IRS Advisory Council issues 2022 Annual Report


IR-2022-200, November 15, 2022

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC) today issued its annual report for 2022PDF, including recommendations to the IRS on new and continuing issues in tax administration.

The 2022 Public Report includes recommendations on 21 issues covering a broad range of topics including:

  • IRS business and information technology modernization.
  • Reduction in electronic filing threshold for information return filers.
  • Alignment of electronic signature requirements on withholding certificates.
  • Accelerated issuance of IRS Form 6166, Certification of U.S. Residency.
  • The Examination Customer Coordination and Innovation Office.
  • Series 8038 Form Redesign and Updates.
  • Business Master File (BMF) Transcript Delivery Service (TDS).

In addition, the report "emphasizes the need for consistent and multi-year funding for the IRS to achieve its goals of providing efficient, effective, modern service to the nation's taxpayers." It also "provides targeted feedback to improve the taxpayer experience while supporting crucial enforcement efforts and navigating a rapidly changing digital environment."

The IRSAC serves as a federal advisory committee to the IRS commissioner that provides an organized public forum for discussion of relevant tax administration issues between IRS officials and representatives of the public. IRSAC members offer constructive observations regarding current or proposed IRS policies, programs and procedures.

The IRSAC is administered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act by the Office of National Public Liaison, part of IRS Communications and Liaison, and draws its members from the taxpaying public, the tax professional community, representatives of the low-income community, small and large businesses, tax-exempt and government entities, the payroll industry and academia. Five subgroups report to the parent council:

  • Information Reporting
  • Large Business & International
  • Small Business/Self-Employed
  • Tax Exempt/Government Entities
  • Wage & Investment

Acting Commissioner Doug O'Donnell and IRS executives thanked 10 members of the council whose terms end this year:

  • W. Edward Afield – Afield served on the Small Business/Self Employed Subgroup.
  • Robert Howren – Howren served on the Large Business & International Subgroup.
  • Denise Jackson – Jackson served on the Wage & Investment Subgroup.
  • Kathleen Lach – Lach served on the Small Business/Self Employed Subgroup.
  • Carol Lew – Lew served as Chair of IRSAC.
  • Kelly Myers – Myers served on the Small Business/Self Employed Subgroup.
  • Joseph Novak – Novak served as Chair of the Large Business & International Subgroup.
  • Robert Panoff – Panoff served as Chair of the Small Business/Self Employed Subgroup.
  • Katie Sunderland – Sunderland served on the Large Business & International Subgroup.
  • Kevin Valuet – Valuet served on the Information Reporting Subgroup.