有关最近的发展情况,请参见2021纳税年度的505号刊物 (英文),预扣税和预估税,以及选择将5月17日付款及延期申请的2020年超额付税部分应用于2021年的预估税 (英文)

您必须在赚取或获得收入的当年通过预扣或预估税来缴纳税款。如果从薪金或养老金中预扣的所得税金额不足,或者收到合伙权益、股息、赡养费、自营收入、资本收益、奖金和奖励等收入,那么您可能必须缴纳预估税。如果您是自雇人士,则通常需要缴纳预估税。预估税不仅用于支付所得税,还可用于自雇税和替代性的最低限额税等其他税项。

如果您没有通过预扣和预估税缴纳足够的税款,则可能要支付罚款。如果您迟缴预估税,即使您在申报税表时可以退税,您仍可能要支付罚款。

农民和渔民的预估税要求有所不同。有关这些特殊预估税规则的更多信息,请参阅 505 号出版物《预扣税和预估税》(英文)

谁必须缴纳预估税

包括独资经营业主、合伙人和小型企业股份公司股东在内的个人,如果在申报税表时预期要缴纳 1000 美元或以上的税金,则一般要缴付预估税。

如果股份公司在申报税表时预期要缴纳 500 美元或以上的税金,则一般要缴付预估税。

如果您在前一年的税金超过零,则可能要缴付预估税。有关谁必须缴纳预估税的更多详情,请参阅表 1040-ES【个人所得预估税表】(英文), 或者表 1120-W 【公司所得预估税表】(英文)

谁不必缴纳预估税

如果您的收入是薪金或工资,您可以要求雇主从您的薪资中预扣额外的税金,这样可以避免缴纳预估税。您只要重新填一张表格 W-4 (英文) 交给雇主即可。其中,表格 W-4 上有一行供您填写要雇主预扣的额外税额。

如果您收到一份薪资,预扣税估算器将帮助你确保从薪水中扣缴了正确的税款。

如果您符合以下全部三种情况 (英文),您在本年度即可不必缴纳预估税。

  • 您在上一个税务年度没有纳税义务
  • 您在整个税务年度里都是美国公民或居民

  • 您的上一个税务年度涵盖的期间为 12 个月

如果您在上一个税务年度的纳税额为零,或者不必申报所得税,则表示您在上一个税务年度没有纳税义务。有关如何计算预估税的更多信息 ,请参阅 505 号出版物《预扣税和预估税》(英文)

如何计算预估税

包括独资经营业主、合伙人和小型企业股份公司股东在内的个人,一般使用表格 1040-ES (英文) 来计算预估税。

如需计算预估税,您必须计算您在该年度预测的调整后总收入、应纳税收入、税款、减免费用和抵税优惠额。

当计算您在本年度的预估税时,可以用您上一年的收入、减免费用和抵税优惠额做为起点。用您上一年的联邦税表做为参考。您可以用表格 1040-ES (英文)的工作单来计算您的预估税。您需要预估您在本年度的收入。如果估计的收入过高,只需完成另一个表格 1040-ES 工作表,重新计算您下个季度的预估税。如果估计的收入过低,同样完成另一个表格 1040-ES 工作表,重新计算您下个季度的预估税。您的收入估计要尽量准确,以免被罚款。

您必须根据自身情况的改变以及最新的税法变更调整自己的预估值。

股份公司一般使用表格 1120-W (英文) 来计算预估税。

何时缴纳预估税

一年共分为四个预估税缴付期 (英文)。您可以通过邮件 (英文)寄送表格 1040-ES (英文) 支付预估税,也可以通过线上支付、电话或移动设备上的 IRS2Go (英文) 应用程序付款。请登录 IRS.gov/payments (英文) 查看所有选项。更多详情,请参阅 505 号出版物《预扣税和预估税》(英文)

联邦电子缴税系统 (EFTPS) 是个人与企业缴纳联邦税最简便的方式。您可以利用 EFTPS (英文) 来缴付所有联邦税,包括联邦税存缴 (FTD)、分期付款计划和预估税缴纳额等 。您也可以根据个人情况选择每周、每两周或每月缴纳预估税,只要在每个季度结束前缴足税金即可。您还可以使用 EFTPS 查看过去的缴税记录,方便了解自己预估税的缴纳金额和缴纳时间。

股份公司必须使用联邦电子缴税系统 (英文)来存入付款。更多信息,请查阅 542 号出版物《股份公司》(英文)

缺额支付预估税款的罚金

如果您没有在纳税年度中通过预扣税或预估税缴纳足够的税款,您将被视为预估税缴纳不足,并应支付相应罚金。一般而言,大部份的纳税人如果在除去预扣税和优惠额后所欠的税款不到 1000 美元,或者至少支付了今年 90% 的税金,或者上一年报税表所示 100% 的税金(以金额较小者为准),就可以避免该罚款。农民和渔民有特殊规定。更多详情,请参阅 505 号出版物《预扣税和预估税》(英文)

然而,如果您在全年的收入不稳定,可以年度化计算您的收入和支付不同等的付款来避免或降低罚款。请使用 表格 2210【个人、资产和信托预估税收缴付不足】(英文),(或表格 2220 (英文)公司预估税缴付不足】(英文))查看您是否必须缴付缺额支付预估税的罚款。如需了解在报税表何处报告预估税罚款,请参见表格 1040 和 1040-SR 说明 (英文)表格 1120 说明 (英文) PDF

以下情况也可免除罚款:

  • 未能支付预估税是因为意外、灾难或其他异常情况,而且施以罚款并不公平,或者

  • 您在需要支付预估税的税务年度或者上一个税务年度 a) 年满 62 岁之后退休,或 b) 成为残障,而且支付不足是有合理原因而非蓄意忽略。

如果 2018 年的预扣税和预估税的纳税额不足,可以扩大罚款豁免; 对已经支付 2018 年预估税金额不足的罚款可以退款

如果某些纳税人 2018 年的联邦所得税扣缴额和预估税额低于其 2018 年的应付总税额,美国国税局将这些纳税人获得预估税罚款减免所需的资格门槛降低到 (英文)  80%。一般来说,为避免报税时的预估税罚款,纳税人必须在年内支付至少 90% 的应付税款。今年早些时候,美国国税局将 2018 年税收年度的预估税不足门槛降低至 85%,最近又降至 80%。

对 2018 年纳税年度,这一额外扩大的罚款豁免意味着美国国税局现在放弃了对在这一年中通过联邦所得税预扣税、季度预估纳税额或两者的组合支付了至少 80% 的应付总税额的纳税人的预估税收罚款。

尚未报税的纳税人应以电子方式报税。税务软件已更新并且使用新的预估税不足门槛,并将以此确定所欠的税额以及适用的任何处罚或豁免。这项罚款豁免也反映在修订的表格 2210【个人、资产和信托预估税收缴付不足】(英文)的说明中。

已经提交 2018 年联邦纳税申报表但有资格获得此扩大豁免资格的纳税人可以要求退还已支付或评估的预估税罚金。要申请退税,应提交表格 843【退税申请和减免请求】(英文)。 纳税人不能以电子方式提交此表格。他们应在表格 843 的第 7 行加入"80% 的预估税处罚豁免”的声明。

Taxes must be paid as you earn or receive income during the year, either through withholding or estimated tax payments. If the amount of income tax withheld from your salary or pension is not enough, or if you receive income such as interest, dividends, alimony, self-employment income, capital gains, prizes and awards, you may have to make estimated tax payments. If you are in business for yourself, you generally need to make estimated tax payments. Estimated tax is used to pay not only income tax, but other taxes such as self-employment tax and alternative minimum tax.

If you don’t pay enough tax through withholding and estimated tax payments, you may be charged a penalty. You also may be charged a penalty if your estimated tax payments are late, even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return.

Estimated tax requirements are different for farmers and fishermen. Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax, provides more information about these special estimated tax rules.

Who Must Pay Estimated Tax

Individuals, including sole proprietors, partners, and S corporation shareholders, generally have to make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe tax of $1,000 or more when their return is filed.

Corporations generally have to make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe tax of $500 or more when their return is filed.

You may have to pay estimated tax for the current year if your tax was more than zero in the prior year. See the worksheet in Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals (PDF), or Form 1120-W, Estimated Tax for Corporations (PDF), for more details on who must pay estimated tax.

Who Does Not Have To Pay Estimated Tax

If you receive salaries and wages, you can avoid having to pay estimated tax by asking your employer to withhold more tax from your earnings. To do this, file a new Form W-4 (PDF) with your employer. There is a special line on Form W-4 for you to enter the additional amount you want your employer to withhold.

You don’t have to pay estimated tax for the current year if you meet all three of the following conditions.

  • You had no tax liability for the prior year
  • You were a U.S. citizen or resident for the whole year
  • Your prior tax year covered a 12-month period

You had no tax liability for the prior year if your total tax was zero or you didn’t have to file an income tax return. For additional information on how to figure your estimated tax, refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.

How To Figure Estimated Tax

Individuals, including sole proprietors, partners, and S corporation shareholders, generally use Form 1040-ES (PDF), to figure estimated tax.

To figure your estimated tax, you must figure your expected adjusted gross income, taxable income, taxes, deductions, and credits for the year.

When figuring your estimated tax for the current year, it may be helpful to use your income, deductions, and credits for the prior year as a starting point. Use your prior year's federal tax return as a guide. You can use the worksheet in Form 1040-ES (PDF) to figure your estimated tax. You need to estimate the amount of income you expect to earn for the year. If you estimated your earnings too high, simply complete another Form 1040-ES worksheet to refigure your estimated tax for the next quarter. If you estimated your earnings too low, again complete another Form 1040-ES worksheet to recalculate your estimated tax for the next quarter. You want to estimate your income as accurately as you can to avoid penalties.

You must make adjustments both for changes in your own situation and for recent changes in the tax law.

Corporations generally use Form 1120-W (PDF), to figure estimated tax.

When To Pay Estimated Taxes

For estimated tax purposes, the year is divided into four payment periods. Each period has a pay online, by phone, or by mail, refer to the section of Form 1040-ES titled "How to Pay Estimated Tax." For additional information, refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.

Using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS) is the easiest way for individuals as well as businesses to pay federal taxes. Make ALL of your federal tax payments including federal tax deposits (FTDs), installment agreement and estimated tax payments using EFTPS. If it’s easier to pay your estimated taxes weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, etc. you can, as long as you’ve paid enough in by the end of the quarter. Using EFTPS, you can access a history of your payments, so you know how much and when you made your estimated tax payments.

Corporations must deposit the payment using the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System. For additional information, refer to Publication 542, Corporations.

Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax

If you didn’t pay enough tax throughout the year, either through withholding or by making estimated tax payments, you may have to pay a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax. Generally, most taxpayers will avoid this penalty if they owe less than $1,000 in tax after subtracting their withholdings and credits, or if they paid at least 90% of the tax for the current year, or 100% of the tax shown on the return for the prior year, whichever is smaller. There are special rules for farmers and fishermen. Please refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax, for additional information.

However, if your income is received unevenly during the year, you may be able to avoid or lower the penalty by annualizing your income and making unequal payments. Use Form 2210, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts (PDF) (or Form 2220, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Corporations), to see if you owe a penalty for underpaying your estimated tax. Please refer to the Form 1040 Instructions or Form 1120 Instructions (PDF), for where to report the estimated tax penalty on your return.

The penalty may also be waived if:

  • The failure to make estimated payments was caused by a casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance and it would be inequitable to impose the penalty, or
  • You retired (after reaching age 62) or became disabled during the tax year for which estimated payments were required to be made or in the preceding tax year, and the underpayment was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.

Expanded penalty waiver available if 2018 tax withholding and estimated tax payments fell short; refund available for those who already paid 2018 underpayment penalty

The IRS lowered to 80 percent the threshold required for certain taxpayers to qualify for estimated tax penalty relief if their federal income tax withholding and estimated tax payments fell short of their total tax liability in 2018. In general, taxpayers must pay at least 90 percent of their tax bill during the year to avoid an underpayment penalty when they file. Earlier this year, the IRS lowered the underpayment threshold to 85 percent and recently lowered it to 80 percent for tax year 2018.

This additional expanded penalty relief for tax year 2018 means that the IRS is waiving the estimated tax penalty for any taxpayer who paid at least 80 percent of their total tax liability during the year through federal income tax withholding, quarterly estimated tax payments or a combination of the two.

Taxpayers who have not filed yet should file electronically. The tax software was updated and uses the new underpayment threshold and will determine the amount of taxes owed and any penalties or waivers that apply. This penalty relief is also included in the revision of the instructions for Form 2210, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.

Taxpayers who have already filed their 2018 federal tax return but qualify for this expanded relief may claim a refund of any estimated tax penalty amount already paid or assessed. To claim the refund, they will file Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for Abatement. Taxpayers cannot file this form electronically. They should include the statement “80% waiver of estimated tax penalty” on line 7 of Form 843.


Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Website