New Members, Chairman Selected for ETAAC


Уведомление. Ретроспективное содержание

Это архивный или ретроспективный документ, который может не отражать действующее законодательство, политику или процедуры.

IR-2009-102, Nov. 9, 2009

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service announced the selection of four new members and a Chairman for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC). The Treasury Department and the IRS Commissioner have approved the new members to serve a three-year term beginning October 2009 and ending October 2012.

The group serves as a public forum for discussion of electronic tax administration issues and supports the goal of increasing electronic interactions between tax professionals and the IRS.

“IRS is pleased with the continued support of the ETAAC,” said David R. Williams, director, IRS Electronic Tax Administration and Refundable Credits. “ETAAC supports the goal of electronic tax administration by encouraging taxpayers to transact and communicate electronically with the IRS.”

The new members will replace the outgoing members whose terms expired and will ensure continuity of the committee. The new members are: 

  • Leann Boswell of Van Meter, Iowa is an Executive Officer II for the Iowa Department of Revenue. She is responsible for the eFile Service Unit. Ms. Boswell led the development of eFile & Pay, which is a business tax electronic filing and payment application. She also facilitates e-File & Pay enhancements and problem resolution.
  • David Olsen of Kennesaw, Ga., is the Director of Product Management for CCH Small Firm Services. He is responsible for product opportunity   and enhancement planning for the ATX and Tax Wise product lines, covering tax, accounting and workflow software and other supporting products. Mr. Olsen also partners with business development functions to analyze and develop proposals for products and services used by the tax community.
  • Paul Paeglis of Columbus, Ohio is the Chief Financial Officer of Chase Tax Related Products at JP Morgan Chase Bank. He is responsible for managing all aspects of financial planning, reporting, and budgeting for the line of business. Mr. Paeglis also analyzes tax return filing trends and income tax refund repayment trends to minimize risk in delivering tax related products to their customers.
  • Mark Steber of Sarasota, Fla., is the Chief Tax Compliance Officer for Jackson Hewitt Tax Service. He has over 23 years of experience in the tax industry and is responsible for the overall tax service delivery compliance. Mr. Steber establishes processes and procedures to ensure the accuracy of tax returns prepared in the Jackson Hewitt system and coordinates the monitoring of each office’s compliance.

Phil Poirier of San Diego, Calif., is the 2009-2010 Chairman of ETAAC. Mr. Poirier is Vice President, Government, Consumer Division, at Intuit Inc. He is responsible for government initiatives relating to Intuit’s consumer tax and personal finance businesses (TurboTax, Quicken and, and has extensive experience in business development, legal and regulatory compliance counsel, and privacy/security matters in connection with electronic commerce initiatives. 

Each June, the ETAAC submits a report to Congress reporting on the progress of the IRS’ electronic tax initiatives.  ETAAC was created in 1998 by the IRS Electronic Tax Administration as required by the IRS Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 (RRA 98).

Subscribe to IRS Newswire