加快發展數位通訊,以解決大流行病的挑戰並改善納稅人體驗

People holding the American flag

仔細瞭解我們高度優先的納稅人數位通訊(TDC)計畫如何透過數位管道加強與納稅人的溝通。

瞭解國稅局、其工作人員和影響納稅人的問題


Words with "Digitization" on the left with hand at laptop behind "IRS"

作者:De Lon Harris
CL-21-22,2021年7月16日

多年來我們對改善納稅人體驗的承諾涉及許多方法。甚至在疫情之前我們就已經走上了創新業務流程的道路以便讓民眾對國稅局的接觸和納稅義務的履行更加容易。在我的組織中,我們這樣做的方式之一是透過一個高度優先的納稅人數位通訊(TDC倡議,透過數位管道加強與納稅人的溝通。

雖然這項工作已進行了一段時間,但去年COVID-19疫情的發生促使我們加速發展數位通訊,這不僅是為了改善客戶服務,也是為了幫助解決因疫情相關的辦公室強制關閉而導致的工作限制。

我們的納稅人數位通訊舉措包括安全信差、文字聊天功能和對外發送通知,這極大地使我們能夠在這艱鉅挑戰的時期支援納稅人。我想讓您仔細看看這些已經幫助許多人的激勵性變化。

安全信差服務

安全信差是一個完全基於網路的系統,適用於國稅局雇員和國稅局助理,以及納稅人及其代表。它允許國稅局和納稅人透過一個安全的入口網站分享資訊和支援文件、減少撥打電話和郵寄文件的需要,並可幫助減少解決帳務問題的時間。

安全信差服務首先在小企業和自營職業者(SB/SE)部門的信函審查業務中進行了試點計畫。然後,在2020年初,國稅局開始擴大安全信差服務,以確保SB/SE,大型和國際企業(LB&I),以及上訴組織有某種形式的安全信差服務。在國稅局,我們已加速實踐該努力,因為我們發現許多納稅人和國稅局員工在疫情期間無法使用傳統的程序和作法來正常地進行稅收管理業務。

安全信差的好處之一是,它允許國稅局助理上傳大小為1GB的特大文件。到目前為止,超過21,000名納稅人已成功註冊,並利用這項服務。透過相關改進,我們看到數位通訊有助於更快地解決稽核問題、提高納稅人滿意度。在我們的客戶滿意度調查中,總體滿意度超過83%。此方法還為納稅人提供了一種便捷的方式,即使用其喜歡的溝通管道,在符合其排程的時間內遵守稅法。

此外,我們還在我們的辦公室稽核和自動少報者(AUR)計畫中小規模地部署了安全信差。AUR計畫將資訊報表(表格1099、W-2等)與個人報稅表上的資料進行比對,並有可能於此後提出評估報告。我們正在研究該項功能可以改善營運和客戶參與的其他領域,包括我們的現場徵收和現場檢查等組織架構。

聊天

文字聊天允許國稅局向納稅人提供即時聊天協助,並使協助人員能夠交換文字資訊、文件、網頁和其他資訊,以主動和被動地解決納稅人的疑問。

我們的自動徵收系統(ACS)每年收到數百萬個關於徵收通知的電話。為了更好地服務於納稅人,提高對客戶的服務水準,2017年11月在紐約的布魯克海文校區首次部署了名為ACS Chat的輔助文字聊天功能。信件5972C,自動徵收系統文字聊天,是在試點專案期間開發的,其旨在鼓勵納稅人透過現有的自助和線上資源來解決通知問題。我們在IRS.gov上增加了一個聊天按鈕來回答納稅人的問題,然後在支付頁面和某些線上支付協定(OPA)錯誤頁面上增加了文字聊天按鈕,以幫助納稅人解決遭拒絕的協議。

2018年10月,在第16封信《請就您的逾期稅款給我們撥打電話》和第24封信《我們已收到您的付款建議》中增加了聊天按鈕。2019年3月,主動聊天功能被實作在「關於付款計畫的附加說明」網頁。主動聊天是一個彈出式文字聊天機器人,當納稅人在網頁上停留30秒時就會顯示,但只有在有即時協助人員時才會顯示。認證聊天於2019年6月推出,以處理OPA問題,並在2020年6月提供了納稅人上傳附件的能力。而且,為了繼續努力用客戶最熟悉的語言與其溝通,2019年8月,我們還增加了西班牙語的支援服務。

目前,所有19個呼叫點的SB/SE員工都在使用ACS聊天系統。該項功能正在發揮作用。自2017年推出以來,已有超過954,000個聊天會話,其中82%涉及支付,15%涉及OPA主題。ACS聊天的平均處理時間在6分鐘到23分鐘左右,平均等待時間為35秒。而我們的客戶滿意度為4.1分(滿分5分)。

納稅人數位通訊-出境通知(TDC-ON)

納稅人數位通訊-外發通知,或我們稱之為TDC-ON,是一個基於網路的應用程式,使個人納稅人能夠透過線上帳戶(OLA)應用程式獲得特定的IRS通知。納稅人可註冊一個線上帳戶,以便能夠獲得通知,以及查看帳戶餘額和進行 支付 (英文)PDF。該項工具增加了線上帳戶的功能,並將減少需要郵寄通知的數量和各該郵寄的相關費用。該應用程式與現有的OLA網路應用基礎設施整合,並利用相同的IRS電子認證平臺。

我們的納稅人數位通訊舉措包括安全信差、文字聊天功能和對外發送通知,這極大地使我們能夠在這艱鉅挑戰的時期支援納稅人。

我們的專業團隊努力工作,在去年11月發佈了通知,涵蓋了近四分之一的年度通知量。這使納稅人能在其線上帳戶中導覽至其資訊中心,並以符合508標準的PDF格式查看國稅局的各種官方通知,還可以使用單點登錄功能進行下載和排序。他們還可以從資訊中心直接導覽至IRS.gov線上支付選項和工具。第二版本於2021年6月部署,提供了對另外五種通知類型的訪問,使得總共有11個新的通知可於線上使用。

因此,以下通知現在可以透過納稅人的線上帳戶獲得:

  • CP-21A - 重新計算 - 應付餘額
  • CP-60 - 我們從您的帳戶中刪除了付款 - 應付餘額
  • CP-14I - 已提交的申報表 - 應付IRA稅款或罰金
  • CP-521 - 每月分期付款協議付款提醒(SB/SE通知)
  • CP-01A - 我們為您分配了一個身分保護個人識別號碼(IP PIN
  • CP-62 - 我們為您的帳戶充值
  • CP-14 - 應付餘額
  • CP-49 - 退款抵銷(SB/SE通知)
  • CP-39 - 多付的稅款已套用 - 應付餘額
  • CP-14H - 拖欠最低基本醫療保險付款(共同責任付款)。
  • Cp-501 - 餘額到期 - 首次通知

今年秋天,我們將部署更多的改進措施。納稅人將可使用其線上帳戶,選擇退出透過USPS接收特定的紙本通知、選擇加入透過USPS接收特定的紙本通知、(當新的通知被新增到線上帳戶時)註冊接收電子郵件通知,並在通知和信件頁面報告錯誤的通訊。

而且我們還沒有就此打住。我致力於與納稅人和稅務專業人士合作,不斷尋求可以創新和改進的領域。我們將繼續確定部署更多的通知,我們的團隊也將繼續規劃更多的功能。為了我們的員工和納稅人,我們有責任使這類程序不那麼複雜和快速。我對這一創新感到興奮,並期待著找到更多的方法來改善每個納稅人的體驗。

De Lon Harris
專員,SB/SE考試

Photo of De Lon Harris, Commissioner, SB/SE Examination

關於作者

De Lon Harris是小企業/自營職業者(SB/SE)審查專員,他在設計、開發和交付綜合稅收管理計畫方面提供行政領導和指導,以滿足5700多萬小企業主和資產少於1000萬美元的自營職業者的需求。他提供業務計畫支持,負責許多特殊項目的專業知識和指導。校園考試/自動申報器(AUR)、現場考試、專業考試、總部考試和考試成績與規劃分析。他還負責監督促進者調查辦公室,為國稅局分析和識別濫用稅收交易、稅收計畫和新出現的濫用計畫的所有工作提供支援和協調。

 

查看您的帳戶資訊

仔細瞭解

閱讀我們所有(英文)與納稅人及稅務界有關的即時議題

訂閱

國稅局在各種稅務主題上提供了數個電子報訂閱。訂閱(英文)以在發佈新內容時收到電子郵件通知。

Accelerating Digital Communications to Solve Pandemic Challenges and Improve the Taxpayer Experience

People holding the American flag

Get a closer look at how our high-priority Taxpayer Digital Communication (TDC) initiative is enhancing communications with taxpayers through digital channels.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


Words with "Digitization" on the left with hand at laptop behind "IRS"

By De Lon Harris
CL-21-22, July 16, 2021

Our commitment to improve the taxpayer experience over the years has involved many approaches. Even prior to the pandemic, we were on a path to innovate our business processes to make engaging with the IRS and fulfilling tax obligations easier. One of the ways we’re doing that in my organization is through a high-priority Taxpayer Digital Communication (TDC) initiative to enhance communications with taxpayers through digital channels.

While this effort had been underway for a while, the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic last year required us to accelerate the development of our digital communication presence, not only as a customer service improvement, but also as a way to help address work limitations due to the pandemic-related mandatory office closures.

Our Taxpayer Digital Communication initiatives include secure messaging, a text chat function and outbound notifications that have greatly enabled us to support taxpayers during these often challenging times. I’d like to give you a closer look at these exciting changes that have already helped many people.

Secure Messaging

Secure Messaging is a completely web-based system for IRS employees and IRS Assistors, as well as taxpayers and their representatives. It allows the IRS and the taxpayer to share messages and supporting documents through a secure portal, reducing the need for phone calls and mailing documents, and decreasing the time to resolve accounts.

Secure Messaging was first piloted in the Small Business and Self-Employed (SB/SE) Division’s Correspondence Examination operations. Then, in early 2020, the IRS initiated the expansion of Secure Messaging to ensure that the SB/SE, Large Business & International (LB&I), and Appeals organizations had some form of secure messaging. These efforts were accelerated as we found that many taxpayers and IRS employees were unable to conduct normal tax administration business using traditional processes and practices during the pandemic.

One of the benefits of Secure Messaging is that it allows IRS Assistors to upload large files up to 1GB in size. To date, over 21,000 taxpayers have successfully signed up to take advantage of this service. With these improvements, we’ve seen digital communication help resolve audits quicker and improve taxpayer satisfaction, with an overall satisfaction rate of over 83% on our customer satisfaction surveys. This approach also provides taxpayers with a convenient way to comply with tax laws using a communication channel they prefer and at a time that works with their schedule.

We have also deployed Secure Messaging on a smaller scale in our office audit and Automated Underreporter (AUR) programs. The AUR program matches information returns (Forms 1099, W-2s, etc.) against data reported on individual tax returns, and may also generate proposed assessments. We are looking at other areas where this feature can improve operations and customer engagement, including in our Field Collection and Field Examination organizations.

Chat

Text Chat allows the IRS to offer real-time chat assistance to taxpayers and enables assistors to exchange text messages, files, webpages, and other information to address taxpayer queries, both proactively and reactively.

Our Automated Collection System (ACS) receives millions of calls annually about Collection notices. To better serve taxpayers and improve the level of service to customers, assisted text chat, called ACS Chat, was first deployed in November 2017 at the Brookhaven Campus in New York. Letter 5972C, Automated Collection System Text Chat, was developed during the pilot program to encourage taxpayers to resolve notice issues by using the available self-help and online resources. We added a chat button to IRS.gov to respond to taxpayer questions, and then added text chat buttons to the payments page and to certain Online Payment Agreement (OPA) error pages to help taxpayers resolve rejected agreements.

In October 2018, additional chat buttons were added to Letter 16, Please Call Us About Your Overdue Taxes, and Letter 24, We've Received Your Payment Proposal. In March 2019, a proactive chat was implemented on the “Additional Instructions on Payment Plans” webpage. Proactive chat is a pop-up text chat bot that displays when a taxpayer has been on a webpage for 30 seconds, but only if there is a live assistor available. Authenticated chat was launched in June 2019 to handle OPA questions, and the ability for taxpayers to upload attachments was made available in June 2020. And, in our continuing efforts to communicate with customers in a language they are most comfortable with, in August 2019, Spanish language support was also added.

ACS Chat is currently being used by SB/SE employees at all 19 call sites. And this function is making a difference. Since it was launched in 2017, there have been over 954,000 chat sessions, with 82% covering payments and 15% addressing OPA topics. The average ACS Chat handle time is between six minutes and about 23 minutes with an average wait time of 35 seconds. And our customer satisfaction rate is 4.1 out of 5.

Taxpayer Digital Communication – Outbound Notification (TDC-ON)

Taxpayer Digital Communication – Outbound Notification, or TDC-ON as we call it, is a web-based application that gives individual taxpayers access to specific IRS notifications through the Online Account (OLA) application. Taxpayers can register for an Online Account to be able to access notifications, as well as view account balances and make payments PDF. This tool increases Online Account functionality and will reduce the volume of notices that need to be mailed and the associated costs for those mailings. The application integrates with the existing OLA web application infrastructure and leverages the same IRS e-authentication platform.

Our Taxpayer Digital Communication initiatives include secure messaging, a text chat function and outbound notifications that have greatly enabled us to support taxpayers during these often challenging times.

Our dedicated team worked hard to issue the release of notices last November, covering nearly one quarter of the annual notice volume. This enabled taxpayers to navigate to their Message Center within their Online Account and view various official IRS notices in a 508-compliant PDF format that can also be downloaded and sorted using a single sign-on capability. They can also navigate directly to IRS.gov online payment options and tools from within the Message Center. A second release was deployed in June 2021 that provided access to an additional five notice types, making 11 total new notices available online.

As a result, the following notices are now available through taxpayers’ Online Accounts:

  • CP-21A – Recalculation – Balance Due
  • CP-60 – We Removed Payments from Your Account – Balance Due
  • CP-14I – Return Filed – IRA Taxes or Penalties Due
  • CP-521 – Monthly Installment Agreement Payment Reminder (SB/SE Notice)
  • CP-01A – We Assigned You an Identity Protection Personal Identification Number (IP PIN)
  • CP-62 – We Credited Your Account
  • CP-14 – Balance Due
  • CP-49 – Refund Offset (SB/SE Notice)
  • CP-39 – Overpaid Taxes Applied – Balance Due
  • CP-14H – Owed Minimum Essential Health Coverage Payment (Shared Responsibility Payment)
  • CP-501 – Balance Due-First Notice

This fall, we’ll deploy even more enhancements. Using their Online Account, taxpayers will be able to opt-Out of receiving select paper-based notices via USPS, opt-In to receiving select paper-based notices via USPS, sign up to receive Email Notifications when a new notice has been added to Online Account, and report Erroneous Correspondence within the Notices and Letters page.

And we’re not done yet. I’m committed to working with taxpayers and tax professionals to continuously seek out areas for innovation and improvement. We will continue to identify additional notices for deployment, and our team will continue planning for additional capabilities. We owe it to our employees and taxpayers to make these kinds of processes less complicated and quicker. I’m excited about this innovation and look forward to finding more ways to improve the taxpayer experience for everyone.

De Lon Harris
Commissioner, SB/SE Examination

Photo of De Lon Harris, Commissioner, SB/SE Examination

About the Author

De Lon Harris is the Commissioner, Small Business/Self Employed (SB/SE) Examination where he provides executive leadership and direction in the design, development and delivery of a comprehensive tax administration program to meet the needs of over 57 million small business owners and self-employed taxpayers with business interests having less than $10 million of assets. He provides Operational program support responsible for expertise and direction of many special projects: Campus Exam/Automated Underreporter (AUR), Field Exam, Specialty Exam, Headquarters Exam and Exam Performance & Planning Analysis. He also oversees the Office of Promoter Investigations that provides support and coordination for all IRS efforts in analyzing and identifying abusive tax transactions, tax schemes, and emerging abusive schemes.

 

View Your Account Information

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.