大麻行業常見問題

我的企業是一個大麻店, 我的經營符合現居住地州法律。 聯邦政府認為這是一項非法活動。 我是否有與其他任何企業一樣的所得稅和就業稅申義務?

是的, 任何來源的收入都要納稅。 國稅法規第61(a)條。 最高法院長期以來一直認為, 來自非法來源的收入是應課稅的, 且不能免稅。 James v. United States, 366 U.S. 213, 218 (1961)。 最近,聯邦法院一直支持國稅局的裁定, 即認為符合州規定的大麻店有應稅收入。 例如, Olive v. Commissioner,792 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2015); Feinberg v. Commissioner, 916 F.3d 1330 (10th Cir. 2019); Beck v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2015-149。 同樣的, 非法企業也不能免除其就業稅義務。

如果我無法全額支付欠款,我有什麼負擔得起的付款計劃嗎?

如果您無法全額支付欠款, 則您可能有資格使用多種選擇之一,以幫助納稅人隨著時間的推移支付其餘額或暫時延遲追討,直到您的財務狀況有所改善。有關詳細資訊, 請查看以下連結:

付款計劃 – 通過申請付款計劃來按月分期履行您的納稅人義務。大多數納稅人都有資格在線申請付款計劃。

暫緩追討程序 - 如果您無法支付任何稅款,則可以要求IRS暫時延遲收款,直到您的財務狀況有所改善。

如果在稅務審計期間出現調整,大麻行業的參與者可能會受到哪些罰款或附加稅?

大麻行業的參與者與其他任何企業一樣,將受到相同的罰款和附加稅。可能適用的處罰和補充稅的非詳盡清單包括:如果遲交申報表或延遲付款,則根據第6651條規定的附加稅;如果未支付足夠的预估稅款,則有预估稅的罰款;與準確性相關的處罰;如有欺詐行為,將受到第6663條規定的處罰。通常請參見Alternative Health Care Advocates v. Commissioner, 151 T.C. 225 (2018)

如果審計結束時, 國稅局提議對大麻行業的參與者進行調整, 是否會根據第6662條提出處罰?

將根據具體情況考慮處罰。 對大麻行業的參與者未能保持足夠的帳簿和記錄, 稅務法庭之前已經支持了第6662條規定的過失處罰。 見 Olive v. Commissioner, 139 T.C. 19 (2012), aff'd, 792 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2015)。 稅務法院最近維持了第6662條的處罰, 上訴人在他們的申報表上有重大的收入遺漏, 當時上訴人沒有證明有合理的理由。 Alternative Health Care Advocates v. Commissioner, 151 T.C. 225 (2018); Richmond Patients Group v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2020-52.

我經營的業務包括銷售大麻。我可以申報扣除以確定我的應稅收入嗎?

國稅法規第280E條規定, 非法銷售販運聯邦管制物品法指定的附表I或II的受控物質的企業不得扣減任何與業務有關的費用或稅收抵免。這適用於銷售大麻的企業, 即使它們是在大麻銷售合法化的州經營, 因為根據聯邦管制物品法, 販運大麻仍然是非法的。 United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers' Co-op., 532 U.S. 483 (2001). 因此, 第280E條不允許銷售或以其他方式販運大麻的企業進行任何扣除或抵免。 N. California Small Bus. Assistants Inc. v. Commissioner, 153 T.C. 65 (2019).

然而, 第280E條並不禁止大麻行業的參與者通過其適當計算的商品銷貨成本來確定其總收入。國稅局的立場是,受第280E條影響的納稅人必鬚根據國稅法第471條和相關的財政部財務條例來計算其銷貨成本。通常,這意味著出售大麻的納稅人可能會通過購買或生產出售的大麻的成本來減少其總收入,而這些成本將取決於企業的性質。有關更多詳細信息,請參閱首席法律顧問建議201504011(英文) PDF (2015年1月23日發行)。

因此,大麻店不得扣除例如廣告或銷售費用。但是,根據國稅法規第471條的規定,它可以通過計算產品成本費用來減少其總收入。

對於超過10,000美元的現金支付, 關於稅務資料申報表, 我需要做什麼?

行業或企業,包括大麻相關企業,必須遵守IRC § 6050I和該所屬條例。這些企業必須在單筆交易和/或相關交易中報告超過10,000美元現金收入。

該企業還必須:

• 制定合理的政策和程序,以根據需要識別和報告現金收入

• 在他們的政策和程序中包括獲取和核實某些客戶信息的要求,以確保報告中包含的信息準確和完整。

保留提交的表格副本,為期五年。根據業務類型的不同, 可能存在其他關於某些文件必須保留多長時間的監管要求。

有關更多信息,請訪問關於1544號刊物, 報告超過10,000美元現金付款(英文)

Marijuana Industry Frequently Asked Questions

My business is a marijuana dispensary that I operate in compliance with my state's laws. The federal government considers this an illegal activity. Do I have the same income and employment tax filing obligations as any other business?

Yes. Income from any source is taxable. Internal Revenue Code § 61(a). The Supreme Court has long held that income from illegal sources is taxable and is not exempt from taxation. James v. United States, 366 U.S. 213, 218 (1961). More recently, federal courts have consistently upheld Internal Revenue Service determinations that state compliant marijuana dispensaries have taxable income. E.g., Olive v. Commissioner, 792 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2015); Feinberg v. Commissioner, 916 F.3d 1330 (10th Cir. 2019); Beck v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2015-149. Similarly, illegal businesses have no exemption from their employment tax obligations.

If I can't fully pay the amount I owe, are payment plans available that I can afford?

If you can't pay the amount you owe in full, you may qualify for one of several options available to help taxpayers pay their balance over time or to temporarily delay collection until your financial situation improves. Visit the following links for more information about:

  • Payment Plans - To meet your taxpayer obligation in monthly installments by applying for a payment plan. Most taxpayers will qualify to apply for a payment plan online.
  • Temporary Delays of Collection - If you cannot pay any of your tax debt, you can request the IRS temporarily delay collection until your financial situation improves.

What penalties or additions to tax could a participant in the marijuana industry be subject to if adjustments are made during an income tax audit?

A participant in the marijuana industry is subject to the same penalties and additions to tax as any other business. A non-exhaustive list of penalties and additions to tax that might apply include: additions to tax under 6651 if a return is filed late or payments are made late; a penalty for failure to make estimated tax payments if sufficient estimated tax payments are not made; accuracy related penalties; and, in cases of fraud, penalties under section 6663. See generally Alternative Health Care Advocates v. Commissioner, 151 T.C. 225 (2018).

Will penalties under section 6662 be proposed if an audit ends with the IRS proposing adjustments for a participant in the marijuana industry?

Penalties will be considered on a case by case basis. The Tax Court has previously upheld a negligence penalty under section 6662 where a participant in the marijuana industry failed to keep adequate books and records. See Olive v. Commissioner, 139 T.C. 19 (2012), aff'd, 792 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2015). The Tax Court more recently upheld section 6662 penalties when petitioners did not prove they had reasonable cause for significant omissions of income on their returns. Alternative Health Care Advocates v. Commissioner, 151 T.C. 225 (2018); Richmond Patients Group v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2020-52.

I operate a business that consists of selling marijuana. Can I claim deductions to determine my taxable income?

Internal Revenue Code section 280E disallows all deductions or credits for any amount paid or incurred in carrying on any trade businesses that consist of illegally trafficking in a Schedule I or II controlled substance within the meaning of the federal Controlled Substances Act. This applies to businesses that sell marijuana, even if they operate in states that have legalized the sale of marijuana, because trafficking marijuana remains illegal under the federal Controlled Substances Act. United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers' Co-op., 532 U.S. 483 (2001). Accordingly, section 280E disallows all deductions or credits for a business that sells or otherwise traffics marijuana. N. California Small Bus. Assistants Inc. v. Commissioner, 153 T.C. 65 (2019).

Section 280E does not, however, prohibit a participant in the marijuana industry from reducing its gross receipts by its properly calculated cost of goods sold to determine its gross income. The Internal Revenue Service takes the position that section 280E-affected taxpayers must calculate their cost of goods sold pursuant to Internal Revenue Code section 471 and the associated Treasury Regulations. Generally, this means taxpayers who sell marijuana may reduce their gross receipts by the cost of acquiring or producing marijuana that they sell, and those costs will depend on the nature of the business. For more detail, see Chief Counsel Advice 201504011 PDF (released 1/23/2015).

Accordingly, a marijuana dispensary may not deduct, for example, advertising or selling expenses. It may, however, reduce its gross receipts by its cost of goods sold, as calculated pursuant to Internal Revenue Code section 471.

What do I need to do for cash payments over $10,000 concerning information returns?

Trades or Business, including marijuana related businesses, must comply with IRC § 6050I and the regulations thereunder. These businesses must report cash receipts greater than $10,000, in a single transaction and/or related transactions.

The business(es) must also:

  • Develop policies and procedures reasonably designed to identify and report cash receipts as required.
  • Include in their policies and procedures the requirement to obtain and verify certain customer information to ensure the information included on the report is accurate and complete.
  • Retain copies of forms filed for a period of five years. Depending on the type of business, other regulatory requirements may exist regarding how long certain documents must be retained.

More information can be found at About Publication 1544, Reporting Cash Payments of Over $10,000.