” rule for tax returns and payments. These private• The tax became due, delivery services include only the following:• You paid the tax, or • DHL Express (DHL): DHL Same Day Service, DHL• You filed a claim. Next Day 10:30 am, DHL Next Day 12:00 pm, DHL Next


Day 3:00 pm, and DHL 2nd Day Service.Penalties and Interest • Federal Express (FedEx): FedEx Priority Overnight,
Avoid penalties and interest by filing returns and FedEx Standard Overnight, FedEx 2Day, FedEx
depositing and paying taxes when due. The law provides International Priority, and FedEx International First.
penalties for filing a return late; depositing taxes late; • United Parcel Service (UPS): UPS Next Day Air, UPS
paying taxes late; willfully failing to collect and pay tax or Next Day Air Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Air
file a return; negligence; and fraud. These penalties are A.M., UPS Worldwide Express Plus, and UPS Worldwide
in addition to the interest charge on late payments. The Express.
penalty for filing a return late will not be imposed if you The private delivery service can tell you how to get
can show that the failure to file a timely return is due to written proof of the mailing date.
reasonable cause. Those filing after the due date must


Private delivery services cannot deliver items toattach an explanation to the return to show reasonable
P.O. boxes. You must use the U.S. Postal Servicecause.
to mail any item to an IRS P.O. box address.CAUTION


!
Trust fund recovery penalty. If communications and air
transportation taxes are collected but not paid to the Photographs of Missing ChildrenUnited States Treasury or are willfully not collected, the
trust fund recovery penalty may apply. The penalty is the The Internal Revenue Service is a proud partner with the
full amount of the unpaid tax. National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.


Photographs of missing children selected by the CenterThe trust fund recovery penalty may be imposed on all
may appear in instructions on pages that would otherwisepersons who are determined by the IRS to be
be blank. You can help bring these children home byresponsible for collecting, accounting for, and paying
looking at the photographs and calling 1-800-THE-LOSTover these taxes, and who acted willfully in not doing so.
(1-800-843-5678) if you recognize a child.


A responsible person can be an officer or employee of
a corporation, a partner or employee of a partnership, an
employee of a sole proprietorship, an accountant, or a Specific Instructionsvolunteer director/trustee. A responsible person may also
include one who signs checks for the business or
otherwise has authority to cause the spending of Name and Address
business funds. The first time you file Form 720, type or print your name,


address (including the suite, room, or other unit number),Willfully means voluntarily, consciously, and
and the quarter ending date (month and year). After that,intentionally. A responsible person acts willfully if he or
the IRS will mail you a Package 720 with a preaddressedshe knows the required actions are not taking place.
Form 720 every quarter. If your address changes, make
the corrections on Form 720 and check the addressAdditional Information
change box above Part I of Form 720.You may find the following products helpful when
P.O. box. If the Post Office does not deliver mail to thepreparing Form 720 and any attachments:
street address and you have a P.O. box, show the box• Publication 510, Excise Taxes for 2006, contains
number instead of the street address.definitions and examples that will help you prepare


Form 720. Foreign address. Enter the city, province or state, and
• Publication 378, Fuel Tax Credits and Refunds, has country. Follow the country’s practice for entering the
information on fuel tax claims. postal code. Do not abbreviate the country name.
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tax and file the return. Enter the amount of tax collectedEmployer Identification Number (EIN) or considered collected for the quarter.
If the EIN on the preaddressed Form 720 is wrong or you


Communications Services (IRS No. 22)did not receive a preaddressed Form 720, enter the
correct number. If you are a one-time filer, you may not The tax is 3% of amounts paid for local telephone
need an EIN. See Gas guzzler tax on page 6. If you do service, toll telephone service, and teletypewriter
not have an EIN, you may apply for one online. Go to the exchange service.
IRS website at www.irs.gov/businesses/small and click Transportation of Persons by Air (IRS No. 26)on the “Employer ID Numbers (EINs)” link. You may also


The tax on transportation of persons by air is made up ofapply for an EIN by calling 1-800-829-4933 (hours of
the percentage tax and the domestic segment tax. Addoperation are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
the percentage tax and the domestic segment tax tolocal time), or you can fax or mail Form SS-4, Application
get the total tax on transportation of persons by air.for Employer Identification Number, to the IRS.
Percentage tax. The percentage tax is 7.5% for


Signature amounts paid for taxable transportation of persons by air.
Form 720 must be signed by a person authorized by the Domestic segment tax. For amounts paid for each
entity to sign this return. domestic segment of taxable transportation of persons by


air, the domestic segment tax is $3.30 per segment for
Third Party Designee transportation that begins in 2006.
If you want to allow an employee of your business, a Rural airports. If a segment is to or from a rural
return preparer, or other third party to discuss your airport, the domestic segment tax does not apply.
Form 720 with the IRS, check the “Yes” box in the Third


Transportation of Property by Air (IRS No. 28)Party Designee section of Form 720. Also, enter the
The tax is 6.25% of amounts paid for transportation ofdesignee’s name, phone number, and any five digits that
property by air.person chooses as his or her personal identification


number (PIN). Use of International Air Travel Facilities
By checking the “Yes” box, you are authorizing the (IRS No. 27)


IRS to call the designee to answer any questions relating For amounts paid during 2006, the tax on internationalto the processing of or the information reported on Form flights is:720. You are also authorizing the designee to: • $14.50 per person for flights that begin or end in the• Exchange information concerning Form 720 with the United States orIRS and • $7.30 per person for domestic segments that begin or• Respond to certain IRS notices that you have shared end in Alaska or Hawaii (applies only to departures).with your designee relating to Form 720. The IRS will not
send notices to your designee. Communication and Air Transportation Taxes—


Uncollected Tax ReportYou are not authorizing the designee to receive any
refund check, bind you to anything (including additional A separate report is required to be filed by collecting
tax liability), or otherwise represent you before the IRS. If agents of communications services and air transportation
you want to expand the designee’s authority, see taxes if the person from whom the facilities or services
Publication 947, Practice Before the IRS and Power of tax (the tax) is required to be collected (the taxpayer)
Attorney. refuses to pay the tax, or it is impossible for the collecting


agent to collect the tax. The report must contain theThe authorization will automatically expire one year
following information: the name and address of thefrom the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing
taxpayer, the type of facility provided or service rendered,your Form 720. If you or your designee wants to revoke
the amount paid for the facility or service (the amount onthis authorization, send a written statement of revocation
which the tax is based), and the date paid.to the Internal Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati,


OH 45999. See Publication 947 for more information. Regular method taxpayers. For regular method
taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the
Form 720 on which the tax would have been reported.Part I
Alternative method taxpayers. For alternative method


Environmental Taxes taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the
Form 720 that includes an adjustment to the separateUse Form 6627, Environmental Taxes, to figure the
account for the uncollected tax. See Alternative methodenvironmental taxes on:
on page 8.• ODCs, IRS No. 98;


• Imported products that used ODCs as materials in the Where to file. Do not file the uncollected tax report
manufacture or production of the product, IRS No. 19; with Form 720. Instead, mail the report to:
and
• The floor stocks tax on ODCs, IRS No. 20. Internal Revenue Service


Collected Excise Tax Coordinator Attach Form 6627 to Form 720. The tax rates for
S:C:CP:RC:Exthese taxes are shown on Form 6627.
1111 Constitution Avenue NW, IR-2016


Communications and Air Transportation Washington, DC 20224
Taxes Fuel Taxes
Who Must File First taxpayer’s report. If you are reporting gallons of
The person receiving the payment for communications or taxable fuel that may again be subject to tax, you may
air transportation services must collect and pay over the need to file a first taxpayer’s report. The report must
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contain all the information as shown in the Model Kerosene (IRS No. 35). If you are liable for the
Certificate A, Appendix B of Publication 510. kerosene tax on removal at the terminal rack, report


these gallons on line (a) of IRS No. 35. If you are liableThe person who paid the first tax must: for the kerosene tax on events other than removal at the• Give a copy of the first taxpayer’s report to the buyer; terminal rack, report these gallons of kerosene on line (b)• File the first taxpayer’s report with Form 720 for the of IRS No. 35.quarter for which the report relates; and
Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on• Write “EXCISE—FIRST TAXPAYER’S REPORT”


lines (a) and (b) by $.244 and make one entry in the taxacross the top of a separate copy of the report, and by
column.the due date of Form 720, send the copy to: Internal


Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0555. Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information
Reporting on page 9 if applicable.Diesel fuel (IRS No. 60). If you are liable for the diesel


fuel tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these Kerosene for use in aviation (IRS Nos. 69, 77, and
gallons on line (a) of IRS No. 60. If you are liable for the 111). Generally, kerosene is taxed at $.244 per gallon.
diesel fuel tax on events other than removal at the • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
terminal rack, report these gallons on line (b) of IRS fuel tank of an aircraft for use in noncommercial aviation,
No. 60. If you are liable for the diesel fuel tax because the tax rate is $.219 per gallon. Report these gallons on
you have produced diesel fuel by blending biodiesel with the line for IRS No. 69.
taxed diesel fuel outside of the bulk transfer/terminal • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
system, report these gallons of biodiesel on line (c) of fuel tank of an aircraft for use in commercial aviation
IRS No. 60. If you report gallons on line 60(c), do not (other than foreign trade), the tax rate is generally $.044
report those gallons on line 60(b). per gallon. Report these gallons on the line for


IRS No. 77.Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on
• For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into thelines (a), (b), and (c) by $.244 and make one entry in the
fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use intax column.
foreign trade, the tax rate is generally $.001 per gallon.


Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 111.
Reporting on page 9 if applicable.


Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) (IRS No. 61). Only
Diesel-water fuel emulsion (IRS No. 104). If you are LPG (such as propane and butane) is reported on the
liable for the reduced rate (see below) of tax on a line for IRS No. 61. LPG is taxed at $.136 per gallon.
diesel-water fuel emulsion removal at the terminal rack or


Gasoline (IRS No. 62). If you are liable for the gasolineother taxable event, report these gallons on the line for
tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallonsIRS No. 104.
on line (a) of IRS No. 62. If you are liable for the gasoline


Requirements. All of the following requirements must tax on events other than removal at the terminal rack,
be met to be eligible for the reduced rate: (a) the report these gallons on line (b) of IRS No. 62. If you are
diesel-water fuel emulsion must contain at least 14% liable for the gasoline tax because you have blended
water, (b) the emulsion additive must be registered by a alcohol with taxed gasoline outside of the bulk transfer/
United States manufacturer under section 211 of the terminal system, report these gallons of alcohol on line
Clean Air Act with the EPA, and (c) the taxpayer must be (c) of IRS. No. 62. If you report gallons on line 62(c), do
registered by the IRS. If these requirements are not met, not report those gallons on line 62(b).
you must report the sale, removal, or use of diesel-water


Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax onfuel emulsions as diesel fuel.
lines (a), (b), and (c) by $.184. Combine the tax for lines


Dyed diesel fuel used in trains (IRS No. 71). If you are (a), (b), and (c), and make one entry in the tax column.
liable for the tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains, report


Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Informationthe number of gallons subject to tax on the line for IRS
Reporting on page 9 if applicable.No. 71.
Other fuels (IRS No. 79). Use the following table to


The tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains applies determine the tax for each gallon. Fill in the number of
at the rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition gallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate column on
to all other taxes imposed on the sale or use of the line for IRS No. 79. If more than one rate applies,CAUTION


!
the fuel. leave the Rate column blank and attach a schedule


showing the rates and number of gallons taxed at eachIRS Nos. 105, 107, 111, and 119. Tax is imposed at
rate.$.001 per gallon on removals, entries, and sales of


gasoline, diesel fuel, and kerosene described as exempt
Fuel Tax Ratetransactions. per Gallon• IRS No. 105, Dyed diesel fuel, LUST tax.
Liquefied natural gas .119• IRS No. 107, Dyed kerosene, LUST tax.
Qualified—• IRS No. 111, Kerosene for use in aviation, LUST tax Ethanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1325


on nontaxable uses, including foreign trade. Report Methanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1235
gallons of kerosene removed directly from a terminal into Partially exempt—
the fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use Ethanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .114


Methanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0925in foreign trade.
B-100 (100% biodiesel) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .244• IRS No. 119, LUST tax, other exempt removals.
Other fuels not shown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .184Report gasoline blendstocks, kerosene used for a


feedstock purpose, and diesel fuel or kerosene used in
Alaska. Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax Compressed natural gas (IRS No. 101). Tax is
for each fuel by $.001 and make one entry in the tax imposed on compressed natural gas (CNG) that is sold
column. for use or used as fuel in a motor vehicle or motorboat.
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The rate of tax is $.4854 per thousand cubic feet Luxury Tax
(determined at standard temperature and pressure).


The tax on sales of luxury passenger vehicles
Retail Tax (IRS No. 92) expired after December 31, 2002.


However, the tax continues to apply to paymentsCAUTION
!


Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and taxpayers receive for long-term leases of luxury
bodies, and tractors (IRS No. 33) passenger vehicles entered into before January 1, 2003.


Until the end of the lease, taxpayers must continue to pay
Tractors that have a gross vehicle weight of the tax at the rate in effect when the lease was entered
19,500 pounds or less and a gross combined into on each lease payment and report the tax each
weight of 33,000 pounds or less are excludedCAUTION


!
quarter on Form 720.


from the 12% tax.


The tax is 12% (.12) of the sales price on the first retail Ship Passenger Tax
sale of each unit. The tax applies to:


Transportation by water (IRS No. 29). A tax is imposed• Truck chassis and bodies except truck chassis and
on the operator of commercial ships. The tax is $3 forbodies suitable for use with a vehicle with a gross vehicle
each passenger on a commercial passenger ship thatweight (GVW) of 33,000 pounds or less,
has berth or stateroom accommodations for at least 17• Trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies except
passengers if the trip is over 1 or more nights. A voyagetrailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies suitable for use
extends “over 1 or more nights” if it lasts longer than 24with a vehicle with a GVW of 26,000 pounds or less, and
hours. The tax also applies to passengers on any• Tractors of the kind chiefly used for highway
commercial ship that transports passengers engaged intransportation in combination with a trailer or semitrailer,
gambling aboard the ship beyond the territorial waters ofexcept tractors that have a gross vehicle weight of
the United States. Enter the number of passengers for19,500 pounds or less and a gross combined weight of
the quarter on the line for IRS No. 29.33,000 pounds or less. Generally, gross combined weight


means the weight of a tractor and the weight of its
trailer(s). Other Excise Tax


The sales price of a unit includes the sales price of Obligations not in registered form (IRS No. 31). For
certain related parts and accessories sold on or in obligations issued during the quarter, enter the principal
connection with the sale of the unit. amount of the obligation multiplied by the number of


calendar years (or portion thereof) during the periodFigure the tax for each unit sold and enter the total for
beginning on the issue date and ending on the maturitythe quarter on the line for IRS No. 33.
date on the line for IRS No. 31.


Gross vehicle weight. The gross vehicle weight means
the maximum total weight of a loaded vehicle. Generally, Manufacturers Taxesthis maximum total weight is the gross vehicle weight
rating provided by the manufacturer or determined by the


Do not include the excise tax on coal in the salesseller of the completed article. The seller’s gross vehicle
price when determining which tax rate to use.weight rating must be determined for excise tax purposes


CAUTION
!


on the basis of the strength of the chassis frame and the
axle capacity and placement. The seller may not take into
account any readily attachable components (such as tires Underground mined coal (IRS Nos. 36 and 37). The
or rim assemblies) in determining the gross vehicle tax on underground mined coal is the lower of $1.10 per
weight. See Regulations section 145.4051-1(e)(3) for ton or 4.4% (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for
more information. IRS No. 36 the number of tons of underground mined


coal sold at $25 or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRSThe following four classifications of truck body types
No. 37 the total sales price for all sales of undergroundmeet the suitable for use standard and will be excluded
mined coal sold at a selling price of less than $25 per ton.from the retail excise tax.


• Platform truck bodies 21 feet or less in length.
Surface mined coal (IRS Nos. 38 and 39). The tax on• Dry freight and refrigerated truck van bodies 24 feet or surface mined coal is the lower of $.55 per ton or 4.4%less in length. (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. 38• Dump truck bodies with load capacities of eight cubic the number of tons of surface mined coal sold at $12.50


yards or less. or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 39 the total
• Refuse packer truck bodies with load capacities of 20 sales price for all sales of surface mined coal sold at a
cubic yards or less. selling price of less than $12.50 per ton.
For more information, see Rev. Proc. 2005-19, which is
on page 832 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-14 at Taxable tires (IRS Nos. 108, 109, and 113). A tax is
www.irs.gov/pub/irs-irbs/irb05-14.pdf. imposed on taxable tires sold by the manufacturer,


producer, or importer at the rate of $.0945 ($.04725 inSection 4051(d) tire credit. A tax credit may be taken
the case of a biasply tire or super single tire) for each 10equal to the amount of tax that has been imposed on
pounds of the maximum rated load capacity over 3,500each tire that is sold on or in connection with the first
pounds. Figure the tax for each tire sold in each categoryretail sale of a taxable vehicle reported on IRS No. 33.
as shown in the chart on page 6 and enter the total forClaim the section 4051(d) tire credit on Schedule C,
the quarter on the line for IRS No. 108, 109, or 113.line 14a.
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Rate (for each 10 • Is against measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis A,
pounds of the hepatitis B, chicken pox, or rotavirus gastroenteritis;Taxable TireIRS No. maximum rated • Is any HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) vaccine;Category load capacity over • Is any conjugate vaccine against streptococcus
3,500 pounds) pneumoniae; or


• Is any trivalent vaccine against influenza.Taxable tires other $.0945
108 than biasply or If any taxable vaccine is combined with one or more


super single tires additional taxable vaccines, then the tax is imposed on
each vaccine included in the combination.Taxable tires, $.04725


Example. MMR contains three taxable vaccines:biasply or super
measles, mumps, and rubella. The tax per dose on MMRsingle tires (other109 is $2.25 (3 x $.75).than super single


tires designed for Add the tax for each taxable vaccine and enter the
steering) total tax on the line for IRS No. 97.
Taxable tires, super $.0945 Foreign Insurance Taxes113 single tires designed
for steering Policies issued by foreign insurers (IRS No. 30).


Enter the amount of premiums paid during the quarter on
A taxable tire is any tire of the type used on highway policies issued by foreign insurers. Multiply the premiums


vehicles if wholly or partially made of rubber and if paid by the rates listed on Form 720 and enter the total
marked according to federal regulations for highway use. for the three types of insurance on the line for IRS
A biasply tire is a pneumatic tire on which the ply cords No. 30.
that extend to the beads are laid at alternate angles Who must file. The person who pays the premium to
substantially less than 90 degrees to the centerline of the the foreign insurer (or to any nonresident person such as
tread. A super single tire is a tire greater than 13 inches a foreign broker) must pay the tax and file the return.
in cross section width designed to replace 2 tires in a Otherwise, any person who issued or sold the policy, or
dual fitment, but does not include any tire designed for who is insured under the policy, is required to pay the tax
steering. Super single tires designed for steering are and file the return.
taxable at the rate of $.0945, retroactive to


Treaty-based return positions under section 6114.January 1, 2005.
Foreign insurers and reinsurers who take the position
that a treaty of the United States overrules, or otherwiseTaxpayers must file Form 720X to report the
modifies, an Internal Revenue law of the United States,$.04725 tax rate increase on super single tires
must disclose such position. This disclosure must bedesigned for steering, reported on Forms 720 forCAUTION


!
made once a year on a statement which must report thethe first and second calendar quarters of 2005.
payments of premiums that are exempt from the excise


Gas guzzler tax (IRS No. 40). Use Form 6197, Gas tax on policies issued by foreign insurers for the previous
Guzzler Tax, to figure the liability for this tax. Attach calendar year. This statement is filed with the 1st quarter
Form 6197 to Form 720. The tax rates for the gas guzzler Form 720, which is due before May 1 of each year.
tax are shown on Form 6197.


You may be able to use Form 8833, Treaty-Based
One-time filing. If you import a gas guzzling Return Position Disclosure Under Section 6114 or


automobile, you may be eligible to make a one-time filing 7701(b), as a disclosure statement.
of Form 720 and Form 6197, Gas Guzzler Tax, if you How to file. At the top of Form 720, write “Sectionmeet all of the following conditions: 6114 Treaty.” Provided you have no other transactions• You do not import gas guzzling automobiles in the reportable on Form 720:course of your trade or business and


1. If this is your final return, check the final return box.• You are not required to file Form 720 reporting excise
2. Write “None” on lines 1 and 3.taxes for the calendar quarter, except for a one-time
3. Sign the return.filing.


To make a one-time filing: You need an EIN to file Form 720. If you do not have
an EIN, see Employer Identification Number (EIN) on1. File Form 720 for the quarter in which you incur
page 3.liability for the tax. See When To File on page 1.


2. Pay the tax with Form 720. No deposits are Where to file. Mail the Form 720 with the attached
required. statement to: Internal Revenue Service Center, P.O. Box


3. If you are an individual and do not have an 21086, Philadelphia, PA 19114. Also, see the Caution
employer identification number (EIN), enter your social under Private Delivery Services on page 2.
security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer Exception. If you are reporting liabilities in Parts I or II
identification number (ITIN) on Form 720 and (Form 720), follow the instructions for How to file above,
Form 720-V in the space for the EIN. except mail the Form 720 to: Internal Revenue Service


4. Check the one-time filing box on the line for the gas Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009.
guzzler tax.


Part IIVaccine taxes (IRS No. 97). A tax is imposed on the
sale or use of a vaccine manufactured, produced, or Sport fishing equipment (other than fishing rods and
entered into the United States at $.75 per dose if it: fishing poles) (IRS No. 41). The tax on sport fishing
• Contains diptheria toxoid, tetanus toxoid, pertussis equipment is 10% (.10) of the sales price. The tax is paid
bacteria, extracted or partial cell bacteria, specific by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Taxable
pertussis antigens, or polio virus; articles include reels, fly fishing lines (and other lines not
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over 130 pounds test), fishing spears, spear guns, spear column blank and attach a schedule showing the rates
tips, terminal tackle, fishing supplies and accessories, and number of gallons taxed at each rate.
and any parts or accessories sold on or in connection


THEN the tax ratewith these articles. See Publication 510 for a complete
IF the alcohol is... AND... per gallon is...list of taxable articles. Add the tax on each sale during
at least 190 proof •  is ethanol $ .51the quarter and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 41.


•  is methanol .60Fishing rods and fishing poles (IRS No. 110). The tax •  benefited from the .61
on fishing rods and fishing poles (and component parts) small ethanol


producer credittaxed at a rate of 10% will have a maximum tax of $10
per article. The tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, at least 150 proof but •  is ethanol $ .3778
or importer. Add the tax on each sale during the quarter less than 190 proof •  is methanol .45
and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 110. •  benefited from the .4778


small ethanolElectric outboard motors (IRS No. 42). The tax on an producer credit
electric outboard motor is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The
tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer.


Biodiesel sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 117).Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the
An excise tax is imposed if the (a) biodiesel or renewabletotal on the line for IRS No. 42.
diesel mixture credit or (b) biodiesel or renewable diesel


Fishing tackle boxes (IRS No. 114). The tax on fishing credit was claimed and any person later: (a) uses a
tackle boxes is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The tax is mixture or straight biodiesel or renewable diesel for a
paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the purpose other than as fuel, (b) separates the biodiesel or
tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total on renewable diesel from the mixture, or (c) mixes the
the line for IRS No. 114. straight biodiesel or renewable diesel.
Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points (IRS No. 44). The tax is $.50 per gallon of biodiesel, $1.00 per
The tax on bows is 11% (.11) of the sales price. The tax gallon of agri-biodiesel, and $1.00 per gallon of
is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. It renewable diesel. Fill in the number of gallons and the
applies to bows having a peak draw weight of 30 pounds appropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS
or more. The tax is also imposed on the sale of any part No. 117. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate
or accessory suitable for inclusion in or attachment to a column blank and attach a schedule showing the rates
taxable bow and any quiver, broadhead, or point suitable and number of gallons taxed at each rate.
for use with arrows described below. Add the tax on each
sale during the quarter and enter the total on the line for Floor Stocks Tax
IRS No. 44. Ozone-depleting chemicals floor stocks tax (IRS No.
Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106) 20). Use Form 6627 to figure the liability for this tax.


Enter the amount from Form 6627, Part III, line 4, columnThe tax on arrow shafts is subject to an annual
(d) on the line for IRS No. 20. Attach Form 6627 to Forminflation adjustment for any calendar year
720 that is due July 31 of each year. Deposit thebeginning after 2005. For 2006, the tax is $.40 perCAUTION


!
payment by June 30 at an authorized financial institution.arrow shaft.
See How To Make Deposits on page 8.


The tax on arrow shafts is $.40 per arrow shaft. The
tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer of Part IIIany arrow shaft (whether sold separately or incorporated


Line 4. Report on line 4 of Form 720 the total claimsas part of a finished or unfinished product) of a type used
from line 15 of Schedule C. See the instructions forin the manufacture of any arrow which after its assembly
Schedule C–Claims on page 10.meets either of the following conditions.


• It measures 18 inches or more in overall length. Line 6. Include on line 6 the amount from line 11 of your
• It measures less than 18 inches in overall length but is previous return that you applied to this return and the
suitable for use with a taxable bow, described earlier. amount from line 5b of Form 720X.


Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter Note. Include on line 6 of your next return the amount
the total on the line for IRS No. 106. from line 11 you want to have applied to that return.
Inland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 64). If you are If you owe other federal tax, interest, or penalty,liable for the inland waterways fuel use tax, report the the overpayment on line 11 and line 7 will first benumber of gallons subject to tax on the line for applied to the unpaid amounts.CAUTION


!
IRS No. 64.


Line 10. Form 720-V, Payment Voucher, must be filed
The inland waterways fuel use tax applies at the with Form 720 if you have a balance due on line 10.
rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition to all
other taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel.CAUTION


!
Payment of Taxes


Alcohol sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 51). An Generally, semimonthly deposits of excise taxes are
excise tax is imposed if the alcohol fuel mixture credit or required. A semimonthly period is the first 15 days of a
alcohol credit was claimed and any person later: (a) uses month (the first semimonthly period) or the 16th through
a mixture or straight alcohol for a purpose other than fuel, the last day of a month (the second semimonthly period).
(b) separates the alcohol from the mixture, or (c) mixes However, no deposit is required for the situations
the straight alcohol. listed below. The taxes are payable with the return.


Use the following table to determine the tax for each • The net liability for taxes listed in Part I (Form 720)
gallon of alcohol. Fill in the number of gallons and the does not exceed $2,500 for the quarter.
appropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS • The gas guzzler tax is being paid on a one-time filing.
No. 51. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate See Gas guzzler tax on page 6.
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• The liability is for taxes listed in Part II (Form 720), collected during the first 7 days of the second following
except for the floor stocks tax that generally requires a semimonthly period. The deposit of tax is due by the 3rd
single deposit. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7. banking day after the 7th day of that period.


Example. The tax included in amounts billed orHow To Make Deposits
tickets sold for the period June 16-30, 2006, is


To avoid a penalty, make your deposits timely and do not considered collected from July 16-22, 2006, and must be
mail your deposits directly to the IRS. Records of your deposited by July 26, 2006.
deposits will be sent to the IRS for crediting to your


To use the alternative method, you must keep aaccounts.
separate account of the tax included in amounts billed or


Electronic deposit requirement. You must make tickets sold during the month and report on Form 720 the
electronic deposits of all depository taxes (such as tax included in amounts billed or tickets sold and not the
deposits for employment tax, excise tax, and corporate amount of tax that is actually collected. For example,
income tax) using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment amounts billed in December, January, and February are
System (EFTPS) in 2006 if: considered collected during January, February, and
• The total deposits of such taxes in 2004 exceeded March and are reported on Form 720 as the tax for the
$200,000 or 1st quarter of the calendar year.
• You were required to use EFTPS in 2005. The separate account for any month cannot include an


If you are required to use EFTPS and use Form 8109, adjustment resulting from a refusal to pay or inability to
Federal Tax Deposit Coupon, instead, you may be collect unless the refusal has been reported to the IRS.
subject to a 10% penalty. If you are not required to use See Communications and Air Transportation Taxes—
EFTPS, you may participate voluntarily. To get more Uncollected Tax Report on page 3.
information or to enroll in EFTPS, visit the EFTPS  The net amount of tax that is considered collected
website at www.eftps.gov or call 1-800-555-4477. Also during the semimonthly period must be either:
see Publication 966, The Secure Way to Pay Your • The net amount of tax reflected in the separate
Federal Taxes. account for the corresponding semimonthly period of the


Depositing on time. For EFTPS deposits to be on preceding month or
time, you must initiate the transaction at least one • One-half of the net amount of tax reflected in the
business day before the date the deposit is due. separate account for the preceding month.
Federal tax deposit coupons. If you are not making Special rule for deposits of taxes in September 2006.
deposits by EFTPS, use Form 8109 to make the deposits If you are required to make deposits, see the chart below.
at an authorized financial institution. See the instructions The special rule does not apply to taxes not required to
in the coupon book for additional information. If you do be deposited (see Payment of Taxes on page 7). See
not have a coupon book, call 1-800-829-4933. Regulations sections 40.6302(c)-2 and 40.6302(c)-3 for


rules to figure the net tax liability for the deposits due inYou will automatically be enrolled in EFTPS when
September.you apply for an EIN. You will receive a separate


mailing containing instructions for activating your
TIP


Additional deposit of taxes in September 2006EFTPS enrollment after you receive your EIN. You will
still have the option to use FTD coupons, but see For the Period
Electronic deposit requirement above. Beginning Ending Due Date


Type of Tax on onWhen To Make Deposits
Regular method taxesThere are two methods for determining deposits: the


EFTPS1 Sept. 16 Sept. 26 Sept. 29regular method and the alternative method.
Non-EFTPS Sept. 16 Sept. 25 Sept. 28


The regular method applies to all taxes in Part I of
Alternative method taxes (IRSForm 720 except for communications and air
Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28)transportation taxes if deposits are based on amounts
(based on amounts billed)billed or tickets sold, rather than on amounts actually EFTPS1 Sept. 1 Sept. 11 Sept. 29


collected. See Alternative method below. Non-EFTPS Sept. 1 Sept. 10 Sept. 28
 If you are depositing more than one tax under a 1See Electronic deposit requirement above.


method, combine all the taxes under the method and
make one deposit for the semimonthly period.


For the remaining days in September, be sure toRegular method. The deposit of tax for a semimonthly
make your deposits by the regular due date.period is due by the 14th day following that period.


Generally, this is the 29th day of a month for the first CAUTION
!


semimonthly period and the 14th day of the following Amount To Depositmonth for the second semimonthly period. If the 14th or
Deposits of taxes for a semimonthly period must be atthe 29th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
least 95% of the amount of net tax liability for that period,holiday, you must make the deposit by the immediately
unless the safe harbor rule applies. See Safe Harborpreceding day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
Rule on page 9.holiday.


Alternative method (IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28). The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is the
Deposits of communications and air transportation taxes total liability for the period minus any claims allowed on
may be based on taxes included in amounts billed or Schedule C for the period. Net tax liability for a
tickets sold during a semimonthly period instead of on semimonthly period may be figured by dividing the net
taxes actually collected during the period. Under the tax liability for the month by 2, provided this method of
alternative method, the tax included in amounts billed or computation is used for all semimonthly periods in the
tickets sold during a semimonthly period is considered calendar quarter.
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The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is not The following table will help you determine which
reduced by any amounts from Form 720X. boxes to complete on Schedule A.


CAUTION
!


AND enter the net
IF you are reporting under THEN you report on tax liability inSafe Harbor Rule the... line... boxes...


Regular method 1 A–FCurrent Form 720 filers who will be liable for the
Alternative method 2 M–ROil Spill Liability Taxes beginning in April 2006


cannot use the safe harbor method for deposits inCAUTION
!


the second and third calendar quarters of 2006, as If you are reporting more than one type of tax on
explained in Exceptions below. The first semimonthly lines 1 and 2:
period of the second calendar quarter is April 1 through 1. Add the net tax liability for each tax for each
April 15, 2006. This deposit is due by April 28, 2006 (April semimonthly period and
29 is a Saturday), and must equal 95% of the net tax 2. Enter the total in the applicable box.
liability for the semimonthly period. See Amount To
Deposit on page 8. All subsequent deposits for the Additional rules. Report communications and air
second and third calendar quarters must also equal 95% transportation taxes based on:
of the net tax liability for the semimonthly period. • Actual collections on line 1.


• Amounts billed or tickets sold on line 2. The amount ofThe safe harbor rule applies separately to deposits
tax to report for a semimonthly period is the net amountunder the regular method and the alternative method.
that is considered collected during that period.Persons who filed Form 720 for the look-back quarter


(the 2nd calendar quarter preceding the current quarter) Example. The amounts billed for communications
are considered to meet the semimonthly deposit services from June 1-15, 2006, are considered collected
requirement if the deposit for each semimonthly period in during the period July 1-7, 2006, and are reported for the
the current quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net tax 3rd quarter of 2006 on Schedule A in box M, not the 2nd
liability reported for the look-back quarter. quarter of 2006.


For the semimonthly period for which the additional Reporting tax liability under the special September
deposit is required (September 1-11 and 16-26 for rule.  An additional reporting is required under the
EFTPS, or September 1-10 and 16-25 for non-EFTPS), special September rule (for the period shown in the chart
the additional deposit must be at least 11/90(12.23%), above) as follows:
10/90(11.12%) for non-EFTPS, of the net tax liability
reported for the look-back quarter. Also, the total deposit Regular method taxes Enter the tax liability for the period
for that semimonthly period must be at least 1/6 (16.67%) beginning September 16 and ending
of the net tax liability reported for the look-back quarter. September 25/26 in box G, Special rule for


September.Exceptions. The safe harbor rule does not apply to:
Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in amounts billed or• The 1st and 2nd quarters beginning on or after the


tickets sold during the period beginningeffective date of an increase in the rate of tax unless the
September 1 and ending September 10/11deposit of taxes for each semimonthly period in the
in box S, Special rule for September boxcalendar quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the tax liability on the 4th quarter return.


you would have had for the look-back quarter if the
increased rate of tax had been in effect for that look-back For the remaining days in the September period,
quarter; report the liability as follows:
• Any quarter if liability includes any tax not in effect
throughout the look-back quarter; or


Regular method taxes Enter the liability for the period beginning• For deposits under the alternative method, any quarter
September 26/27 and ending Septemberif liability includes any tax not in effect throughout the 30 in box F.


look-back quarter and the month preceding the look-back
Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in the amounts billedquarter.


or tickets sold for the period beginning
September 11/12 and ending SeptemberRequirements to be met. For the safe harbor rule to
15 in box M of the 4th quarter return.apply, you must:
Enter the tax included in amounts billed or• Make each deposit timely at an authorized financial
tickets sold during the period beginninginstitution and September 16 and ending September 30 in• Pay any underpayment for the current quarter by the box N of the 4th quarter return.


due date of the return.
If you meet the requirements and use the safe harbor


rule, check the box on line 5 of Form 720. Schedule T—Two-Party Exchange
The IRS may withdraw the right to make deposits Information Reportingof tax using the safe harbor rule from any person


In a two-party exchange, the receiving person, not thenot complying with these rules.CAUTION
!


delivering person, is liable for the tax imposed on the
removal of taxable fuel from the terminal at the terminal
rack. A two-party exchange means a transaction (otherSchedule A—Excise Tax Liability than a sale) where the delivering person and receiving
person are both taxable fuel registrants and all of the


How to complete. Complete Schedule A to record net following occur.
tax liabilities for Part I taxes for each semimonthly period • The transaction includes a transfer from the delivering
in a quarter even if your net liability is under $2,500. person, who holds the inventory position for the taxable
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fuel in the terminal as reflected in the records of the Type of Use Table
terminal operator. The following table lists the nontaxable uses of fuels. You• The exchange transaction occurs before or at the must enter the number from the table in the Type of usesame time as completion of removal across the rack by column as required.the receiving person.
• The terminal operator in its records treats the receiving  No. Type of Use
person as the person that removes the product across


1 On a farm for farming purposesthe terminal rack for purposes of reporting the transaction
on Form 720-TO, Terminal Operator Report. 2 Off-highway business (for business use other• The transaction is the subject of a written contract. than in a highway vehicle registered or required


to be registered for highway use) (other thanInformation reporting. Schedule T—Two-Party
use in mobile machinery)Exchange Information Reporting, is used to report


gallons of taxable fuel: 3 Export (see line 14b of Schedule C)• Received in a two-party exchange within a terminal.
4 In a boat engaged in commercial fishingThese gallons must also be included on the appropriate


line on page 1 of Form 720, or 5 In certain intercity and local buses• Delivered in a two-party exchange contemporaneous
6 For diesel fuel or kerosene in a qualified localwith a removal across the rack.


bus
Enter all gallons of fuel received or delivered in a


7 In a bus transporting students and employees oftwo-party exchange within a terminal for the applicable
schools (school buses)fuel.


8 For diesel fuel and kerosene (other than
kerosene used in aviation) used other than as a
fuel in the propulsion engine of a train orSchedule C—Claims
diesel-powered highway vehicle (but not


Complete all information requested for each line, off-highway business use)
including month income tax year ends and period of


9 In foreign tradeclaim. Enter the month as “MM”. Enter the period of claim
as “MM/DD/YYYY”. Your claim will be disallowed if you 10 Certain helicopter and fixed-wing air ambulance
do not follow the required procedures or do not provide uses
all the required information. Also, you are certifying to the


11 Not applicableapplicable statement(s) on Schedule C when you make a
claim. See Pub. 510 for more information. 12 In a highway vehicle owned by the United


States that is not used on a highwayYou must include in gross income (income tax
return) the amount from line 4 of Form 720 if you 13 Exclusive use by a nonprofit educational


organizationtook a deduction on the income tax return thatCAUTION
!


included the amount of the taxes and that deduction
14 Exclusive use by a state, political subdivision ofreduced the income tax liability. See Publication 510 for a state, or the District of Columbiamore information.
15 In an aircraft or vehicle owned by an aircraftDo not use Schedule C: museum• If you are not reporting a liability in Part I or Part II of
16 In military aircraftForm 720.


• To claim amounts that you took or will take as a credit 17 For use in the production of special fuelson Form 4136, Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels, or
as a refund on Form 8849, Claim for Refund of Excise
Taxes, and its separate schedules (see the Caution Claim requirements for lines 1 through 5, line 11, line
below). 14b, and line 14c.  The following requirements must be
• To request an abatement or refund of interest under met:
section 6404(e) (due to IRS errors or delays) or an 1. The amount of the claim must be at least $750
abatement or refund of a penalty or addition to tax under (combining amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 14b, and
section 6404(f) (due to erroneous IRS written advice). 14c). This amount may be met by:
Instead, use Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for


a. Making a claim for fuel used during any quarter of aAbatement. Also use Form 843 to request refund of the
claimant’s income tax year orpenalty under section 6715 for misuse of dyed fuel.


b. Aggregating amounts from any quarters of the• To make adjustments to liability reported on Forms 720
claimant’s income tax year for which no other claim hasfiled for prior quarters, use Form 720X.
been made.


If you make a claim for alcohol or biodiesel or 2. Claims must be filed during the first quarter
renewable diesel used to produce an alcohol fuel following the last quarter of the claimant’s income tax
mixture or biodiesel or renewable diesel mixture,CAUTION


!
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year


a claim for refund or credit on Form 8849, Form 4136, income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June
Form 6478, or Form 8864 can only be made after the 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be
sum of the alcohol fuel mixture credit and biodiesel or filed by April 30.
renewable diesel mixture credit is first applied to your


3. Only one claim may be filed for any quarter.taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720 for any
4. The fuel must have been used for a nontaxable useparticular quarter. See Notice 2005-4 and Notice 2005-62


during the Period of claim.for more information.
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5. The ultimate purchaser is the only person eligible to Required certificate or waiver. Model certificates or
make the claim. waivers for sales of undyed diesel fuel or undyed


kerosene for use in certain intercity and local buses,
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual gasoline, and aviation gasoline can be found in Notice


Claims on page 13. 2005-4. For kerosene for use in aviation, see Notice
2005-80.


Line 1. Nontaxable Use of Gasoline The certificate for all other vendor claims for undyed
Allowable uses. The gasoline must have been used diesel fuel or undyed kerosene must contain all the
during the period of claim for type of use 2, 4, 5, 7, or 12. information as shown in the Model Certificate in
For exported taxable fuel, see line 14b. Type of use 2 Regulations section 48.6427-9(e)(2).
does not include any personal use or use in a motorboat.


Line 6a. Sales By Registered Ultimate
Line 2. Nontaxable Use of Aviation Gasoline Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel
Allowable uses. For line 2b, the aviation gasoline must


Line 6 cannot be used to make a claim for dieselhave been used during the period of claim for type of use
fuel sold for use on a farm for farming purposes.9, 10, or 16. For exported taxable fuel, see line 14b.
Only ultimate purchasers may make these claims.CAUTION


!
Line 3. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Diesel See the instructions for line 3 earlier.
Fuel Claimant. For line 6a, the registered ultimate vendor of


the diesel fuel is the only person eligible to make this
Ultimate purchasers use line 3d to make claims claim and has obtained the required certificate from the
for diesel fuel used on a farm for farming buyer and has no reason to believe any information in the
purposes. certificate is false.CAUTION


!
Allowable sales. The fuel must have been sold duringAllowable uses. For line 3a, the diesel fuel must have
the Period of claim for the exclusive use by a state orbeen used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6,
local government (including essential government use by7, 8, or 12. For exported taxable fuel, see line 14b. Type
an Indian tribal government).of use 2 does not include any personal use or use in a


motorboat. Type of use 8 includes use as heating oil and Claim requirements. The following requirements must
use in a motorboat. be met:


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during aLine 4. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Kerosene
period that is at least 1 week.(Other Than Kerosene Used in Aviation) 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
meet this minimum requirement, amounts from line 6, 7,


Ultimate purchasers use line 4c to make claims 8, and 14d may be combined.
for kerosene used on a farm for farming 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
purposes.CAUTION


!
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s
income tax year included in the claim. For example, aAllowable uses. For line 4a, the kerosene must have
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarterbeen used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6,
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 7207, 8, or 12. For exported taxable fuel, see line 14b. Type
must be filed by April 30.of use 2 does not include any personal use or use in a


motorboat. Type of use 8 includes use as heating oil and
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualuse in a motorboat.


Claims on page 13.Exception. Claims for kerosene used in aviation on a
Information to be submitted. For claims on line 6a,farm for farming purposes must be claimed by the


attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of eachultimate vendor.
governmental unit to whom the diesel fuel was sold and
the number of gallons sold to each.Line 5. Kerosene Used in Commercial


Aviation (Other Than Foreign Trade) Line 6b. Sales by Registered Ultimate
Claimant. The ultimate purchaser of the kerosene used Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel for Use in
in commercial aviation (other than foreign trade) is Certain Intercity and Local Buses
eligible to make this claim.


Claimant. For line 6b, the registered ultimate vendor ofAllowable uses. For lines 5a and 5b, claimant certifies
the diesel fuel is eligible to make a claim only if the buyerthat the right to make the claim has not been waived. If
waives his or her right to make the claim by providing thethe claimant buys kerosene partly for use in commercial
registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. Onlyaviation and partly for use in noncommercial aviation, see
one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon ofthe rules in Notice 2005-80, section 3(e)(3). Only one
diesel fuel.claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene
Claim requirements. The following requirements mustused in commercial aviation.
be met:


Information for Claims on Lines 6 – 10 1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a
Registration number. To make an ultimate vendor period that is at least 1 week.
claim on lines 6-10, you are required to be registered. 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
Enter your registration number, including the prefix, on meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7,
the applicable line for your claim. If you are not a 8, and 14d may be combined.
registered, you cannot make a claim at this time. Use 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
Form 637, Application for Registration (For Certain quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s
Excise Tax Activities), to apply for one. income tax year included in the claim. For example, a
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calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be
must be filed by April 30. combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sIf requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
income tax year included in the claim. For example, aClaims on page 13.
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter


Lines 7a and 7b. Sales By Registered is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720
must be filed by April 30.Ultimate Vendors of Undyed Kerosene


(Other Than Kerosene Sold for Use in If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
Aviation) Claims on page 13.


Line 7 cannot be used to make a claim for Line 8a and 8b. Sales By Registered
kerosene sold for use on a farm for farming Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene For Use in
purposes. Only ultimate purchasers may makeCAUTION


!
Commercial Aviation (Other Than Foreignthese claims. See the instructions for line 4 on page 11.
Trade)


Claimant. For line 7a, the registered ultimate vendor of
Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of thethe kerosene is the only person eligible to make this
kerosene sold for use in commercial aviation is eligible toclaim and has obtained the required certificate from the
make this claim only if the buyer waives his or her rightbuyer and has no reason to believe any information in the
by providing the registered ultimate vendor with ancertificate is false. For line 7b, claimant has a statement,
unexpired waiver. Only one claim may be filed withif required, that contains: the date of sale, name and
respect to any gallon of kerosene sold for use inaddress of the buyer, and the number of gallons of
commercial aviation.kerosene sold to the buyer. Only one claim may be filed


with respect to any gallon of kerosene. Allowable sales. The kerosene sold for use in
commercial aviation must have been sold during theAllowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during
Period of claim for use in commercial aviation (other thanthe Period of claim:
foreign trade).• For line 7a, use by a state or local government
Claim requirements. The following requirements must(including essential government use by an Indian tribal
be met:government), or


• For line 7b, from a blocked pump. 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use in
commercial aviation during a period that is at least 1Claim requirements. The following requirements must
week.be met:


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may beperiod that is at least 1 week. combined.2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the firstmeet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’scombined. income tax year included in the claim. For example, a3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarterquarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720income tax year included in the claim. For example, a must be filed by April 30.calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
must be filed by April 30. Claims on page 13.


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual Line 8c, 8d, and 8e. Sales By Registered
Claims on page 13. Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene Sold For Use


Information to be submitted. For claims on line 7a, in Noncommercial Aviation
attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each


Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of thegovernmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and
kerosene sold for use in noncommercial aviation is thethe number of gallons sold to each.
only person eligible to make this claim and has obtained
the required certificate from the ultimate purchaser. ForLine 7c. Sales by Registered Ultimate
type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 15, or 16, see Notice 2005-80 forVendors of Undyed Kerosene for Use in a model certificate. For type of use 14, see ModelCertain Intercity and Local Buses Certificate P in Pub. 510.


Claimant. For line 7c, the registered ultimate vendor of Allowable sales. For line 8c, the kerosene must have
the kerosene is eligible to make a claim only if the buyer been sold for a nonexempt use in noncommercial
waives his or her right to make the claim by providing the aviation. For lines 8d and 8e, the kerosene sold for use in
registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. Only noncommercial aviation must have been sold during the
one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of period of claim for type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, or 16.
kerosene. Claim requirements. The following requirements must
Claim requirements. The following requirements must be met:
be met: 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use in


1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a noncommercial aviation during a period that is at least 1
period that is at least 1 week. week.
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2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To 1. The claim must be for an alcohol fuel mixture sold
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be or used during a period that is at least 1 week.
combined. 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s be combined.
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter How to claim the credit. Any alcohol fuel mixture creditis due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720


must first be taken on Schedule C against your taxablemust be filed by April 30.
fuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excess credit may
be taken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849, FormIf requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
4136, or Form 6478. See Notice 2005-4 and NoticeClaims on page 13.
2005-62 for more information.


Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 8d
and 8e, attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN Line 13. Biodiesel or Renewable Diesel
of each governmental unit to whom the kerosene was Mixture Creditsold and the number of gallons sold to each.


Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used
the mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim.Lines 9a, 9b, 10a, and 10b. Sales by


Registered Ultimate Vendors of Gasoline Claim requirements. The following requirements must
and Aviation Gasoline be met:
Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the gasoline 1. The claim must be for a biodiesel or renewable
or aviation gasoline is eligible to make a claim on lines diesel mixture sold or used during a period that is at least
9a, 9b, 10a, and 10b if the buyer waives his or her right 1 week.
to make the claim by providing the registered ultimate 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
vendor with an unexpired certificate. Only one claim may meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may
be filed with respect to any gallon of gasoline or aviation be combined.
gasoline. 3. The Certificate for Biodiesel and, if applicable,


Statement of Biodiesel Reseller, must be attached to theAllowable sales. The gasoline or aviation gasoline must
have been sold during the period of claim for: Form 720. See Notice 2005-62 for more information. If
• Use by a nonprofit educational organization or the certificate and statement were attached to a
• Use by a state or local government (including essential previously-filed claim on Schedule 3 (Form 8849) for the
government use by an Indian tribal government). biodiesel, attach a separate sheet with the following


information.Claim requirements. The following requirements must
a. Certificate identification number.be met:
b. Total gallons of biodiesel on certificate.1. The claim must be for gasoline or aviation gasoline
c. Total gallons claimed on Schedule 3 (Form 8849).sold or used during a period that is at least 1 week.


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To d. Total gallons claimed on Schedule C (Form 720),
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 9a, 9b, 10a, and line 13.
10b may be combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first How to claim the credit. Any biodiesel or renewable
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s diesel mixture credit must first be taken on Schedule C
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a against your taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720.
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for January and Any excess credit may be taken on Schedule C (FormFebruary is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, 720), Form 8849, Form 4136, or Form 8864. See NoticeForm 720 must be filed by April 30. 2005-4 and item 3 above for more information.


Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 9a, Annual Claims9b, 10a, and 10b, attach a separate sheet with the name
If a claim on lines 1-8 or 11-13 was not made for anyand TIN of each nonprofit educational organization or
gallons, an annual claim may be made. Generally, angovernmental unit to whom the gasoline or aviation
annual claim is made on Form 4136 for the income taxgasoline was sold and the number of gallons sold to


each. year during which the fuel was used by the ultimate
purchaser, sold by the registered ultimate vendor, used


Line 11. Nontaxable Use of Liquefied to produce an alcohol fuel mixture and biodiesel mixture,
or used in mobile machinery. See Form 4136 for morePetroleum Gas (LPG)
information.


Allowable uses. For line 11(c), the taxed LPG must
have been used during the period of claim for type of Line 14. Other Claimsuse: 1, 2, or 4.


For claims under section 6416(b)(2) relating to certain
uses and resales of certain articles subject toLine 12. Alcohol Fuel Mixture Credit
manufacturers or retailers excise taxes, claimant certifies


Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used that it sold the article at a tax-excluded price, repaid the
the mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim. amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, or has obtained the


written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim;Claim requirements. The following requirements must
and has the required supporting information.be met:
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indirectly provide the ultimate vendor with reimbursementLine 14b. Exported Taxable Fuel
of the tax.Taxpayers making a claim for exported taxable fuel must


4. Has in its possession an unexpired certificate fromattach a statement to Schedule C (Form 720). The
the ultimate purchaser and has no reason to believe anystatement should include the type of fuel, claim rate,
of the information in the certificate is false. See Noticenumber of gallons, total amount of claim, and proof of
2005-80 for a model certificate.export. Enter the total claim for all fuels on line 14b. The


claim rates for exported fuel are listed below.
If any of these conditions is not met, the credit card


Fuel Rate CRN issuer must collect the tax from the ultimate purchaser
and only the ultimate purchaser can make the claim.Gasoline $.184 411


Claim requirements. The following requirements mustAviation gasoline $.194 412
be met:


Diesel fuel $.244 413
1. The claim must be for gasoline, aviation gasoline,


Kerosene $.244 414 diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation sold
during a period that is at least 1 week.Dyed diesel fuel $.001 415


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200
Dyed kerosene $.001 416 ($100 for kerosene or kerosene for use in aviation). To


meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7,
Line 14c. Diesel-Water Fuel Emulsion 8, and 14d may be combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the firstThe claim rate for the nontaxable use of a diesel-water
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sfuel emulsion taxed at $.198 (CRN 309) is $.197. The
income tax year included in the claim. For example, afuel must have been used during the period of claim for
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quartertype of use 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, or 15. For type of use 3
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720(exported), the claim rate is $.198 (CRN 309) and is
must be filed by April 30.reported on line 14c.


4. The claimant must enter its registration number on
The claim rate for undyed diesel fuel taxed at $.244 line 14d and the applicable CRN. If the claim is for more


(CRN 310) and used to produce a diesel-water fuel than one fuel, attach a separate sheet listing the fuels
emulsion is $.046 per gallon of diesel fuel so used and their CRNs.
(blender claims). The claimant must attach a statement
certifying that: (a) the claimant produced a diesel-water Line 14e. Other Claimsfuel emulsion containing at least 14% water, (b) the


Use line 14e for claims relating to taxes listed in the tableemulsion additive is registered by a United States
below. See Pub. 510 for information on allowable claimsmanufacturer under section 211 of the Clean Air Act with
relating to these taxes. If you need additional space,the EPA, (c) the claimant used undyed diesel fuel taxed
attach other sheet(s). You must include the followingat $.244 to produce the diesel-water emulsion, and (d)
information for each claim.the claimant sold or used the diesel-water fuel emulsion
• A detailed description of the claim.in it’s trade or business. The blender claimant must be
• Any additional information required by the regulations.registered by the IRS and must enter their registration
• The amount of the claim.number on the statement.
• How you figured the claim amount.


Claim requirements. See Claim requirements for lines 1 • Any other information to support the claim.
through 5, line 11, line 14b, and line 14c on page 10.


Claim requirement. Generally, the claim must be
Line 14d. Registered Credit Card Issuers filed within 3 years from the time the return was filed or 2


years from the time the tax was paid, whichever is later.Allowable sales. The gasoline (CRN 362), aviation
gasoline (CRN 324), diesel fuel (CRN 360), kerosene Tax CRN
(CRN 346), or kerosene for use in aviation (CRN 369)


Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs) 398must have been purchased with a credit card issued to
Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and bodies, and 383the ultimate purchaser during the Period of claim:
tractors• For gasoline or aviation gasoline, for the exclusive use


by a state or local government (including essential Passenger vehicles (luxury tax) 392
government use by an Indian tribal government) or for


Taxable tires other than biasply or super single tires 396the exclusive use of a nonprofit educational organization.
Taxable tires, biasply or super single tires (other than 304• For diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in
super single tires designed for steering)aviation, for the exclusive use by a state or local


government (including essential government use by an Taxable tires, super single tires designed for steering 305
Indian tribal government).


Gas guzzler automobiles 340
Claimant. The registered credit card issuer is the only Vaccines 397
person eligible to make this claim if the credit card issuer:


Sport fishing equipment 3411. Is registered by the IRS,
Fishing rods and fishing poles 3082. Has not collected the amount of tax from the


ultimate purchaser or has obtained the written consent of Fishing tackle boxes 387
the ultimate purchaser to make the claim, and


Electric outboard motors 3423. Certifies that it has repaid or agreed to repay the
amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, has obtained the Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points 344
written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim,


Arrow shafts 389
or has otherwise made arrangements which directly or
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We need it to figure and collect the right amount of tax.
Miscellaneous excise taxes are imposed under Subtitle DUnresolved Tax Issues of the Internal Revenue Code. These forms are used to


If you have attempted to deal with an IRS problem determine the amount of tax that you owe. Section 6011
unsuccessfully, you should contact the Taxpayer requires you to provide the requested information.
Advocate. The Taxpayer Advocate independently Section 6109 requires you to provide your TIN. Routine
represents your interests and concerns within the IRS by uses of this information include giving it to the
protecting your rights and resolving problems that have Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, and
not been fixed through normal channels. cities, states, and the District of Columbia for use in


administering their tax laws. We may also disclose thisWhile Taxpayer Advocates cannot change the tax law
information to other countries under a tax treaty, toor make a technical tax decision, they can clear up
federal and state agencies to enforce federal nontaxproblems that resulted from previous contacts and
criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement andensure that your case is given a complete and impartial
intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. If you fail toreview.
provide this information in a timely manner, you may beYour assigned personal advocate will listen to your
liable for penalties and interest.point of view and will work with you to address your


concerns. You can expect the advocate to provide you You are not required to provide the informationwith: requested on a form that is subject to the Paperwork• A ‘‘fresh look’’ at your new or on-going problem. Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB• Timely acknowledgment. control number. Books or records relating to a form or its• The name and phone number of the individual instructions must be retained as long as their contentsassigned to your case. may become material in the administration of any Internal• Updates on progress. Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return• Timeframes for action. information are confidential, as required by section 6103.• Speedy resolution.
• Courteous service. The time needed to complete and file these forms and


When contacting the Taxpayer Advocate, you should related schedules will vary depending on individual
provide the following information: circumstances. The estimated average times are:
• Your name, address, and taxpayer identification


Learning about Preparing andnumber (TIN).
Form Recordkeeping the law or sending the• The name and telephone number of an authorized the form form to the IRS


contact person and the hours he or she can be reached.
720 21 hr., 17 min. 1 hr., 42 min. 5 hr., 41 min.• The type of tax return and year(s) or period(s) (for
720-V 1 hr., 11 min. — — 1 min.quarterly returns) involved.
Sch. A 3 hr., 49 min. — — 3 min.• A detailed description of the problem.
Sch. T 2 hr., 23 min. — — 2 min.• Previous attempts to solve the problem and the office Sch. C 24 hr., 9 min. 42 min. 1hr., 7 min.


you contacted. 720X 6 hr., 13 min. 18 min. 24 min.
6197 4 hr., 18 min. 12 min. 16 min.• A description of the hardship you are facing (if
6627 5 hr., 1 min. 6 min. 10 min.applicable).


You may contact a Taxpayer Advocate by calling a
If you have comments concerning the accuracy oftoll-free number, 1-877-777-4778. Persons who have


these time estimates or suggestions for making theseaccess to TTY/TDD equipment may call 1-800-829-4059
forms and related schedules simpler, we would be happyand ask for Taxpayer Advocate assistance. If you prefer,
to hear from you. You can write to the Internal Revenueyou may call, write, or fax the Taxpayer Advocate office
Service, Tax Products Coordinating Committee,in your area. See Pub. 1546, The Taxpayer Advocate
SE:W:CAR:MP:T:T:SP, 1111 Constitution Ave. NW,Service of the IRS, for a list of addresses and numbers.
IR-6406, Washington, DC 20224. Do not send the tax
forms to this office. Instead, see Where To File on


Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. page 1.
We ask for the information on these forms in order to
carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States.
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Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue ServiceInstructions for Form 720


(Rev. April 2006)
Quarterly Federal Excise Tax Return
Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless otherwise noted.


the “timely mailing as timely filing/paying” rule. SeeGeneral Instructions Private Delivery Services on page 2.
Floor stocks tax. Report the floor stocks tax onWhat’s New ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 20, on the
return due by July 31 of each year. The tax payment is


Changes Effective For The Second Calendar due by June 30. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7.
Quarter of 2006


Where To File• The oil spill liability tax (IRS Nos. 18 and 21) has been
reinstated beginning April 1, 2006. See Environmental Send Form 720 to the Internal Revenue Service Center,
Taxes on page 3 and Form 6627. Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009.
• Current Form 720 filers who have incurred liability for
the oil spill liability tax beginning April 1, 2006, cannot How To File
use the safe harbor method for deposits in the second If you are not reporting a tax that you normally report,
and third calendar quarters of 2006. See Safe Harbor enter a zero on the appropriate line in Part I or II (Form
Rule on page 8. 720). Also, if you have no tax to report, write “None” on• The line for the luxury tax (IRS No. 92) has been line 3, Part III; sign and date the return.
deleted. The tax expired after December 31, 2002, and


If you have adjustments to liabilities reported for priorgenerally, the long-term lease periods have ended.
quarters, see Form 720X, Amended Quarterly Federal• Lines have been added to Schedule C to report claims
Excise Tax Return. Do not enter adjustments onfor exported taxable fuel, all which were previously
Form 720.reported on line 14b. The claim rate is higher for exported


If you attach additional sheets, write your name andtaxable fuel. See Exported taxable fuel on page 10.
EIN on each sheet.


Electronic Payment Final Return
Now, more than ever before, businesses can enjoy the


File a final return if you have been filing Form 720 andbenefits of paying their federal taxes electronically.
you:Whether you rely on a tax professional or handle your


1. Go out of business orown taxes, the IRS offers you a convenient program to
2. Will not owe excise taxes that are reportable onmake it easier. Spend less time on taxes and more time


Form 720 in future quarters.running your business. Use the Electronic Federal Tax
Payment System (EFTPS) to your benefit. For


If you are only filing to report zero tax and you willinformation on EFTPS, visit www.eftps.gov or call the
not owe excise tax in future quarters, check theEFTPS Customer Service at 1-800-555-4477. Also see
final return box above Part I of Form 720. The IRSHow To Make Deposits on page 7.


TIP


will then stop sending Package 720 to you each quarter.


Purpose of Form Recordkeeping
Use Form 720 and attachments to report liability by IRS Keep copies of your tax return, records, and accounts ofNo. and pay the excise taxes listed on the form. all transactions to show that the correct tax has been


paid. Keep records to support all claims and allWhen To File exemptions at least 4 years from the latest of the date:
You must file a return for each quarter of the calendar • The tax became due,
year as follows: • You paid the tax, or


• You filed a claim.
Quarter covered Due by


Penalties and InterestJan., Feb., Mar. April 30


Avoid penalties and interest by filing returns andApr., May, June July 31
depositing and paying taxes when due. The law provides


July, Aug., Sept. October 31 penalties for filing a return late; depositing taxes late;
paying taxes late; willfully failing to collect and pay tax orOct., Nov., Dec. January 31
file a return; negligence; and fraud. These penalties are
in addition to the interest charge on late payments. The


If any due date for filing a return falls on a Saturday, penalty for filing a return late will not be imposed if you
Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file the return on the can show that the failure to file a timely return is due to
next business day. reasonable cause. Those filing after the due date must


Send your return to the IRS using the U.S. Postal attach an explanation to the return to show reasonable
Service or a designated private delivery service to meet cause.


Cat. No. 64240C
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Trust fund recovery penalty. If communications and air Private delivery services cannot deliver items to
transportation taxes are collected but not paid to the P.O. boxes. You must use the U.S. Postal Service
United States Treasury or are willfully not collected, the to mail any item to an IRS P.O. box address.CAUTION


!
trust fund recovery penalty may apply. The penalty is the
full amount of the unpaid tax. Photographs of Missing Children


The Internal Revenue Service is a proud partner with theThe trust fund recovery penalty may be imposed on all
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.persons who are determined by the IRS to be
Photographs of missing children selected by the Centerresponsible for collecting, accounting for, and paying
may appear in instructions on pages that would otherwiseover these taxes, and who acted willfully in not doing so.
be blank. You can help bring these children home by


A responsible person can be an officer or employee of looking at the photographs and calling 1-800-THE-LOST
a corporation, a partner or employee of a partnership, an (1-800-843-5678) if you recognize a child.
employee of a sole proprietorship, an accountant, or a
volunteer director/trustee. A responsible person may also
include one who signs checks for the business or Specific Instructionsotherwise has authority to cause the spending of
business funds.


Name and Address
Willfully means voluntarily, consciously, and


The first time you file Form 720, type or print your name,intentionally. A responsible person acts willfully if he or
address (including the suite, room, or other unit number),she knows the required actions are not taking place.
and the quarter ending date (month and year). After that,
the IRS will mail you a Package 720 with a preaddressed


Additional Information Form 720 every quarter. If your address changes, make
the corrections on Form 720 and check the addressYou may find the following products helpful when
change box above Part I of Form 720.preparing Form 720 and any attachments:


• Publication 510, Excise Taxes for 2006, contains P.O. box. If the Post Office does not deliver mail to the
definitions and examples that will help you prepare street address and you have a P.O. box, show the box
Form 720. Pub. 510 also contains information on fuel tax number instead of the street address.
credits and refunds previously in Pub. 378. Foreign address. Enter the city, province or state, and• Publication 509, Tax Calendars for 2006, has deposit country. Follow the country’s practice for entering the
and payment due dates for all federal excise taxes. postal code. Do not abbreviate the country name.
• Notice 2005-4. You can find Notice 2005-4 on page
289 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-2 at www.irs.gov/ Employer Identification Number (EIN)
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-02.pdf. If the EIN on the preaddressed Form 720 is wrong or you• Notice 2005-24. You can find Notice 2005-24 on page did not receive a preaddressed Form 720, enter the
757 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-12 at www.irs.gov/ correct number. If you are a one-time filer, you may not
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-12.pdf. need an EIN. See Gas guzzler tax on page 5. If you do• Notice 2005-62. You can find Notice 2005-62 on page not have an EIN, you may apply for one online. Go to the
443 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-35 at www.irs.gov/ IRS website at www.irs.gov/businesses and click on the
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-35.pdf. “Employer ID Numbers (EINs)” link. You may also apply• Notice 2005-80. You can find Notice 2005-80 on page for an EIN by calling 1-800-829-4933 (hours of operation
953 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-46 at www.irs.gov/ are Monday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time),
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-46.pdf. or you can fax or mail Form SS-4, Application for


Employer Identification Number, to the IRS.You may also call the business and specialty tax line
at 1-800-829-4933 with your excise tax questions. The Signaturehours of operation are Monday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. to


Form 720 must be signed by a person authorized by the10:00 p.m. local time.
entity to sign this return.


Private Delivery Services Third Party Designee
You can use certain private delivery services designated If you want to allow an employee of your business, aby the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filing/ return preparer, or other third party to discuss yourpaying” rule for tax returns and payments. These private Form 720 with the IRS, check the “Yes” box in the Thirddelivery services include only the following: Party Designee section of Form 720. Also, enter the• DHL Express (DHL): DHL Same Day Service, DHL designee’s name, phone number, and any five digits thatNext Day 10:30 am, DHL Next Day 12:00 pm, DHL Next person chooses as his or her personal identificationDay 3:00 pm, and DHL 2nd Day Service. number (PIN).• Federal Express (FedEx): FedEx Priority Overnight,


By checking the “Yes” box, you are authorizing theFedEx Standard Overnight, FedEx 2Day, FedEx
IRS to call the designee to answer any questions relatingInternational Priority, and FedEx International First.
to the processing of or the information reported on• United Parcel Service (UPS): UPS Next Day Air, UPS
Form 720. You are also authorizing the designee to:Next Day Air Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Air • Exchange information concerning Form 720 with theA.M., UPS Worldwide Express Plus, and UPS Worldwide
IRS andExpress. • Respond to certain IRS notices that you have shared


The private delivery service can tell you how to get with your designee relating to Form 720. The IRS will not
written proof of the mailing date. send notices to your designee.
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You are not authorizing the designee to receive any Communication and Air Transportation Taxes—
refund check, bind you to anything (including additional Uncollected Tax Report
tax liability), or otherwise represent you before the IRS. If A separate report is required to be filed by collecting
you want to expand the designee’s authority, see agents of communications services and air transportation
Publication 947, Practice Before the IRS and Power of taxes if the person from whom the facilities or services
Attorney. tax (the tax) is required to be collected (the taxpayer)


The authorization will automatically expire one year refuses to pay the tax, or it is impossible for the collecting
from the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing agent to collect the tax. The report must contain the
your Form 720. If you or your designee want to revoke following information: the name and address of the
this authorization, send a written statement of revocation taxpayer, the type of facility provided or service rendered,
to the Internal Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, the amount paid for the facility or service (the amount on
OH 45999. See Publication 947 for more information. which the tax is based), and the date paid.


Regular method taxpayers. For regular methodPart I taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the
Form 720 on which the tax would have been reported.


Environmental Taxes Alternative method taxpayers. For alternative method
Use Form 6627, Environmental Taxes, to figure the taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the
environmental taxes on: Form 720 that includes an adjustment to the separate
• Oil spill liability, IRS Nos. 18 and 21; account for the uncollected tax. See Alternative method
• Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 98; on page 8.
• Imported products that used ODCs as materials in the Where to file. Do not file the uncollected tax reportmanufacture or production of the product, IRS No. 19; with Form 720. Instead, mail the report to:and
• The floor stocks tax on ODCs, IRS No. 20. Internal Revenue Service


 Attach Form 6627 to Form 720. The tax rates for Collected Excise Tax Coordinator
these taxes are shown on Form 6627. S:C:CP:RC:Ex


1111 Constitution Avenue NW, IR-2016Communications and Air Transportation Washington, DC 20224
Taxes


Fuel Taxes
Who Must File First taxpayer’s report. If you are reporting gallons of
The person receiving the payment for communications or taxable fuel that may again be subject to tax, you may
air transportation services must collect and pay over the need to file a first taxpayer’s report. The report must
tax and file the return. Enter the amount of tax collected contain all the information as shown in the Model
or considered collected for the quarter. Certificate B in the Appendix of Publication 510.
Communications Services (IRS No. 22) The person who paid the first tax must:


• Give a copy of the first taxpayer’s report to the buyer;The tax is 3% of amounts paid for local telephone
• File the first taxpayer’s report with Form 720 for theservice, toll telephone service, and teletypewriter
quarter for which the report relates; andexchange service.
• Write “EXCISE—FIRST TAXPAYER’S REPORT”


Transportation of Persons by Air (IRS No. 26) across the top of a separate copy of the report, and by
The tax on transportation of persons by air is made up of the due date of Form 720, send the copy to: Internal
the percentage tax and the domestic segment tax. Add Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0555.
the percentage tax and the domestic segment tax to get Diesel fuel (IRS No. 60). If you are liable for the diesel
the total tax on transportation of persons by air. fuel tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these
Percentage tax. The percentage tax is 7.5% for gallons on line 60(a). If you are liable for the diesel fuel
amounts paid for taxable transportation of persons by air. tax on events other than removal at the terminal rack,


report these gallons on line 60(b). If you are liable for theDomestic segment tax. For amounts paid for each
diesel fuel tax because you have produced diesel fuel bydomestic segment of taxable transportation of persons by
blending biodiesel with taxed diesel fuel outside of theair, the domestic segment tax is $3.30 per segment for
bulk transfer/terminal system, report these gallons oftransportation that begins in 2006.
biodiesel on line 60(c). If you report gallons on line 60(c),Rural airports. If a segment is to or from a rural do not report those gallons on line 60(b).airport, the domestic segment tax does not apply.


Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on
Transportation of Property by Air (IRS No. 28) lines (a), (b), and (c) by $.244 and make one entry in the
The tax is 6.25% of amounts paid for transportation of tax column.
property by air. Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information


Reporting on page 9 if applicable.Use of International Air Travel Facilities
(IRS No. 27) Diesel-water fuel emulsion (IRS No. 104). If you are


liable for the reduced rate (see below) of tax on aFor amounts paid during 2006, the tax on international
diesel-water fuel emulsion removal at the terminal rack orflights is:
other taxable event, report these gallons on the line for• $14.50 per person for flights that begin or end in the
IRS No. 104.United States or


• $7.30 per person for domestic segments that begin or Requirements. All of the following requirements must
end in Alaska or Hawaii (applies only to departures). be met to be eligible for the reduced rate: (a) the
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diesel-water fuel emulsion must contain at least 14% these gallons on line 62(b). If you are liable for the
water, (b) the emulsion additive must be registered by a gasoline tax because you have blended alcohol with
United States manufacturer under section 211 of the taxed gasoline outside of the bulk transfer/terminal
Clean Air Act with the EPA, and (c) the taxpayer must be system, report these gallons of alcohol on line 62(c). If
registered by the IRS. If these requirements are not met, you report gallons on line 62(c), do not report those
you must report the sale, removal, or use of a gallons on line 62(b).
diesel-water fuel emulsion as diesel fuel. Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on
Dyed diesel fuel used in trains (IRS No. 71). If you are lines (a), (b), and (c) by $.184. Combine the tax for lines
liable for the tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains, report (a), (b), and (c), and make one entry in the tax column.
the number of gallons subject to tax on the line for IRS Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information
No. 71. Reporting on page 9 if applicable.


The tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains applies Other fuels (IRS No. 79). Use the following table to
at the rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition determine the tax for each gallon. Fill in the number of
to all other taxes imposed on the sale or use of gallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate column onCAUTION


!
the fuel. the line for IRS No. 79. If more than one rate applies,


leave the Rate column blank and attach a scheduleIRS Nos. 105, 107, 119, and 111. Tax is imposed at
showing the rates and number of gallons taxed at each$.001 per gallon on removals, entries, and sales of
rate.gasoline, diesel fuel, and kerosene described as exempt


transactions.
Fuel Tax Rate• IRS No. 105, Dyed diesel fuel, LUST tax. per Gallon• IRS No. 107, Dyed kerosene, LUST tax.
Liquefied natural gas .119• IRS No. 119, LUST tax, other exempt removals.
Qualified—Report gasoline blendstocks, kerosene used for a


Ethanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1325feedstock purpose, and diesel fuel or kerosene used in Methanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1235
Alaska. Partially exempt—
• IRS No. 111, Kerosene for use in aviation, LUST tax Ethanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .114


Methanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0925on nontaxable uses, including foreign trade. Report
B-100 (100% biodiesel) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .244gallons of kerosene removed directly from a terminal into
Other fuels not shown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .184the fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use


in foreign trade.
Compressed natural gas (IRS No. 101). Tax isMultiply the total number of gallons subject to tax for
imposed on compressed natural gas (CNG) that is soldeach fuel by $.001 and make one entry in the tax column.
for use or used as fuel in a motor vehicle or motorboat.


Kerosene (IRS No. 35). If you are liable for the The rate of tax is $.4854 per thousand cubic feet
kerosene tax on removal at the terminal rack, report (determined at standard temperature and pressure).
these gallons on line 35(a). If you are liable for the
kerosene tax on events other than removal at the Retail Tax
terminal rack, report these gallons of kerosene on line
35(b). Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and


bodies, and tractors (IRS No. 33)Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on
lines (a) and (b) by $.244 and make one entry in the tax The tax is 12% (.12) of the sales price on the first retail
column. sale of each unit. The tax applies to:


• Truck chassis and bodies except truck chassis andAlso see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information
bodies suitable for use with a vehicle with a gross vehicleReporting on page 9 if applicable.
weight (GVW) of 33,000 pounds or less,Kerosene for use in aviation (IRS Nos. 69, 77, and • Trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies except111). Generally, kerosene is taxed at $.244 per gallon.
trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies suitable for use• For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
with a vehicle with a GVW of 26,000 pounds or less, andfuel tank of an aircraft for use in noncommercial aviation, • Tractors of the kind chiefly used for highwaythe tax rate is $.219 per gallon. Report these gallons on
transportation in combination with a trailer or semitrailer,the line for IRS No. 69.
except tractors that have a gross vehicle weight of• For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
19,500 pounds or less and a gross combined weight offuel tank of an aircraft for use in commercial aviation
33,000 pounds or less. Generally, gross combined weight(other than foreign trade), the tax rate is generally $.044
means the weight of a tractor and the weight of itsper gallon. Report these gallons on the line for
trailer(s).IRS No. 77.


The sales price of a unit includes the sales price of• For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
certain related parts and accessories sold on or infuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use in
connection with the sale of the unit.foreign trade, the tax rate is generally $.001 per gallon.


Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 111. Figure the tax for each unit sold and enter the total for
the quarter on the line for IRS No. 33.Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) (IRS No. 61). Only


LPG (such as propane and butane) is reported on the Gross vehicle weight. The gross vehicle weight means
line for IRS No. 61. LPG is taxed at $.136 per gallon. the maximum total weight of a loaded vehicle. Generally,
Gasoline (IRS No. 62). If you are liable for the gasoline this maximum total weight is the gross vehicle weight
tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons rating provided by the manufacturer or determined by the
on line 62(a). If you are liable for the gasoline tax on seller of the completed article. The seller’s gross vehicle
events other than removal at the terminal rack, report weight rating must be determined for excise tax purposes


-4-







Page 5 of 16 Instructions for Form 720 11:12 - 18-MAY-2006


The type and rule above prints on all proofs including departmental reproduction proofs. MUST be removed before printing.


on the basis of the strength of the chassis frame and the sales price for all sales of surface mined coal sold at a
axle capacity and placement. The seller may not take into selling price of less than $12.50 per ton.
account any readily attachable components (such as tires


Taxable tires (IRS Nos. 108, 109, and 113). A tax isor rim assemblies) in determining the gross vehicle
imposed on taxable tires sold by the manufacturer,weight. See Regulations section 145.4051-1(e)(3) for
producer, or importer at the rate of $.0945 ($.04725 inmore information.
the case of a biasply tire or super single tire) for each 10


The following four classifications of truck body types pounds of the maximum rated load capacity over 3,500
meet the suitable for use standard and will be excluded pounds. Figure the tax for each tire sold in each category
from the retail excise tax. as shown in the chart below and enter the total for the
• Platform truck bodies 21 feet or less in length. quarter on the line for IRS No. 108, 109, or 113.
• Dry freight and refrigerated truck van bodies 24 feet or


Rate (for each 10less in length.
pounds of the• Dump truck bodies with load capacities of eight cubic Taxable TireIRS No. maximum rated loadyards or less. Category capacity over 3,500• Refuse packer truck bodies with load capacities of 20


pounds)cubic yards or less.
For more information, see Rev. Proc. 2005-19, which is Taxable tires other $.0945
on page 832 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-14 at 108 than biasply or super
www.irs.gov/pub/irs-irbs/irb05-14.pdf. single tires


Section 4051(d) tire credit. A tax credit may be taken Taxable tires, biasply $.04725
equal to the amount of tax that has been imposed on or super single tires


109 (other than supereach tire that is sold on or in connection with the first
single tires designedretail sale of a taxable vehicle reported on IRS No. 33.
for steering)Claim the section 4051(d) tire credit on Schedule C,


line 14a. Taxable tires, super $.0945
113 single tires designed


Ship Passenger Tax for steering


Transportation by water (IRS No. 29). A tax is imposed
A taxable tire is any tire of the type used on highwayon the operator of commercial ships. The tax is $3 for


vehicles if wholly or partially made of rubber and ifeach passenger on a commercial passenger ship that
marked according to federal regulations for highway use.has berth or stateroom accommodations for at least 17
A biasply tire is a pneumatic tire on which the ply cordspassengers if the trip is over 1 or more nights. A voyage
that extend to the beads are laid at alternate anglesextends “over 1 or more nights” if it lasts longer than 24
substantially less than 90 degrees to the centerline of thehours. The tax also applies to passengers on any
tread. A super single tire is a tire greater than 13 inchescommercial ship that transports passengers engaged in
in cross section width designed to replace 2 tires in agambling aboard the ship beyond the territorial waters of
dual fitment, but does not include any tire designed forthe United States. Enter the number of passengers for
steering.the quarter on the line for IRS No. 29.


Gas guzzler tax (IRS No. 40). Use Form 6197, GasOther Excise Tax Guzzler Tax, to figure the liability for this tax. Attach
Obligations not in registered form (IRS No. 31). For Form 6197 to Form 720. The tax rates for the gas guzzler
obligations issued during the quarter, enter the principal tax are shown on Form 6197.
amount of the obligation multiplied by the number of


One-time filing. If you import a gas guzzlingcalendar years (or portion thereof) during the period
automobile, you may be eligible to make a one-time filingbeginning on the issue date and ending on the maturity
of Form 720 and Form 6197 if you meet all of thedate on the line for IRS No. 31.
following conditions:
• You do not import gas guzzling automobiles in theManufacturers Taxes
course of your trade or business and


Do not include the excise tax on coal in the sales • You are not required to file Form 720 reporting excise
price when determining which tax rate to use. taxes for the calendar quarter, except for a one-time


filing.CAUTION
!


To make a one-time filing:Underground mined coal (IRS Nos. 36 and 37). The
tax on underground mined coal is the lower of $1.10 per 1. File Form 720 for the quarter in which you incur
ton or 4.4% (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for liability for the tax. See When To File on page 1.
IRS No. 36 the number of tons of underground mined 2. Pay the tax with Form 720. No deposits are
coal sold at $25 or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS required.
No. 37 the total sales price for all sales of underground 3. If you are an individual and do not have an
mined coal sold at a selling price of less than $25 per ton. employer identification number (EIN), enter your social


security number (SSN) or individual taxpayerSurface mined coal (IRS Nos. 38 and 39). The tax on
identification number (ITIN) on Form 720 andsurface mined coal is the lower of $.55 per ton or 4.4%
Form 720-V in the space for the EIN.(.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. 38


the number of tons of surface mined coal sold at $12.50 4. Check the one-time filing box on the line for the gas
or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 39 the total guzzler tax.
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Vaccine taxes (IRS No. 97). A tax is imposed on the Part IIsale or use of a vaccine manufactured, produced, or
entered into the United States at $.75 per dose if it: Sport fishing equipment (other than fishing rods and
• Contains diptheria toxoid, tetanus toxoid, pertussis fishing poles) (IRS No. 41). The tax on sport fishing
bacteria, extracted or partial cell bacteria, specific equipment is 10% (.10) of the sales price. The tax is paid
pertussis antigens, or polio virus; by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Taxable
• Is against measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis A, articles include reels, fly fishing lines (and other lines not
hepatitis B, chicken pox, or rotavirus gastroenteritis; over 130 pounds test), fishing spears, spear guns, spear
• Is any HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) vaccine; tips, terminal tackle, fishing supplies and accessories,
• Is any conjugate vaccine against streptococcus and any parts or accessories sold on or in connection
pneumoniae; or with these articles. See Publication 510 for a complete
• Is any trivalent vaccine against influenza. list of taxable articles. Add the tax on each sale during


the quarter and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 41.If any taxable vaccine is combined with one or more
additional taxable vaccines, then the tax is imposed on Fishing rods and fishing poles (IRS No. 110). The tax
each vaccine included in the combination. on fishing rods and fishing poles (and component parts)


taxed at a rate of 10% will have a maximum tax of $10Example. MMR contains three taxable vaccines:
per article. The tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer,measles, mumps, and rubella. The tax per dose on MMR
or importer. Add the tax on each sale during the quarteris $2.25 (3 x $.75).
and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 110.Add the tax for each taxable vaccine and enter the


total tax on the line for IRS No. 97. Electric outboard motors (IRS No. 42). The tax on an
electric outboard motor is 3% (.03) of the sales price. TheForeign Insurance Taxes tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer.
Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter thePolicies issued by foreign insurers (IRS No. 30).
total on the line for IRS No. 42.Enter the amount of premiums paid during the quarter on


policies issued by foreign insurers. Multiply the premiums Fishing tackle boxes (IRS No. 114). The tax on fishing
paid by the rates listed on Form 720 and enter the total tackle boxes is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The tax is
for the three types of insurance on the line for IRS paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the
No. 30. tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total on


Who must file. The person who pays the premium to the line for IRS No. 114.
the foreign insurer (or to any nonresident person such as


Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points (IRS No. 44).a foreign broker) must pay the tax and file the return.
The tax on bows is 11% (.11) of the sales price. The taxOtherwise, any person who issued or sold the policy, or
is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Itwho is insured under the policy, is required to pay the tax
applies to bows having a peak draw weight of 30 poundsand file the return.
or more. The tax is also imposed on the sale of any part


Treaty-based return positions under section 6114. or accessory suitable for inclusion in or attachment to a
Foreign insurers and reinsurers who take the position taxable bow and any quiver, broadhead, or point suitable
that a treaty of the United States overrules, or otherwise for use with arrows described below. Add the tax on each
modifies, an Internal Revenue law of the United States, sale during the quarter and enter the total on the line for
must disclose such position. This disclosure must be IRS No. 44.
made once a year on a statement which must report the


Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106)payments of premiums that are exempt from the excise
tax on policies issued by foreign insurers for the previous


The tax on arrow shafts is subject to an annualcalendar year. This statement is filed with the 1st quarter
inflation adjustment for any calendar yearForm 720, which is due before May 1 of each year.
beginning after 2005. For 2006, the tax is $.40 perCAUTION


!
You may be able to use Form 8833, Treaty-Based arrow shaft.


Return Position Disclosure Under Section 6114 or
The tax on arrow shafts is $.40 per arrow shaft. The7701(b), as a disclosure statement.


tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer ofHow to file. At the top of Form 720, write “Section
any arrow shaft (whether sold separately or incorporated6114 Treaty.” Provided you have no other transactions
as part of a finished or unfinished product) of a type usedreportable on Form 720:
in the manufacture of any arrow which after its assembly


1. If this is your final return, check the final return box. meets either of the following conditions.
2. Write “None” on lines 1 and 3. • It measures 18 inches or more in overall length.
3. Sign the return. • It measures less than 18 inches in overall length but is


suitable for use with a taxable bow, described earlier.You need an EIN to file Form 720. If you do not have
an EIN, see Employer Identification Number (EIN) on Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter
page 2. the total on the line for IRS No. 106.


Where to file. Mail the Form 720 with the attached Inland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 64). If you are
statement to: Internal Revenue Service Center, P.O. Box liable for the inland waterways fuel use tax, report the
21086, Philadelphia, PA 19114. Also, see the Caution number of gallons subject to tax on the line for
under Private Delivery Services on page 2. IRS No. 64.


Exception. If you are reporting liabilities in Parts I or II
The inland waterways fuel use tax applies at the(Form 720), follow the instructions for How to file above,
rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition to allexcept mail the Form 720 to: Internal Revenue Service
other taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel.Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009. CAUTION


!
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Alcohol sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 51). An You may pay the amount shown on line 10 using
excise tax is imposed if the alcohol fuel mixture credit or EFTPS or by check or money order. If you pay using
alcohol credit was claimed and any person later: (a) EFTPS, do not file Form 720-V, Payment Voucher.
uses a mixture or straight alcohol for a purpose other


If you do not deposit as required and, instead, paythan fuel, (b) separates the alcohol from the mixture, or
the taxes with Form 720, you may be subject to a(c) mixes the straight alcohol.
penalty.CAUTION


!
Use the following table to determine the tax for each


gallon of alcohol. Fill in the number of gallons and the Payment of Taxesappropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS
Generally, semimonthly deposits of excise taxes areNo. 51. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate
required. A semimonthly period is the first 15 days of acolumn blank and attach a schedule showing the rates
month (the first semimonthly period) or the 16th throughand number of gallons taxed at each rate.
the last day of a month (the second semimonthly period).


THEN the tax rate
However, no deposit is required for the situationsIF the alcohol is... AND... per gallon is...


listed below. The taxes are payable with the return.
at least 190 proof •  is ethanol $ .51 • The net liability for taxes listed in Part I (Form 720)•  is methanol .60


does not exceed $2,500 for the quarter.•  benefited from the .61 • The gas guzzler tax is being paid on a one-time filing.small ethanol
producer credit See Gas guzzler tax on page 5.


• The liability is for taxes listed in Part II (Form 720),at least 150 proof but •  is ethanol $ .3778
except for the floor stocks tax that generally requires aless than 190 proof •  is methanol .45
single deposit. See Floor Stocks Tax above.•  benefited from the .4778


small ethanol
producer credit How To Make Deposits


To avoid a penalty, make your deposits timely and do not
Biodiesel sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 117). mail your deposits directly to the IRS. Records of your
An excise tax is imposed if the (a) biodiesel or renewable deposits will be sent to the IRS for crediting to your
diesel mixture credit or (b) biodiesel or renewable diesel accounts.
credit was claimed and any person later: (a) uses a


Electronic deposit requirement. You must makemixture or straight biodiesel or renewable diesel for a
electronic deposits of all depository taxes (such aspurpose other than as fuel, (b) separates the biodiesel or
deposits for employment tax, excise tax, and corporaterenewable diesel from the mixture, or (c) mixes the
income tax) using the Electronic Federal Tax Paymentstraight biodiesel or renewable diesel.
System (EFTPS) in 2006 if:


The tax is $.50 per gallon of biodiesel, $1.00 per • The total deposits of such taxes in 2004 exceeded
gallon of agri-biodiesel, and $1.00 per gallon of $200,000 or
renewable diesel. Fill in the number of gallons and the • You were required to use EFTPS in 2005.
appropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS


If you are required to use EFTPS and use Form 8109,No. 117. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate
Federal Tax Deposit Coupon, instead, you may becolumn blank and attach a schedule showing the rates
subject to a 10% penalty. If you are not required to useand number of gallons taxed at each rate.
EFTPS, you may participate voluntarily. To get more


Floor Stocks Tax information or to enroll in EFTPS, visit the EFTPS
website at www.eftps.gov or call 1-800-555-4477. AlsoOzone-depleting chemicals floor stocks tax (IRS No. see Publication 966, The Secure Way to Pay Your20). Use Form 6627 to figure the liability for this tax. Federal Taxes.Enter the amount from Form 6627, Part III, line 4, column


Depositing on time. For EFTPS deposits to be on(d) on the line for IRS No. 20. Attach Form 6627 to Form
time, you must initiate the transaction at least one720 that is due July 31 of each year. Deposit the
business day before the date the deposit is due.payment by June 30 at an authorized financial institution.


See How To Make Deposits below. Federal tax deposit coupons. If you are not making
deposits by EFTPS, use Form 8109 to make the deposits


Part III at an authorized financial institution. See the instructions
in the coupon book for additional information. If you doLine 4. Report on Form 720, line 4, the total claims from
not have a coupon book, call 1-800-829-4933.Schedule C, line 15. See the instructions for Schedule


C–Claims on page 9. You will automatically be enrolled in EFTPS when
you apply for an EIN. You will receive a separateLine 6. Include on line 6 the amount from line 11 of your
mailing containing instructions for activating yourprevious return that you applied to this return and the


TIP


EFTPS enrollment after you receive your EIN. You willamount from Form 720X, line 5b.
still have the option to use FTD coupons, but seeNote. Include on line 6 of your next return the amount
Electronic deposit requirement above.from line 11 you want to have applied to that return.


When To Make DepositsIf you owe other federal tax, interest, or penalty,
the overpayment on line 11 and line 7 will first be There are two methods for determining deposits: the
applied to the unpaid amounts. regular method and the alternative method.CAUTION


!
Line 10. If line 3 is more than line 9, enter the difference The regular method applies to all taxes in Part I of
in line 10. You do not have to pay if line 10 is under Form 720 except for communications and air
$1.00. transportation taxes if deposits are based on amounts
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billed or tickets sold, rather than on amounts actually Additional deposit of taxes in September 2006
collected. See Alternative method below.


For the Period
 If you are depositing more than one tax under a Beginning Ending Due Date


Type of Tax on onmethod, combine all the taxes under the method and
make one deposit for the semimonthly period. Regular method taxes


EFTPS1 Sept. 16 Sept. 26 Sept. 29Regular method. The deposit of tax for a semimonthly
Non-EFTPS Sept. 16 Sept. 25 Sept. 28period is due by the 14th day following that period.


Generally, this is the 29th day of a month for the first Alternative method taxes (IRS
Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28)semimonthly period and the 14th day of the following
(based on amounts billed)month for the second semimonthly period. If the 14th or


EFTPS1 Sept. 1 Sept. 11 Sept. 29the 29th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
Non-EFTPS Sept. 1 Sept. 10 Sept. 28holiday, you must make the deposit by the immediately


preceding day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 1See Electronic deposit requirement on page 7.


holiday.


For the remaining days in September, be sure toAlternative method (IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28).
make your deposits by the regular due date.Deposits of communications and air transportation taxes


may be based on taxes included in amounts billed or CAUTION
!


tickets sold during a semimonthly period instead of on
Amount To Deposittaxes actually collected during the period. Under the


alternative method, the tax included in amounts billed or Deposits of taxes for a semimonthly period must be at
tickets sold during a semimonthly period is considered least 95% of the amount of net tax liability for that period,
collected during the first 7 days of the second following unless the safe harbor rule applies. See Safe Harbor
semimonthly period. The deposit of tax is due by the 3rd Rule below.
banking day after the 7th day of that period. The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is the


total liability for the period minus any claims allowed onExample. The tax included in amounts billed or
Schedule C for the period. Net tax liability for atickets sold for the period June 16-30, 2006, is
semimonthly period may be figured by dividing the netconsidered collected from July 16-22, 2006, and must be
tax liability for the month by 2, provided this method ofdeposited by July 26, 2006.
computation is used for all semimonthly periods in the


To use the alternative method, you must keep a calendar quarter.
separate account of the tax included in amounts billed or


The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is nottickets sold during the month and report on Form 720 the
reduced by any amounts from Form 720X.tax included in amounts billed or tickets sold and not the


CAUTION
!


amount of tax that is actually collected. For example,
amounts billed in December, January, and February are Safe Harbor Rule
considered collected during January, February, and
March and are reported on Form 720 as the tax for the Current Form 720 filers who have incurred liability
1st quarter of the calendar year. for the oil spill liability tax beginning April 1, 2006,


cannot use the safe harbor method for deposits inThe separate account for each month must reflect: CAUTION
!


the second and third calendar quarters of 2006. Deposits1. All items of tax included in amounts billed or tickets
for the semimonthly periods in the second and thirdsold during the month.
calendar quarters must not be less than 95% of the net2. Other items of adjustment relating to tax for prior
tax liability for the semimonthly period.months (within the statute of limitations on credits or


The safe harbor rule applies separately to depositsrefunds).
under the regular method and the alternative method.
Persons who filed Form 720 for the look-back quarterThe separate account for any month cannot include an
(the 2nd calendar quarter preceding the current quarter)adjustment resulting from a refusal to pay or inability to
are considered to meet the semimonthly depositcollect unless the refusal has been reported to the IRS.
requirement if the deposit for each semimonthly period inSee Communications and Air Transportation Taxes—
the current quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net taxUncollected Tax Report on page 3.
liability reported for the look-back quarter.


 The net tax liability that is considered collected during For the semimonthly period for which the additional
the semimonthly period must be either: deposit is required (September 1-11 and 16-26 for• The net amount of tax reflected in the separate EFTPS, or September 1-10 and 16-25 for non-EFTPS),
account for the corresponding semimonthly period of the the additional deposit must be at least 11/90(12.23%),
preceding month or 10/90(11.12%) for non-EFTPS, of the net tax liability• One-half of the net amount of tax reflected in the reported for the look-back quarter. Also, the total deposit
separate account for the preceding month. for that semimonthly period must be at least 1/6 (16.67%)


of the net tax liability reported for the look-back quarter.Special rule for deposits of taxes in September 2006.
If you are required to make deposits, see the chart below. Exceptions. The safe harbor rule does not apply to:
The special rule does not apply to taxes not required to • The 1st and 2nd quarters beginning on or after the
be deposited (see Payment of Taxes on page 7). See effective date of an increase in the rate of tax unless the
Regulations sections 40.6302(c)-2 and 40.6302(c)-3 for deposit of taxes for each semimonthly period in the
rules to figure the net tax liability for the deposits due in calendar quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the tax liability
September. you would have had for the look-back quarter if the
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increased rate of tax had been in effect for that look-back For the remaining days in the September period,
quarter; report the liability as follows:
• Any quarter if liability includes any tax not in effect
throughout the look-back quarter; or Regular method taxes Enter the liability for the period beginning• For deposits under the alternative method, any quarter September 26/27 and ending September
if liability includes any tax not in effect throughout the 30 in box F.
look-back quarter and the month preceding the look-back Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in the amounts billed
quarter. or tickets sold for the period beginning


September 11/12 and ending SeptemberRequirements to be met. For the safe harbor rule to
15 in box M of the 4th quarter return.apply, you must:
Enter the tax included in amounts billed or• Make each deposit timely at an authorized financial tickets sold during the period beginning


institution and September 16 and ending September 30 in• Pay any underpayment for the current quarter by the box N of the 4th quarter return.
due date of the return.


If you meet the requirements and use the safe harbor
rule, check the box on line 5 of Form 720. Schedule T—Two-Party Exchange


The IRS may withdraw the right to make deposits Information Reportingof tax using the safe harbor rule from any person
In a two-party exchange, the receiving person, not thenot complying with these rules.CAUTION


!
delivering person, is liable for the tax imposed on the
removal of taxable fuel from the terminal at the terminal
rack. A two-party exchange means a transaction (otherSchedule A—Excise Tax Liability than a sale) where the delivering person and receiving
person are both taxable fuel registrants and all of the


How to complete. Complete Schedule A to record net following occur.
tax liabilities for Part I taxes for each semimonthly period • The transaction includes a transfer from the delivering
in a quarter even if your net liability is under $2,500. person, who holds the inventory position for the taxable


fuel in the terminal as reflected in the records of theThe following table will help you determine which
terminal operator.boxes to complete on Schedule A.
• The exchange transaction occurs before or at the


AND enter the net same time as completion of removal across the rack by
IF you are reporting under THEN you report on tax liability in the receiving person.
the... line... boxes... • The terminal operator in its records treats the receiving
Regular method 1 A–G person as the person that removes the product across
Alternative method 2 M–S the terminal rack for purposes of reporting the transaction


on Form 720-TO, Terminal Operator Report.
If you are reporting more than one type of tax on • The transaction is the subject of a written contract.


lines 1 and 2: Information reporting. Schedule T—Two-Party
1. Add the net tax liability for each tax for each Exchange Information Reporting, is used to report


semimonthly period and gallons of taxable fuel:
2. Enter the total in the applicable box. • Received in a two-party exchange within a terminal.


These gallons must also be included on the appropriate
Additional rules. Report communications and air line on page 1 of Form 720, or


transportation taxes based on: • Delivered in a two-party exchange contemporaneous• Actual collections on line 1. with a removal across the rack.• Amounts billed or tickets sold on line 2. The amount of
Enter all gallons of fuel received or delivered in atax to report for a semimonthly period is the net amount


two-party exchange within a terminal for the applicablethat is considered collected during that period.
fuel.Example. The amounts billed for communications


services from June 1-15, 2006, are considered collected
during the period July 1-7, 2006, and are reported for the


Schedule C—Claims3rd quarter of 2006 on Schedule A in box M, not the 2nd
quarter of 2006. Complete all information requested for each line,


including month income tax year ends and period ofReporting tax liability under the special September
claim. Enter the month as “MM”. Enter the period of claimrule.  An additional reporting is required under the
as “MM/DD/YYYY”. Your claim will be disallowed if youspecial September rule (for the period shown in the chart
do not follow the required procedures or do not provideabove) as follows:
all the required information. Also, you are certifying to the
applicable statement(s) on Schedule C when you make aRegular method taxes Enter the tax liability for the period
claim. See Pub. 510 for more information.beginning September 16 and ending


September 25/26 in box G, Special rule for
You must include in gross income (income taxSeptember.
return) the amount from line 4 of Form 720 if you


Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in amounts billed or took a deduction on the income tax return thatCAUTION
!


tickets sold during the period beginning
included the amount of the taxes and that deductionSeptember 1 and ending September 10/11
reduced the income tax liability. See Publication 510 forin box S, Special rule for September box


on the 4th quarter return. more information.
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 No. Type of UseDo not use Schedule C:
• If you are not reporting a liability on Form 720, in Part I 14 Exclusive use by a state, political subdivision of
or Part II. a state, or the District of Columbia
• To claim amounts that you took or will take as a credit 15 In an aircraft or vehicle owned by an aircrafton Form 4136, Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels, or museum
as a refund on Form 8849, Claim for Refund of Excise


16 In military aircraftTaxes, and its separate schedules (see the Caution
below). 17 For use in the production of special fuels• To request an abatement or refund of interest under
section 6404(e) (due to IRS errors or delays) or an
abatement or refund of a penalty or addition to tax under Claim requirements for lines 1 through 5, line 11, andsection 6404(f) (due to erroneous IRS written advice). lines 14b-14d.  The following requirements must be met:Instead, use Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for


1. The amount of the claim must be at least $750Abatement. Also use Form 843 to request refund of the
(combining amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 14b, 14c,penalty under section 6715 for misuse of dyed fuel.
and 14d. This amount may be met by:• To make adjustments to liability reported on Forms 720


a. Making a claim for fuel used during any quarter of afiled for prior quarters, use Form 720X.
claimant’s income tax year or


b. Aggregating amounts from any quarters of theIf you make a claim for alcohol or biodiesel or
claimant’s income tax year for which no other claim hasrenewable diesel used to produce an alcohol fuel
been made.mixture or biodiesel or renewable diesel mixture,CAUTION


!
2. Claims must be filed during the first quartera claim for refund or credit on Form 8849, Form 4136,


following the last quarter of the claimant’s income taxForm 6478, or Form 8864 can only be made after the
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar yearsum of the alcohol fuel mixture credit and biodiesel or
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due Junerenewable diesel mixture credit is first applied to reduce
30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must beyour taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720 for any
filed by April 30.particular quarter. See Pub. 510, Notice 2005-4, and


Notice 2005-62 for more information. 3. Only one claim may be filed for any quarter.
4. The fuel must have been used for a nontaxable use


Type of Use Table during the Period of claim.
5. The ultimate purchaser is the only person eligible toThe following table lists the nontaxable uses of fuels. You


make the claim.must enter the number from the table in the Type of use
column as required.


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual No. Type of Use
Claims on page 13.


1 On a farm for farming purposes


Exported taxable fuel. The claim rates for exported2 Off-highway business use (for business use
taxable fuel are listed on lines 1b, 2c, 3e, and 4d, and inother than in a highway vehicle registered or
the instructions for lines 14b and 14c. Taxpayers makingrequired to be registered for highway use) (other


than use in mobile machinery) a claim for exported taxable fuel must include with their
records proof of exportation. Proof of exportation


3 Export includes:
4 In a boat engaged in commercial fishing • A copy of the export bill of lading issued by the


delivering carrier,5 In certain intercity and local buses • A certificate by the agent or representative of the
6 For diesel fuel or kerosene in a qualified local export carrier showing actual exportation of the fuel,


bus • A certificate of lading signed by a customs officer of
the foreign country to which the fuel is exported, or7 In a bus transporting students and employees of
• A statement of the foreign consignee showing receiptschools (school buses)
of the fuel.


8 For diesel fuel and kerosene (other than
kerosene used in aviation) used other than as a
fuel in the propulsion engine of a train or Line 1. Nontaxable Use of Gasoline
diesel-powered highway vehicle (but not


Allowable uses. The gasoline must have been usedoff-highway business use)
during the period of claim for type of use 2, 4, 5, 7, or 12.


9 In foreign trade For exported gasoline, see Exported taxable fuel above.
Type of use 2 does not include any personal use or use10 Certain helicopter and fixed-wing aircraft uses
in a motorboat.


11 Not applicable


12 In a highway vehicle owned by the United Line 2. Nontaxable Use of Aviation GasolineStates that is not used on a highway
Allowable uses. For line 2b, the aviation gasoline must


13 Exclusive use by a nonprofit educational have been used during the period of claim for type of useorganization 9, 10, or 16. For exported aviation gasoline, see Exported
taxable fuel above.
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local government (including essential government use byLine 3. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Diesel
an Indian tribal government).Fuel
Claim requirements. The following requirements must
be met:Ultimate purchasers use line 3d to make claims


for diesel fuel used on a farm for farming 1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a
purposes. period that is at least 1 week.CAUTION


!
2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. ToAllowable uses. For line 3a, the diesel fuel must have


meet this minimum requirement, amounts from line 6, 7,been used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6,
8, and 14e may be combined.7, 8, or 12. For exported undyed diesel fuel, see


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the firstExported taxable fuel on page 10. Type of use 2 does not
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sinclude any personal use or use in a motorboat. Type of
income tax year included in the claim. For example, ause 8 includes use as heating oil and use in a motorboat.
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720Line 4. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Kerosene
must be filed by April 30.(Other Than Kerosene Used in Aviation)


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see AnnualUltimate purchasers use line 4c to make claims
Claims on page 13.for kerosene used on a farm for farming


Information to be submitted. For claims on line 6a,purposes.CAUTION
!


attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each
Allowable uses. For line 4a, the kerosene must have governmental unit to whom the diesel fuel was sold and
been used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6, the number of gallons sold to each.
7, 8, or 12. For exported undyed kerosene, see Exported
taxable fuel on page 10. Type of use 2 does not include Line 6b. Sales by Registered Ultimate
any personal use or use in a motorboat. Type of use 8 Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel for Use in
includes use as heating oil and use in a motorboat. Certain Intercity and Local Buses


Exception. Claims for kerosene used in aviation on a
Claimant. For line 6b, the registered ultimate vendor offarm for farming purposes must be claimed by the
the diesel fuel is eligible to make a claim only if the buyerultimate vendor.
waives his or her right to make the claim by providing the


Line 5. Kerosene Used in Commercial registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See
Aviation (Other Than Foreign Trade) Model Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed


with respect to any gallon of diesel fuel.Claimant. The ultimate purchaser of the kerosene used
Claim requirements. The following requirements mustin commercial aviation (other than foreign trade) is
be met:eligible to make this claim.


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during aAllowable uses. For lines 5a and 5b, claimant certifies
period that is at least 1 week.that the right to make the claim has not been waived. If


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. Tothe claimant buys kerosene partly for use in commercial
meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7,aviation and partly for use in noncommercial aviation, see
8, and 14e may be combined.the rules in Notice 2005-80, section 3(e)(3). Only one


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the firstclaim may be filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sused in commercial aviation.
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a


Information for Claims on Lines 6 – 10 calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720Registration number. To make an ultimate vendor
must be filed by April 30.claim on lines 6-10, you are required to be registered.


Enter your registration number, including the prefix, on
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualthe applicable line for your claim. If you are not a


Claims on page 13.registered, you cannot make a claim at this time. Use
Form 637, Application for Registration (For Certain Lines 7a and 7b. Sales By Registered
Excise Tax Activities), to apply for one. Ultimate Vendors of Undyed Kerosene
Required certificates or waivers. The required (Other Than Kerosene Sold for Use incertificates or waivers for lines 6-10 are listed in the line


Aviation)instructions and are available in Pub. 510.
Claimant. For line 7a, the registered ultimate vendor ofLine 6a. Sales By Registered Ultimate
the kerosene is the only person eligible to make thisVendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel claim and has obtained the required certificate from the
buyer and has no reason to believe any information in theClaimant. For line 6a, the registered ultimate vendor of
certificate is false. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510.the diesel fuel is the only person eligible to make this
For line 7b, claimant has a statement, if required, thatclaim and has obtained the required certificate from the
contains: the date of sale, name and address of thebuyer and has no reason to believe any information in the
buyer, and the number of gallons of kerosene sold to thecertificate is false. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510.
buyer. For lines 7a and 7b, only one claim may be filedOnly one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of
with respect to any gallon of kerosene.diesel fuel.


Allowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during Allowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during
the Period of claim for the exclusive use by a state or the Period of claim:
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• For line 7a, use by a state or local government Allowable sales. The kerosene sold for use in
(including essential government use by an Indian tribal commercial aviation must have been sold during the
government), or Period of claim for use in commercial aviation (other than


foreign trade).• For line 7b, from a blocked pump.


Claim requirements. The following requirements must Claim requirements. The following requirements mustbe met: be met:
1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use inperiod that is at least 1 week. commercial aviation during a period that is at least 12. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To week.meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. Tocombined. meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be
3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first combined.


quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter income tax year included in the claim. For example, a
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter
must be filed by April 30. is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720


must be filed by April 30.
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual


Claims on page 13.
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual


Information to be submitted. For claims on line 7a, Claims on page 13.
attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each
governmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and


Line 8c, 8d, and 8e. Sales By Registeredthe number of gallons sold to each.
Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene Sold For Use


Line 7c. Sales by Registered Ultimate in Noncommercial Aviation
Vendors of Undyed Kerosene for Use in


Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of theCertain Intercity and Local Buses kerosene sold for use in noncommercial aviation is the
only person eligible to make this claim and has obtainedClaimant. For line 7c, the registered ultimate vendor of
the required certificate from the ultimate purchaser. Forthe kerosene is eligible to make a claim only if the buyer
type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 15, or 16, see Model Certificatewaives his or her right to make the claim by providing the
Q in Pub. 510. For type of use 14, see Model Certificateregistered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See
P in Pub. 510. For lines 8c, 8d, and 8e, only one claimModel Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed
may be filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene soldwith respect to any gallon of kerosene.
for use in noncommercial aviation.


Claim requirements. The following requirements must
be met: Allowable sales. For line 8c, the kerosene must have


1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a been sold for a nonexempt use in noncommercial
period that is at least 1 week. aviation. For lines 8d and 8e, the kerosene sold for use in


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To noncommercial aviation must have been sold during the
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be period of claim for type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, or 16.
combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first Claim requirements. The following requirements must
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s be met:
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use incalendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter noncommercial aviation during a period that is at least 1is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 week.must be filed by April 30. 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To


meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual combined.


Claims on page 13. 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sLine 8a and 8b. Sales By Registered income tax year included in the claim. For example, a


Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene For Use in calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720Commercial Aviation (Other Than Foreign
must be filed by April 30.Trade)


Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualkerosene sold for use in commercial aviation is eligible to


Claims on page 13.make this claim only if the buyer waives his or her right
by providing the registered ultimate vendor with an
unexpired waiver. See Model Waiver L in Pub. 510. For Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 8d
lines 8a and 8b, only one claim may be filed with respect and 8e, attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN
to any gallon of kerosene sold for use in commercial of each governmental unit to whom the kerosene was
aviation. sold and the number of gallons sold to each.
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be taken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849, FormLines 9a, 9b, 10a, and 10b. Sales by
4136, or Form 6478. See Notice 2005-4 and NoticeRegistered Ultimate Vendors of Gasoline 2005-62 for more information.


and Aviation Gasoline
Line 13. Biodiesel or Renewable DieselClaimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the gasoline


or aviation gasoline is eligible to make a claim on lines Mixture Credit
9a, 9b, 10a, and 10b if the buyer waives his or her right Claimant. The person that produced and sold or usedto make the claim by providing the registered ultimate


the mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim.vendor with an unexpired certificate. See Model
Certificate M in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed Claim requirements. The following requirements must
with respect to any gallon of gasoline or aviation be met:
gasoline. 1. The claim must be for a biodiesel or renewable
Allowable sales. The gasoline or aviation gasoline must diesel mixture sold or used during a period that is at least
have been sold during the period of claim for: 1 week.
• Use by a nonprofit educational organization or 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
• Use by a state or local government (including essential meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may
government use by an Indian tribal government). be combined.


3. The biodiesel used to produce the biodiesel mixtureClaim requirements. The following requirements must
meets ASTM D6751 and is registered with the EPA as abe met:
fuel and fuel additive under section 211 of the Clean Air1. The claim must be for gasoline or aviation gasoline
Act.sold or used during a period that is at least 1 week.


4. The Certificate for Biodiesel and, if applicable,2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
Statement of Biodiesel Reseller, must be attached to themeet this minimum, amounts from lines 9a, 9b, 10a, and
first claim filed supported by the certificate or statement.10b may be combined.
See Model Certificate O and Model Statement S in Pub.3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
510. If the certificate and statement are not attached toquarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s
Form 720 because they are attached to a previously-filedincome tax year included in the claim. For example, a
claim on Schedule 3 (Form 8849) for the biodiesel, attachcalendar year income taxpayer’s claim for January and
a separate sheet with the following information.February is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However,


a. Certificate identification number.Form 720 must be filed by April 30.
b. Total gallons of biodiesel on certificate.


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual c. Total gallons claimed on Schedule 3 (Form 8849).
Claims below. d. Total gallons claimed on Schedule C (Form 720),


line 13.Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 9a,
9b, 10a, and 10b, attach a separate sheet with the name
and TIN of each nonprofit educational organization or If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual
governmental unit to whom the gasoline or aviation Claims below.
gasoline was sold and the number of gallons sold to


Registration number. If you are a registered blender oreach.
a taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number,
including the prefix, on line 13.Line 11. Nontaxable Use of Liquefied


Petroleum Gas (LPG) How to claim the credit. Any biodiesel or renewable
diesel mixture credit must first be taken on Schedule C toAllowable uses. For line 11(c), the taxed LPG must
reduce your taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720.have been used during the period of claim for type of
Any excess credit may be taken on Schedule C (Formuse: 1, 2, or 4.
720), Form 8849, Form 4136, or Form 8864. See Notice
2005-4 and item 3 above for more information.Line 12. Alcohol Fuel Mixture Credit


Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used Annual Claimsthe mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim.
If a claim on lines 1-13 or 14b-14e was not made for any


Claim requirements. The following requirements must gallons, an annual claim may be made. Generally, an
be met: annual claim is made on Form 4136 for the income tax


1. The claim must be for an alcohol fuel mixture sold year during which the fuel was used by the ultimate
or used during a period that is at least 1 week. purchaser, sold by the registered ultimate vendor, used


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To to produce an alcohol fuel mixture and biodiesel mixture,
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may or used in mobile machinery. See Form 4136 for more
be combined. information.


If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual Line 14. Other Claims
Claims below.


For claims under section 6416(b)(2) relating to certain
Registration number. If you are a registered blender or uses and resales of certain articles subject to
a taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number, manufacturers or retailers excise taxes, claimant certifies
including the prefix, on line 12. that it sold the article at a tax-excluded price, repaid the
How to claim the credit. Any alcohol fuel mixture credit amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, or has obtained the
must first be taken on Schedule C to reduce your taxable written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim;
fuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excess credit may and has the required supporting information.


-13-







Page 14 of 16 Instructions for Form 720 11:12 - 18-MAY-2006


The type and rule above prints on all proofs including departmental reproduction proofs. MUST be removed before printing.


If any of these conditions is not met, the credit cardLines 14b and 14c. Exported Dyed Diesel Fuel
issuer must collect the tax from the ultimate purchaserand Exported Dyed Kerosene
and only the ultimate purchaser can make the claim.For exported dyed diesel fuel and exported dyed


kerosene, see Exported taxable fuel on page 10. The
Claim requirements. The following requirements mustclaim rate for each fuel is $.001.
be met:


1. The claim must be for gasoline, aviation gasoline,Line 14d. Diesel-Water Fuel Emulsion
diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation sold


The claim rate for the nontaxable use of a diesel-water during a period that is at least 1 week.
fuel emulsion taxed at $.198 (CRN 309) is $.197. The


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200fuel must have been used during the period of claim for
($100 for kerosene or kerosene for use in aviation). Totype of use 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, or 12. For type of use 3
meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7,(exported), the claim rate is $.198 (CRN 306) and is
8, and 14e may be combined.reported on line 14d.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first
quarter following the earliest quarter of the claimant’sThe claim rate for undyed diesel fuel taxed at $.244
income tax year included in the claim. For example, a(CRN 310) and used to produce a diesel-water fuel
calendar year income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarteremulsion is $.046 per gallon of diesel fuel so used
is due June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720(blender claims). The claimant must attach a statement
must be filed by April 30.certifying that: (a) the claimant produced a diesel-water


fuel emulsion containing at least 14% water, (b) the 4. The claimant must enter its registration number on
emulsion additive is registered by a United States line 14e and the applicable CRN. If the claim is for more
manufacturer under section 211 of the Clean Air Act with than one fuel, attach a separate sheet listing the fuels
the EPA, (c) the claimant used undyed diesel fuel taxed and their CRNs.
at $.244 to produce the diesel-water emulsion, and (d)
the claimant sold or used the diesel-water fuel emulsion
in the blender’s trade or business. The blender claimant Line 14f. Other Claims
must be registered by the IRS and must enter their Use line 14f for claims relating to taxes listed in the table
registration number on line 14d and enter the applicable below. See Pub. 510 for information on allowable claims
CRN. relating to these taxes. If you need additional space,


attach other sheet(s). You must include the following
Claim requirements. See Claim requirements for lines 1 information for each claim.
through 5, line 11, lines 14b-14d on page 10. • A detailed description of the claim.


• Any additional information required by the regulations.Line 14e. Registered Credit Card Issuers
• The amount of the claim.Allowable sales. The gasoline (CRN 362), aviation
• How you figured the claim amount.gasoline (CRN 324), diesel fuel (CRN 360), kerosene


(CRN 346), or kerosene for use in aviation (CRN 369) • Any other information to support the claim.
must have been purchased with a credit card issued to
the ultimate purchaser during the Period of claim: Claim requirement. Generally, the claim must be
• For gasoline or aviation gasoline, for the exclusive use filed within 3 years from the time the return was filed or 2
by a state or local government (including essential years from the time the tax was paid, whichever is later.
government use by an Indian tribal government) or for
the exclusive use of a nonprofit educational organization. Tax CRN


• For diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs) 398
aviation, for the exclusive use by a state or local


Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and bodies, and 383government (including essential government use by an
tractors


Indian tribal government).
Passenger vehicles (luxury tax) 392


Claimant. The registered credit card issuer is the only Taxable tires other than biasply or super single tires 396
person eligible to make this claim if the credit card issuer:


Taxable tires, biasply or super single tires (other than 304
1. Is registered by the IRS, super single tires designed for steering)


2. Has not collected the amount of tax from the Taxable tires, super single tires designed for steering 305
ultimate purchaser or has obtained the written consent of


Gas guzzler automobiles 340the ultimate purchaser to make the claim, and
Vaccines 3973. Certifies that it has repaid or agreed to repay the


amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, has obtained the Sport fishing equipment 341
written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim, Fishing rods and fishing poles 308
or has otherwise made arrangements which directly or


Fishing tackle boxes 387indirectly provide the ultimate vendor with reimbursement
of the tax. Electric outboard motors 342


4. Has in its possession an unexpired certificate from Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points 344
the ultimate purchaser and has no reason to believe any


Arrow shafts 389of the information in the certificate is false. See Model
Certificate R in Pub. 510.
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Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice.
We ask for the information on these forms in order toUnresolved Tax Issues carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States.


If you have attempted to deal with an IRS problem We need it to figure and collect the right amount of tax.
unsuccessfully, you should contact the Taxpayer Miscellaneous excise taxes are imposed under Subtitle D
Advocate. The Taxpayer Advocate independently of the Internal Revenue Code. These forms are used to
represents your interests and concerns within the IRS by determine the amount of tax that you owe. Section 6011
protecting your rights and resolving problems that have requires you to provide the requested information.
not been fixed through normal channels. Section 6109 requires you to provide your TIN. Routine


uses of this information include giving it to the
While Taxpayer Advocates cannot change the tax law Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, and


or make a technical tax decision, they can clear up cities, states, and the District of Columbia for use in
problems that resulted from previous contacts and administering their tax laws. We may also disclose this
ensure that your case is given a complete and impartial information to other countries under a tax treaty, to
review. federal and state agencies to enforce federal nontax


criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and
intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. If you fail toYour assigned personal advocate will listen to your
provide this information in a timely manner, you may bepoint of view and will work with you to address your
liable for penalties and interest.concerns. You can expect the advocate to provide you


with: You are not required to provide the information
requested on a form that is subject to the Paperwork• A ‘‘fresh look’’ at your new or on-going problem.
Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB• Timely acknowledgment.
control number. Books or records relating to a form or its• The name and phone number of the individual
instructions must be retained as long as their contentsassigned to your case.
may become material in the administration of any Internal• Updates on progress.
Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return• Timeframes for action. information are confidential, as required by section 6103.• Speedy resolution.


The time needed to complete and file these forms and• Courteous service.
related schedules will vary depending on individual
circumstances. The estimated average times are:


When contacting the Taxpayer Advocate, you should
Learning about Preparing andprovide the following information:


Form Recordkeeping the law or sending the• Your name, address, and taxpayer identification
the form form to the IRSnumber (TIN).


720 21 hr., 17 min. 1 hr., 42 min. 5 hr., 41 min.• The name and telephone number of an authorized
720-V 1 hr., 11 min. — — 1 min.contact person and the hours he or she can be reached.
Sch. A 3 hr., 49 min. — — 3 min.• The type of tax return and year(s) or period(s) (for Sch. T 2 hr., 23 min. — — 2 min.


quarterly returns) involved. Sch. C 26 hr., 33 min. 42 min. 1hr., 9 min.
720X 6 hr., 13 min. 18 min. 24 min.• A detailed description of the problem.
6197 4 hr., 18 min. 12 min. 16 min.• Previous attempts to solve the problem and the office
6627 9 hr., 3 min. 6 min. 14 min.


you contacted.
If you have comments concerning the accuracy of• A description of the hardship you are facing (if


these time estimates or suggestions for making theseapplicable).
forms and related schedules simpler, we would be happy
to hear from you. You can write to the Internal RevenueYou may contact a Taxpayer Advocate by calling a
Service, Tax Products Coordinating Committee,toll-free number, 1-877-777-4778. Persons who have
SE:W:CAR:MP:T:T:SP, 1111 Constitution Ave. NW,access to TTY/TDD equipment may call 1-800-829-4059
IR-6406, Washington, DC 20224. Do not send the taxand ask for Taxpayer Advocate assistance. If you prefer,
forms to this office. Instead, see Where To File onyou may call, write, or fax the Taxpayer Advocate office
page 1.in your area. See Pub. 1546, The Taxpayer Advocate


Service of the IRS, for a list of addresses and numbers.
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Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue ServiceInstructions for Form 720


(Rev. July 2006)
Quarterly Federal Excise Tax Return


Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless 1-800-555-4477. Also see How To Make Deposits on
otherwise noted. page 8.


General Instructions Purpose of Form
Use Form 720 and attachments to report liability by IRS No.What’s New and pay the excise taxes listed on the form.


Changes Effective For The Third Calendar When To File
Quarter of 2006 You must file a return for each quarter of the calendar year


as follows:Communications excise tax, toll telephone service.
Collectors must stop collecting and paying over the tax on


Quarter covered Due bynontaxable service that is billed after July 31, 2006.
Nontaxable service means bundled service and long Jan., Feb., Mar. April 30
distance service. These terms are defined under


Apr., May, June July 31Communications Taxes on page 3. Taxpayers may claim a
credit or refund only on their 2006 federal income tax return July, Aug., Sept. October 31
for nontaxable service that was billed after February 28,


Oct., Nov., Dec. January 312003, and before August 1, 2006. Instructions will be
provided on the applicable income tax returns. Claims can
no longer be filed on Form 8849, Form 720, or Form 843 for If any due date for filing a return falls on a Saturday,
nontaxable service; the IRS will not process these claims. Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file the return on the next
Information on the credit and refund procedures for business day.
collectors is described under Communications Taxes on


Send your return to the IRS using the U.S. Postal Servicepage 3. For more information, see Notice 2006-50 that is
or a designated private delivery service to meet the “timelyavailable on page 1141 of Internal Revenue Bulletin
mailing as timely filing/paying” rule. See Private Delivery2006-25 at www.irs.gov/pub/irs-irbs/irb06-25.pdf.
Services on page 2.


The above paragraph applies to nontaxable service billed Floor stocks tax. Report the floor stocks tax onto customers of the collector. All Form 720 taxpayers,
ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 20, on theincluding collectors, must request a credit or refund on their
return due by July 31 of each year. The tax payment is due2006 federal income tax return for nontaxable service paid
by June 30. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7.by the taxpayer.


Foreign insurance. The filing address may have changed Where To File
for some filers. See Foreign Insurance Taxes on page 6.


Send Form 720 to the Internal Revenue Service Center,
Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009.Changes Effective For The Fourth Calendar


Quarter of 2006 How To File
Alternative fuel. After September 30, 2006, the rates If you are not reporting a tax that you normally report, enter
applicable to any liquid (other than gas oil, fuel oil, gasoline, a zero on the appropriate line in Part I or II (Form 720). Also,
diesel fuel, or kerosene) that is sold for use or used as a fuel if you have no tax to report, write “None” on line 3, Part III;
in a motor vehicle or motorboat are changing. See Special sign and date the return.
Motor Fuel/Alternative Fuel on page 5 for a list of alternative


If you have adjustments to liabilities reported for priorfuel and the tax rates. The October 2006 revision of Form
quarters, see Form 720X, Amended Quarterly Federal720 will be revised to include the new rates.
Excise Tax Return. Do not enter adjustments on


Also effective after September 30, 2006 two new credits Form 720.
will be available: the alternative fuel credit and the


If you attach additional sheets, write your name and EINalternative fuel mixture credit. The October 2006 revision of
on each sheet.Schedule C (Form 720) will be revised to include the new


credits. Final Return
File a final return if you have been filing Form 720 and you:Electronic Payment


1. Go out of business orNow, more than ever before, businesses can enjoy the
2. Will not owe excise taxes that are reportable on Formbenefits of paying their federal taxes electronically. Whether


720 in future quarters.you rely on a tax professional or handle your own taxes, the
IRS offers you a convenient program to make it easier.
Spend less time on taxes and more time running your If you are only filing to report zero tax and you will
business. Use the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System not owe excise tax in future quarters, check the final
(EFTPS) to your benefit. For information on EFTPS, visit return box above Part I of Form 720. The IRS will


TIP


www.eftps.gov or call the EFTPS Customer Service at then stop sending Package 720 to you each quarter.
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Recordkeeping Private Delivery Services
Keep copies of your tax return, records, and accounts of all You can use certain private delivery services designated by
transactions to show that the correct tax has been paid. the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filing/paying”
Keep records to support all claims and all exemptions at rule for tax returns and payments. These private delivery
least 4 years from the latest of the date: services include only the following:
• The tax became due, • DHL Express (DHL): DHL Same Day Service, DHL Next
• You paid the tax, or Day 10:30 am, DHL Next Day 12:00 pm, DHL Next Day 3:00
• You filed a claim. pm, and DHL 2nd Day Service.


• Federal Express (FedEx): FedEx Priority Overnight,
FedEx Standard Overnight, FedEx 2Day, FedExPenalties and Interest
International Priority, and FedEx International First.


Avoid penalties and interest by filing returns and depositing • United Parcel Service (UPS): UPS Next Day Air, UPS
and paying taxes when due. The law provides penalties for Next Day Air Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Air
filing a return late; depositing taxes late; paying taxes late; A.M., UPS Worldwide Express Plus, and UPS Worldwide
willfully failing to collect and pay tax or file a return; Express.
negligence; and fraud. These penalties are in addition to the


The private delivery service can tell you how to getinterest charge on late payments. The penalty for filing a
written proof of the mailing date.return late will not be imposed if you can show that the


failure to file a timely return is due to reasonable cause.
Private delivery services cannot deliver items to P.O.Those filing after the due date must attach an explanation to
boxes. You must use the U.S. Postal Service to mailthe return to show reasonable cause.
any item to an IRS P.O. box address.CAUTION


!
Trust fund recovery penalty. If communications and air
transportation taxes are collected but not paid to the United
States Treasury or are willfully not collected, the trust fund Photographs of Missing Children
recovery penalty may apply. The penalty is the full amount The Internal Revenue Service is a proud partner with the
of the unpaid tax. National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.


Photographs of missing children selected by the Center mayThe trust fund recovery penalty may be imposed on all
appear in instructions on pages that would otherwise bepersons who are determined by the IRS to be responsible
blank. You can help bring these children home by looking atfor collecting, accounting for, and paying over these taxes,
the photographs and calling 1-800-THE-LOSTand who acted willfully in not doing so.
(1-800-843-5678) if you recognize a child.


A responsible person can be an officer or employee of a
corporation, a partner or employee of a partnership, an
employee of a sole proprietorship, an accountant, or a
volunteer director/trustee. A responsible person may also Specific Instructions
include one who signs checks for the business or otherwise
has authority to cause the spending of business funds. Name and Address


Willfully means voluntarily, consciously, and intentionally. The first time you file Form 720, type or print your name,A responsible person acts willfully if he or she knows the address (including the suite, room, or other unit number),required actions are not taking place. and the quarter ending date (month and year). After that, the
IRS will mail you a Package 720 with a preaddressed Form


Additional Information 720 every quarter. If your address changes, make the
corrections on Form 720 and check the address change boxYou may find the following products helpful when preparing
above Part I of Form 720.Form 720 and any attachments:


• Publication 510, Excise Taxes for 2006, contains P.O. box. If the post office does not deliver mail to thedefinitions and examples that will help you prepare street address and you have a P.O. box, show the boxForm 720. Pub. 510 also contains information on fuel tax number instead of the street address.credits and refunds previously in Pub. 378.
• Publication 509, Tax Calendars for 2006, has deposit and Foreign address. Enter the city, province or state, and
payment due dates for all federal excise taxes. country. Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal
• Notice 2005-4. You can find Notice 2005-4 on page 289 code. Do not abbreviate the country name.
of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-2 at www.irs.gov/pub/
irs-irbs/irb05-02.pdf. Employer Identification Number (EIN)• Notice 2005-24. You can find Notice 2005-24 on page


If the EIN on the preaddressed Form 720 is wrong or you757 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-12 at www.irs.gov/
did not receive a preaddressed Form 720, enter the correctpub/irs-irbs/irb05-12.pdf.
number. If you are a one-time filer, you may not need an• Notice 2005-62. You can find Notice 2005-62 on page
EIN. See Gas guzzler tax on page 6. If you do not have an443 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-35 at www.irs.gov/
EIN, you may apply for one online. Go to the IRS website atpub/irs-irbs/irb05-35.pdf.
www.irs.gov/businesses and click on the “Employer ID• Notice 2005-80. You can find Notice 2005-80 on page
Numbers” link. You may also apply for an EIN by calling953 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-46 at www.irs.gov/
1-800-829-4933 (hours of operation are Monday - Friday,pub/irs-irbs/irb05-46.pdf.
7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time), or you can fax or mail• Notice 2006-50 You can find Notice 2006-50 on page
Form SS-4, Application for Employer Identification Number,1141 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2006-25 at www.irs.gov/
to the IRS.pub/irs-irbs/irb06-25.pdf


You may also call the business and specialty tax line at Signature1-800-829-4933 with your excise tax questions. The hours
of operation are Monday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Form 720 must be signed by a person authorized by the
local time. entity to sign this return.
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service, prepaid telephone cards, and plans that provideThird Party Designee
both local and long distance service for either a flat monthly


If you want to allow an employee of your business, a return fee or a charge that varies with the elapsed time for which
preparer, or other third party to discuss your the service is used. Bundled service is provided for both
Form 720 with the IRS, check the “Yes” box in the Third landlines and wireless (cellular) service.
Party Designee section of Form 720. Also, enter the


Long distance service. Long distance service isdesignee’s name, phone number, and any five digits that
telephonic quality communication with persons whoseperson chooses as his or her personal identification number
telephones are outside the local telephone system of the(PIN).
caller.By checking the “Yes” box, you are authorizing the IRS to


call the designee to answer any questions relating to the Credits or Refunds
processing of or the information reported on


If tax is collected and paid over for nontaxable services, orForm 720. You are also authorizing the designee to:
for certain services or users exempt from the• Exchange information concerning Form 720 with the IRS
communications tax, the collector or taxpayer may claim aand
credit or refund as described below and in Notice 2006-50.• Respond to certain IRS notices that you have shared with


your designee relating to Form 720. The IRS will not send Collectors. The collector may claim a credit or refund if it
notices to your designee. has repaid the tax to the person from whom the tax was


collected, or obtained the consent of that person to theYou are not authorizing the designee to receive any
allowance of the credit or refund. These requirements alsorefund check, bind you to anything (including additional tax
apply to nontaxable service refunds.liability), or otherwise represent you before the IRS. If you


want to expand the designee’s authority, see Publication Collectors using the regular method for deposits.
947, Practice Before the IRS and Power of Attorney. Collectors using the regular method for deposits must use


Form 720X to claim a credit or refund if the collector hasThe authorization will automatically expire one year from
repaid the tax to the person from whom the tax wasthe due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your
collected, or obtained the consent of that person to theForm 720. If you or your designee want to revoke this
allowance of the credit or refund.authorization, send a written statement of revocation to the


Internal Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999. Collectors using the alternative method for deposits.
See Publication 947 for more information. Collectors using the alternative method for deposits must


adjust the separate account for the credit or refund if it has
repaid the tax to the person from whom the tax wasPart I
collected, or obtained the consent of that person to the
allowance of the credit or refund. For more information, seeEnvironmental Taxes
Alternative method on page 8.Use Form 6627, Environmental Taxes, to figure the


environmental taxes on: Form 720 taxpayers. Credits or refunds for nontaxable
• Oil spill liability, IRS Nos. 18 and 21; service that was billed after February 28, 2003, and before
• Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 98; August 1, 2006, can be claimed by taxpayers only on their
• Imported products that used ODCs as materials in the 2006 federal income tax returns. Forms and instructions to
manufacture or production of the product, IRS No. 19; and make the claim will be included with the 2006 income tax
• The floor stocks tax on ODCs, IRS No. 20. returns. Do not use Form 8849, Form 720, or Form 843 to


make claims for nontaxable service; the IRS will not process Attach Form 6627 to Form 720. The tax rates for these
these claims.taxes are shown on Form 6627.


Air Transportation TaxesCommunications Taxes
Who Must FileCollectors must stop collecting and paying over the


tax on nontaxable service that is billed after July 31, The person receiving the payment for air transportation
2006. Nontaxable service means bundled service services must collect and pay over the tax and file the


TIP


and long distance service. These terms are defined below. return. Enter the amount of tax collected or considered
Information on the credit and refund procedures for collected for the quarter.
collectors is described under Credits or Refunds below. For


Transportation of Persons by Air (IRS No. 26)more information, see Notice 2006-50.
The tax on transportation of persons by air is made up of theWho Must File percentage tax and the domestic segment tax. Add the


The person receiving the payment for communications percentage tax and the domestic segment tax to get the
services must collect and pay over the tax and file the total tax on transportation of persons by air.
return. Enter the amount of tax collected or considered


Percentage tax. The percentage tax is 7.5% for amountscollected for the quarter.
paid for taxable transportation of persons by air.


Communications Services (IRS No. 22) Domestic segment tax. For amounts paid for each
The tax is 3% of amounts paid for local telephone service, domestic segment of taxable transportation of persons by
toll telephone service (for service billed before August 1, air, the domestic segment tax is $3.30 per segment for
2006), and teletypewriter exchange service. transportation that begins in 2006.
Nontaxable service. Nontaxable service means bundled Rural airports. If a segment is to or from a rural airport,
service and long distance service. the domestic segment tax does not apply.


Bundled service. Bundled service is local and long
Transportation of Property by Air (IRS No. 28)distance service provided under a plan that does not


separately state the charge for local telephone service. The tax is 6.25% of amounts paid for transportation of
Bundled service includes Voice over Internet Protocol property by air.
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Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange InformationUse of International Air Travel Facilities
Reporting on page 9 if applicable.(IRS No. 27)
Diesel-water fuel emulsion (IRS No. 104). If you are liableFor amounts paid during 2006, the tax on international
for the reduced rate (see below) of tax on a diesel-water fuelflights is:
emulsion removal at the terminal rack or other taxable• $14.50 per person for flights that begin or end in the
event, report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 104.United States or


• $7.30 per person for domestic segments that begin or end Requirements. All of the following requirements must be
in Alaska or Hawaii (applies only to departures). met to be eligible for the reduced rate: (a) the diesel-water


fuel emulsion must contain at least 14% water, (b) the
Communication and Air Transportation emulsion additive must be registered by a United States


manufacturer under section 211 of the Clean Air Act with theTaxes—Uncollected Tax Report
EPA, and (c) the taxpayer must be registered by the IRS. IfA separate report is required to be filed by collecting agents
these requirements are not met, you must report the sale,of communications services and air transportation taxes if
removal, or use of a diesel-water fuel emulsion as dieselthe person from whom the facilities or services tax (the tax)
fuel.is required to be collected (the taxpayer) refuses to pay the
Dyed diesel fuel used in trains (IRS No. 71). If you aretax, or it is impossible for the collecting agent to collect the
liable for the tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains, report thetax. The report must contain the following information: the
number of gallons subject to tax on the line for IRS No. 71.name and address of the taxpayer, the type of facility


provided or service rendered, the amount paid for the facility The tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains applies ator service (the amount on which the tax is based), and the the rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition to alldate paid. other taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel.CAUTION
!


Collectors of the communications tax are not IRS Nos. 105, 107, 119, and 111. Tax is imposed at $.001required to report any refusal to pay the tax on per gallon on removals, entries, and sales of gasoline, dieselnontaxable service that is billed after May 25, 2006.CAUTION
!


fuel, and kerosene described as exempt transactions.See Nontaxable service, on page 3. • IRS No. 105, Dyed diesel fuel, LUST tax.
Regular method taxpayers. For regular method taxpayers, • IRS No. 107, Dyed kerosene, LUST tax.
the report must be filed by the due date of the Form 720 on • IRS No. 119, LUST tax, other exempt removals. Report
which the tax would have been reported. gasoline blendstocks, kerosene used for a feedstock
Alternative method taxpayers. For alternative method purpose, and diesel fuel or kerosene sold or used in Alaska.
taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the • IRS No. 111, Kerosene for use in aviation, LUST tax on
Form 720 that includes an adjustment to the separate nontaxable uses, including foreign trade. Report gallons of
account for the uncollected tax. See Alternative method on kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the fuel tank
page 8. of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use in foreign trade.
Where to file. Do not file the uncollected tax report with Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax for each
Form 720. Instead, mail the report to: fuel by $.001 and make one entry in the tax column.


Kerosene (IRS No. 35). If you are liable for the keroseneInternal Revenue Service
tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons onCollected Excise Tax Coordinator
line 35(a). If you are liable for the kerosene tax on eventsS:C:CP:RC:EX
other than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons1111 Constitution Avenue NW, IR-2016
of kerosene on line 35(b).Washington, DC 20224


Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on linesFuel Taxes (a) and (b) by $.244 and make one entry in the tax column.
First taxpayer’s report. If you are reporting gallons of Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information
taxable fuel that may again be subject to tax, you may need Reporting on page 9 if applicable.
to file a first taxpayer’s report. The report must contain all Kerosene for use in aviation (IRS Nos. 69, 77, and 111).the information as shown in the Model Certificate B in the Generally, kerosene is taxed at $.244 per gallon.Appendix of Publication 510. • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the


The person who paid the first tax must: fuel tank of an aircraft for use in noncommercial aviation, the
• Give a copy of the first taxpayer’s report to the buyer; tax rate is $.219 per gallon. Report these gallons on the line
• File the first taxpayer’s report with Form 720 for the for IRS No. 69.
quarter for which the report relates; and • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
• Write “EXCISE—FIRST TAXPAYER’S REPORT” across fuel tank of an aircraft for use in commercial aviation (other
the top of a separate copy of the report, and by the due date than foreign trade), the tax rate is generally $.044 per gallon.
of Form 720, send the copy to: Internal Revenue Service Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 77.
Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0555. • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the


fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use inDiesel fuel (IRS No. 60). If you are liable for the diesel fuel
foreign trade, the tax rate is generally $.001 per gallon.tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons on
Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 111.line 60(a). If you are liable for the diesel fuel tax on events


other than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) (IRS No. 61). Only LPG
on line 60(b). If you are liable for the diesel fuel tax because (such as propane and butane) is reported on the line for IRS
you have produced diesel fuel by blending biodiesel with No. 61. LPG is taxed at $.136 per gallon.
taxed diesel fuel outside of the bulk transfer/terminal


Effective October 1, 2006, the tax rate on LPG willsystem, report these gallons of biodiesel on line 60(c). If you
increase to $.183 per gallon.report gallons on line 60(c), do not report those gallons on


line 60(b). CAUTION
!


Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on lines Gasoline (IRS No. 62). If you are liable for the gasoline tax
(a), (b), and (c) by $.244 and make one entry in the tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons on line
column. 62(a). If you are liable for the gasoline tax on events other
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than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons on Effective October 1, 2006, the tax rate on CNG will
line 62(b). If you are liable for the gasoline tax because you increase to $.183 per energy equivalent of a gallon
have blended alcohol with taxed gasoline outside of the bulk of gasoline.CAUTION


!
transfer/terminal system, report these gallons of alcohol on
line 62(c). If you report gallons on line 62(c), do not report Retail Tax
those gallons on line 62(b).


Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis andMultiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on lines
bodies, and tractors (IRS No. 33)(a), (b), and (c) by $.184. Combine the tax for lines (a), (b),


and (c), and make one entry in the tax column. The tax is 12% (.12) of the sales price on the first retail sale
of each unit. The tax applies to:Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information • Truck chassis and bodies except truck chassis and bodiesReporting on page 9 if applicable.
suitable for use with a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight


Special motor fuel/Alternative fuel. Special motor fuel (GVW) of 33,000 pounds or less,
means any liquid fuel including liquefied petroleum gas and • Trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies except trailer
liquefied natural gas. However, gasoline, diesel fuel, and semitrailer chassis and bodies suitable for use with a
kerosene, gas oil, and fuel oil do not qualify as special motor vehicle with a GVW of 26,000 pounds or less, and
fuel. Liquefied petroleum gas includes propane, butane, • Tractors of the kind chiefly used for highway
pentane, or mixtures of those gases. transportation in combination with a trailer or semitrailer,


except tractors that have a gross vehicle weight of 19,500Effective after September 30, 2006, the tax applicable to
pounds or less and a gross combined weight of 33,000special motor fuel will be treated as a tax on alternative fuel
pounds or less. Generally, gross combined weight meansand the rate of tax applicable to alternative fuel will change.
the weight of a tractor and the weight of its trailer(s).The alternative fuels and the tax rates are listed below for


your information. They will be on the October 2006 revision The sales price of a vehicle includes the sales price of
of Form 720. certain related parts and accessories sold on or in


connection with the sale of the vehicle.
Alternative Fuel Tax Rate


Figure the tax for each vehicle sold and enter the total forper Gallon
the quarter on the line for IRS No. 33.Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $.183


P Series Fuels . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  .184 Gross vehicle weight. The gross vehicle weight means the
Compressed natural gas (CNG) (rate per energy  .183 maximum total weight of a loaded vehicle. Generally, this
equivalent of a gallon of gasoline) . . . . . . . . . . . maximum total weight is the gross vehicle weight rating
Liquefied hydrogen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  .184 provided by the manufacturer or determined by the seller of
Any liquid derived from coal (including peat)  .244 the completed article. The seller’s gross vehicle weight
through the Fischer-Tropsch process . . . . . . . . . rating must be determined for excise tax purposes on the
Liquid hydrocarbons derived from biomass . . . . .  .244 basis of the strength of the chassis frame and the axle
Liquefied natural gas (LNG) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  .243 capacity and placement. The seller may not take into


account any readily attachable components (such as tires or
rim assemblies) in determining the gross vehicle weight.Also effective after September 30, 2006, two new credits
See Regulations section 145.4051-1(e)(3) for morewill be available: the alternative fuel credit and the
information.alternative fuel mixture credit. The October 2006 revision of


Schedule C (Form 720) will be revised to include the new The following four classifications of truck body types meet
credits. the suitable for use standard and will be excluded from the


retail excise tax.Other fuels (IRS No. 79). Use the following table to
• Platform truck bodies 21 feet or less in length.determine the tax for each gallon. Fill in the number of
• Dry freight and refrigerated truck van bodies 24 feet orgallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate column on the
less in length.line for IRS No. 79. If more than one rate applies, leave the
• Dump truck bodies with load capacities of eight cubicRate column blank and attach a schedule showing the rates
yards or less.and number of gallons taxed at each rate.
• Refuse packer truck bodies with load capacities of 20
cubic yards or less.Fuel Tax Rate
For more information, see Rev. Proc. 2005-19, which is onper Gallon
page 832 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-14 at www.irs.


Liquefied natural gas (LNG)1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .119 gov/pub/irs-irbs/irb05-14.pdf.
Qualified—


Section 4051(d) tire credit. A tax credit may be takenEthanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1325 equal to the amount of tax that has been imposed on each
Methanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1235 tire that is sold on or in connection with the first retail sale of


Partially exempt— a taxable vehicle reported on IRS No. 33. Claim the section
Ethanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . .114 4051(d) tire credit on Schedule C, line 14a.
Methanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . .0925


Ship Passenger TaxB-100 (100% biodiesel) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .244
Other fuels not shown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .184 Transportation by water (IRS No. 29). A tax is imposed on
1Caution: Effective October 1, 2006, the tax rate on LNG will increase to the operator of commercial ships. The tax is $3 for each
$.243 per gallon. passenger on a commercial passenger ship that has berth


or stateroom accommodations for at least 17 passengers if
Compressed natural gas (CNG) (IRS No. 101). Tax is the trip is over 1 or more nights. A voyage extends “over 1
imposed on compressed natural gas (CNG) that is sold for or more nights” if it lasts longer than 24 hours. The tax also
use or used as fuel in a motor vehicle or motorboat. The rate applies to passengers on any commercial ship that
of tax is $.4854 per thousand cubic feet (determined at transports passengers engaged in gambling aboard the ship
standard temperature and pressure). beyond the territorial waters of the United States. Enter the
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number of passengers for the quarter on the line for IRS One-time filing. If you import a gas guzzling automobile,
No. 29. you may be eligible to make a one-time filing of Form 720


and Form 6197 if you meet all of the following conditions:
Other Excise Tax • You do not import gas guzzling automobiles in the course


of your trade or business andObligations not in registered form (IRS No. 31). For • You are not required to file Form 720 reporting exciseobligations issued during the quarter, enter the principal taxes for the calendar quarter, except for a one-time filing.amount of the obligation multiplied by the number of
To make a one-time filing:calendar years (or portion thereof) during the period


beginning on the issue date and ending on the maturity date 1. File Form 720 for the quarter in which you incur
on the line for IRS No. 31. liability for the tax. See When To File on page 1.


2. Pay the tax with Form 720. No deposits are required.
Manufacturers Taxes 3. If you are an individual and do not have an employer


identification number (EIN), enter your social security
Do not include the excise tax on coal in the sales number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number
price when determining which tax rate to use. (ITIN) on Form 720 and


Form 720-V in the space for the EIN.CAUTION
!


4. Check the one-time filing box on the line for the gas
Underground mined coal (IRS Nos. 36 and 37). The tax guzzler tax.
on underground mined coal is the lower of $1.10 per ton or
4.4% (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. Vaccine taxes (IRS No. 97). A tax is imposed on the sale
36 the number of tons of underground mined coal sold at or use of a vaccine manufactured, produced, or entered into
$25 or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 37 the the United States at $.75 per dose if it:
total sales price for all sales of underground mined coal sold • Contains diptheria toxoid, tetanus toxoid, pertussis
at a selling price of less than $25 per ton. bacteria, extracted or partial cell bacteria, specific pertussis


antigens, or polio virus;Surface mined coal (IRS Nos. 38 and 39). The tax on • Is against measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis A, hepatitissurface mined coal is the lower of $.55 per ton or 4.4%
B, chicken pox, or rotavirus gastroenteritis;(.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. 38 • Is any HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) vaccine;the number of tons of surface mined coal sold at $12.50 or • Is any conjugate vaccine against streptococcusmore per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 39 the total sales
pneumoniae; orprice for all sales of surface mined coal sold at a selling • Is any trivalent vaccine against influenza.price of less than $12.50 per ton.


If any taxable vaccine is combined with one or moreTaxable tires (IRS Nos. 108, 109, and 113). A tax is additional taxable vaccines, then the tax is imposed on eachimposed on taxable tires sold by the manufacturer, vaccine included in the combination.producer, or importer at the rate of $.0945 ($.04725 in the
Example. MMR contains three taxable vaccines:case of a biasply tire or super single tire) for each 10 pounds


measles, mumps, and rubella. The tax per dose on MMR isof the maximum rated load capacity over 3,500 pounds.
$2.25 (3 x $.75).Figure the tax for each tire sold in each category as shown


Add the tax for each taxable vaccine and enter the totalin the chart below and enter the total for the quarter on the
tax on the line for IRS No. 97.line for IRS No. 108, 109, or 113.


Foreign Insurance TaxesRate (for each 10
pounds of the Policies issued by foreign insurers (IRS No. 30). Enter


IRS No. Taxable Tire Category maximum rated load the amount of premiums paid during the quarter on policies
capacity over 3,500 issued by foreign insurers. Multiply the premiums paid bypounds) the rates listed on Form 720 and enter the total for the three


types of insurance on the line for IRS No. 30.Taxable tires other than
108 biasply or super single $.0945 Who must file. The person who pays the premium to the


tires foreign insurer (or to any nonresident person such as a
foreign broker) must pay the tax and file the return.Taxable tires, biasply or
Otherwise, any person who issued or sold the policy, or whosuper single tires (other109 $.04725 is insured under the policy, is required to pay the tax and filethan super single tires
the return.designed for steering)


Treaty-based return positions under section 6114.Taxable tires, super Foreign insurers and reinsurers who take the position that a113 single tires designed for $.0945
treaty of the United States overrules, or otherwise modifies,steering
an Internal Revenue law of the United States, must disclose
such position. This disclosure must be made once a year onA taxable tire is any tire of the type used on highway
a statement which must report the payments of premiumsvehicles if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked
that are exempt from the excise tax on policies issued byaccording to federal regulations for highway use. A biasply
foreign insurers for the previous calendar year. Thistire is a pneumatic tire on which the ply cords that extend to
statement is filed with the 1st quarter Form 720, which isthe beads are laid at alternate angles substantially less than
due before May 1 of each year.90 degrees to the centerline of the tread. A super single tire


You may be able to use Form 8833, Treaty-Based Returnis a tire greater than 13 inches in cross section width
Position Disclosure Under Section 6114 or 7701(b), as adesigned to replace 2 tires in a dual fitment, but does not
disclosure statement.include any tire designed for steering.


At the top of Form 720, write “Section 6114 Treaty.” If youGas guzzler tax (IRS No. 40). Use Form 6197, Gas
have no other transactions reportable on Form 720,Guzzler Tax, to figure the liability for this tax. Attach
complete Form 720 as follows:Form 6197 to Form 720. The tax rates for the gas guzzler


tax are shown on Form 6197. 1. If this is your final return, check the final return box.
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2. Write “None” on lines 1 and 3. Alcohol sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 51). An
3. Sign the return. excise tax is imposed if the alcohol fuel mixture credit or


alcohol credit was claimed and any person later: (a) uses a
You need an EIN to file Form 720. If you do not have an mixture or straight alcohol for a purpose other than fuel, (b)


EIN, see Employer Identification Number (EIN) on page 2. separates the alcohol from the mixture, or (c) mixes the
straight alcohol.Where to file. All filers should mail Form 720 with the


Use the following table to determine the tax for eachattached Form 8833 or disclosure statement to: Internal
gallon of alcohol. Fill in the number of gallons and theRevenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009. Also,
appropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS No.see the Caution under Private Delivery Services on page 2.
51. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate column
blank and attach a schedule showing the rates and numberPart II
of gallons taxed at each rate.


Sport fishing equipment (other than fishing rods and
THEN the tax ratefishing poles) (IRS No. 41). The tax on sport fishing


IF the alcohol is... AND... per gallon is...equipment is 10% (.10) of the sales price. The tax is paid by
the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Taxable articles at least 190 proof •  is ethanol $ .51
include reels, fly fishing lines (and other lines not over 130 •  is methanol .60


•  benefited from the .61pounds test), fishing spears, spear guns, spear tips, terminal
small ethanoltackle, fishing supplies and accessories, and any parts or
producer creditaccessories sold on or in connection with these articles. See


Publication 510 for a complete list of taxable articles. Add at least 150 proof but •  is ethanol $ .3778
the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total less than 190 proof •  is methanol .45


•  benefited from the .4778on the line for IRS No. 41.
small ethanol


Fishing rods and fishing poles (IRS No. 110). The tax on producer credit
fishing rods and fishing poles (and component parts) taxed
at a rate of 10% will have a maximum tax of $10 per article.


Biodiesel sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 117). AnThe tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer.
excise tax is imposed if the (a) biodiesel or renewable dieselAdd the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the
mixture credit or (b) biodiesel or renewable diesel credit wastotal on the line for IRS No. 110.
claimed and any person later: (a) uses a mixture or straight


Electric outboard motors (IRS No. 42). The tax on an biodiesel or renewable diesel for a purpose other than as
electric outboard motor is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The fuel, (b) separates the biodiesel or renewable diesel from
tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the mixture, or (c) mixes the straight biodiesel or renewable
the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total diesel.
on the line for IRS No. 42.


The tax is $.50 per gallon of biodiesel, $1.00 per gallon of
Fishing tackle boxes (IRS No. 114). The tax on fishing agri-biodiesel, and $1.00 per gallon of renewable diesel. Fill
tackle boxes is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The tax is paid in the number of gallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate
by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the tax on column on the line for IRS No. 117. If more than one rate
each sale during the quarter and enter the total on the line applies, leave the Rate column blank and attach a schedule
for IRS No. 114. showing the rates and number of gallons taxed at each rate.
Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points (IRS No. 44). Floor Stocks TaxThe tax on bows is 11% (.11) of the sales price. The tax is
paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. It applies to Ozone-depleting chemicals floor stocks tax (IRS No. 20).
bows having a peak draw weight of 30 pounds or more. The Use Form 6627 to figure the liability for this tax. Enter the
tax is also imposed on the sale of any part or accessory amount from Form 6627, Part IV, line 4, column (d) on the
suitable for inclusion in or attachment to a taxable bow and line for IRS No. 20. Attach Form 6627 to Form 720 that is
any quiver, broadhead, or point suitable for use with arrows due July 31 of each year. Deposit the payment by June 30
described below. Add the tax on each sale during the at an authorized financial institution. See How To Make
quarter and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 44. Deposits on page 8.
Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106). The tax on arrow shafts is


Part III$.40 per arrow shaft. The tax is paid by the manufacturer,
producer, or importer of any arrow shaft (whether sold Line 4. Report on Form 720, line 4, the total claims from
separately or incorporated as part of a finished or unfinished Schedule C, line 15. See the instructions for Schedule
product) of a type used in the manufacture of any arrow C–Claims on page 10.
which after its assembly meets either of the following


Line 6. Include on line 6 the amount from line 11 of yourconditions.
previous return that you applied to this return and the• It measures 18 inches or more in overall length.
amount from Form 720X, line 5b.• It measures less than 18 inches in overall length but is


suitable for use with a taxable bow, described earlier. Note. Include on line 6 of your next return the amount from
line 11 you want to have applied to that return.Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the


total on the line for IRS No. 106. If you owe other federal tax, interest, or penalty, the
overpayment on line 11 and line 7 will first be appliedInland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 64). If you are
to the unpaid amounts.liable for the inland waterways fuel use tax, report the CAUTION


!
number of gallons subject to tax on the line for


Line 10. If line 3 is more than line 9, enter the difference inIRS No. 64.
line 10. You do not have to pay if line 10 is under $1.00.


The inland waterways fuel use tax applies at the rate You may pay the amount shown on line 10 using EFTPS
listed on Form 720. This is in addition to all other or by check or money order. If you pay using EFTPS, do not
taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel.CAUTION


!
file Form 720-V, Payment Voucher.
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If you do not deposit as required and, instead, pay semimonthly period and the 14th day of the following month
the taxes with Form 720, you may be subject to a for the second semimonthly period. If the 14th or the 29th
penalty. day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you mustCAUTION


!
make the deposit by the immediately preceding day that is
not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.Payment of Taxes
Alternative method (IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28).Generally, semimonthly deposits of excise taxes are
Deposits of communications and air transportation taxesrequired. A semimonthly period is the first 15 days of a
may be based on taxes included in amounts billed or ticketsmonth (the first semimonthly period) or the 16th through the
sold during a semimonthly period instead of on taxeslast day of a month (the second semimonthly period).
actually collected during the period. Under the alternativeHowever, no deposit is required for the situations listed method, the tax included in amounts billed or tickets soldbelow. The taxes are payable with the return. during a semimonthly period is considered collected during• The net liability for taxes listed in Part I (Form 720) does the first 7 days of the second following semimonthly period.not exceed $2,500 for the quarter. The deposit of tax is due by the 3rd banking day after the• The gas guzzler tax is being paid on a one-time filing. See 7th day of that period.Gas guzzler tax on page 6.


Example. The tax included in amounts billed or tickets• The liability is for taxes listed in Part II (Form 720), except
sold for the period June 16-30, 2006, is considered collectedfor the floor stocks tax that generally requires a single
from July 16-22, 2006, and must be deposited bydeposit. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7.
July 26, 2006.


How To Make Deposits
To use the alternative method, you must keep a separate


To avoid a penalty, make your deposits timely and do not account of the tax included in amounts billed or tickets sold
mail your deposits directly to the IRS. Records of your during the month and report on Form 720 the tax included in
deposits will be sent to the IRS for crediting to your amounts billed or tickets sold and not the amount of tax that
accounts. is actually collected. For example, amounts billed in
Electronic deposit requirement. You must make December, January, and February are considered collected
electronic deposits of all depository taxes (such as deposits during January, February, and March and are reported on
for employment tax, excise tax, and corporate income tax) Form 720 as the tax for the 1st quarter of the calendar year.
using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS)


The separate account for each month must reflect:in 2006 if:
1. All items of tax included in amounts billed or tickets• The total deposits of such taxes in 2004 exceeded


sold during the month.$200,000 or
2. Other items of adjustment relating to tax for prior• You were required to use EFTPS in 2005.


months (within the statute of limitations on credits orIf you are required to use EFTPS and use Form 8109,
refunds).Federal Tax Deposit Coupon, instead, you may be subject


to a 10% penalty. If you are not required to use EFTPS, you
The separate account for any month cannot include anmay participate voluntarily. To get more information or to


adjustment resulting from a refusal to pay or inability toenroll in EFTPS, visit the EFTPS website at www.eftps.gov
collect unless the refusal has been reported to the IRS. Seeor call 1-800-555-4477. Also see Publication 966, The
Communications and Air Transportation Taxes—Secure Way to Pay Your Federal Taxes.
Uncollected Tax Report on page 4.


Depositing on time. For EFTPS deposits to be on time,
 The net tax liability that is considered collected duringyou must initiate the transaction at least one business day


the semimonthly period must be either:before the date the deposit is due.
• The net amount of tax reflected in the separate accountFederal tax deposit coupons. If you are not making
for the corresponding semimonthly period of the precedingdeposits by EFTPS, use Form 8109 to make the deposits at
month oran authorized financial institution. See the instructions in the • One-half of the net amount of tax reflected in the separatecoupon book for additional information. If you do not have a
account for the preceding month.coupon book, call 1-800-829-4933.
Special rule for deposits of taxes in September 2006. IfYou will automatically be enrolled in EFTPS when you are required to make deposits, see the chart below. Theyou apply for an EIN. You will receive a separate special rule does not apply to taxes not required to bemailing containing instructions for activating your


TIP
deposited (see Payment of Taxes above). See RegulationsEFTPS enrollment after you receive your EIN. You will still sections 40.6302(c)-2 and 40.6302(c)-3 for rules to figurehave the option to use FTD coupons, but see Electronic the net tax liability for the deposits due in September.deposit requirement above.


Additional deposit of taxes in September 2006When To Make Deposits
There are two methods for determining deposits: the regular For the Period
method and the alternative method. Beginning Ending Due Date


Type of Tax on onThe regular method applies to all taxes in Part I of Form
720 except for communications and air Regular method taxes
transportation taxes if deposits are based on amounts billed EFTPS1 Sept. 16 Sept. 26 Sept. 29
or tickets sold, rather than on amounts actually collected. Non-EFTPS Sept. 16 Sept. 25 Sept. 28
See Alternative method below.


Alternative method taxes (IRS If you are depositing more than one tax under a method, Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28)
combine all the taxes under the method and make one (based on amounts billed)
deposit for the semimonthly period. EFTPS1 Sept. 1 Sept. 11 Sept. 29
Regular method. The deposit of tax for a semimonthly Non-EFTPS Sept. 1 Sept. 10 Sept. 28
period is due by the 14th day following that period. 1See Electronic deposit requirement above.
Generally, this is the 29th day of a month for the first
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For the remaining days in September, be sure to
make your deposits by the regular due date. Schedule A—Excise Tax Liability


CAUTION
!


How to complete. Complete Schedule A to record net taxAmount To Deposit liabilities for Part I taxes for each semimonthly period in a
Deposits of taxes for a semimonthly period must be at least quarter even if your net liability is under $2,500.
95% of the amount of net tax liability for that period, unless The following table will help you determine which boxesthe safe harbor rule applies. See Safe Harbor Rule below. to complete on Schedule A.


The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is the total
AND enter the netliability for the period minus any claims allowed on Schedule


IF you are reporting under THEN you report on tax liability inC for the period. Net tax liability for a semimonthly period
the... line... boxes...may be figured by dividing the net tax liability for the month
Regular method 1 A–Gby 2, provided this method of computation is used for all
Alternative method 2 M–Ssemimonthly periods in the calendar quarter.


The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is not If you are reporting more than one type of tax on
reduced by any amounts from Form 720X. lines 1 and 2:


CAUTION
!


1. Add the net tax liability for each tax for each
semimonthly period andSafe Harbor Rule


2. Enter the total in the applicable box.
Current Form 720 filers who have incurred liability for Additional rules. Report communications and air
the oil spill liability tax beginning April 1, 2006, transportation taxes based on:
cannot use the safe harbor method for deposits inCAUTION


!
• Actual collections on line 1.


the second and third calendar quarters of 2006. Deposits for • Amounts billed or tickets sold on line 2. The amount of tax
the semimonthly periods in the second and third calendar to report for a semimonthly period is the net amount that is
quarters must not be less than 95% of the net tax liability for considered collected during that period.
the semimonthly period.


Example. The amounts billed for communications
The safe harbor rule applies separately to deposits under services from June 1-15, 2006, are considered collected


the regular method and the alternative method. Persons during the period July 1-7, 2006, and are reported for the
who filed Form 720 for the look-back quarter (the 2nd 3rd quarter of 2006 on Schedule A in box M, not the 2nd
calendar quarter preceding the current quarter) are quarter of 2006.
considered to meet the semimonthly deposit requirement if Reporting tax liability under the special September rule.
the deposit for each semimonthly period in the current An additional reporting is required under the special
quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net tax liability reported September rule (for the period shown in the chart above) as
for the look-back quarter. follows:


For the semimonthly period for which the additional
deposit is required (September 1-11 and 16-26 for EFTPS, Regular method taxes Enter the tax liability for the period
or September 1-10 and 16-25 for non-EFTPS), the beginning September 16 and ending
additional deposit must be at least 11/90(12.23%), September 25/26 in box G, Special rule for


September.10/90(11.12%) for non-EFTPS, of the net tax liability reported
for the look-back quarter. Also, the total deposit for that Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in amounts billed or
semimonthly period must be at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net tickets sold during the period beginning
tax liability reported for the look-back quarter. September 1 and ending September 10/11


in box S, Special rule for September boxExceptions. The safe harbor rule does not apply to:
on the 4th quarter return.• The 1st and 2nd quarters beginning on or after the


effective date of an increase in the rate of tax unless the For the remaining days in the September period, report
deposit of taxes for each semimonthly period in the calendar the liability as follows:
quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the tax liability you would
have had for the look-back quarter if the increased rate of


Regular method taxes Enter the liability for the period beginningtax had been in effect for that look-back quarter;
September 26/27 and ending September• Any quarter if liability includes any tax not in effect
30 in box F.throughout the look-back quarter; or


Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in the amounts billed• For deposits under the alternative method, any quarter if
or tickets sold for the period beginningliability includes any tax not in effect throughout the
September 11/12 and ending Septemberlook-back quarter and the month preceding the look-back
15 in box M of the 4th quarter return.quarter.
Enter the tax included in amounts billed or


Requirements to be met. For the safe harbor rule to apply, tickets sold during the period beginning
September 16 and ending September 30 inyou must:
box N of the 4th quarter return.• Make each deposit timely at an authorized financial


institution and
• Pay any underpayment for the current quarter by the due
date of the return. Schedule T—Two-Party Exchange


If you meet the requirements and use the safe harbor Information Reportingrule, check the box on line 5 of Form 720.
In a two-party exchange, the receiving person, not the


The IRS may withdraw the right to make deposits of delivering person, is liable for the tax imposed on the
tax using the safe harbor rule from any person not removal of taxable fuel from the terminal at the terminal
complying with these rules.CAUTION


!
rack. A two-party exchange means a transaction (other than
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a sale) where the delivering person and receiving person Type of Use Table
are both taxable fuel registrants and all of the following


The following table lists the nontaxable uses of fuels. Youoccur.
must enter the number from the table in the Type of use• The transaction includes a transfer from the delivering
column as required.person, who holds the inventory position for the taxable fuel


in the terminal as reflected in the records of the terminal  No. Type of Useoperator.
• The exchange transaction occurs before or at the same 1 On a farm for farming purposes
time as completion of removal across the rack by the


2 Off-highway business use (for business use otherreceiving person.
than in a highway vehicle registered or required to• The terminal operator in its records treats the receiving be registered for highway use) (other than use inperson as the person that removes the product across the mobile machinery)


terminal rack for purposes of reporting the transaction on
3 ExportForm 720-TO, Terminal Operator Report.


• The transaction is the subject of a written contract.
4 In a boat engaged in commercial fishing


Information reporting. Schedule T—Two-Party Exchange
5 In certain intercity and local busesInformation Reporting, is used to report gallons of taxable


fuel: 6 For diesel fuel or kerosene in a qualified local bus
• Received in a two-party exchange within a terminal.


7 In a bus transporting students and employees ofThese gallons must also be included on the appropriate line
schools (school buses)on page 1 of Form 720, or


• Delivered in a two-party exchange contemporaneous with 8 For diesel fuel and kerosene (other than kerosene
a removal across the rack. used in aviation) used other than as a fuel in the


propulsion engine of a train or diesel-poweredEnter all gallons of fuel received or delivered in a
highway vehicle (but not off-highway business use)two-party exchange within a terminal for the applicable fuel.


9 In foreign trade


10 Certain helicopter and fixed-wing aircraft usesSchedule C—Claims
11 Not applicableComplete all information requested for each line, including


month income tax year ends and period of claim. Enter the 12 In a highway vehicle owned by the United States
month as “MM”. Enter the period of claim as “MM/DD/ that is not used on a highway
YYYY”. Your claim will be disallowed if you do not follow the


13 Exclusive use by a nonprofit educationalrequired procedures or do not provide all the required
organizationinformation. Also, you are certifying to the applicable


statement(s) on Schedule C when you make a claim. See 14 Exclusive use by a state, political subdivision of a
Pub. 510 for more information. state, or the District of Columbia


15 In an aircraft or vehicle owned by an aircraftYou must include in gross income (income tax
museumreturn) the amount from line 4 of Form 720 if you


took a deduction on the income tax return thatCAUTION
!


16 In military aircraftincluded the amount of the taxes and that deduction
reduced the income tax liability. See Publication 510 for 17 For use in the production of special fuels
more information.


Do not use Schedule C:
Claim requirements for lines 1 through 5, line 11, and• If you are not reporting a liability on Form 720, in Part I or
lines 14b-14d.  The following requirements must be met:Part II.


• To claim amounts that you took or will take as a credit on 1. The amount of the claim must be at least $750
Form 4136, Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels, or as a (combining amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 14b, 14c, and
refund on Form 8849, Claim for Refund of Excise Taxes, 14d. This amount may be met by:
and its separate schedules (see the Caution below). a. Making a claim for fuel used during any quarter of a• To request an abatement or refund of interest under claimant’s income tax year or
section 6404(e) (due to IRS errors or delays) or an


b. Aggregating amounts from any quarters of theabatement or refund of a penalty or addition to tax under
claimant’s income tax year for which no other claim hassection 6404(f) (due to erroneous IRS written advice).
been made.Instead, use Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for


Abatement. Also use Form 843 to request refund of the 2. Claims must be filed during the first quarter following
penalty under section 6715 for misuse of dyed fuel. the last quarter of the claimant’s income tax year included in
• To make adjustments to liability reported on Forms 720 the claim. For example, a calendar year income taxpayer’s
filed for prior quarters, use Form 720X. claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if filed on Form


8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by April 30.
If you make a claim for alcohol or biodiesel or


3. Only one claim may be filed for any quarter.renewable diesel used to produce an alcohol fuel
4. The fuel must have been used for a nontaxable usemixture or biodiesel or renewable diesel mixture, aCAUTION


!
during the Period of claim.claim for refund or credit on Form 8849, Form 4136, Form


6478, or Form 8864 can only be made after the sum of the 5. The ultimate purchaser is the only person eligible to
alcohol fuel mixture credit and biodiesel or renewable diesel make the claim.
mixture credit is first applied to reduce your taxable fuel
liability reported on Form 720 for any particular quarter. See


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see AnnualPub. 510, Notice 2005-4, and Notice 2005-62 for more
Claims on page 13.information.
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Exported taxable fuel. The claim rates for exported Information for Claims on Lines 6 – 10
taxable fuel are listed on lines 1b, 2c, 3e, and 4d, and in the


Registration number. To make an ultimate vendor claiminstructions for lines 14b and 14c. Taxpayers making a claim
on lines 6-10, you are required to be registered. Enter yourfor exported taxable fuel must include with their records
registration number, including the prefix, on the applicableproof of exportation. Proof of exportation includes:
line for your claim. If you are not a registered, you cannot• A copy of the export bill of lading issued by the delivering
make a claim at this time. Use Form 637, Application forcarrier,
Registration (For Certain Excise Tax Activities), to apply for• A certificate by the agent or representative of the export
one.carrier showing actual exportation of the fuel,


• A certificate of lading signed by a customs officer of the Required certificates or waivers. The required certificates
foreign country to which the fuel is exported, or or waivers for lines 6-10 are listed in the line instructions and
• A statement of the foreign consignee showing receipt of are available in Pub. 510.
the fuel.


Line 6a. Sales By Registered Ultimate
Line 1. Nontaxable Use of Gasoline Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel
Allowable uses. The gasoline must have been used during Claimant. For line 6a, the registered ultimate vendor of the
the period of claim for type of use 2, 4, 5, 7, or 12. For diesel fuel is the only person eligible to make this claim and
exported gasoline, see Exported taxable fuel above. Type of has obtained the required certificate from the buyer and has
use 2 does not include any personal use or use in a no reason to believe any information in the certificate is
motorboat. false. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. Only one claim


may be filed with respect to any gallon of diesel fuel.Line 2. Nontaxable Use of Aviation Gasoline
Allowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during the


Allowable uses. For line 2b, the aviation gasoline must Period of claim for the exclusive use by a state or local
have been used during the period of claim for type of use 9, government (including essential government use by an
10, or 16. For exported aviation gasoline, see Exported Indian tribal government).
taxable fuel above.


Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
met:Line 3. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Diesel


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a periodFuel
that is at least 1 week.


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. ToUltimate purchasers use line 3d to make claims for
meet this minimum requirement, amounts from line 6, 7, 8,diesel fuel used on a farm for farming purposes.
and 14e may be combined.CAUTION


!
3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter


Allowable uses. For line 3a, the diesel fuel must have following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
been used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6, 7, year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
8, or 12. For exported undyed diesel fuel, see Exported income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
taxable fuel above. Type of use 2 does not include any filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by
personal use or use in a motorboat. Type of use 8 includes April 30.
use as heating oil and use in a motorboat.


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see AnnualLine 4. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Kerosene Claims on page 13.
(Other Than Kerosene Used in Aviation) Information to be submitted. For claims on line 6a,


attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each
Ultimate purchasers use line 4c to make claims for governmental unit to whom the diesel fuel was sold and the
kerosene used on a farm for farming purposes. number of gallons sold to each.


CAUTION
!


Line 6b. Sales by Registered UltimateAllowable uses. For line 4a, the kerosene must have been
Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel for Use inused during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6, 7, 8, or


12. For exported undyed kerosene, see Exported taxable Certain Intercity and Local Buses
fuel above. Type of use 2 does not include any personal use


Claimant. For line 6b, the registered ultimate vendor of theor use in a motorboat. Type of use 8 includes use as heating
diesel fuel is eligible to make a claim only if the buyeroil and use in a motorboat.
waives his or her right to make the claim by providing the


Exception. Claims for kerosene used in aviation on a registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See
farm for farming purposes must be claimed by the ultimate Model Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed
vendor. with respect to any gallon of diesel fuel.


Claim requirements. The following requirements must beLine 5. Kerosene Used in Commercial
met:Aviation (Other Than Foreign Trade)


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a period
Claimant. The ultimate purchaser of the kerosene used in that is at least 1 week.
commercial aviation (other than foreign trade) is eligible to 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
make this claim. meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7, 8,
Allowable uses. For lines 5a and 5b, claimant certifies that and 14e may be combined.
the right to make the claim has not been waived. If the 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
claimant buys kerosene partly for use in commercial aviation following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
and partly for use in noncommercial aviation, see the rules year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
in Notice 2005-80, section 3(e)(3). Only one claim may be income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene used in filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by
commercial aviation. April 30.


-11-







Page 12 of 16 Instructions for Form 720 7:08 - 18-AUG-2006


The type and rule above prints on all proofs including departmental reproduction proofs. MUST be removed before printing.


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
Claims on page 13. Claims on page 13.


Line 8a and 8b. Sales By RegisteredLines 7a and 7b. Sales By Registered
Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene For Use inUltimate Vendors of Undyed Kerosene
Commercial Aviation (Other Than Foreign(Other Than Kerosene Sold for Use in
Trade)Aviation)
Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the keroseneClaimant. For line 7a, the registered ultimate vendor of the
sold for use in commercial aviation is eligible to make thiskerosene is the only person eligible to make this claim and
claim only if the buyer waives his or her right by providinghas obtained the required certificate from the buyer and has
the registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver.no reason to believe any information in the certificate is
See Model Waiver L in Pub. 510. For lines 8a and 8b, onlyfalse. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. For line 7b,
one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon ofclaimant has a statement, if required, that contains: the date
kerosene sold for use in commercial aviation.of sale, name and address of the buyer, and the number of


gallons of kerosene sold to the buyer. For lines 7a and 7b, Allowable sales. The kerosene sold for use in commercial
only one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of aviation must have been sold during the Period of claim for
kerosene. use in commercial aviation (other than foreign trade).


Claim requirements. The following requirements must beAllowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during the
met:Period of claim:


• For line 7a, use by a state or local government (including 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use in
essential government use by an Indian tribal government), commercial aviation during a period that is at least 1 week.
or 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To
• For line 7b, from a blocked pump. meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be


combined.Claim requirements. The following requirements must be 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quartermet: following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a period year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year


that is at least 1 week. income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by


meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be April 30.
combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax Claims on page 13.
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year


Line 8c, 8d, and 8e. Sales By Registeredincome taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene Sold For Use
April 30. in Noncommercial Aviation


Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the keroseneIf requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
sold for use in noncommercial aviation is the only personClaims on page 13.
eligible to make this claim and has obtained the required


Information to be submitted. For claims on line 7a, certificate from the ultimate purchaser. For type of use 1, 9,
attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each 10, 13, 15, or 16, see Model Certificate Q in Pub. 510. For
governmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and the type of use 14, see Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. For
number of gallons sold to each. lines 8c, 8d, and 8e, only one claim may be filed with


respect to any gallon of kerosene sold for use in
Line 7c. Sales by Registered Ultimate noncommercial aviation.
Vendors of Undyed Kerosene for Use in Allowable sales. For line 8c, the kerosene must have been


sold for a nonexempt use in noncommercial aviation. ForCertain Intercity and Local Buses
lines 8d and 8e, the kerosene sold for use in noncommercial


Claimant. For line 7c, the registered ultimate vendor of the aviation must have been sold during the period of claim for
kerosene is eligible to make a claim only if the buyer waives type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, or 16.
his or her right to make the claim by providing the registered


Claim requirements. The following requirements must beultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See Model
met:Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed with


1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use inrespect to any gallon of kerosene.
noncommercial aviation during a period that is at least 1


Claim requirements. The following requirements must be week.
met: 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To


1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a period meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be
that is at least 1 week. combined.


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 7 and 8 may be following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
combined. year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year April 30.
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
April 30. Claims on page 13.
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Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 8d Form 6478. See Notice 2005-4 and Notice 2005-62 for more
and 8e, attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of information.
each governmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and


Line 13. Biodiesel or Renewable Dieselthe number of gallons sold to each.
Mixture Credit


Lines 9a, 9b, 10a, and 10b. Sales by
Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used theRegistered Ultimate Vendors of Gasoline mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim.


and Aviation Gasoline Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
met:Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the gasoline or


aviation gasoline is eligible to make a claim on lines 9a, 9b, 1. The claim must be for a biodiesel or renewable diesel
10a, and 10b if the buyer waives his or her right to make the mixture sold or used during a period that is at least 1 week.
claim by providing the registered ultimate vendor with an 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
unexpired certificate. See Model Certificate M in Pub. 510. meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may be
Only one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of combined.
gasoline or aviation gasoline. 3. The biodiesel used to produce the biodiesel mixture


meets ASTM D6751 and is registered with the EPA as a fuelAllowable sales. The gasoline or aviation gasoline must
and fuel additive under section 211 of the Clean Air Act.have been sold during the period of claim for:


4. The Certificate for Biodiesel and, if applicable,• Use by a nonprofit educational organization or
Statement of Biodiesel Reseller, must be attached to the• Use by a state or local government (including essential
first claim filed supported by the certificate or statement. Seegovernment use by an Indian tribal government).
Model Certificate O and Model Statement S in Pub. 510. IfClaim requirements. The following requirements must be
the certificate and statement are not attached to Form 720met:
because they are attached to a previously-filed claim on


1. The claim must be for gasoline or aviation gasoline Schedule 3 (Form 8849) for the biodiesel, attach a separate
sold or used during a period that is at least 1 week. sheet with the following information.


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
a. Certificate identification number.meet this minimum, amounts from lines 9a, 9b, 10a, and
b. Total gallons of biodiesel on certificate.10b may be combined.
c. Total gallons claimed on Schedule 3 (Form 8849).3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
d. Total gallons claimed on Schedule C (Form 720),following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax


line 13.year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
income taxpayer’s claim for January and February is due If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual
June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be Claims below.
filed by April 30.


Registration number. If you are a registered blender or a
taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number,If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
including the prefix, on line 13.Claims below.
How to claim the credit. Any biodiesel or renewable dieselInformation to be submitted. For claims on lines 9a,
mixture credit must first be taken on Schedule C to reduce9b, 10a, and 10b, attach a separate sheet with the name
your taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excessand TIN of each nonprofit educational organization or
credit may be taken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849,governmental unit to whom the gasoline or aviation gasoline
Form 4136, or Form 8864. See Notice 2005-4 and item 3was sold and the number of gallons sold to each.
above for more information.


Line 11. Nontaxable Use of Liquefied
Annual ClaimsPetroleum Gas (LPG)
If a claim on lines 1-13 or 14b-14e was not made for any


Allowable uses. For line 11(c), the taxed LPG must have gallons, an annual claim may be made. Generally, an
been used during the period of claim for type of use: annual claim is made on Form 4136 for the income tax year
1, 2, or 4. during which the fuel was used by the ultimate purchaser,


sold by the registered ultimate vendor, used to produce anLine 12. Alcohol Fuel Mixture Credit alcohol fuel mixture and biodiesel mixture, or used in mobile
Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used the machinery. See Form 4136 for more information.
mixture is the only person eligible to make this claim.


Line 14. Other ClaimsClaim requirements. The following requirements must be
For claims under section 6416(b)(2) relating to certain usesmet:
and resales of certain articles subject to manufacturers or1. The claim must be for an alcohol fuel mixture sold or retailers excise taxes, claimant certifies that it sold the articleused during a period that is at least 1 week. at a tax-excluded price, repaid the amount of tax to the2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To ultimate vendor, or has obtained the written consent of themeet this minimum, amounts from lines 12 and 13 may be ultimate vendor to make the claim; and has the requiredcombined. supporting information.


If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual Lines 14b and 14c. Exported Dyed Diesel Fuel
Claims below. and Exported Dyed Kerosene
Registration number. If you are a registered blender or a For exported dyed diesel fuel and exported dyed kerosene,
taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number, see Exported taxable fuel on page 11. The claim rate for
including the prefix, on line 12. each fuel is $.001.
How to claim the credit. Any alcohol fuel mixture credit


Line 14d. Diesel-Water Fuel Emulsionmust first be taken on Schedule C to reduce your taxable
fuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excess credit may be The claim rate for the nontaxable use of a diesel-water fuel
taken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849, Form 4136, or emulsion taxed at $.198 (CRN 309) is $.197. The fuel must
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have been used during the period of claim for type of use 1, 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200 ($100
2, 3, 6, 7, 8, or 12. For type of use 3 (exported), the claim for kerosene or kerosene for use in aviation). To meet this
rate is $.198 (CRN 306) and is reported on line 14d. minimum requirement, amounts from lines 6, 7, 8, and 14e


may be combined.The claim rate for undyed diesel fuel taxed at $.244 (CRN
3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter310) and used to produce a diesel-water fuel emulsion is


following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax$.046 per gallon of diesel fuel so used (blender claims). The
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar yearclaimant must attach a statement certifying that: (a) the
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 ifclaimant produced a diesel-water fuel emulsion containing at
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed byleast 14% water, (b) the emulsion additive is registered by a
April 30.United States manufacturer under section 211 of the Clean


4. The claimant must enter its registration number on lineAir Act with the EPA, (c) the claimant used undyed diesel
14e and the applicable CRN. If the claim is for more thanfuel taxed at $.244 to produce the diesel-water emulsion,
one fuel, attach a separate sheet listing the fuels and theirand (d) the claimant sold or used the diesel-water fuel
CRNs.emulsion in the blender’s trade or business. The blender


claimant must be registered by the IRS and must enter their
Line 14f. Other Claimsregistration number on line 14d and enter the applicable


CRN.
Do not use line 14f to make communication taxClaim requirements. See Claim requirements for lines 1
claims for nontaxable service. See Communicationsthrough 5, line 11, lines 14b-14d on page 10.
Tax on page 3.CAUTION


!
Line 14e. Registered Credit Card Issuers


Use line 14f for claims relating to taxes listed in the table
Allowable sales. The gasoline (CRN 362), aviation below. See Pub. 510 for information on allowable claims
gasoline (CRN 324), diesel fuel (CRN 360), kerosene (CRN relating to these taxes. If you need additional space, attach
346), or kerosene for use in aviation (CRN 369) must have other sheet(s). You must include the following information
been purchased with a credit card issued to the ultimate for each claim.
purchaser during the Period of claim: • A detailed description of the claim.
• For gasoline or aviation gasoline, for the exclusive use by • Any additional information required by the regulations.
a state or local government (including essential government • The amount of the claim.
use by an Indian tribal government) or for the exclusive use • How you figured the claim amount.
of a nonprofit educational organization. • Any other information to support the claim.
• For diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation, Claim requirement. Generally, the claim must be filedfor the exclusive use by a state or local government within 3 years from the time the return was filed or 2 years(including essential government use by an Indian tribal from the time the tax was paid, whichever is later.government).


Tax CRNClaimant. The registered credit card issuer is the only
person eligible to make this claim if the credit card issuer: Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs) 398


1. Is registered by the IRS,
Oil spill liability 3492. Has not collected the amount of tax from the ultimate


purchaser or has obtained the written consent of the Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and bodies, and 383
tractorsultimate purchaser to make the claim, and


3. Certifies that it has repaid or agreed to repay the Passenger vehicles (luxury tax) 392
amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, has obtained the


Taxable tires other than biasply or super single tires 396written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim, or
has otherwise made arrangements which directly or Taxable tires, biasply or super single tires (other than 304
indirectly provide the ultimate vendor with reimbursement of super single tires designed for steering)
the tax.


Taxable tires, super single tires designed for steering 3054. Has in its possession an unexpired certificate from the
ultimate purchaser and has no reason to believe any of the Gas guzzler automobiles 340
information in the certificate is false. See Model Certificate R


Vaccines 397in Pub. 510.
Sport fishing equipment 341


If any of these conditions is not met, the credit card issuer
Fishing rods and fishing poles 308must collect the tax from the ultimate purchaser and only the


ultimate purchaser can make the claim. Fishing tackle boxes 387


Claim requirements. The following requirements must be Electric outboard motors 342
met:


Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points 3441. The claim must be for gasoline, aviation gasoline,
Arrow shafts 389diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation sold


during a period that is at least 1 week.
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Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. WeUnresolved Tax Issues
ask for the information on these forms in order to carry outIf you have attempted to deal with an IRS problem the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. We need it


unsuccessfully, you should contact the Taxpayer Advocate. to figure and collect the right amount of tax. Miscellaneous
The Taxpayer Advocate independently represents your excise taxes are imposed under Subtitle D of the Internal
interests and concerns within the IRS by protecting your Revenue Code. These forms are used to determine the
rights and resolving problems that have not been fixed amount of tax that you owe. Section 6011 requires you to
through normal channels. provide the requested information. Section 6109 requires


you to provide your TIN. Routine uses of this information
While Taxpayer Advocates cannot change the tax law or include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and


make a technical tax decision, they can clear up problems criminal litigation, and cities, states, and the District of
that resulted from previous contacts and ensure that your Columbia for use in administering their tax laws. We may
case is given a complete and impartial review. also disclose this information to other countries under a tax


treaty, to federal and state agencies to enforce federal
nontax criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement andYour assigned personal advocate will listen to your point
intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. If you fail toof view and will work with you to address your concerns.
provide this information in a timely manner, you may beYou can expect the advocate to provide you with:
liable for penalties and interest.• A ‘‘fresh look’’ at your new or on-going problem.


You are not required to provide the information requested• Timely acknowledgment. on a form that is subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act
• The name and phone number of the individual assigned unless the form displays a valid OMB control number. Books
to your case. or records relating to a form or its instructions must be


retained as long as their contents may become material in• Updates on progress.
the administration of any Internal Revenue law. Generally,• Timeframes for action.
tax returns and return information are confidential, as


• Speedy resolution. required by section 6103.
• Courteous service. The time needed to complete and file these forms and


related schedules will vary depending on individual
circumstances. The estimated average times are:When contacting the Taxpayer Advocate, you should


provide the following information:
Learning about Preparing and• Your name, address, and taxpayer identification number Form Recordkeeping the law or sending the


(TIN). the form form to the IRS


• The name and telephone number of an authorized contact 720 21 hr., 17 min. 1 hr., 42 min. 5 hr., 41 min.
person and the hours he or she can be reached. 720-V 1 hr., 11 min. — — 1 min.


Sch. A 3 hr., 49 min. — — 3 min.• The type of tax return and year(s) or period(s) (for
Sch. T 2 hr., 23 min. — — 2 min.quarterly returns) involved.
Sch. C 26 hr., 33 min. 42 min. 1hr., 9 min.


• A detailed description of the problem. 720X 6 hr., 13 min. 18 min. 24 min.
6197 4 hr., 18 min. 12 min. 16 min.• Previous attempts to solve the problem and the office you
6627 9 hr., 3 min. 6 min. 14 min.contacted.


If you have comments concerning the accuracy of these• A description of the hardship you are facing (if applicable).
time estimates or suggestions for making these forms and
related schedules simpler, we would be happy to hear fromYou may contact a Taxpayer Advocate by calling a
you. You can write to the Internal Revenue Service, Taxtoll-free number, 1-877-777-4778. Persons who have
Products Coordinating Committee, SE:W:CAR:MP:T:T:SP,access to TTY/TDD equipment may call 1-800-829-4059
1111 Constitution Ave. NW, IR-6406, Washington, DCand ask for Taxpayer Advocate assistance. If you prefer,
20224. Do not send the tax forms to this office. Instead, seeyou may call, write, or fax the Taxpayer Advocate office in
Where To File on page 1.your area. See Pub. 1546, The Taxpayer Advocate Service


of the IRS, for a list of addresses and numbers.
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Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue ServiceInstructions for Form 720


(Rev. October 2006)
Quarterly Federal Excise Tax Return


Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless you rely on a tax professional or handle your own taxes, the
otherwise noted. IRS offers you a convenient program to make it easier.


Spend less time on taxes and more time running yourGeneral Instructions business. Use the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System
(EFTPS) to your benefit. For information on EFTPS, visit
www.eftps.gov or call the EFTPS Customer Service atWhat’s New
1-800-555-4477. Also see How To Make Deposits on
page 7.Changes Effective for the Fourth Calendar


Quarter of 2006 Purpose of Form
Alternative fuel. Seven new IRS Nos. have been added to Use Form 720 and attachments to report liability by IRS No.
report tax on alternative fuel and compressed natural gas. and pay the excise taxes listed on the form.
The new IRS Nos. are shown on Form 720 as IRS Nos. 112,
118, and 120 through 124. When To File
Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG). LPG (formerly IRS No. You must file a return for each quarter of the calendar year
61) is now considered an alternative fuel. The tax on LPG is as follows:
reported on the line for IRS No. 112 at $.183 per gallon.


Quarter covered Due byCompressed natural gas (CNG).  The tax on CNG
(formerly IRS No. 101) is reported on the line for IRS No. Jan., Feb., Mar. April 30
120 at $.183 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE). The


Apr., May, June July 31GGE of CNG, for excise tax purposes, is 126.67 cubic feet.
July, Aug., Sept. October 31Alternative fuel credit and alternative fuel mixture credit.


A registered alternative fueler who sells or uses alternative Oct., Nov., Dec. January 31
fuel or produces an alternative fuel mixture that is sold or
used in their trade or business may be eligible to make a


If any due date for filing a return falls on a Saturday,claim on line 14. For details, see Schedule C, Claims, Line
Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file the return on the next14. Alternative Fuel Credit and Alternative Fuel Mixture
business day.Credit on page 13.


Send your return to the IRS using the U.S. Postal Service
Changes Effective for the First Calendar or a designated private delivery service to meet the “timely


mailing as timely filing/paying” rule. See Private DeliveryQuarter of 2007
Services on page 2.


Diesel fuel used in trains (IRS No. 71). The tax rate on
Floor stocks tax. Report the floor stocks tax ondyed diesel fuel used in trains is $.001. The claim rate for
ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 20, on theundyed diesel fuel used in trains is $.243. Both rates are
return due by July 31 of each year. The tax payment is dueeffective after December 31, 2006.
by June 30. See Floor Stocks Tax on page 7.


Inland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 64). The inland
waterways fuel use tax is $.201. Where To File
Qualified blood collector organizations. After December Send Form 720 to the Internal Revenue Service Center,
31, 2006, qualified blood collector organizations are exempt Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009.
from many federal excise taxes including the tax on fuels,
tires, communication services, and for heavy vehicles How To File(except the that exemption from the highway use tax applies


If you are not reporting a tax that you normally report, enterafter June 30, 2007).  Each blood collector organization
a zero on the appropriate line in Part I or II (Form 720). Also,must be registered by the IRS as a condition for applying for
if you have no tax to report, write “None” on line 3, Part III;the exemption (or credit or payments).  To apply for
sign and date the return.registration, see Form 637, Application for Registration (For


Certain Excise Tax Activities). Type of use 11, Exclusive use If you have adjustments to liabilities reported for prior
by a qualified blood collector organization (beginning after quarters, see Form 720X, Amended Quarterly Federal
December 31, 2006), has been added to the Type of Use Excise Tax Return. Do not enter adjustments on
Table on page 10. Form 720.


If you attach additional sheets, write your name and EINReminders
on each sheet.


Foreign insurance. The filing address may have changed
for some filers. See Foreign Insurance Taxes on page 6. Final Return


File a final return if you have been filing Form 720 and you:
Electronic Payment 1. Go out of business, or
Now, more than ever before, businesses can enjoy the 2. Will not owe excise taxes that are reportable on Form
benefits of paying their federal taxes electronically. Whether 720 in future quarters.


Cat. No. 64240C
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If you are only filing to report zero tax and you will • Notice 2006-92. You can find Notice 2006-92 on page
not owe excise tax in future quarters, check the final 774 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2006-43 at www.irs.gov/
return box above Part I of Form 720. The IRS will pub/irs-irbs/irb06-43.pdf.


TIP


then stop sending Package 720 to you each quarter. You may also call the business and specialty tax line at
1-800-829-4933 with your excise tax questions. The hours


Recordkeeping of operation are Monday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
local time.Keep copies of your tax return, records, and accounts of all


transactions to show that the correct tax has been paid.
Keep records to support all claims and all exemptions at Private Delivery Services
least 4 years from the latest of the date: You can use certain private delivery services designated by• The tax became due, the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filing/paying”• You paid the tax, or rule for tax returns and payments. These private delivery• You filed a claim. services include only the following:


• DHL Express (DHL): DHL Same Day Service, DHL Next
Penalties and Interest Day 10:30 am, DHL Next Day 12:00 pm, DHL Next Day 3:00


pm, and DHL 2nd Day Service.Avoid penalties and interest by filing returns and depositing
• Federal Express (FedEx): FedEx Priority Overnight,and paying taxes when due. The law provides penalties for
FedEx Standard Overnight, FedEx 2Day, FedExfiling a return late; depositing taxes late; paying taxes late;
International Priority, and FedEx International First.willfully failing to collect and pay tax or file a return;
• United Parcel Service (UPS): UPS Next Day Air, UPSnegligence; and fraud. These penalties are in addition to the
Next Day Air Saver, UPS 2nd Day Air, UPS 2nd Day Airinterest charged on late payments. The penalty for filing a
A.M., UPS Worldwide Express Plus, and UPS Worldwidereturn late will not be imposed if you can show that the
Express.failure to file a timely return is due to reasonable cause.


Those filing after the due date must attach an explanation to The private delivery service can tell you how to get
the return to show reasonable cause. written proof of the mailing date.
Trust fund recovery penalty. If communications and air Private delivery services cannot deliver items to P.O.
transportation taxes are collected but not paid to the United boxes. You must use the U.S. Postal Service to mail
States Treasury or are willfully not collected, the trust fund any item to an IRS P.O. box address.CAUTION


!
recovery penalty may apply. The penalty is the full amount
of the unpaid tax.


Photographs of Missing ChildrenThe trust fund recovery penalty may be imposed on all
The Internal Revenue Service is a proud partner with thepersons who are determined by the IRS to be responsible
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.for collecting, accounting for, and paying over these taxes,
Photographs of missing children selected by the Center mayand who acted willfully in not doing so.
appear in instructions on pages that would otherwise be


A responsible person can be an officer or employee of a blank. You can help bring these children home by looking at
corporation, a partner or employee of a partnership, an the photographs and calling 1-800-THE-LOST
employee of a sole proprietorship, an accountant, or a (1-800-843-5678) if you recognize a child.
volunteer director/trustee. A responsible person may also
include one who signs checks for the business or otherwise
has authority to cause the spending of business funds.


Specific InstructionsWillfully means voluntarily, consciously, and intentionally.
A responsible person acts willfully if he or she knows the
required actions are not taking place. Name and Address


The first time you file Form 720, type or print your name,
Additional Information address (including the suite, room, or other unit number),


and the quarter ending date (month and year). After that, theYou may find the following products helpful when preparing
IRS will mail you a Package 720 with a preaddressed FormForm 720 and any attachments:
720 every quarter. If your address changes, make the• Publication 510, Excise Taxes for 2006, contains
corrections on Form 720 and check the address change boxdefinitions and examples that will help you prepare
above Part I of Form 720.Form 720. Pub. 510 also contains information on fuel tax


credits and refunds previously in Pub. 378. P.O. box. If the post office does not deliver mail to the
• Publication 509, Tax Calendars for 2006, has deposit and street address and you have a P.O. box, show the box
payment due dates for all federal excise taxes. number instead of the street address.
• Notice 2005-4. You can find Notice 2005-4 on page 289 Foreign address. Enter the city, province or state, andof Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-2 at www.irs.gov/pub/ country. Follow the country’s practice for entering the postalirs-irbs/irb05-02.pdf. code. Do not abbreviate the country name.• Notice 2005-24. You can find Notice 2005-24 on page
757 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-12 at www.irs.gov/ Employer Identification Number (EIN)pub/irs-irbs/irb05-12.pdf.
• Notice 2005-62. You can find Notice 2005-62 on page If the EIN on the preaddressed Form 720 is wrong or you
443 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-35 at www.irs.gov/ did not receive a preaddressed Form 720, enter the correct
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-35.pdf. number. If you are a one-time filer, you may not need an
• Notice 2005-80. You can find Notice 2005-80 on page EIN. See Gas guzzler tax on page 6. If you do not have an
953 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-46 at www.irs.gov/ EIN, you may apply for one online. Go to the IRS website at
pub/irs-irbs/irb05-46.pdf. www.irs.gov/businesses and click on the “Employer ID
• Notice 2006-50. You can find Notice 2006-50 on page Numbers” link. You may also apply for an EIN by calling
1141 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2006-25 at www.irs.gov/ 1-800-829-4933 (hours of operation are Monday - Friday,
pub/irs-irbs/irb06-25.pdf. 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time), or you can fax or mail
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Form SS-4, Application for Employer Identification Number, allowance of the credit or refund. These requirements also
to the IRS. apply to nontaxable service refunds.


Collectors using the regular method for deposits.
Signature Collectors using the regular method for deposits must use


Form 720X to request a credit or refund.Form 720 must be signed by a person authorized by the
entity to sign this return. Collectors using the alternative method for deposits.


Collectors using the alternative method for deposits must
adjust their separate accounts for the credit or refund. ForThird Party Designee
more information, see Alternative method on page 8.If you want to allow an employee of your business, a return


preparer, or other third party to discuss your Form 720 with Form 720 taxpayers. Credits or refunds for nontaxable
the IRS, check the “Yes” box in the Third Party Designee service that was billed after February 28, 2003, and before
section of Form 720. Also, enter the designee’s name, August 1, 2006, can be requested by taxpayers only on their
phone number, and any five digits that person chooses as 2006 federal income tax returns. Instructions to request the
his or her personal identification number (PIN). credit or refund will be available with the 2006 income tax


returns. Do not use Form 8849, Form 720, or Form 843 toBy checking the “Yes” box, you are authorizing the IRS to
make claims for nontaxable service; the IRS will not processspeak with the designee to answer any questions relating to
these claims.the processing of or the information reported on


Form 720. You are also authorizing the designee to: Air Transportation Taxes• Exchange information concerning Form 720 with the IRS,
and Who Must File• Respond to certain IRS notices that you have shared with


The person receiving the payment for air transportationyour designee relating to Form 720. The IRS will not send
services must collect and pay over the tax and file thenotices to your designee.
return. Enter the amount of tax collected or considered


You are not authorizing the designee to receive any collected for the quarter.
refund check, bind you to anything (including additional tax
liability), or otherwise represent you before the IRS. If you Transportation of Persons by Air (IRS No. 26)
want to expand the designee’s authority, see Publication The tax on transportation of persons by air is made up of the
947, Practice Before the IRS and Power of Attorney. percentage tax and the domestic segment tax. Add the


percentage tax and the domestic segment tax to get theThe authorization will automatically expire one year from
total tax on transportation of persons by air.the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your


Form 720. If you or your designee want to revoke this Percentage tax. The percentage tax is 7.5% for amounts
authorization, send a written statement of revocation to the paid for taxable transportation of persons by air.
Internal Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999.


Domestic segment tax. For amounts paid for eachSee Publication 947 for more information.
domestic segment of taxable transportation of persons by
air, the domestic segment tax is $3.30 per segment forPart I transportation that begins in 2006.


Rural airports. If a segment is to or from a rural airport,Environmental Taxes
the domestic segment tax does not apply.


Use Form 6627, Environmental Taxes, to figure the
environmental taxes on: Transportation of Property by Air (IRS No. 28)
• Oil spill liability, IRS Nos. 18 and 21; The tax is 6.25% of amounts paid for transportation of
• Ozone-depleting chemicals (ODCs), IRS No. 98; property by air.
• Imported products that used ODCs as materials in the


Use of International Air Travel Facilitiesmanufacture or production of the product, IRS No. 19; and
• The floor stocks tax on ODCs, IRS No. 20. (IRS No. 27)


For amounts paid during 2006, the tax on international Attach Form 6627 to Form 720. The tax rates for these
flights is:taxes are shown on Form 6627.
• $14.50 per person for flights that begin or end in the


Communications Taxes United States or
• $7.30 per person for domestic segments that begin or end


Who Must File in Alaska or Hawaii (applies only to departures).
The person receiving the payment for communications Communication and Air Transportationservices must collect and pay over the tax and file the


Taxes—Uncollected Tax Reportreturn. Enter the amount of tax collected or considered
collected for the quarter. A separate report is required to be filed by collecting agents


of communications services (local and teletypewriterCommunications Services (IRS No. 22)
service) and air transportation taxes if the person from


The tax is 3% of amounts paid for local telephone service whom the facilities or services tax (the tax) is required to be
and teletypewriter exchange service. collected (the taxpayer) refuses to pay the tax, or it is


impossible for the collecting agent to collect the tax. TheCredits or Refunds
report must contain the following information: the name and


If tax is collected and paid over for nontaxable services from address of the taxpayer, the type of facility provided or
the communications tax, the collector or taxpayer may service rendered, the amount paid for the facility or service
request a credit or refund as described below and in Notice (the amount on which the tax is based), and the date paid.
2006-50.


Collectors of the communications tax are notCollectors. The collector may request a credit or refund
required to report any refusal to pay the tax ononly if it has repaid the tax to the person from whom the tax
nontaxable service that is billed after May 25, 2006.was collected, or obtained the consent of that person to the CAUTION


!
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Regular method taxpayers. For regular method taxpayers, • IRS No. 105, Dyed diesel fuel, LUST tax.
the report must be filed by the due date of the Form 720 on • IRS No. 107, Dyed kerosene, LUST tax.
which the tax would have been reported. • IRS No. 119, LUST tax, other exempt removals. Report


gasoline blendstocks, kerosene used for a feedstockAlternative method taxpayers. For alternative method
purpose, and diesel fuel or kerosene sold or used in Alaska.taxpayers, the report must be filed by the due date of the • IRS No. 111, Kerosene for use in aviation, LUST tax onForm 720 that includes an adjustment to the separate
nontaxable uses, including foreign trade. Report gallons ofaccount for the uncollected tax. See Alternative method on
kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the fuel tankpage 8.
of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use in foreign trade.Where to file. Do not file the uncollected tax report with


Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax for eachForm 720. Instead, mail the report to:
fuel by $.001 and make the entry in the tax column.


Internal Revenue Service
Kerosene (IRS No. 35). If you are liable for the keroseneCollected Excise Tax Coordinator
tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons onS:C:CP:RC:EX
line 35(a). If you are liable for the kerosene tax on events1111 Constitution Avenue NW, IR-2016
other than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallonsWashington, DC 20224
of kerosene on line 35(b).


Fuel Taxes
Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on lines


First taxpayer’s report. If you are reporting gallons of (a) and (b) by $.244 and make one entry in the tax column.
taxable fuel that may again be subject to tax, you may need


Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Informationto file a first taxpayer’s report. The report must contain all
Reporting on page 9 if applicable.the information as shown in the Model Certificate B in the


Appendix of Publication 510. Kerosene for use in aviation (IRS Nos. 69, 77, and 111).
Generally, kerosene is taxed at $.244 per gallon.The person who paid the first tax must: • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the• Give a copy of the first taxpayer’s report to the buyer;
fuel tank of an aircraft for use in noncommercial aviation, the• File the first taxpayer’s report with Form 720 for the
tax rate is $.219 per gallon. Report these gallons on the linequarter for which the report relates; and
for IRS No. 69.• Write “EXCISE—FIRST TAXPAYER’S REPORT” across • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into thethe top of a separate copy of the report, and by the due date
fuel tank of an aircraft for use in commercial aviation (otherof Form 720, send the copy to: Internal Revenue Service
than foreign trade), the tax rate is generally $.044 per gallon.Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0555.
Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 77.


Diesel fuel (IRS No. 60). If you are liable for the diesel fuel • For kerosene removed directly from a terminal into the
tax on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons on fuel tank of an aircraft for nontaxable uses or for use in
line 60(a). If you are liable for the diesel fuel tax on events foreign trade, the tax rate is generally $.001 per gallon.
other than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons Report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 111.
on line 60(b). If you are liable for the diesel fuel tax because


Other fuels (IRS No. 79). You are liable for the tax on theyou have produced diesel fuel by blending biodiesel with
fuels listed below when they are delivered into the fueltaxed diesel fuel outside of the bulk transfer/terminal
supply tank of a motor vehicle or motorboat (or trains forsystem, report these gallons of biodiesel on line 60(c). If you
B-100). Use the following table to determine the tax for eachreport gallons on line 60(c), do not report those gallons on
gallon. Fill in the number of gallons and the appropriate rateline 60(b).
in the Rate column on the line for IRS No. 79. If more thanMultiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on lines
one rate applies, leave the Rate column blank and attach a(a), (b), and (c) by $.244 and make one entry in the tax
schedule showing the rates and number of gallons taxed atcolumn.
each rate.


Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information
Reporting on page 9 if applicable. Fuel Tax Rate


per GallonDiesel-water fuel emulsion (IRS No. 104). If you are liable
for the reduced rate (see below) of tax on a diesel-water fuel Qualified—
emulsion removal at the terminal rack or other taxable Ethanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1325
event, report these gallons on the line for IRS No. 104. Methanol produced from coal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1235


Requirements. All of the following requirements must be Partially exempt—
met to be eligible for the reduced rate: (a) the diesel-water Ethanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .114
fuel emulsion must contain at least 14% water, (b) the Methanol produced from natural gas . . . . . . . . . . . . .0925
emulsion additive must be registered by a United States B-100 (100% biodiesel) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .244
manufacturer under section 211 of the Clean Air Act with the Other fuels not shown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .184
EPA, and (c) the taxpayer must be registered by the IRS. If
these requirements are not met, you must report the sale,


Gasoline (IRS No. 62). If you are liable for the gasoline taxremoval, or use of a diesel-water fuel emulsion as diesel
on removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons on linefuel.
62(a). If you are liable for the gasoline tax on events otherDyed diesel fuel used in trains (IRS No. 71). If you are
than removal at the terminal rack, report these gallons onliable for the tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains, report the
line 62(b). If you are liable for the gasoline tax because younumber of gallons subject to tax on the line for IRS No. 71.
have blended alcohol with taxed gasoline outside of the bulk


The tax on dyed diesel fuel used in trains applies at transfer/terminal system, report these gallons of alcohol on
the rate listed on Form 720. This is in addition to all line 62(c). If you report gallons on line 62(c), do not report
other taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel. those gallons on line 62(b).CAUTION


!
IRS Nos. 105, 107, 119, and 111. Tax is imposed at $.001 Multiply the total number of gallons subject to tax on lines
per gallon on removals, entries, and sales of gasoline, diesel (a), (b), and (c) by $.184. Combine the tax for lines (a), (b),
fuel, and kerosene described as exempt transactions. and (c), and make one entry in the tax column.
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Also see Schedule T, Two-Party Exchange Information • Platform truck bodies 21 feet or less in length.
Reporting on page 9 if applicable. • Dry freight and refrigerated truck van bodies 24 feet or


less in length.Alternative fuel (IRS Nos. 112, 118, and 120–124).
• Dump truck bodies with load capacities of eight cubicAlternative fuel is any liquid other than gas oil, fuel oil, or
yards or less.any product taxable under Internal Revenue Code section
• Refuse packer truck bodies with load capacities of 204081. You are liable for tax on alternative fuel delivered into


the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle or motorboat, or on cubic yards or less.
certain bulk sales. Report the tax on the line for the IRS No. For more information, see Rev. Proc. 2005-19, which is on
listed below. page 832 of Internal Revenue Bulletin 2005-14 at www.irs.


gov/pub/irs-irbs/irb05-14.pdf.
Alternative Fuel IRS Number


Section 4051(d) tire credit. A tax credit may be takenLiquefied petroleum gas (LPG) 112
equal to the amount of tax that has been imposed on each


“P Series” fuels 118 tire that is sold on or in connection with the first retail sale of
a taxable vehicle reported on IRS No. 33. Claim the sectionCompressed natural gas (CNG) 120
4051(d) tire credit on Schedule C, line 15a.


Liquefied hydrogen 121


Ship Passenger TaxAny liquid fuel derived from coal 122
(including peat) through the Transportation by water (IRS No. 29). A tax is imposed on
Fischer-Tropsch process the operator of commercial ships. The tax is $3 for each


passenger on a commercial passenger ship that has berthLiquid hydrocarbons derived from 123
biomass or stateroom accommodations for at least 17 passengers if


the trip is over 1 or more nights. A voyage extends “over 1Liquefied natural gas (LNG) 124
or more nights” if it lasts longer than 24 hours. The tax also
applies to passengers on any commercial ship that
transports passengers engaged in gambling aboard the shipLPG includes propane, butane, pentane, or mixtures of


those gases. CNG is taxed at $.183 per gasoline gallon beyond the territorial waters of the United States. Enter the
equivalent (126.67 cubic feet). number of passengers for the quarter on the line for IRS


No. 29.
Retail Tax


Other Excise TaxTruck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and
Obligations not in registered form (IRS No. 31). Forbodies, and tractors (IRS No. 33)
obligations issued during the quarter, enter the principalThe tax is 12% (.12) of the sales price on the first retail sale amount of the obligation multiplied by the number ofof each unit. The tax applies to: calendar years (or portion thereof) during the period• Truck chassis and bodies except truck chassis and bodies
beginning on the issue date and ending on the maturity datesuitable for use with a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight
on the line for IRS No. 31.(GVW) of 33,000 pounds or less,


• Trailer and semitrailer chassis and bodies except trailer
Manufacturers Taxesand semitrailer chassis and bodies suitable for use with a


vehicle with a GVW of 26,000 pounds or less, and
Do not include the excise tax on coal in the sales• Tractors of the kind chiefly used for highway
price when determining which tax rate to use.transportation in combination with a trailer or semitrailer,


except tractors that have a gross vehicle weight of 19,500 CAUTION
!


pounds or less and a gross combined weight of 33,000
pounds or less. Generally, gross combined weight means Underground mined coal (IRS Nos. 36 and 37). The tax
the weight of a tractor and the weight of its trailer(s). on underground mined coal is the lower of $1.10 per ton or


4.4% (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No.The sales price of a vehicle includes the sales price of 36 the number of tons of underground mined coal sold atcertain related parts and accessories sold on or in
$25 or more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 37 theconnection with the sale of the vehicle.
total sales price for all sales of underground mined coal sold


Figure the tax for each vehicle sold and enter the total for at a selling price of less than $25 per ton.
the quarter on the line for IRS No. 33.


Surface mined coal (IRS Nos. 38 and 39). The tax on
Gross vehicle weight. The gross vehicle weight means the surface mined coal is the lower of $.55 per ton or 4.4%
maximum total weight of a loaded vehicle. Generally, this (.044) of the sales price. Enter on the line for IRS No. 38
maximum total weight is the gross vehicle weight rating the number of tons of surface mined coal sold at $12.50 or
provided by the manufacturer or determined by the seller of more per ton. Enter on the line for IRS No. 39 the total salesthe completed article. The seller’s gross vehicle weight price for all sales of surface mined coal sold at a sellingrating must be determined for excise tax purposes on the price of less than $12.50 per ton.basis of the strength of the chassis frame and the axle
capacity and placement. The seller may not take into Taxable tires (IRS Nos. 108, 109, and 113). A tax is
account any readily attachable components (such as tires or imposed on taxable tires sold by the manufacturer,
rim assemblies) in determining the gross vehicle weight. producer, or importer at the rate of $.0945 ($.04725 in the
See Regulations section 145.4051-1(e)(3) for more case of a biasply tire or super single tire) for each 10 pounds
information. of the maximum rated load capacity over 3,500 pounds.


Figure the tax for each tire sold in each category as shownThe following four classifications of truck body types meet
in the chart below and enter the total for the quarter on thethe suitable for use standard and will be excluded from the


retail excise tax. line for IRS No. 108, 109, or 113.
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Rate (for each 10 Add the tax for each taxable vaccine and enter the total
pounds of the tax on the line for IRS No. 97.Taxable TireIRS No. maximum rated loadCategory capacity over 3,500 Foreign Insurance Taxes


pounds) Policies issued by foreign insurers (IRS No. 30). Enter
Taxable tires other the amount of premiums paid during the quarter on policies


108 than biasply or super $.0945 issued by foreign insurers. Multiply the premiums paid by
single tires the rates listed on Form 720 and enter the total for the three


types of insurance on the line for IRS No. 30.Taxable tires, biasply
Who must file. The person who pays the premium to theor super single tires


foreign insurer (or to any nonresident person such as a109 (other than super $.04725
foreign broker) must pay the tax and file the return.single tires designed


for steering) Otherwise, any person who issued or sold the policy, or who
is insured under the policy, is required to pay the tax and file


Taxable tires, super the return.113 single tires designed $.0945
Treaty-based return positions under section 6114.for steering


Foreign insurers and reinsurers who take the position that a
treaty of the United States overrules, or otherwise modifies,


A taxable tire is any tire of the type used on highway an Internal Revenue law of the United States must disclose
vehicles if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked such position. This disclosure must be made once a year on
according to federal regulations for highway use. A biasply a statement which must report the payments of premiums
tire is a pneumatic tire on which the ply cords that extend to that are exempt from the excise tax on policies issued by
the beads are laid at alternate angles substantially less than foreign insurers for the previous calendar year. This
90 degrees to the centerline of the tread. A super single tire statement is filed with the 1st quarter Form 720, which is
is a tire greater than 13 inches in cross section width due before May 1 of each year.
designed to replace 2 tires in a dual fitment, but does not


You may be able to use Form 8833, Treaty-Based Returninclude any tire designed for steering.
Position Disclosure Under Section 6114 or 7701(b), as a


Gas guzzler tax (IRS No. 40). Use Form 6197, Gas disclosure statement.
Guzzler Tax, to figure the liability for this tax. Attach At the top of Form 720, write “Section 6114 Treaty.” If you
Form 6197 to Form 720. The tax rates for the gas guzzler have no other transactions reportable on Form 720,
tax are shown on Form 6197. complete Form 720 as follows.


One-time filing. If you import a gas guzzling automobile, 1. If this is your final return, check the final return box.
you may be eligible to make a one-time filing of Form 720 2. Write “None” on lines 1 and 3.
and Form 6197 if you meet all of the following conditions. 3. Sign the return.
• You do not import gas guzzling automobiles in the course
of your trade or business. You need an EIN to file Form 720. If you do not have an
• You are not required to file Form 720 reporting excise EIN, see Employer Identification Number (EIN) on page 2.
taxes for the calendar quarter, except for a one-time filing. Where to file. All filers should mail Form 720 with the


attached Form 8833 or disclosure statement to: InternalFollow the steps below to make a one-time filing.
Revenue Service Center, Cincinnati, OH 45999-0009. Also,1. File Form 720 for the quarter in which you incur see the Caution under Private Delivery Services on page 2.liability for the tax. See When To File on page 1.


2. Pay the tax with Form 720. No deposits are required. Part II3. If you are an individual and do not have an employer
identification number (EIN), enter your social security Sport fishing equipment (other than fishing rods and
number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number fishing poles) (IRS No. 41). The tax on sport fishing
(ITIN) on Form 720 and Form 720-V in the space for the equipment is 10% (.10) of the sales price. The tax is paid by
EIN. the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Taxable articles


4. Check the one-time filing box on the line for the gas include reels, fly fishing lines (and other lines not over 130
guzzler tax. pounds test), fishing spears, spear guns, spear tips, terminal


tackle, fishing supplies and accessories, and any parts or
Vaccine taxes (IRS No. 97). A tax is imposed on the sale accessories sold on or in connection with these articles. See
or use of a vaccine manufactured, produced, or entered into Publication 510 for a complete list of taxable articles. Add
the United States at $.75 per dose if it: the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total
• Contains diptheria toxoid, tetanus toxoid, pertussis on the line for IRS No. 41.
bacteria, extracted or partial cell bacteria, specific pertussis Fishing rods and fishing poles (IRS No. 110). The tax onantigens, or polio virus; fishing rods and fishing poles (and component parts) taxed• Is against measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis A, hepatitis at a rate of 10% will have a maximum tax of $10 per article.B, chicken pox, or rotavirus gastroenteritis; The tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer.• Is any HIB (haemophilus influenza type B) vaccine; Add the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the• Is any conjugate vaccine against streptococcus total on the line for IRS No. 110.pneumoniae; or


Electric outboard motors (IRS No. 42). The tax on an• Is any trivalent vaccine against influenza.
electric outboard motor is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The


If any taxable vaccine is combined with one or more tax is paid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add
additional taxable vaccines, then the tax is imposed on each the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the total
vaccine included in the combination. on the line for IRS No. 42.


Example. MMR contains three taxable vaccines: Fishing tackle boxes (IRS No. 114). The tax on fishing
measles, mumps, and rubella. The tax per dose on MMR is tackle boxes is 3% (.03) of the sales price. The tax is paid
$2.25 (3 x $.75). by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. Add the tax on
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each sale during the quarter and enter the total on the line line for IRS No. 117. If more than one rate applies, leave the
for IRS No. 114. Rate column blank and attach a schedule showing the rates


and number of gallons taxed at each rate.Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points (IRS No. 44).
The tax on bows is 11% (.11) of the sales price. The tax is Floor Stocks Taxpaid by the manufacturer, producer, or importer. It applies to
bows having a peak draw weight of 30 pounds or more. The Ozone-depleting chemicals floor stocks tax (IRS No. 20).
tax is also imposed on the sale of any part or accessory Use Form 6627 to figure the liability for this tax. Enter the
suitable for inclusion in or attachment to a taxable bow and amount from Form 6627, Part IV, line 4, column (d) on the
any quiver, broadhead, or point suitable for use with arrows line for IRS No. 20. Attach Form 6627 to Form 720 that is
described below. Add the tax on each sale during the due July 31 of each year. Deposit the payment by June 30
quarter and enter the total on the line for IRS No. 44. at an authorized financial institution. See How To Make


Deposits below.Arrow shafts (IRS No. 106). The tax on arrow shafts is
$.40 per arrow shaft. The tax is paid by the manufacturer,


Part IIIproducer, or importer of any arrow shaft (whether sold
separately or incorporated as part of a finished or unfinished Line 4. Report on Form 720, line 4, the total claims from
product) of a type used in the manufacture of any arrow Schedule C, line 15. See the instructions for Schedule
which after its assembly meets either of the following C–Claims on page 9.
conditions.


Line 6. Include on line 6 the amount from line 11 of your• It measures 18 inches or more in overall length.
previous return that you applied to this return and the• It measures less than 18 inches in overall length but is
amount from Form 720X, line 5b.suitable for use with a taxable bow, described earlier.
Note. Include on line 6 of your next return the amount fromAdd the tax on each sale during the quarter and enter the line 11 you want to have applied to that return.total on the line for IRS No. 106.


If you owe other federal tax, interest, or penalty, theInland waterways fuel use tax (IRS No. 64). If you are
overpayment on line 11 and line 7 will first be appliedliable for the inland waterways fuel use tax, report the
to the unpaid amounts.number of gallons subject to tax on the line for CAUTION


!
IRS No. 64. Line 10. If line 3 is more than line 9, enter the difference in


line 10. You do not have to pay if line 10 is under $1.00.The inland waterways fuel use tax applies at the rate
listed on Form 720. This is in addition to all other You may pay the amount shown on line 10 using EFTPS
taxes imposed on the sale or use of the fuel. or by check or money order. If you pay using EFTPS, do notCAUTION


!
file Form 720-V, Payment Voucher.Alcohol sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 51). An


excise tax is imposed if the alcohol fuel mixture credit or If you do not deposit as required and, instead, pay
alcohol credit was claimed and any person later: (a) uses a the taxes with Form 720, you may be subject to a
mixture or straight alcohol for a purpose other than fuel, (b) penalty.CAUTION


!
separates the alcohol from the mixture, or (c) mixes the
straight alcohol. Payment of Taxes


Use the following table to determine the tax for each Generally, semimonthly deposits of excise taxes are
gallon of alcohol. Fill in the number of gallons and the required. A semimonthly period is the first 15 days of a
appropriate rate in the Rate column on the line for IRS No. month (the first semimonthly period) or the 16th through the
51. If more than one rate applies, leave the Rate column last day of a month (the second semimonthly period).
blank and attach a schedule showing the rates and number


However, no deposit is required for the situations listedof gallons taxed at each rate.
below. The taxes are payable with the return.
• The net liability for taxes listed in Part I (Form 720) doesTHEN the tax rate


IF the alcohol is... AND... per gallon is... not exceed $2,500 for the quarter.
• The gas guzzler tax is being paid on a one-time filing. Seeat least 190 proof •  is ethanol $ .51
Gas guzzler tax on page 6.•  is methanol .60 • The liability is for taxes listed in Part II (Form 720), except•  benefited from the .61
for the floor stocks tax that generally requires a singlesmall ethanol


producer credit deposit. See Floor Stocks Tax above.
at least 150 proof but •  is ethanol $ .3778 How To Make Deposits
less than 190 proof •  is methanol .45


To avoid a penalty, make your deposits timely and do not•  benefited from the .4778
mail your deposits directly to the IRS. Records of yoursmall ethanol


producer credit deposits will be sent to the IRS for crediting to your
accounts.


Biodiesel sold as but not used as fuel (IRS No. 117). An Electronic deposit requirement. You must make
excise tax is imposed if the (a) biodiesel or renewable diesel electronic deposits of all depository taxes (such as deposits
mixture credit or (b) biodiesel or renewable diesel credit was for employment tax, excise tax, and corporate income tax)
claimed and any person later: (a) uses a mixture or straight using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS)
biodiesel or renewable diesel for a purpose other than as in 2006 if:
fuel, (b) separates the biodiesel or renewable diesel from • The total deposits of such taxes in 2004 exceeded
the mixture, or (c) mixes the straight biodiesel or renewable $200,000 or
diesel. • You were required to use EFTPS in 2005.


The tax is $.50 per gallon of biodiesel, $1.00 per gallon of If you are required to use EFTPS and use Form 8109,
agri-biodiesel, and $1.00 per gallon of renewable diesel. An Federal Tax Deposit Coupon, instead, you may be subject
additional $.10 is added if the agri-biodiesel benefited from to a 10% penalty. If you are not required to use EFTPS, you
the small agri-biodiesel producer credit. Fill in the number of may participate voluntarily. To get more information or to
gallons and the appropriate rate in the Rate column on the enroll in EFTPS, visit the EFTPS website at www.eftps.gov
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or call 1-800-555-4477. Also see Publication 966, The Communications and Air Transportation Taxes—
Secure Way to Pay Your Federal Taxes. Uncollected Tax Report on page 3.


Depositing on time. For EFTPS deposits to be on time,  The net tax liability that is considered collected during
you must initiate the transaction at least 1 business day the semimonthly period must be either:
before the date the deposit is due. • The net amount of tax reflected in the separate account


for the corresponding semimonthly period of the precedingFederal tax deposit coupons. If you are not making
month, ordeposits by EFTPS, use Form 8109 to make the deposits at
• One-half of the net amount of tax reflected in the separatean authorized financial institution. See the instructions in the
account for the preceding month.coupon book for additional information. If you do not have a


coupon book, call 1-800-829-4933. Special rule for deposits of taxes in September 2006. If
you are required to make deposits, see the chart below. TheYou will automatically be enrolled in EFTPS when
special rule does not apply to taxes not required to beyou apply for an EIN. You will receive a separate
deposited (see Payment of Taxes on page 7). Seemailing containing instructions for activating your


TIP


Regulations sections 40.6302(c)-2 and 40.6302(c)-3 forEFTPS enrollment after you receive your EIN. You will still
rules to figure the net tax liability for the deposits due inhave the option to use FTD coupons, but see Electronic
September.deposit requirement above.


Additional deposit of taxes in September 2006When To Make Deposits
There are two methods for determining deposits: the regular For the Period
method and the alternative method. Beginning Ending Due Date


Type of Tax on onThe regular method applies to all taxes in Part I of Form
720 except for communications and air transportation taxes Regular method taxes
if deposits are based on amounts billed or tickets sold, EFTPS1 Sept. 16 Sept. 26 Sept. 29
rather than on amounts actually collected. See Alternative Non-EFTPS Sept. 16 Sept. 25 Sept. 28
method below.


Alternative method taxes (IRS If you are depositing more than one tax under a method, Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28)
combine all the taxes under the method and make one (based on amounts billed)
deposit for the semimonthly period. EFTPS1 Sept. 1 Sept. 11 Sept. 29
Regular method. The deposit of tax for a semimonthly Non-EFTPS Sept. 1 Sept. 10 Sept. 28
period is due by the 14th day following that period. 1See Electronic deposit requirement above.
Generally, this is the 29th day of a month for the first
semimonthly period and the 14th day of the following month
for the second semimonthly period. If the 14th or the 29th For the remaining days in September, be sure to
day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you must make your deposits by the regular due date.
make the deposit by the immediately preceding day that is CAUTION


!
not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
Alternative method (IRS Nos. 22, 26, 27, and 28). Amount To Deposit
Deposits of communications and air transportation taxes Deposits of taxes for a semimonthly period must be at least
may be based on taxes included in amounts billed or tickets 95% of the amount of net tax liability for that period, unless
sold during a semimonthly period instead of on taxes the safe harbor rule applies. See Safe Harbor Rule below.
actually collected during the period. Under the alternative


The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is the totalmethod, the tax included in amounts billed or tickets sold
liability for the period minus any claims allowed on Scheduleduring a semimonthly period is considered collected during
C for the period. Net tax liability for a semimonthly periodthe first 7 days of the second following semimonthly period.
may be figured by dividing the net tax liability for the monthThe deposit of tax is due by the 3rd banking day after the
by 2, provided this method of computation is used for all7th day of that period.
semimonthly periods in the calendar quarter.


Example. The tax included in amounts billed or tickets
sold for the period June 16-30, 2006, is considered collected The net tax liability for a semimonthly period is not
from July 16-22, 2006, and must be deposited by reduced by any amounts from Form 720X.
July 26, 2006. CAUTION


!
To use the alternative method, you must keep separate


Safe Harbor Ruleaccounts of the tax included in amounts billed or tickets sold
The safe harbor rule applies separately to deposits underduring the month and report on Form 720 the tax included in
the regular method and the alternative method. Personsamounts billed or tickets sold and not the amount of tax that
who filed Form 720 for the look-back quarter (the 2ndis actually collected. For example, amounts billed in
calendar quarter preceding the current quarter) areDecember, January, and February are considered collected
considered to meet the semimonthly deposit requirement ifduring January, February, and March and are reported on
the deposit for each semimonthly period in the currentForm 720 as the tax for the 1st quarter of the calendar year.
quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net tax liability reportedThe separate account for each month must reflect:
for the look-back quarter.


1. All items of tax included in amounts billed or tickets
For the semimonthly period for which the additionalsold during the month, and


deposit is required (September 1-11 and 16-26 for EFTPS,2. Other items of adjustment relating to tax for prior
or September 1-10 and 16-25 for non-EFTPS), themonths (within the statute of limitations on credits or
additional deposit must be at least 11/90 (12.23%), 10/90refunds).
(11.12%) for non-EFTPS, of the net tax liability reported for


The separate account for any month cannot include an the look-back quarter. Also, the total deposit for that
adjustment resulting from a refusal to pay or inability to semimonthly period must be at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the net
collect unless the refusal has been reported to the IRS. See tax liability reported for the look-back quarter.
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Exceptions. The safe harbor rule does not apply to: Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in amounts billed or• The 1st and 2nd quarters beginning on or after the tickets sold during the period beginning
effective date of an increase in the rate of tax unless the September 1 and ending September 10/11
deposit of taxes for each semimonthly period in the calendar in box S, Special rule for September box


on the 4th quarter return.quarter is at least 1/6 (16.67%) of the tax liability you would
have had for the look-back quarter if the increased rate of


For the remaining days in the September period, reporttax had been in effect for that look-back quarter;
the liability as follows:• Any quarter if liability includes any tax not in effect


throughout the look-back quarter; or
• For deposits under the alternative method, any quarter if Regular method taxes Enter the liability for the period beginning
liability includes any tax not in effect throughout the September 26/27 and ending September
look-back quarter and the month preceding the look-back 30 in box F.
quarter.


Alternative method taxes Enter the tax included in the amounts billed
or tickets sold for the period beginningRequirements to be met. For the safe harbor rule to apply,
September 11/12 and ending Septemberyou must:
15 in box M of the 4th quarter return.• Make each deposit timely at an authorized financial
Enter the tax included in amounts billed orinstitution, and tickets sold during the period beginning• Pay any underpayment for the current quarter by the due September 16 and ending September 30 in


date of the return. box N of the 4th quarter return.


If you meet the requirements and use the safe harbor
rule, check the box on line 5 of Form 720.


Schedule T—Two-Party ExchangeThe IRS may withdraw the right to make deposits of
tax using the safe harbor rule from any person not Information Reporting
complying with these rules.CAUTION


!
In a two-party exchange, the receiving person, not the
delivering person, is liable for the tax imposed on the
removal of taxable fuel from the terminal at the terminal
rack. A two-party exchange means a transaction (other thanSchedule A—Excise Tax Liability
a sale) where the delivering person and receiving person
are both taxable fuel registrants and all of the following


How to complete. Complete Schedule A to record net tax occur.
liabilities for Part I taxes for each semimonthly period in a • The transaction includes a transfer from the delivering
quarter even if your net liability is under $2,500. person, who holds the inventory position for the taxable fuel


in the terminal as reflected in the records of the terminalThe following table will help you determine which boxes
operator.to complete on Schedule A.
• The exchange transaction occurs before or at the same


IF you are reporting under THEN you report on AND enter the net time as completion of removal across the rack by the
the... line... tax liability in receiving person.


boxes... • The terminal operator in its records treats the receiving
person as the person that removes the product across theRegular method 1 A–G


Alternative method 2 M–S terminal rack for purposes of reporting the transaction on
Form 720-TO, Terminal Operator Report.
• The transaction is the subject of a written contract.


If you are reporting more than one type of tax on
Information reporting. Schedule T—Two-Party Exchangelines 1 and 2:
Information Reporting, is used to report gallons of taxable1. Add the net tax liability for each tax for each fuel:semimonthly period, and • Received in a two-party exchange within a terminal.2. Enter the total in the applicable box. These gallons must also be included on the appropriate line
on page 1 of Form 720, orAdditional rules. Report communications and air • Delivered in a two-party exchange contemporaneous with


transportation taxes based on: a removal across the rack.• Actual collections on line 1, or
Enter all gallons of fuel received or delivered in a• Amounts billed or tickets sold on line 2. The amount of tax


two-party exchange within a terminal for the applicable fuel.to report for a semimonthly period is the net amount that is
considered collected during that period.


Example. The amounts billed for communications Schedule C—Claimsservices from June 1-15, 2006, are considered collected
Complete all information requested for each line, includingduring the period July 1-7, 2006, and are reported for the
month income tax year ends and period of claim. Enter the3rd quarter of 2006 on Schedule A in box M, not the 2nd
month as “MM.” Enter the period of claim as “MM/DD/quarter of 2006.
YYYY.” Your claim will be disallowed if you do not follow the


Reporting tax liability under the special September rule. required procedures or do not provide all the required
An additional reporting is required under the special information. Also, you are certifying to the applicable
September rule (for the period shown in the chart above) as statement(s) on Schedule C when you make a claim. See
follows: Pub. 510 for more information.


You must include in gross income (income taxRegular method taxes Enter the tax liability for the period
return) the amount from line 4 of Form 720 if youbeginning September 16 and ending
took a deduction on the income tax return thatSeptember 25/26 in box G, Special rule for CAUTION


!
September. included the amount of the taxes and that deduction
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 No. Type of Usereduced the income tax liability. See Publication 510 for
more information.


15 In an aircraft or vehicle owned by an aircraft
museumDo not use Schedule C:


• If you are not reporting a liability on Form 720, in Part I or 16 In military aircraft
Part II.


17 For use in the production of alternative fuel• To claim amounts that you took or will take as a credit on
Form 4136, Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels, or as a


Claim requirements for lines 1 through 6 and linesrefund on Form 8849, Claim for Refund of Excise Taxes,
15b–15d.  The following requirements must be met.and its separate schedules (see the Caution below).


• To request an abatement or refund of interest under 1. The amount of the claim must be at least $750
section 6404(e) (due to IRS errors or delays) or an (combining amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 15b, 15c, and
abatement or refund of a penalty or addition to tax under 15d). This amount may be met by:
section 6404(f) (due to erroneous IRS written advice). a. Making a claim for fuel used during any quarter of a
Instead, use Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for claimant’s income tax year, or
Abatement. Also use Form 843 to request refund of the b. Aggregating amounts from any quarters of the
penalty under section 6715 for misuse of dyed fuel. claimant’s income tax year for which no other claim has
• To make adjustments to liability reported on Forms 720 been made.
filed for prior quarters, use Form 720X. 2. Claims must be filed during the first quarter following


the last quarter of the claimant’s income tax year included in
If you make a claim for alcohol, biodiesel or the claim. For example, a calendar year income taxpayer’s
renewable diesel, or alternative fuel used to produce claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if filed on Form
a mixture, claim for refund or credit on Form 8849, 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by April 30.CAUTION


!
Form 4136, Form 6478, or Form 8864 can only be made 3. Only one claim may be filed for any quarter.
after the sum of the alcohol fuel mixture credit, biodiesel or 4. The fuel must have been used for a nontaxable use
renewable diesel mixture credit, and alternative fuel mixture during the period of claim.
credit is first applied to reduce your taxable fuel liability 5. The ultimate purchaser is the only person eligible to
reported on Form 720 for any particular quarter. See Pub. make the claim.
510, Notice 2005-4, and Notice 2005-62 for more


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualinformation.
Claims on page 14.


Exported taxable fuel. The claim rates for exportedType of Use Table
taxable fuel are listed on lines 1b, 2c, 3e, and 4d, and in theThe following table lists the nontaxable uses of fuels. You
instructions for lines 15b and 15c. Taxpayers making a claimmust enter the number from the table in the Type of use
for exported taxable fuel must include with their recordscolumn as required.
proof of exportation. Proof of exportation includes:
• A copy of the export bill of lading issued by the delivering No. Type of Use
carrier,


1 On a farm for farming purposes • A certificate by the agent or representative of the export
carrier showing actual exportation of the fuel,2 Off-highway business use (for business use other • A certificate of lading signed by a customs officer of thethan in a highway vehicle registered or required to
foreign country to which the fuel is exported, orbe registered for highway use) (other than use in • A statement of the foreign consignee showing receipt ofmobile machinery)
the fuel.


3 Export
Line 1. Nontaxable Use of Gasoline


4 In a boat engaged in commercial fishing
Allowable uses. The gasoline must have been used during


5 In certain intercity and local buses the period of claim for type of use 2, 4, 5, 7, or 12. For
exported gasoline, see Exported taxable fuel above. Type of6 In a qualified local bus
use 2 does not include any personal use or use in a


7 In a bus transporting students and employees of motorboat.
schools (school buses)


Line 2. Nontaxable Use of Aviation Gasoline
8 For diesel fuel and kerosene (other than kerosene


used in aviation) used other than as a fuel in the Allowable uses. For line 2b, the aviation gasoline must
propulsion engine of a train or diesel-powered have been used during the period of claim for type of use 9,
highway vehicle (but not off-highway business use) 10, or 16. For exported aviation gasoline, see Exported


taxable fuel above.9 In foreign trade


Line 3. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Diesel10 Certain helicopter and fixed-wing aircraft uses
Fuel11 Exclusive use by a qualified blood collector


organization (beginning after December 31, 2006)
Ultimate purchasers use line 3d to make claims for


12 In a highway vehicle owned by the United States diesel fuel used on a farm for farming purposes.
that is not used on a highway CAUTION


!
13 Exclusive use by a nonprofit educational Allowable uses. For line 3a, the diesel fuel must have


organization been used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6, 7,
8, or 12. For exported undyed diesel fuel, see Exported


14 Exclusive use by a state, political subdivision of a taxable fuel above. Type of use 2 does not include anystate, or the District of Columbia
personal use or use in a motorboat. Type of use 8 includes
use as heating oil and use in a motorboat.
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Line 4. Nontaxable Use of Undyed Kerosene Line 7a. Sales By Registered Ultimate
(Other Than Kerosene Used in Aviation) Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel


Claimant. For line 7a, the registered ultimate vendor of theUltimate purchasers use line 4c to make claims for diesel fuel is the only person eligible to make this claim andkerosene used on a farm for farming purposes. has obtained the required certificate from the buyer and has
CAUTION


!
no reason to believe any information in the certificate is
false. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. Only one claimAllowable uses. For line 4a, the kerosene must have been
may be filed with respect to any gallon of diesel fuel.used during the period of claim for type of use 2, 6, 7, 8, or


12. For exported undyed kerosene, see Exported taxable
Allowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during thefuel on page 10. Type of use 2 does not include any
period of claim for the exclusive use by a state or localpersonal use or use in a motorboat. Type of use 8 includes
government (including essential government use by anuse as heating oil and use in a motorboat.
Indian tribal government).


Exception. Claims for kerosene used in aviation on a
farm for farming purposes must be claimed by the ultimate Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
vendor. met.


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a periodLine 5. Kerosene Used in Commercial that is at least 1 week.
Aviation (Other Than Foreign Trade) 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To


meet this minimum requirement, amounts from line 7, 8, andClaimant. The ultimate purchaser of the kerosene used in
9 may be combined.commercial aviation (other than foreign trade) is eligible to


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quartermake this claim.
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax


Allowable uses. For lines 5a and 5b, claimant certifies that year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
the right to make the claim has not been waived. If the income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
claimant buys kerosene partly for use in commercial aviation filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by
and partly for use in noncommercial aviation, see the rules April 30.
in Notice 2005-80, section 3(e)(3). Only one claim may be
filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene used in


If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualcommercial aviation.
Claims on page 14.


Line 6. Nontaxable Use of Alternative Fuel
Registration number. Enter your UV registration number in


Claimant. The ultimate purchaser of the taxed alternative the space provided.
fuel is the only person eligible to make this claim.


Information to be submitted. For claims on line 7a, attach
Allowable uses. The alternative fuel must have been used a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each
during the period of claim for type of use 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, governmental unit to whom the diesel fuel was sold and the
13, 14, or 15. number of gallons sold to each.


Type of use 5. Write “Bus” in the space to the left of the
Type of use column. Enter the correct claim rate in the Rate Line 7b. Sales by Registered Ultimate
column. The claim rates for type of use 5 are listed below. Vendors of Undyed Diesel Fuel for Use in


Line number Claim rate Certain Intercity and Local Buses
Claimant. For line 7b, the registered ultimate vendor of the6a $.109
diesel fuel is eligible to make a claim only if the buyer


6b  .110 waives his or her right to make the claim by providing the
registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See6c  .109*
Model Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed


6d  .110 with respect to any gallon of diesel fuel.
6e  .17 Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
6f  .17 met.


1. The claim must be for diesel fuel sold during a period6g  .169
that is at least 1 week.


* This is the claim rate per gasoline gallon equivalent (126.67 cubic feet of 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. ToCNG).
meet this minimum requirement, amounts from lines 7, 8,
and 9 may be combined.


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarterInformation for Claims on Lines 7–11
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax


Registration number. To make an ultimate vendor claim year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
on lines 7–11, you are required to be registered. Enter your income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
registration number, including the prefix, on the applicable filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by
line for your claim. If you are not registered, you cannot April 30.
make a claim at this time. Use Form 637, Application for
Registration (For Certain Excise Tax Activities), to apply for If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annualone. Claims on page 14.
Required certificates or waivers. The required certificates


Registration number. Enter your UB registration number inor waivers for lines 7–11 are listed in the line instructions
the space provided.and are available in Pub. 510.
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If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see AnnualLines 8a and 8b. Sales By Registered
Claims on page 14.Ultimate Vendors of Undyed Kerosene
Registration number. Enter your UB registration number in(Other Than Kerosene Sold for Use in the space provided.


Aviation)
Line 9a and 9b. Sales By RegisteredClaimant. For line 8a, the registered ultimate vendor of the
Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene For Use inkerosene is the only person eligible to make this claim and


has obtained the required certificate from the buyer and has Commercial Aviation (Other Than Foreign
no reason to believe any information in the certificate is Trade)false. See Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. For line 8b,
claimant has a statement, if required, that contains: the date Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the kerosene
of sale, name and address of the buyer, and the number of sold for use in commercial aviation is eligible to make this
gallons of kerosene sold to the buyer. For lines 8a and 8b, claim only if the buyer waives his or her right by providing
only one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of the registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver.
kerosene. See Model Waiver L in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be


filed with respect to any gallon of kerosene sold for use inAllowable sales. The fuel must have been sold during the commercial aviation.period of claim:
Allowable sales. The kerosene sold for use in commercial• For line 8a, use by a state or local government (including
aviation must have been sold during the period of claim foressential government use by an Indian tribal government),
use in commercial aviation (other than foreign trade).or


• For line 8b, from a blocked pump. Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
met.Claim requirements. The following requirements must be


met. 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use in
commercial aviation during a period that is at least 1 week.1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a period


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. Tothat is at least 1 week.
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 8 and 9 may be2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To
combined.meet this minimum, amounts from lines 8 and 9 may be


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quartercombined.
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar yearfollowing the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 ifyear included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed byincome taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
April 30.filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by


April 30.
If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual


Claims on page 14.If requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual
Claims on page 14. Registration number. Enter your UA registration number in


the space provided.Registration number. Enter your UV or UP registration
number in the space provided. Line 9c, 9d, and 9e. Sales By Registered
Information to be submitted. For claims on line 8a, attach Ultimate Vendors of Kerosene Sold For Use
a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each in Noncommercial Aviation
governmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and the


Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the kerosenenumber of gallons sold to each.
sold for use in noncommercial aviation is the only person
eligible to make this claim and has obtained the requiredLine 8c. Sales by Registered Ultimate
certificate from the ultimate purchaser. For type of use 1, 9,Vendors of Undyed Kerosene for Use in 10, 13, 15, or 16, see Model Certificate Q in Pub. 510. For


Certain Intercity and Local Buses type of use 14, see Model Certificate P in Pub. 510. Only
one claim may be filed with respect to any gallon ofClaimant. For line 8c, the registered ultimate vendor of the
kerosene sold for use in noncommercial aviation.kerosene is eligible to make a claim only if the buyer waives


his or her right to make the claim by providing the registered Allowable sales. For line 9c, the kerosene must have been
ultimate vendor with an unexpired waiver. See Model sold for a nonexempt use in noncommercial aviation. For
Waiver N in Pub. 510. Only one claim may be filed with lines 9d and 9e, the kerosene sold for use in noncommercial
respect to any gallon of kerosene. aviation must have been sold during the period of claim for


type of use 1, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, or 16.Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
met. Claim requirements. The following requirements must be


met.1. The claim must be for kerosene sold during a period
that is at least 1 week. 1. The claim must be for kerosene sold for use in


2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To noncommercial aviation during a period that is at least 1
meet this minimum, amounts from lines 8 and 9 may be week.
combined. 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $100. To


3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter meet this minimum, amounts from lines 8 and 9 may be
following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax combined.
year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
April 30. income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 if
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filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed by If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual
April 30. Claims on page 14.


Registration number. If you are a registered blender or aIf requirements 1-3 above are not met, see Annual taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number on lineClaims on page 14. 12.
Registration number. Enter your UA (UV if type of use 14)
registration number in the space provided. Line 13. Biodiesel or Renewable Diesel
Information to be submitted. For claims on lines 9d and Mixture Credit
9e, attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each Claimant. The person that produced and sold or used thegovernmental unit to whom the kerosene was sold and the mixture in their trade or business is the only person eligiblenumber of gallons sold to each. to make this claim. The credit is based on the gallons of


biodiesel or renewable diesel in the mixture.Lines 10 and 11. Sales by Registered
How to claim the credit. Any biodiesel or renewable dieselUltimate Vendors of Gasoline and Aviation
mixture credit must first be taken on Schedule C to reduceGasoline your taxable fuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excess
credit may be taken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849,Claimant. The registered ultimate vendor of the gasoline or
Form 4136, or Form 8864. See Notice 2005-4 and item 4aviation gasoline is eligible to make a claim on lines 10 and
below for more information.11 if the buyer waives his or her right to make the claim by


providing the registered ultimate vendor with an unexpired Claim requirements. Requirements 1 and 2 must be met
certificate. See Model Certificate M in Pub. 510. Only one only if the credit exceeds the amount of taxable fuel liability
claim may be filed with respect to any gallon of gasoline or reported. Requirements 3 and 4 must be met for all claims.
aviation gasoline. 1. The claim must be for a biodiesel or renewable diesel
Allowable sales. The gasoline or aviation gasoline must mixture sold or used during a period that is at least 1 week.
have been sold during the period of claim for: 2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
• Use by a nonprofit educational organization, or meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12, 13, and 14 may
• Use by a state or local government (including essential be combined.
government use by an Indian tribal government). 3. The biodiesel used to produce the biodiesel mixture


meets ASTM D6751 and is registered with the EPA as a fuelClaim requirements. The following requirements must be
and fuel additive under section 211 of the Clean Air Act.met.


4. The Certificate for Biodiesel and, if applicable,1. The claim must be for gasoline or aviation gasoline
Statement of Biodiesel Reseller must be attached to the firstsold or used during a period that is at least 1 week.
claim filed that is supported by the certificate or statement.2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
See Model Certificate O and Model Statement S in Pub.meet this minimum, amounts from lines 10 and 11 may be
510. If the certificate and statement are not attached tocombined.
Form 720 because they are attached to a previously-filed3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quarter
claim on Schedule 3 (Form 8849) for the biodiesel, attach afollowing the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income tax
separate sheet with the following information.year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year


a. Certificate identification number.income taxpayer’s claim for January and February is due
b. Total gallons of biodiesel on certificate.June 30 if filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be
c. Total gallons claimed on Schedule 3 (Form 8849).filed by April 30.
d. Total gallons claimed on Schedule C (Form 720),


Registration number. Enter your UV registration number in line 13.
the space provided.


If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see AnnualInformation to be submitted. For claims on lines 10 and
Claims on page 14.11, attach a separate sheet with the name and TIN of each
Registration number. If you are a registered blender or anonprofit educational organization or governmental unit to
taxable fuel registrant, enter your registration number on linewhom the gasoline or aviation gasoline was sold and the
13.number of gallons sold to each.


Line 14. Alternative Fuel Credit andLine 12. Alcohol Fuel Mixture Credit
Alternative Fuel Mixture CreditClaimant. The person that produced and sold or used the


mixture in their trade or business is the only person eligible Claimant. For the alternative fuel credit, the registered
to make this claim. The credit is based on the gallons of alternative fueler who (1) sold an alternative fuel at retail and
alcohol in the mixture. delivered it into the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle or


motorboat, (2) sold an alternative fuel, delivered it in bulk forHow to claim the credit. Any alcohol fuel mixture credit
taxable use (or, in the case of LNG, for the exclusive use ofmust first be taken on Schedule C to reduce your taxable
the State) in a motor vehicle or motorboat, and received thefuel liability reported on Form 720. Any excess credit may be
required statement from the buyer, or (3) used an alternativetaken on Schedule C (Form 720), Form 8849, Form 4136, or
fuel (not sold at retail or in bulk as previously described) in aForm 6478. See Notice 2005-4 and Notice 2005-62 for more
motor vehicle or motorboat, is the only person eligible toinformation.
make this claim.Claim requirements. The following requirements must be


For the alternative fuel mixture credit, the registeredmet if the credit exceeds the amount of taxable fuel liability
alternative fueler that produced and sold or used the mixturereported.
as a fuel in their trade or business is the only person eligible1. The claim must be for an alcohol fuel mixture sold or
to make this claim. The credit is based on the gallons ofused during a period that is at least 1 week.
alternative fuel in the mixture.2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To


meet this minimum, amounts from lines 12, 13, and 14 may How to claim the credit. Any alternative fuel credit and
be combined. alternative fuel mixture credit must first be taken on


-13-







Page 14 of 16 Instructions for Form 720 12:54 -  8-NOV-2006


The type and rule above prints on all proofs including departmental reproduction proofs. MUST be removed before printing.


Schedule C to reduce your taxable fuel liability reported on registration number on line 15d and enter the applicable
Form 720. CRN.
• The total amount of the alternative fuel credit for the Claim requirements. See Claim requirements for lines 1
period is limited to the claimant’s section 4041 liability through 6, and lines 15b–15d on page 10.
reported on Form 720. Any excess of the section 4041
liability must be claimed as a credit on Form 4136. Line 15e. Registered Credit Card Issuers
• The total amount of the alternative fuel mixture credit for Allowable sales. The gasoline (CRN 362), aviationthe period can be claimed on Schedule C (Form 720), gasoline (CRN 324), diesel fuel (CRN 360), kerosene (CRNSchedule 3 (Form 8849), or Form 4136. 346), or kerosene for use in aviation (CRN 369) must have
Claim requirements. To claim either credit, you must be been purchased with a credit card issued to the ultimate
registered by the IRS. To claim the alternative fuel mixture purchaser during the period of claim:
credit, the following requirements must be met if the credit • For gasoline or aviation gasoline, for the exclusive use by
exceeds the amount of taxable fuel liability reported. a state or local government (including essential government


use by an Indian tribal government) or for the exclusive use1. The claim must be for an alternative fuel mixture sold
of a nonprofit educational organization; oror used (as described above under Claimant) during a
• For diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation,period that is at least 1 week.
for the exclusive use by a state or local government2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200. To
(including essential government use by an Indian tribalmeet the minimum, amounts from lines 12, 13, and 14 may
government).be combined.
Claimant. The registered credit card issuer is the only


If requirements 1 and 2 above are not met, see Annual person eligible to make this claim if the credit card issuer:
Claims below.


1. Is registered by the IRS;
Registration number. You must enter your registration 2. Has not collected the amount of tax from the ultimate
number in the space provided. purchaser or has obtained the written consent of the


ultimate purchaser to make the claim;Annual Claims 3. Certifies that it has repaid or agreed to repay the
If a claim on lines 1–9, 12–14, or 15b–15e was not made amount of tax to the ultimate vendor, has obtained the
for any gallons, an annual claim may be made. Generally, written consent of the ultimate vendor to make the claim, or
an annual claim is made on Form 4136 for the income tax has otherwise made arrangements which directly or
year during which the fuel was used by the ultimate indirectly provide the ultimate vendor with reimbursement of
purchaser, sold by the registered ultimate vendor, used to the tax; and
produce an alcohol fuel mixture and biodiesel mixture, or 4. Has in its possession an unexpired certificate from the
used in mobile machinery. See Form 4136 for more ultimate purchaser and has no reason to believe any of the
information. information in the certificate is false. See Model Certificate R


in Pub. 510.Line 15. Other Claims
If any of these conditions is not met, the credit card issuerFor claims under section 6416(b)(2) relating to certain uses


must collect the tax from the ultimate purchaser and only theand resales of certain articles subject to manufacturers or
ultimate purchaser can make the claim.retailers excise taxes, claimant certifies that it sold the article


at a tax-excluded price, repaid the amount of tax to the Claim requirements. The following requirements must be
ultimate vendor, or has obtained the written consent of the met.
ultimate vendor to make the claim; and has the required 1. The claim must be for gasoline, aviation gasoline,supporting information. diesel fuel, kerosene, or kerosene for use in aviation sold


during a period that is at least 1 week.Lines 15b and 15c. Exported Dyed Diesel Fuel
2. The amount of the claim must be at least $200 ($100and Exported Dyed Kerosene


for kerosene or kerosene for use in aviation).For exported dyed diesel fuel and exported dyed kerosene, 3. Claims must be filed by the last day of the first quartersee Exported taxable fuel on page 10. The claim rate for following the earliest quarter of the claimant’s income taxeach fuel is $.001. year included in the claim. For example, a calendar year
income taxpayer’s claim for the first quarter is due June 30 ifLine 15d. Diesel-Water Fuel Emulsion
filed on Form 8849. However, Form 720 must be filed byThe claim rate for the nontaxable use of a diesel-water fuel
April 30.emulsion taxed at $.198 (CRN 309) is $.197. The fuel must


4. The claimant must enter its registration number on linehave been used during the period of claim for type of use 1,
15e, the amount of the claim, and the applicable CRN (see2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, or 12. For type of use 5, the claim rate is
Allowable sales above). If the claim is for more than one$.124 (CRN 309). For use in trains, the claim rate in $.174
fuel, use the blank lines 15f through 15i, or attach a(CRN 309). For type of use 3 (exported), the claim rate is
separate sheet listing the fuels, amount, and CRN.$.198 (CRN 306) and is reported on line 15d.


The claim rate for undyed diesel fuel taxed at $.244 (CRN Line 15f. Other Claims
310) and used to produce a diesel-water fuel emulsion is
$.046 per gallon of diesel fuel so used (blender claims). The Do not use line 15f to make communication tax
claimant must attach a statement certifying that: (a) the claims for nontaxable service. See Communications
claimant produced a diesel-water fuel emulsion containing at Taxes on page 3.CAUTION


!
least 14% water, (b) the emulsion additive is registered by a
United States manufacturer under section 211 of the Clean Use line 15f for claims relating to taxes listed in the table
Air Act with the EPA, (c) the claimant used undyed diesel below. See Pub. 510 for information on allowable claims
fuel taxed at $.244 to produce the diesel-water emulsion, relating to these taxes. If you need additional space, attach
and (d) the claimant sold or used the diesel-water fuel other sheet(s). You must include the following information
emulsion in the blender’s trade or business. The blender for each claim.
claimant must be registered by the IRS and must enter their • A detailed description of the claim.
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• Any additional information required by the regulations. • A detailed description of the problem.
• The amount of the claim. • Previous attempts to solve the problem and the office you


contacted.• How you figured the claim amount.
• Any other information to support the claim. • A description of the hardship you are facing (if applicable).


Claim requirement. Generally, the claim must be filed
You may contact a Taxpayer Advocate by calling awithin 3 years from the time the return was filed or 2 years


toll-free number, 1-877-777-4778. Persons who havefrom the time the tax was paid, whichever is later.
access to TTY/TDD equipment may call 1-800-829-4059


Tax CRN and ask for Taxpayer Advocate assistance. If you prefer,
you may call, write, or fax the Taxpayer Advocate office inOzone-depleting chemicals (ODCs) 398
your area. See Pub. 1546, The Taxpayer Advocate Service


Oil spill liability 349 of the IRS, for a list of addresses and numbers.
Truck, trailer, and semitrailer chassis and bodies, and 383
tractors


Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. WePassenger vehicles (luxury tax) 392
ask for the information on these forms in order to carry out


Taxable tires other than biasply or super single tires 396 the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. We need it
to figure and collect the right amount of tax. MiscellaneousTaxable tires, biasply or super single tires (other than 304


super single tires designed for steering) excise taxes are imposed under Subtitle D of the Internal
Revenue Code. These forms are used to determine theTaxable tires, super single tires designed for steering 305
amount of tax that you owe. Section 6011 requires you to


Gas guzzler automobiles 340 provide the requested information. Section 6109 requires
Vaccines 397 you to provide your TIN. Routine uses of this information


include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil andSport fishing equipment 341
criminal litigation, and cities, states, and the District of


Fishing rods and fishing poles 308 Columbia for use in administering their tax laws. We may
Fishing tackle boxes 387 also disclose this information to other countries under a tax


treaty, to federal and state agencies to enforce federalElectric outboard motors 342
nontax criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and


Bows, quivers, broadheads, and points 344 intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. If you fail to
provide this information in a timely manner, you may beArrow shafts 389
liable for penalties and interest.


You are not required to provide the information requested
on a form that is subject to the Paperwork Reduction ActUnresolved Tax Issues
unless the form displays a valid OMB control number. Books


If you have attempted to deal with an IRS problem or records relating to a form or its instructions must be
unsuccessfully, you should contact the Taxpayer Advocate. retained as long as their contents may become material inThe Taxpayer Advocate independently represents your


the administration of any Internal Revenue law. Generally,interests and concerns within the IRS by protecting your
tax returns and return information are confidential, asrights and resolving problems that have not been fixed
required by section 6103.through normal channels.


While Taxpayer Advocates cannot change the tax law or The time needed to complete and file these forms and
make a technical tax decision, they can clear up problems related schedules will vary depending on individual
that resulted from previous contacts and ensure that your circumstances. The estimated average times are:
case is given a complete and impartial review.


Form Recordkeeping Learning about Preparing and
Your assigned personal advocate will listen to your point the law or sending the


of view and will work with you to address your concerns. the form form to the IRS
You can expect the advocate to provide you with: 720 22 hr., 58 min. 1 hr., 43 min. 5 hr., 46 min.
• A ‘‘fresh look’’ at your new or ongoing problem,


720-V 1 hr., 11 min. — — 1 min.• Timely acknowledgment, Sch. A 3 hr., 49 min. — — 3 min.
Sch. T 2 hr., 23 min. — — 2 min.• The name and phone number of the individual assigned
Sch. C 34 hr., 55 min. 42 min. 1hr., 18 min.to your case,
720X 6 hr., 13 min. 18 min. 24 min.• Updates on progress, 6197 4 hr., 18 min. 12 min. 16 min.
6627 9 hr., 3 min. 6 min. 14 min.• Timeframes for action,


• Speedy resolution, and
• Courteous service. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of these


time estimates or suggestions for making these forms andWhen contacting the Taxpayer Advocate, you should
related schedules simpler, we would be happy to hear fromprovide the following information.
you. You can write to the Internal Revenue Service, Tax• Your name, address, and taxpayer identification number
Products Coordinating Committee, SE:W:CAR:MP:T:T:SP,(TIN).
1111 Constitution Ave. NW, IR-6406, Washington, DC• The name and telephone number of an authorized contact
20224. Do not send the tax forms to this office. Instead, seeperson and the hours he or she can be reached.
Where To File on page 1.• The type of tax return and year(s) or period(s) (for


quarterly returns) involved.
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