稅法定義居民的稅務

應稅收入

稅法定義居民的收入課徵方式通常與美國公民相同。您必須在稅表上申報所有的利息,股息,工資,其他報酬,來自出租房產/權利金收入,以及其它類型的收入無論它們的來源是美國境內或境外。

稅率

美國稅法定義居民的課稅方式一般與美國公民相同。 這是指他們的全球範圍收入要繳美國稅,而且必須在美國稅表上申報。稅法定義居民的收入適用於美國公民的漸進稅率。稅法定義居民使用美國公民適用的稅率表和稅率期表,這些表格在1040和 1040-SR的說明 中。

報稅身份

美國稅法定義居民可以使用與美國公民相同的報稅身份。如果您在整個稅務年度均為稅法定義的居民,您可以申請美國公民可以獲得的扣除額。請參閱1040表, 1040-SR表(英文)及其1040和 1040-SR的說明 說明來獲得如何申請允許扣除額的更多資訊。

申報免稅額

對於2017年12月31日後開始的納稅年度,您不能為自己、配偶或被撫養人申請個人免稅額。 詳情請參閱501號刊物 ,免稅額、標準免稅額及報稅身份(英文)外籍人士 - 廢除個人免稅額(英文)的資料。

注意:您的配偶和每一個被撫養人必須要有社會安全號碼 (英文)或個人納稅識別號碼才能申報其為被撫養人。

扣除額

美國居民外籍人士可以使用1040表的附表A,申請與美國公民相同的逐項扣除。 這些扣除費用包括某些醫療和牙科費用,州和地方所得稅,房地產稅、房貸利息,慈善捐贈,災害和失竊損失。

如果您未列舉您的扣除項目,您可選用以標準扣除額。詳情請參閱1040表, 1040-SR表(英文)及其1040和 1040-SR的說明。

抵稅優惠

您可以像美國公民一樣來申報各項抵稅優惠和稅金付款,包括預扣稅。以下是幾項您可能可以申報的優惠: 兒童及被撫養人看護費用優惠,老年人或殘障人士優惠,兒童福利優惠,教育優惠,外國稅收優惠,低收入家庭福利優惠,和領養優惠。詳情請參閱1040表, 1040-SR表(英文)及其1040和 1040-SR的說明。

表格與截止日期

稅法定義居民可以選用 1040 表,【個人所得稅申報表】或者1040-SR 表,【老年人報稅表】(英文)申報所得稅,寄至申報表上的地址。稅表申報及繳納稅款截止日期是在稅務年度之後的報稅那一年的4月15日。如果4月15日您的居住地或生意(主要營業地)是美國境外和波多黎各,您的報稅截止日即可自動延長至6月15日。如果您在4月15日當天或之前提交4868表,自動延期申報美國個人所得稅報稅表 (英文),您的報稅截止日可以延後到10月15日。詳情請參閲相關稅表説明。

Taxation of U.S. Resident Aliens

Taxable Income

A U.S. resident alien's income is generally subject to tax in the same manner as a U.S. citizen. If you are a U.S. resident alien, you must report all interest, dividends, wages, or other compensation for services, income from rental property or royalties, and other types of income on your U.S. tax return. You must report these amounts whether they are earned within or outside the United States.

Tax 

U.S. resident aliens are generally taxed in the same way as U.S. citizens. This means that their worldwide income is subject to U.S. tax and must be reported on their U.S. tax return. Income of resident aliens is subject to the graduated tax rates that apply to U.S. citizens. Resident aliens use the Tax Table and Tax Rate Schedules which apply to U.S. citizens found in the Instructions for Form 1040 and Form 1040-SR.

Filing Status

U.S. resident aliens can use the same filing statuses available to U.S. citizens. You can claim the same deductions allowed to U.S. citizens if you are a resident alien for the entire tax year. You should refer to Form 1040, Form 1040-SR and the Instructions for Form 1040 and Form 1040-SR for more information on how to claim your allowable deductions.

Claiming Exemption

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2017 you cannot claim personal exemptions for yourself, your spouse or your dependents. See Publication 501, Dependents, Standard Deduction, and Filing Information and Aliens - Repeal of Personal Exemptions for more information.

Caution: Your spouse and each dependent must have either a Social Security Number or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number in order to be claimed as a dependent.

Deductions

U.S. resident aliens can claim the same itemized deductions as U.S. citizens, using Schedule A of Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR. These deductions include certain medical and dental expenses, state and local income taxes, real estate taxes, interest you paid on a home mortgage, charitable contributions, and casualty and theft losses.

If you do not itemize your deductions, you can claim the standard deduction for your particular filing status. For further information, see Form 1040,  Form 1040-SR and the Instructions for Form 1040 and Form 1040-SR.

Tax Credits

U.S. resident aliens generally claim tax credits and report tax payments, including withholding, using the same rules that apply to U.S. citizens. The following items are some of the credits you may be able to claim: child and dependent care credit, credit for the elderly and disabled, child tax credit, education credits, foreign tax credit, earned income credit, and adoption credit. For further information, see Form 1040,  Form 1040-SR and the Instructions for Form 1040 and Form 1040-SR.

Forms and Due Dates

U.S. resident aliens should file Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return or Seniors at the address shown in the instructions for those forms. Generally, the due date for filing the return and paying any tax due is April 15 of the year following the year for which you are filing a return. You are allowed an automatic extension to June 15 to file if your main place of business and the home you live in are outside the United States and Puerto Rico on April 15. You can get an automatic extension of time to file until October 15 by filing Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, on or before April 15 (June 15 if you qualify for the June 15 extension). See the instructions for the form you are filing for more information.