IRS Seeks Applications for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2012-44, April 6, 2012

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service is accepting nominations for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC). The deadline for submitting applications is May 24.

ETAAC was established as required by the Internal Revenue Service Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998. ETAAC serves as an organized public forum for the discussion of issues and the development of recommendations for improved electronic tax administration.

Nominations of qualified individuals may be made by letter and received from individuals or professional associations. A complete application package includes the nomination, ETAAC applicationPDF, a short statement of interest and a resume. The application should describe and document the proposed member’s qualifications, past and current affiliations and/or dealings in electronic tax administration. A notice published in the Federal Register dated April 4, 2012, contains more details about the ETAAC and the application process.

Members are approved by the Treasury Secretary to serve three-year terms, beginning in the fall of 2012. Members must pass an IRS tax compliance check and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) background investigation and may not be federally registered lobbyists.

Questions about the nomination process can be sent to

Follow the IRS on New Media
Subscribe to IRS Newswire