Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return


Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

IRS extends Oct. 15 and other deadlines for more counties hit by Hurricanes Michael, Florence; Additional areas in Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia covered

IR-2018-202, October 15, 2018

Washington — After additional disaster declarations by FEMA, the IRS has added more counties that are eligible for individual and public assistance in areas of Florida and Georgia affected by Hurricane Michael. As the agency did throughout the weekend in advance of the Oct. 15 extension deadline, the IRS will be updating as any additional counties receive major disaster declaration designations from FEMA, either for individual or public assistance.

“Hurricane Michael was a devastating storm for people in many different areas. During this difficult time, hurricane victims should be completely focused on their families, their safety and rebuilding their lives,” IRS Commissioner Chuck Rettig said. “These people shouldn’t have the added stress of worrying about Monday’s tax deadline. The IRS is providing extensions of the Oct. 15 deadlines and expanding relief for taxpayers affected by the hurricane.”

Following FEMA declarations, the IRS has updated information on the Hurricane Michael page outlining additional counties now listed in Florida and Georgia for individual and public assistance.

In addition, the IRS has also extended these deadlines for additional Hurricane Florence victims covered under FEMA public assistance declarations. This includes taxpayers in a number of counties in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. Additional information is being added on these locations this afternoon on the Hurricane Florence page. Like Hurricane Michael, the IRS is offering relief to any major disaster declaration designated by FEMA as qualifying for individual or public assistance under Hurricane Florence.

Taxpayers in these areas receive the extensions automatically. For other victims, the IRS reminds taxpayers that they will work with people located outside these counties currently listed by FEMA. The help is also available to workers assisting with relief activities with a recognized government or philanthropic organization. Full details are available at IRS News Release 2018-199 and the Hurricane Michael page.