Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return


Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

Longest- and Shortest-Serving Commissioners of Internal Revenue

The office of Commissioner of Internal Revenue was created by an Act of Congress on July 1, 1862. The Commissioner is appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. With no set tenure, Commissioners served as long as they and the President chose. The IRS Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 amended Code section 7803 to set a five-year term of office. The first such term was applied to the Commissioner serving when this Act became law, Charles Rossotti, beginning with the date of his appointment. He served the full five years, from November 1997 to November 2002.

Not counting those who served as Acting Commissioner between permanent appointees, these Commissioners served the shortest times in office, less than one year:





Robert E. Hannegan 3 months, 14 days 10/9/1943 — 1/22/1944 
William Orton 4 months  7/1/1865 — 10/31/1865 
Alfred Pleasonton 7 months, 6 days  1/3/1871 — 8/8/1871
George S. Boutwell 7 months, 16 days  7/17/1862 — 3/4/1863 
Shirley D. Peterson  11 months, 18 days 2/3/1992 — 1/20/1993 


These Commissioners served the longest terms, five years or more:





Guy T. Helvering

10 years, 4 months 6/6/1933 — 10/8/1943
David H. Blair 8 years 5/27/1921 — 5/31/1929 
Joseph S. Miller 7 years, 7 months

3/20/1885 — 3/20/1889 and
4/19/1893 — 11/26/1896

Green B. Raum 6 years, 9 months 8/2/1876 — 4/30/1883
John W. Yerkes 6 years, 4 months 12/20/1900 — 4/30/1907
Roscoe L. Egger, Jr. 5 years, 1 month 3/14/1981 — 4/30/1986
Charles O. Rossotti 5 years 11/13/1997 — 11/12/2002