IRS Advisory Council issues 2021 Annual Report


IR-2021-227, November 17, 2021

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC) today issued its annual report for 2021PDF, including recommendations to the IRS on new and continuing issues in tax administration.

The IRSAC is a federal advisory committee that provides an organized public forum for discussion of relevant tax administration issues between IRS officials and representatives of the public. IRSAC members offer constructive observations regarding current or proposed IRS policies, programs and procedures.

The 2021 Public Report includes recommendations on 24 issues, which cover a broad range of topics including:

  • Adequate funding for the IRS
  • Implementation of Section 1302 of the Taxpayer First Act
  • Independent Office of Appeals
  • Reduction in electronic filing threshold for information return filers
  • Revisions to Circular 230
  • Postponing certain deadlines under Rev. Proc. 2018-58
  • Digital assets
  • Continuation of Rev. Proc. 94-69
  • The Compliance Effort Around Abusive Promoters and Preparers
  • Online IRS Guidance for Federal, State, and Local Governments
  • Improving the Taxpayer Experience with the Taxpayer Digital Communication

The IRSAC is administered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act by the Office of National Public Liaison, part of IRS Communications and Liaison, and draws its members from the taxpaying public, the tax professional community, representatives of the low-income community, small and large businesses, tax-exempt and government entities, the payroll industry and academia. Five subgroups report to the parent IRSAC:

  • Information Reporting,
  • Large Business & International,
  • Small Business/Self-Employed,
  • Tax Exempt/Government Entities and
  • Wage & Investment.

Commissioner Chuck Rettig and IRS executives thanked members of the council whose terms end this year:

  • Alexandra Cruz – Cruz served as Chair of the Information Reporting Subgroup
  • Ben Deneka – Deneka served as Chair of the IRSAC
  • Deborah Fox – Fox served on the Information Reporting Subgroup
  • April Goff – Goff served as Chair of the Tax Exempt/Government Entities Subgroup
  • Antonio Gonzalez – Gonzalez served on the Wage & Investment Subgroup
  • Martin Rule – Rule served on the Wage & Investment Subgroup
  • Dan Welytok – Welytok served on the Tax Exempt/Government Entities Subgroup
  • Mary Jo Werner – Werner served on the Small Business/Self-Employed Subgroup
  • Charles Yovino – Yovino served on the Tax Exempt/Government Entities Subgroup

The full 2021 IRSAC Public ReportPDF is available at