Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return


Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

Digital Certificates

Digital certificates bind digital information to physical identities and provide non-repudiation and data integrity. Before you begin the IDES enrollment process, each entity should obtain one valid digital certificate issued by an approved certificate authority (CA). IDES stores your public key and related digital certificate.  IDES only recognizes and accepts digital certificates issued by IRS approved certificate authorities, listed below.

IRS Public Key

The IRS Public Key is a certificate that can be downloaded from the IDES Enrollment site. The public certificate should be included in the FATCA data packet (transmission archive) to the IRS.

Note: The public/private key pairs used for encryption for FATCA filings have an expiration date. The IRS Public Key for FATCA filing will expire soon. The IRS has a new key and will replace the existing key on November 30, 2018. After November 30, you will need to download the new IRS Public Key from IDES to file your FATCA Reports.

Certificate File Format

Supported formats for the digital certificate are:

  • Distinguished Encoding Rules (DER) binary X.509
  • Privacy Enhanced eMail (PEM) ASCII (Base-64) encoded X.509

IDES will convert digital certificates received in DER format to Base64 for storage and retrieval.

Certificate Authority Type of Certificate
Comodo EV SSL


Standard SSL



Standard SSL

EV Multi-Domain SSL

Go Daddy EV SSL


Organization SSL

Extended SSL


Standard Server SSL

FATCA Organization Certificate