IRS Invites Taxpayers to Apply for Taxpayer Advocacy Panel


通知 :歷史內容


IR-2007-66, March 22, 2007

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service is inviting civic-minded individuals to help improve the nation’s tax agency by applying to be members of the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel. The Panel provides a forum for citizens from each state to make suggestions regarding IRS decision making.

The mission of the Panel is to listen to taxpayers, identify taxpayers’ issues, and make recommendations for improving IRS service and customer satisfaction. Taxpayer Advocacy Panel (TAP) members:

  • Provide opportunities for citizen input and make recommendations to the IRS on customer-service issues.
  • Identify and prioritize taxpayer issues.
  • Report annually to Treasury, the IRS and the National Taxpayer Advocate.
  • Participate in meetings where taxpayers are invited to raise issues about their experiences with the IRS. 
  • Participate in taxpayer outreach opportunities by speaking to individuals and groups about the Panel.

“As the IRS continues to examine taxpayers’ needs in the area of service, the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel has emerged as a vital source for gathering and providing information from the perspective of taxpayers,” said Nina E. Olson, National Taxpayer Advocate. “TAP’s role will ultimately aid taxpayers by helping the IRS to provide them with the top quality service they deserve."

To qualify as a TAP member, applicants must be U.S. citizens and be able to commit 300 to 500 hours during the year to the Panel. In addition, they must be current with their tax obligations and pass a criminal background check. 

This year TAP is accepting applications from U.S. citizens who reside in the following locations: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Utah, Washington, Wyoming.

The application form will be available, and may be submitted electronically online, at (see link below) from March 19 through April 30, 2007.

If you do not have access to a computer, call 1-888-912-1227 to request a paper application form.

All applications, both electronic and paper, must be received no later than April 30, 2007.


Subscribe to IRS Newswire