IRS Advisory Committee to submit recommendations at June meeting


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2018-114, May 4, 2018

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service’s Advisory Committee on Tax Exempt and Government Entities (ACT) will hold a public meeting on June 7, 2018, when the panel will submit its annual report and recommendations to the IRS.

The ACT was established under the Federal Advisory Committee Act to provide an organized public forum for discussion of relevant issues affecting the tax exempt and government entities communities.

The ACT includes external stakeholders and representatives who deal with employee retirement plans, tax-exempt organizations, tax-exempt bonds and federal, state, local and Indian tribal governments. The committee advises the IRS on operational policy and procedural improvements.

At the public meeting, the ACT committee members will present their report that includes recommendations regarding:

  • The re-opening of the IRS Determination Letter Program
  • Missing participants in retirement plans
  • Incentivizing universal e-filing for Forms 990
  • Sharing of taxpayer information with tribal government tax programs
  • Encouraging self-compliance by issuers of tax-advantaged obligations/tax exempt bonds

The ACT’s public meeting will begin at 2 p.m. EST, June 7, 2018, at the IRS headquarters at 1111 Constitution Ave. NW, Washington, DC. The 2018 ACT report will be available on on the day of the meeting.

Due to limited seating and security requirements, members of the public interested in attending the meeting should email to confirm their attendance. Attendees must have photo identification and should arrive at least 30 minutes before the session begins.

ACT members continuing on the committee in 2018

  • Michael Engle, BKD, LLP non-profit committee
  •  Andrew Lipkin, Senior Tax Counsel for New York City
  • Jean Swift, Treasurer of the first Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Council