IRS Announces New Members for ETAAC


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2011-99, Oct. 11, 2011

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service today announced the selection of four new members and a chairman for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC).

ETAAC provides an organized forum for discussion of electronic tax administration issues and supports the goal of increasing electronic interactions between tax professionals and the IRS.

“ETAAC provides the IRS with valuable input regarding the development and implementation of effective electronic tax administration,” said David R. Williams, director, IRS Return Preparer Office. “The IRS is pleased with the continued support of the committee.”

The new members will replace the outgoing members whose terms have expired and will ensure continuity of the committee. The new members are:

Timothy Blevins of Mayetta, Kan., is a consultant with CGI’s Tax, Revenue, and Collections Center of Excellence. He is responsible for providing expertise to clients to enhance tax operations, developing the Medicaid Management System solution, and serving as technical solutions architect for the design of an integrated tax solution. Blevins has over 30 years of experience in the implementation, management and modernization efforts of government information technology solutions with the Kansas Department of Revenue: Division of Taxation and Division of Motor Vehicles.

Cyrus Daftary of Newton, Mass., is a partner with Burt, Staples & Maner, LLP where he is responsible for consulting with multi-national corporations and financial institutions on their compliance in the IRS tax withholding and information return reporting rules. Daftary assists clients in obtaining a Memoranda of Understanding from the IRS for the electronic W-8 software application. His experience includes developing and implementing tax software solutions for withholding and information return reporting, and authoring a three series treaty on E-Commerce.

Yasmine (Mimi) Nolan of Kansas City, Mo., is the director, Tax Forms Management with H&R Block. She develops tax software, validates tax calculation software, and tests tax law changes for regulatory accuracy. She is responsible for a team that monitors and analyzes changes to the federal and state income tax forms. Nolan has directed system, product design and implementation of digital tax preparation solutions. Her experience also includes electronic filing development, tax forms management, and quality assurance in systems development. Nolan is a member of National Association of Computerized Tax Processors.

Timur Taluy of Oxnard, Calif., is the chief executive officer of He is responsible for the development of the user interface, the secure external interface and tax intelligence platform. Taluy manages the development and enforcement of internal policies and controls regarding safeguarding and development of tax return data processing systems. He also oversees the process contributing to the accuracy of the final tax product. He is a member of Council for Electronic Revenue Communication Advancement.

Mark Steber of Sarasota, Fla., has been elected by the members to serve as Chairman of ETAAC for 2011-2012.  Steber is a CPA and the chief tax officer for Jackson-Hewitt Tax Service. He has over 25 years of experience in the tax industry and is responsible for the overall tax service delivery compliance. Steber establishes processes and procedures to ensure the accuracy of tax returns prepared in the Jackson Hewitt system and coordinates the monitoring of each office’s compliance. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Each June, the ETAAC submits a report to Congress reporting on the progress of the IRS’ electronic tax initiatives.  ETAAC was created in 1998 by the IRS Electronic Tax Administration as required by the IRS Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998.

Follow the IRS on New Media
Subscribe to IRS Newswire