IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

Do I Qualify for EITC?

You qualify for EITC if you have earned income and adjusted gross income within certain limits. Then you need to meet certain basic rules. After you meet the basic rules, you must either meet the additional rules for those without a qualifying child or have a child that meets all the qualifying child rules for you or your spouse if you file a joint return.

Also, EITC has special rules for those in the military, those with certain types of disability income and members of the clergy.

Find out if you qualify for EITC

Pick one of the following topics to help you see if you qualify:

EITC Income Limits, Maximum Credit Amounts and Tax Law Updates

The amount of income you can have and qualify for EITC is based on if you are married and filing a joint return or not, and if you have no, one or more children. The amount of credit you can get is also based on if you file a joint return or not, and if you have no, one or more children.

What is Earned Income?

To qualify for EITC you must have earned income from wages, salaries or tips, from owning or running a business or farm, or certain disability income.

EITC Rules for Everyone

Find out about the rules you and your spouse, if you file a joint return, must meet to claim EITC.

Qualifying Child Rules

If you and your spouse, if filing a joint return, meet the EITC Rules for Everyone and you have a child who lives with you, you may be eligible for EITC. Your child must pass the relationship, age, residency and joint return tests to be your qualifying child. All four tests must be met for each child you claim.

Rules for those Without a Qualifying Child

If you and your spouse, if filing a joint return, meet the EITC rules for everyone, you may qualify for EITC.


Or, use the EITC Assistant

Find out if you are eligible for EITC by answering questions and providing basic income information. The EITC Assistant also estimates the amount of your EITC. Click here for the English version of the EITC Assistant or o hag click aquí para seleccionar la Versión en Español del Asistente

If you Qualify for EITC, you  may also qualify for your State and local credits

Twenty-five states, the District of Columbia, New York City, and Montgomery County, Maryland, offer their residents an earned income tax credit or similar credit. Find more information on states and local credits here


Disability and EITC  

Many persons with disabilities or persons having children with disabilities qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit or EITC. Find out more about Disability and EITC.

Special EITC Rules

Special EITC rules for members of the military, ministers, members of the clergy, those receiving disability benefits and those impacted by disasters. Read more about the special rules.


More EITC Topics


Other Useful Links


Return to EITC home page               Or, return to your previous page by clicking the back button

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 25-Feb-2014