因法定例外情况而减免的罚款

 税法可能对惩罚提供了例外情况。具体的法定例外情况可以在与处罚有关的《国税法规》(IRC)(英文)章节中找到。 

国税局提供的不正确的书面建议

如果您从国税局收到了不正确的书面建议,您可能有资格获得法定例外。如果您觉得您是由于从国税局收到错误的书面建议而被评定为罚款的話,在要求减免罚款時可能需要提供以下几项:

  • 您的书面咨询请求。
  • 由国税局提供给您的、您所依赖的错误的书面建议。
  • 确定罚款或加税的税务调整的报告(如果有的话),以及与错误建议有关的项目。

总的来说,应该提交843表,退税索求和减免申请 (英文),以申请基于国税局错误的书面建议的罚款减免。然而,您可以拨打您收到的通知上提供的免费电话,以确定罚款是否正确。如果罚款是正确的,我们可能会要求您邮寄843表和任何证明文件。

是否可以利息减免?

罚款的利息将随该罚款被减少或取消而被减少或取消。如果您的账户上仍有未支付的余额,利息将继续累积,直到账户被全额付清。更多的利息信息,请参见我们的利息概述页面。 

相关主题

IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

Penalty Relief Due to Statutory Exception

Tax legislation may provide an exception to a penalty. Specific statutory exceptions can be found in the penalty-related Internal Revenue Code (IRC) sections.

Incorrect Written Advice from IRS

If you received incorrect written advice from the IRS, you may qualify for a statutory exception. If you feel you were assessed a penalty as the result of erroneous written advice you received from IRS, the following items may be needed when requesting penalty relief:

  • Your written request for advice.
  • The erroneous written advice you relied on that was furnished to you by the IRS.
  • The report, if any, of tax adjustments identifying the penalty or addition to tax, and the item(s) relating to the erroneous advice.

Generally, Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for Abatement should be filed to request penalty relief based on incorrect written advice from IRS. However, you can call the toll-free number provided on the notice you received to determine if the penalty is correct. If the penalty is correct, we may ask you to mail Form 843 and any supporting documentation.

Is Interest Relief Available?

Interest charged on a penalty will be reduced or removed when that penalty is reduced or removed. If an unpaid balance remains on your account, interest will continue to accrue until the account is full paid. See our Interest Overview page for additional interest information.


Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Website

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 14-Oct-2016