IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

Today's IRS Organization

The IRS Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 prompted the most comprehensive reorganization and modernization of IRS in nearly half a century. The IRS reorganized itself to closely resemble the private sector model of organizing around customers with similar needs.  

To support its structure and ensure accountability, the IRS is divided into three commissioner-level organizations:


Specialized IRS units report directly to the Commissioner's office. The IRS Chief Counsel also reports to the Treasury General Counsel on certain matters.

  • Commissioner, Internal Revenue — John Koskinen
  • Chief of Staff — Crystal Philcox
  • IRS Chief Counsel — William J. Wilkins
  • Taxpayer Advocate Service — Nina E. Olson, National Taxpayer Advocate
  • Appeals — Kirsten Wielobob, Chief
  • Equity, Diversity and Inclusion — Elita Christiansen, Executive Director 
  • Research, Analysis and Statistics — Alain Dubois, Acting Director
  • Communications and Liaison — Terry Lemons, Chief
  • Office of Compliance Analytics — Justin Abold-LaBreche, Acting Director  

Deputy Commissioner for Services and Enforcement

The Deputy Commissioner reports directly to the Commissioner and oversees the four primary operating divisions and other service and enforcement functions:    

  • Deputy Commissioner for Services and Enforcement — John Dalrymple
  • Wage and Investment Division — Debra Holland, Commissioner
  • Large Business and International Division — Douglas O'Donnell, Commissioner
  • Small Business/Self Employed Division — Mary Beth Murphy, Commissioner
  • Tax Exempt and Government Entities Division — Sunita B. Lough, Commissioner
  • Criminal Investigation — Richard Weber, Chief
  • Return Preparer Office — Carol Campbell, Director
  • Office of Professional Responsibility — Stephen A. Whitlock, Director 
  • Office of Online Services — Paul Mamo, Director
  • Whistleblower Office — Lee Martin, Director

Deputy Commissioner for Operations Support

The Deputy Commissioner reports directly to the Commissioner and oversees the integrated IRS support functions:

  • Deputy Commissioner for Operations Support — Jeff Tribiano
  • Chief Information Officer — Gina Garza
  • Agency-Wide Shared Services — Kevin McIver, Chief
  • Human Capital Officer — Daniel Riordan
  • Chief Financial Officer — Ursula Gillis 
  • Privacy, Governmental Liaison and Disclosure — Edward Killen, Director
  • Office of Planning, Programming and Audit Coordination — Tommy Smith, Chief
  • Office of Procurement — Shanna Webbers, Chief 
  • Chief Risk Officer — Imraan Khakoo, Acting

Organization Chart

See the basic structure of today's IRS in this picture of the IRS Organization Chart

At-a-Glance: IRS Divisions and Principal Offices

Get an overview of the four primary operating divisions and the other principal offices in the IRS organization.

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 30-Sep-2016