主題編號:160 法定截止日期 - RSED | ASED | CSED

法定的退款截止日期 (RSED)

法定的退款截止日期(RSED是納稅人可以向國稅局提出特定稅年的抵免或退款要求的最後一段時間。納稅人若未在規定時間內提出申請,可能不再有資格獲得抵免或退稅。

提交退稅申請

若您想向國稅局提出退稅要求,我們要求您提供一套詳細的事實,表明您正在尋求退稅或抵免的多付款項,並包括一份書面聲明,表明該要求是在您願受偽證罪罰的情況下提出的。一般情況下,提交一份 843 號表格,退款和減免要求(英文) 就能滿足此一要求。該 843 號表格的說明(英文)將向您提供該表的目的,解釋什麼時候您可以使用 843 表提出索賠,什麼時候該表不合適,以及什麼時候需要其他表格來提出索賠。

一般來說,您必須在提交原始報稅表後的三年內,或在支付稅款後的兩年內(以較晚者為準)提出抵免或退稅的申請。若您在提交原始報稅表後的三年期滿後,但在您繳稅後的兩年內提出申請,抵免或退稅不得超過您在提出申請前兩年內所繳的稅款。更多資訊請見 556 號出版物,審查報稅表、上訴權和退稅要求(英文)

若您的退稅申請是關於一個例外情況,如壞賬或無價值的證券,提交退稅申請的時間可能會有所不同。經濟困難時期也可能使提出退稅申請的時間限制暫停生效。更多關於例外情況和經濟困難時期的資訊,請參見 556 號出版物(英文)

若您未在國稅局規定的時間內提出申請,您可能不再有資格獲得抵免或退款。

若您的退稅申請遭到駁回,您會收到一封認證信,解釋您的申請遭到駁回的原因和您的上訴權利。您也可以在收到拒絕信後的兩年內,向美國地方法院或美國聯邦索賠法院提起退款訴訟(法律規定)。關於上訴或提起退款訴訟的其他資訊,請洽您經認證的拒付信。

法定的估稅截止日期(ASED

法定的估稅截止日期(ASED)是指美國國稅局可以對某一特定納稅年度進行納稅評估的最後一段時間。一般的規則是,必須在收到原始報稅表的三年內或原始報稅表到期日的三年內進行納稅評估,以較晚的日期為準。

評稅時間可以延長

若您未自行報稅,則國稅局可以根據替代性報稅(SFR)計畫進行評稅。若您的報稅表是根據 SFR 計畫提交的,就無規定國稅局評估任何額外稅款的三年時間限制。其表示,國稅局可隨時評估稅款和額外稅負。若您決定報稅,就等同於設定了三年的時間限制,國稅局可在此期間評稅。您可以參考主題編號:153

您同意國稅局的意見,簽署一份法定的棄權協議,或延期協議,國稅局可延長評稅的時間。若國稅局提議簽署棄權協議來延長 ASED,您可以就提議的評估時間限制進行協商,或者拒絕簽署棄權協議。

若您在報稅時遺漏了超過 25% 的總收入,國稅局可以評估額外稅款的時間就會從您報稅之日的 3 年增加到 6 年。

若您提交虛假或欺詐性的報稅表,意圖逃稅,國稅局有無限的時間來評估稅款。

在評估時效期滿後,國稅局不能評估稅款。

有關評估稅款的期限和延長期限的其他資訊,可以在 1035 號出版物,延長評稅期限(英文)PDF中找到。

法定的徵收截止日期(CSED

法定的徵收截止日期(CSED標誌著徵收期的結束,即法律規定的國稅局徵收稅款的時段。CSED 通常是在評估日期之後的十年。

有自己專屬的徵收法規截止日期的稅務評估包括但不限於:

  • 自行申報的原始稅收評估
  • 由修改後的申報單產生的納稅評估
  • 國稅局進行的替代申報的納稅評估
  • 稽核評估
  • 民事處罰評估

國稅局的徵收時間可被暫停和/或延長

最初的十年 CSED 可以被某些事件推後或延長。

當國稅局被禁止收稅時,CSED 的徵收期一般會暫停。國稅局可以徵收的時間被暫停的時間推後。換句話說,最初的十年徵收期限不超過原來的十年。國稅局在徵收期暫停期間一般不採取徵收行動,但也有一些例外情況。

相反,當國稅局被合法授權在最初的十年徵收期之外增加特定的時間時,徵收期就會延長。當徵收期延長時,國稅局並未被禁止或停止徵收。

暫停和延長徵收期都會延遲 CSED

可能影響 CSED 的常見事件

有各種法律會影響 CSED。不止一個行動可以暫停徵收期的運作。但是,重疊的情況是同時進行的;在一個事件可能與另一個事件重疊的情況下,多個事件的時間不會被多加。

若您申請分期付款協議(IA,申請待定的時間會推延,或暫停最初的十年收款期的運作。分期付款協議(IA)請求通常是待定的,直到 它可以被審查,並且分期付款協議(IA)被確定,或者請求遭到撤回或拒絕為止。若請求的分期付款協議(IA)遭到拒絕,徵收期的運作將暫停 30 天。同樣,若您拖欠分期付款協議(IA)付款,並且國稅局提議終止分期付款協議(IA),則徵收期的運作將暫停 30 天。最後,若您行使您的權利,對分期付款協議(IA)的拒絕或終止提出上訴,收款期的運作將在上訴未決時暫停,直到上訴的決定成為最終決定為止。請參考主題編號:202

若您申請 破產,則在破產審理期間,收款期暫停。一般來說,從提出申請到破產被解除、駁回或結束的日期,破產將處於待定狀態。此外,在破產結束後,收款期會再延長 6 個月。請參考908 號出版物,破產稅務指南(英文)

若您提交了妥協要約(OIC,徵收期的運作將從要約待定之日到要約被接受、退回、撤回或拒絕之日暫停。若您的要約被拒絕,收款期將再暫停 30 天。若您對拒絕提出上訴,則在上訴未決期間暫停。請參考主題編號:204

若您要求進行徵收正當程序(CDP)的聽證會,從國稅局收到 CDP 請求之日到納稅人撤回請求之日或 CDP 裁決成為最終裁決之日,包括任何法院的上訴,徵收期暫停運作。若距離 CSED 的裁定成為最終裁定的時間少於 90 天,則徵收期將延長到最終裁定之日起的 90 天。請參考 1660 號出版物,收款上訴權(英文)PDF

若您提出無罪配偶索賠,則從提出無罪配偶索賠之日起,只有提出請求的配偶的徵收期暫停,直到提出豁免的日期,或直到向稅務法院提出申請的 90 天期限屆滿,或若向稅務法院提出申請,則稅務法院的裁決成為最終裁決的日期,以較早者為準。另外,在各種情況下,收款期會再延長 60 天。請參考主題編號:205

一個特定的徵收期結束時,國稅局不得對評估的債務啟動行政或司法徵收。

Topic No. 160 Statute Expiration Date - RSED | ASED | CSED

Refund Statute Expiration Date (RSED)

The Refund Statute Expiration Date (RSED) is the end of the time period in which a taxpayer can make a claim with IRS for a credit or refund for a specific tax year(s). If a claim is not made within the specified time, then a taxpayer may no longer be entitled to a credit or refund.

Submitting a Claim for Refund

If you want to make a claim for refund with the IRS, we require that you provide a detailed set of facts showing the overpayment regarding which you're seeking a refund or credit, and include a written statement showing the claim is made under penalties of perjury. Generally, submitting a Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for Abatement, will satisfy this requirement. The Instructions for Form 843 will provide you with the purpose of the form, explain when you can use the Form 843 to make a claim, when the form is not appropriate, and when another form is needed to make your claim.

Generally, you must file a claim for a credit or refund within three years from the date you filed your original tax return or two years from the date you paid the tax, whichever is later. If you file a claim after the three-year period, but within two years from the time you paid the tax, the credit or refund cannot be more than the tax you paid within the two years immediately before you filed the claim. See Publication 556, Examination of Returns, Appeal Rights, and Claims for Refund, for more information.

The time period for filing a claim for refund may be different if your claim was filed regarding an exception, like a bad debt or worthless security. Periods of financial disability may suspend the time limitation for making a refund claim too. For more information on exceptions and periods of financial disability, see Publication 556.

If you do not file a claim within the set time prescribed by the IRS, you may no longer be entitled to the credit or refund.

If your claim for refund is disallowed, you will receive a certified letter explaining why your claim was disallowed and your right to appeal. You may also file a Refund Suit with the United States District Court or with the United States Court of Federal Claims within the statutory (by law) two-year period after receiving the letter of disallowance. Additional information on appealing or filing a refund suit would be found in your certified letter of disallowance.

Assessment Statute Expiration Date (ASED)

The Assessment Statute Expiration Date (ASED) is the end of the time period in which the IRS can assess tax with respect to a particular tax year. The general rule is that an assessment of tax must be made within three years from the received date of an original tax return or three years from the due date of the original return, whichever is later.

Time to Assess Tax Can Be Extended

If you fail to file your tax return voluntarily, then the IRS can assess tax under the Substitute for Return (SFR) program. If your return was filed under the SFR program it does not set the three-year time limitation for the IRS to assess any additional tax. This means IRS can assess tax and additional tax at any time. If you decide to file your tax return, then a three-year time limitation is set, and the IRS can assess tax during this period. You may refer to Topic No. 153.

The time the IRS can assess tax can be extended if you agree with the IRS by signing a statutory waiver, or extension agreement. If the IRS proposes a waiver to extend the ASED, you can negotiate the proposed time limitation to assess, or refuse to sign the waiver.

If you omitted more than 25% of your gross income from a tax return, the time the IRS can assess additional tax increases from three to six years from the date your tax return was filed.

If you file a false or fraudulent return with the intent to evade tax, the IRS has an unlimited amount of time to assess tax.

The IRS cannot assess tax after the time limitation period for assessment has expired.

Additional information on the expiration for the time to assess tax and the length of extensions can be found in Publication 1035, Extending the Tax Assessment PeriodPDF.

Collection Statute Expiration Date (CSED)

The Collection Statute Expiration Date (CSED) marks the end of the collection period, the time period established by law for the IRS to collect taxes. The CSED is normally ten years from the date of the assessment.

Tax assessments with their own Collection Statute Expiration Date include but are not limited to:

  • Original tax assessments from voluntarily filed returns
  • Tax assessments arising from amended return filings
  • Substitute for Return tax assessments made by the IRS
  • Audit assessments
  • Civil penalty assessments

The IRS's Time to Collect Can Be Suspended and/or Extended

The initial ten-year CSED can be pushed out or prolonged by certain events.

The CSED collection period is generally suspended when the IRS is prohibited from collecting tax. The time the IRS can collect is pushed out by the period it is suspended. In other words, the initial ten-year limit to collect is no more than the original ten-years. The IRS generally doesn't take levy action during the time the collection period is suspended, but there are some exceptions.

In contrast, the collection period is extended when the IRS is legally authorized a specific amount of time be added to the initial ten-years to collect. The IRS is not prohibited or stopped from collecting when the collection period is extended.

Suspending and extending the collection period both delay the CSED.

Common Events That Can Impact the CSED

A variety of laws affect the CSED. More than one action can suspend the running of the collection period. However, overlapping situations run simultaneously; the time for multiple events is not added more than once where one event may overlap another.

If you request an Installment Agreement (IA), the time the request is pending pushes out, or suspends the running of, the initial ten-year collection period. An IA request is often pending until it can be reviewed, and an IA is established, or the request is withdrawn or rejected. If the requested IA is rejected, the running of the collection period is suspended for 30 days. Similarly, if you default on your IA payments and the IRS proposes to terminate the IA, the running of the collection period is suspended for 30 days. Last, if you exercise your right to appeal either an IA rejection or termination, the running of collection period is suspended by the time the appeal is pending to the date the appealed decision becomes final. Refer to Topic No. 202.

If you file for Bankruptcy, the running of the collection period is suspended during the time the bankruptcy is pending. Generally, a bankruptcy is pending from the time a petition is filed to the date the bankruptcy is discharged, dismissed, or closed. Further, the running of the collection period is extended for an additional 6 months upon the conclusion of the bankruptcy. Refer to Publication 908, Bankruptcy Tax Guide.

If you submit an Offer in Compromise (OIC), the running of the collection period is suspended from the date the offer is pending to the date the offer is accepted, returned, withdrawn, or rejected. If your Offer is rejected, the collection period is suspended for an additional 30 days and, if you file an appeal of the rejection, during the period the appeal is pending. Refer to Topic No. 204.

If you request a Collection Due Process (CDP) hearing, the running of the collection period is suspended from the date the IRS receives the CDP request to the date the taxpayer withdraws the request or the date the CDP determination becomes final, including any court appeals. If less than 90 days until the CSED remains when the determination becomes final, the collection period is extended to 90 days from the date of the final determination. Refer to Publication 1660, Collection Appeal RightsPDF.

If you file an Innocent Spouse claim, then only the running of the requesting spouse's collection period is suspended from the date the Innocent Spouse Claim was filed until the earlier of the date a waiver is filed, or until the expiration of the 90-day period for petitioning tax court, or if tax court is petitioned, the date the tax court decision becomes final, plus, in each instance, the collection period is extended an additional 60-days. Refer to Topic No. 205.

When a specific collection period ends, the IRS may not initiate administrative or judicial collection of the assessed debt.