Today's IRS Organization


Our organizational structure closely resembles the private sector model of organizing around customers with similar needs.

Specialized IRS units report directly to the Commissioner's office. The IRS Chief Counsel also reports to the Treasury General Counsel on certain matters.

  • Commissioner, Internal Revenue — Charles P. Rettig
  • Chief of Staff — Kevin Q. McIver
  • IRS Chief Counsel —  Michael J. Desmond
  • Taxpayer Advocate Service — Erin M. Collins, National Taxpayer Advocate
  • Appeals — Andy Keyso, Chief of Independent Office of Appeals
  • Communications and Liaison — Terry Lemons, Chief  

*Denotes acting assignment

The Deputy Commissioner reports directly to the Commissioner and oversees the four primary operating divisions and other service and enforcement functions:

  • Deputy Commissioner for Services and Enforcement — Sunita Lough
  • Wage and Investment Division — Ken Corbin, Commissioner
  • Large Business and International Division — Douglas O'Donnell, Commissioner
  • Small Business/Self Employed Division — Eric Hylton, Commissioner
  • Tax Exempt and Government Entities Division — Edward T. Killen*, Commissioner
  • Criminal Investigation — James C. Lee, Chief
  • Return Preparer Office — Carol Campbell, Director
  • Office of Professional Responsibility — Sharyn Fisk, Director 
  • Office of Online Services — Karen S. Howard, Director
  • Whistleblower Office — Lee Martin, Director

*Denotes acting assignment

The Deputy Commissioner reports directly to the Commissioner and oversees the integrated IRS support functions:

  • Deputy Commissioner for Operations Support — Jeff Tribiano
  • Chief Information Officer — Nancy Sieger*
  • Chief Facilities Management and Security Service — Richard Rodriguez
  • Chief Research and Analytics Officer — Barry Johnson*
  • Chief Diversity Officer — Valerie Gunter
  • Chief Human Capital Officer — Robin D. Bailey, Jr.
  • Chief Financial Officer — Ursula Gillis 
  • Chief Privacy Officer - Robert Choi
  • Chief Procurement Officer — Shanna Webbers
  • Chief Risk Officer — Thomas Brandt

*Denotes acting assignment

See the basic structure of today's IRS in this picture of the IRS Organization Chart PDF.

Get an overview of the four primary operating divisions and the other principal offices in the IRS organization.