IRS Names New Members to IRSAC


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2003-142, Dec. 23, 2003
(updated 1/9/04)

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service announced the selection of 10 new members for the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC). These appointees will join 11 returning members who are in the second year of a three-year term.

The council will hold its first meeting on Feb. 3 and 4, 2004. The following people have been appointed to serve on the council:

  • Judith A. Akin, EA of Oklahoma City, Okla, owner of Judith A. Akin, EA, Tax and Financial Services;
  • John M. Contreras of Fresno, Calif., senior tax manager with Deloitte & Touche, LLP.
  • John A. Glennie of Calgary, Alberta, Canada, general manager, Tax and Insurance for Shell Canada Limited.
  • Mary Harris of Little Rock, Ark., co-owner, Sirrah, Inc, d.b.a Jackson Hewitt Tax Services.
  • Richard M. Lipton of Kenilworth, Ill., tax counsel for Baker and McKenzie.
  • Kenneth C. Nirenberg of Austin, Texas, senior software developer for Intuit, Inc.
  • William F. Reilly, EA of Palo Cedro, Calif., owner of William F. Reilly, EA.
  • Gary Rohrs of Independence, Mo., president of A. Clyde Rohrs and Associates, Inc.
  • David A. Uhler of Santa Barbara, Calif., partner with Bartlett, Pringle and Wolf, LLP.
  • Thomas P. Wharton of New York, N.Y., vice president, taxation (Senior Tax Official) Pearson, Inc.

The IRSAC was established in 1953 and focuses on broad policy matters. The council’s purpose is to provide an organized public forum for IRS officials and representatives of the public to discuss relevant tax administration issues.

Subscribe to IRS Newswire