Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee issues 2019 Annual Report; Recommendations target identity theft, refund fraud


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2019-117, June 19, 2019

WASHINGTON — The Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC) today released its annual report to Congress, featuring recommendations focused on the prevention of identity theft and refund fraud.

The report groups a total of 10 recommendations into three sections: enabling and expanding the IRS-sponsored Security Summit, improving security in key areas of the tax system and protecting and enabling taxpayers.

The ETAAC is a public forum whose members work closely with the Security Summit, a joint effort of the IRS, state tax administrators and the nation’s tax industry established in 2015 to fight tax-related identity theft and cybercrime.

ETAAC members represent various segments of the tax community, including individual and business taxpayers, tax professionals and preparers, tax software developers, payroll service providers, the financial industry and state and local governments.

The 2019 Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee Report is available on IRS.gov.

At today’s annual meeting, IRS Deputy Commissioner Kirsten Wielobob and IRS leaders thanked seven members of the committee ending their terms this year:

  • John Ams - Ams served on the ETAAC Outreach Subgroup. He has also served on the Security Summit Tax Professional Working Group. Ams has more than 40 years of experience in the federal tax arena and is the former executive vice president of the National Association of Accountants.
  • Shannon Bond - Bond served on the ETAAC Filing Subgroup. She serves as a co-lead on the Security Summit Tax Professional Working Group. Bond is senior director of government relations with tax software provider Wolters Kluwer.
  • John Breyault - Breyault served on the Outreach Subgroup of the ETAAC. He has worked for the National Consumers League since 2008, where he advocates for stronger consumer protections before Congress and federal agencies.
  • Angela Camp - Camp served on the ETAAC’s Outreach Subgroup, and has worked on the Security Summit’s Authentication, Information Sharing, Tax Pros and Communications Working Groups. During her career, Camp has worked for Intuit and the IRS.
  • John Craig - Craig served on the ETAAC Outreach Subgroup. He is a nonprofit consultant specializing in strategy and technical support for Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) programs.
  • Courtney Kay-Decker - Kay-Decker served on the ETAAC’s Sharing Subgroup and was the state co-chair on the senior executive board of the IDTTRF Information Sharing and Analysis Center. She previously served as director of the Iowa Department of Revenue.
  • Doreen Warren - Warren served on the ETAAC’s Outreach Working Group and most recently served as committee chair. She has over 28 years of experience in state tax administration with the Idaho State Tax Commission and has been active with the Federation of Tax Administrators, which represents state revenue agencies.