僱主身份號碼(EIN)是國稅局分配的九位號碼,用來確認僱主和沒有僱員的其他一些人的報稅帳號。國稅局用這個號碼確認必須提交不同企業稅表的僱主身份。僱主身份號碼使用者為僱主、獨資經營業主、股份公司、合夥公司、非營利社團、信託、死者遺產、政府機構、某些個人及其他企業實體。如果您已有僱主身份號碼而且您的企業組織形式或所有權發生變更,您需要申請新號碼。獲取更多資訊,請參閱您是否需要EIN和1635號刊物【瞭解您的EIN】(Publication 1635 (PDF), Understanding Your EIN)

僱主身份號碼的每日限制和安全性的增強

為確保公平、公正地對待所有納稅人,美國國稅局將EIN的核發限制為每天只為每個責任實體核發一個。該限制適用於線上、電話、傳真或郵寄提出的所有EIN申請。對於可能造成的不便,我們表示歉意。有關從 5月13日開始對EIN申請流程進行安全性增強的信息,請參閱IR-2019-58

申請EIN

如果您的在任何州或哥倫比亞特區均有合法居所、主要營業地點,或主要辦公室事處或代理機構, 或合法居住地(如果是個人)位於美國或美國領土內,您可以如下述方式申請EIN:
 

線上 – 網路是申請EIN的首選方式。線上申請EIN(online EIN application)營業時間為東部時間星期一至星期五上午7點到晚上10點。一旦在線上填妥申請表後,填寫的資訊即會由系統驗證,然後立即核發EIN號碼。線上申請的納稅人可在會話結束時,審阅、保存和列印他們的EIN分配通知。(得到授權的第三方被指定人將收到EIN;但是EIN分配通知將郵寄給申請人。)主要業務、辦公室、機構或法定居所(對於個人)位於美國或美國領土的所有實體,可採用線上申請。線上申請還未提供給於具有外國地址的商業實體。企業的主要執行人、一般合夥人、信託授予人、所有人、委託人等必須有有效的納稅識別號碼(社會安全號碼、EIN或ITIN),才能使用線上申請。在IRS.gov上搜尋EIN一詞,獲取更多資訊。

傳真 – 您可將填好的SS-4表【僱主身份號碼申請表】(Form SS-4 (PDF), Application for Employer Identification Number)並傳真給適當的傳真號碼(參見「在何處報稅」(SS-4表)("Where to File Your Taxes" (for Form SS-4)))使之得到處理。透過傳真申請的EIN,將在4個營業日內核發。Fax-TIN每星期7天,每天24小時營業。

郵寄 – 您也可將填好的透過填寫SS-4表並寄至SS-4表填寫說明(Form SS-4 Instructions)(PDF)所列的國稅局服務中心地址,參見「在何處報稅」(SS-4表)("Where to File Your Taxes" (for Form SS-4)). 為確保SS-4表包含所有規定的資訊。在您需要EIN提交報稅表或進行存款之前至少4或5週,寄出填妥的SS-4表。國稅局將在4-5週內分配並郵寄EIN給您。

國際EIN申請人

如果您沒有在任何州或哥倫比亞特區沒有法定居所、主要企業經營地點,的主要地點或主要辦公室或機構,或合法居住地(如果是個人)位於美國或美國領土內,您將是被視為國際申請人, 且而您只能可按以下方式申請EIN:

電話 – 若您是國際申請人且欲取得EIN,您可在(東部時間)星期一到星期五上午6點到晚上11點撥打267-941-1099(不是免費號碼)。 您必須得到授權收取EIN並回答SS-4表【僱主身份號碼申請表】(Form SS-4 (PDF), Application for Employer Identification Number)相關的問題。透過電話申請時,在聯繫國稅局之前填寫SS-4表會有幫助。國稅局代表將使用得自SS-4表的資訊,設立您的帳號並為您分配EIN。

傳真或郵寄 - 您可以通過如上所示的傳真或郵件方式申請。

Topic Number 755 - Employer Identification Number (EIN) – How to Apply

An employer identification number (EIN) is a nine-digit number assigned by the IRS. It's used to identify the tax accounts of employers and certain others who have no employees. The IRS uses the number to identify taxpayers who are required to file various business tax returns. EINs are used by employers, sole proprietors, corporations, partnerships, non-profit associations, trusts, estates of decedents, government agencies, certain individuals, and other business entities. If you already have an EIN and the organization or ownership of your business changes, you may need to apply for a new number. For more information, refer to Do You Need an EIN and Publication 1635.pdf, Understanding Your EIN.

Daily Limitation of an EIN and Security Enhancement

To ensure fair and equitable treatment for all taxpayers, the IRS limits EIN issuance to one per responsible party per day. This limitation is applicable to all requests for EINs whether online, by telephone, fax, or mail. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Please see IR-2019-58 for information about a security enhancement to the EIN application process starting on May 13.

Applying for an EIN

If your principal place of business, office or agency, or legal residence (in the case of an individual) is located in the United States or U.S. Territories, you may apply for an EIN as follows:

Online - The Internet is the preferred method to use when applying for an EIN. The online EIN application is available Monday - Friday, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Eastern time. Once the application is completed, the information is validated during the online session, and an EIN is issued immediately. Taxpayers who apply online can view, print, and save their EIN assignment notice at the end of the session (Authorized third party designees will receive the EIN; however, the EIN assignment notice will be mailed to the applicant.). The online application isn't available for entities with foreign addresses. The principal officer, general partner, grantor, owner, trustor, etc. must have a valid taxpayer identification number (SSN, EIN, or ITIN) in order to use the online application. Search the term EIN on IRS.gov for more information.

By Fax - You can fax the completed Form SS-4.pdf, Application for Employer Identification Number to the appropriate fax number (see "Where to File Your Taxes" (for Form SS-4)) for processing. You can receive your EIN by fax generally within 4 business days. You can apply by fax 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

By Mail - You can mail the completed Form SS-4 to the IRS service center address listed on the Form SS-4 Instructions or see "Where to File Your Taxes" (for Form SS-4). Ensure that the Form SS-4 contains all of the required information. Mail Form SS-4 at least 4 to 5 weeks before you need your EIN to file a return or make a deposit. You will receive your EIN in the mail in approximately 4 weeks.

International EIN Applicants

If you have no principal place of business, office or agency, or legal residence in the United States or U.S. Territories, you're considered an international applicant, and you can only apply for an EIN as follows:

By Telephone - If you're an international applicant, you may call 267-941-1099 (not a toll-free number) 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (Eastern time) Monday through Friday to obtain an EIN. You must be authorized to receive the EIN and answer questions concerning the Form SS-4.pdf, Application for Employer Identification Number. When applying by telephone, it's helpful to complete the Form SS-4 before contacting the IRS. An IRS representative will use the information from the Form SS-4 to establish your account and assign you an EIN.

By Fax or Mail - You can apply by fax or mail as indicated above.