IRS Announces New Advisory Council Members April 2010


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2010-49, April 20, 2010

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service today announced the selection of seven new members to the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC), which provides an organized public forum for IRS officials and representatives of the public to discuss key tax administration issues.

“IRSAC members provide feedback and insight on a wide variety of issues related to providing sound tax administration,” said IRS Commissioner Doug Shulman.

Members are selected to represent the taxpaying public, tax professionals, small and large businesses, and the payroll community. The council provides the IRS commissioner and division leadership with important feedback, observations and suggestions.

IRSAC meets periodically and will submit a report to the agency in November 2010 at a public meeting. IRSAC members generally serve a three-year term with a possible one-year extension. The seven new participants will join 25 returning members in 2010.

The new members are:

Ann Esarco, Ph.D., CPA, EA, of Crystal Lake, Ill. Esarco owns AJE Associates, PC, and serves as a professor at McHenry County College. She partnered with McHenry County College and the Center for Economic Progress to form a VITA tax site and was awarded a grant from the Illinois Community College Board to design and implement a program that would award a Tax Practitioner Certificate to qualifying students.

Ernest Hicks, EA, IMA, of Anaheim, Calif. Hicks is President of Hicks and Hicks Enterprises. He specializes in preparing returns for corporations, partnerships, LLCs, and fiduciary returns and is a member of the National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA) and the California Society of Enrolled Agents.

Janice Lucchesi, CPA of Chicago. Lucchesi currently serves as Vice President of Tax for Akzo Nobel Inc. She is on Tax Executive Institute (TEI) Executive Committee and she also serves as a representative of the Chicago Chapter on TEI’s Board of Directors.

Ameek Ponda, JD, LLM, of Boston.  Ponda is a partner with the law firm of Sullivan & Worcester, LLP, and is also a member of the firm’s management committee.  He is an adjunct professor with the Boston University School of Law Graduate Tax Program.

Christopher Riley, CPA, of Decatur, Ill. Riley is a CPA and serves as Director, State Government Relations for Archer Daniels Midland Co.  He is a member of Tax Executive Institute (TEI) and previously served as Chair of its IRS Administrative Affairs Committee. 

Cyndi Trostin, JD, LLM, of Chicago. Trostin is a practicing attorney with Marvin H. Glick & Associates and serves as an adjunct professor at the John Marshall School of Law.  She teaches Tax Accounting in the LLM and MST programs and is on the Tax Advisory Board and is a faculty advisor for independent tax studies.

Deborah Walker, CPA, of Washington, DC.  Walker is a partner with Deloitte Tax LLP and specializes in numerous employee benefit and executive compensation issues, including but not limited to employment taxes and health and other welfare benefits plans. She also assists clients in resolving liabilities for unpaid taxes and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA).

The IRS also announced a new chairman of IRSAC.

Philip Tatarowicz , JD, LLM, of Washington, DC. Tatarowicz has been selected as the 2010 Chairman of IRSAC.  Tatarowicz is a partner with Ernst & Young and is its National Director of State and Local Tax Technical Services.  He is responsible for assisting the firm’s clients and offices worldwide in multi-state tax matters, coordinating the development and quality of its state and local tax practice.  He is an adjunct professor of Law at Georgetown University Law Center and is the Chair of the American Bar Association (ABA) Committee on State and Local Taxation.

For more information on IRSAC, please visit the relevant page on

Related Items:

Subscribe to IRS Newswire