在國外取得個人納稅識別號碼

國稅局接受連同發證機關的文件正本或認證副本一起寄出的W-7表【個人納稅識別號碼申請表】(Application for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number),用以證明個人納稅識別號碼申請人的身份和外籍人士身份。申請人在美國時,也可和國稅局納稅人協助中心 (IRS Taxpayer Assistance Center)預約時間遞交W-7;若在美國或國外則可透過認證驗收代理人(Certified Acceptance Agent) 遞交。

W-7表的說明列出了可用來證明外籍人士身份和個人身份的13種文件。外國護照是唯一一種獨立文件(亦即同時確認外籍人士身份和個人身份)。如果提交護照,則不需要提交其他任何文件。如果沒有提交護照,必須連同個人納稅識別號碼申請書提交其他至少兩種文件,而且其中一種附有照片。如果正本的副本經過核發文件的政府機關(外國或本國)適當認證,國稅局可接受這些副本。

2015年12月18日通過立法的「保護美國人免受加稅法案」(Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes)的第203節包含會影響個人納稅識別號碼(ITIN)申請程序的條款。納稅人和其代表在申請ITIN前,應閱讀這些變更,另外在「常見問題」中也對這些變更提供進一歩的說明。

參考資料/相關主題

Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return

 

Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

Obtaining an ITIN from Abroad

The IRS accepts Form W-7, Application for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number by mail accompanied by ORIGINAL documents or certified copy of the document from the issuing agency to establish the identity and foreign status of the ITIN applicant. Applicants can also submit their W-7 by scheduling an appointment at an IRS Taxpayer Assistance Center while in the United States, or through a Certified Acceptance Agent either in the United States or abroad.

The Instructions for Form W-7 list 13 documents that can be used to prove foreign status and identity. A foreign passport is the only one that can stand alone (i.e., establishes both foreign status and identity). If a passport is submitted, there is no need to submit any other documents. If a passport is not submitted, a combination of at least two other documents, with at least one containing a photograph, must be submitted with the ITIN application. The IRS will accept copies of original documents, if the copies have been properly certified by the government agency (foreign or domestic) which issued the documents.

Section 203 of the Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes Act, enacted on December 18, 2015, included provisions that affect the Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) application process. Taxpayers and their representatives should review these changes, which are further explained in the Frequently Asked Questions, before requesting an ITIN.

 

References/Related Topics