外國學生和學者的納稅識別號碼 (TIN)

 

一般而言,外國人可以申請社會安全號碼(Social Security Number) (SSN)或個人報稅識別號碼(ITIN)用於稅務相關的文件。

一般而言,根據美國移民法特定情況持有可在美國就業的移民身分入境美國的外國人,有資格向社會安全局申請社會安全號碼(SSN)。

大部分持有F-1、J-1、M-1、Q-1和Q-2非移民身分的外國學生和學者有資格在美國就業,因此如果他們確實在美國就業,即有資格申請社會安全號碼。

沒有資格申請美國社會安全號碼或是不符合社會安全局關於社會安全號碼證明要求的外國人,如果具有W-7表說明所述需要申請個人納稅識別號碼的有效稅務理由,也許可以向國稅局申請個人納稅識別號碼(ITIN)。使用W-7表(Form W-7)(英文)或W-7SP表(Form W-7SP)(西班牙文)來申請個人納稅識別號碼。個人納稅識別號碼的詳情請參閱國稅局1915號刊物(Publication 1915)(PDF)。

參考資料/相關主題

Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return

 

Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

Taxpayer Identification Numbers (TIN’s) for Foreign Students and Scholars

Generally aliens may apply for either a Social Security Number (SSN) or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) for use on tax related documents.

Generally, aliens who enter the United States in an immigration status which allows them to be employed in the United States under specific circumstances under U.S. immigration law are eligible to apply for a Social Security Number (SSN ) from the Social Security Administration.

Most foreign students and scholars in F-1, J-1, M-1, Q-1, and Q-2 nonimmigrant status are eligible to be employed in the United States, and are therefore eligible to apply for an SSN if they are actually employed in the United States.

Aliens who are not eligible to apply for a U.S. social security number, or who do not meet the Social Security Administration's evidence requirements for an SSN, may apply for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers (ITIN) from the Internal Revenue Service if they have a valid tax reason for needing an ITIN, as explained in the Form W-7 instructions. Use Form W-7 (in English) or Form W-7SP (in Spanish) to apply for an ITIN.  Please refer to IRS Publication 1915 (PDF) for a more detailed explanation of ITINs.

References/Related Topics