準備和交付 2021 年報稅季

People holding the American flag

仔細瞭解國稅局員工在本報稅季如何準備為美國服務,以及他們將如何在 4 月 15 日報稅截止日前及日後繼續竭盡所能幫助納稅人。

瞭解國稅局、其人員以及影響納稅人的問題


Stacks of multicolor block with various IRS topics written on them

肯·科賓
CL-21-05ZHT,2021 年 2 月 11 日

與大多數其他公家或私人組織相比,國稅局為更多人服務並與之互動。儘管人們通常僅會在申報個人所得納稅申報表時才會與國稅局互動,但對於國稅局的所有人來說,重要的是,每個納稅人的經驗都是能滿足他們的需求和偏好的。我們知道納稅人在履行他們的稅務義務時會仰賴我們,不論他們是前往 IRS.gov 獲取資訊、使用線上工具、撥打我們的免付費電話,或需要我們的一個納稅人援助中心提供幫助。在確保公平和遵守稅法的同時,將納稅人放在第一位並滿足他們的需求和期望,對於我們自願稅制的成功至關重要。

今年 2 月 12 日開始的報稅季代表了國稅局內外的深入準備和即時合作。我們員工的努力以及我們在稅務界以及軟體和金融行業中的合作夥伴所做的重要工作,使國稅局可以處理超過 1.5 億個納稅申報表,並每年向納稅人發放超過 4,000 億美元的退稅。

我們機構的員工提前一年就透過更新表格和說明、規劃需要招募人數,以及對我們的資訊科技系統進行編程以確保一切順利進行,來為報稅季進行準備。每年的報稅季都有著自己一系列挑戰,而 2021 年也不例外。隨著疫情的持續進行,我們繼續專注於繼續儘自己的一份力量來支援聯邦政府為幫助那些經歷財務變化和挑戰的人們所做的努力。國稅局在 2020 年間發放了超過 1 億 6 千萬份由健保法案授權的第一輪經濟影響補助金(EIP)。在為 2021 報稅季作最後準備的同時,我們的員工與財政部一起發放了新冠肺炎相關的稅務減免法授權的第二輪經濟影響補助金。國稅局和財政部因為預期這項法案會通過而提前幾個月前開始著手進行工作使我們能夠迅速採取行動。我們從春季稍早就開始以汲取的教訓以及第一輪補助金獲得的資料作為基礎著手。結果,這些補助金僅在法案簽署的兩天後於 12 月 29 日開始過帳到銀行帳戶。整體而言,我們在整個一月份發行了超過 1.4 億份的第二輪補助金,包含有大約 4000 萬張支票或金融卡在二月初被送入郵箱中。

關於第一輪和第二輪經濟影響補助金的兩個重要提醒。首先,它們是復甦退稅抵免額(RRC)的預付款,因此任何可能有資格獲得經濟影響補助金但未收到或未獲得全額款項的人都應在申報 2020 年納稅申報表時確認他們是否有資格。IRS.gov 上的復甦退稅抵免額資訊包含了復甦退稅抵免額的資訊,這包含了為一般毋須申報納稅申報表的人士提供的 步驟(英文)。抵免額將作為退稅的一部分支付,因此選擇直接存款將幫助您盡快獲得該項幫助。另一方面,有資格並在兩筆補助金中皆獲得最高金額的人無需在其納稅申報表上提報或申復甦退稅抵免額。

隨著您開始準備納稅申報表,我們強烈建議所有人都使用電子工具,包括前往IRS.gov,那裡有著大量有用的資訊。我們知道這對納稅人來說可能是一個有巨大壓力的時刻,在我們竭盡所能為您提供幫助的同時,請您耐心等待,以確保我們員工和所服務的納稅人的安全。我們的面對面作業將繼續受到限制,並且我們預計電話幫助專線的巨大通話量將持續整個報稅季。在這一點上,我再次強調電子申報和選擇直接存款的重要性。這是申報準確的納稅申報表並獲得退稅的最安全簡單的方法。大多數人都可以使用國稅局免費申報軟體免費進行電子申報且毋須離開自己的舒適圈。軟體會完成所有工作,並且這對在 2020 年收入不超過 72,000 美元還是免費的。您甚至可以使用 IRS2Go 應用程式從行動裝置存取免費申報。

我們機構的員工提前數個月就透過更新表格和說明、規劃需要招募人數,以及對我們的資訊科技系統進行編程以確保一切順利進行,來為報稅季進行準備。

對於在填寫和申報納稅申報表方面需要幫助的納稅人,我很高興地向您報告,國稅局贊助了義務所得稅協會(VITA)和老年人稅務諮詢(TCE)義工站點,將再次向低收入納稅人、年齡較大的美國人、殘疾人士以及英語不是主要語言的人提供免費幫助。我非常感謝我們的義務所得稅協會和老年人稅務諮詢合作夥伴在報稅季為幫助全國大約 11,000 個站點(包括軍事基地)的納稅人所做的工作,並為此感到非常自豪。今年,為了確保納稅人和義工的健康與安全,許多義務所得稅協會和老年人稅務諮詢網站將透過電話或線上方式向納稅人提供虛擬幫助。如要尋找最近的站點,請使用 IRS.gov 上的搜尋工具(英文)IRS2Go 智慧型手機應用程式,或撥打免付費電話800-906-9887。某些站點可能仍會提供當面稅務協助,但將強調安全和社交距離。

除了復甦退稅抵免額之外,您還應該對收入所得稅抵免額(也稱為 EITC)有所瞭解,該抵免額在超過四十年的時間中幫助了許多家庭擺脫貧困。每年,成千上萬的工作者因為不知道收入所得稅抵免額或沒有意識到自己有資格申領而錯過機會。在這個報稅季中,有一條新規定可以幫助 2020 年收入減少的人。根據 2020 年與新冠肺炎相關的稅務減免法,如果納稅人 2019 年的收入超過 2020 年的收入,則可以使用其 2019 年的收入所得來計算出抵免額其他子女稅務抵免額(英文)ACTC)也是如此。使用去年收入的選項將有助於為符合條件的個人將這些抵免額最大化。

說到收入所得稅抵免額,請記住,根據國稅局根據法律不得在 2 月中旬之前發放包括收入所得稅抵免額或其他子女稅務抵免額在內的退稅。國會幾年前透過了這項法律,以使國稅局更容易發現並防止退稅欺詐。我們預計即早以電子申報、直接存款,並且納稅申報表沒有問題的收入所得稅抵免額和其他子女稅務抵免額的申報納稅人將會在三月的第一週在您的銀行帳戶或金融卡中看到退稅。與過去幾年一樣,我們免付費電話或納稅人援助中心員工必須在電子申報的第 21 天過後才能回答與退稅查詢相關的問題。此 21 天的時間範圍從 2 月 12 日開始或您的納稅申報表被國稅局接受的時間(以較晚者為準)。然而,您最快可以在電子申報後的 24 小時內 IRS.gov 上的我的退稅在哪裡? IRS2Go 應用程式查看您的個人化退稅日期。無需致電國稅局。此工具是監控退稅狀態最佳的方法,因為結果是基於您的納稅申報表而定。您只需您的姓名、申報身份以及退稅金額就可以檢查退稅狀態。就是這麼簡單。我的退稅在哪裡?工具在 2 月 22 日就應會對大多數即早申報收入所得稅抵免額/其他子女稅務抵免額的納稅人進行更新。

我們還將繼續關注報稅季其他重要的方面,包括改善為我國的多元化群體提供的服務的努力。為了更好地協助以及適當地尊重這些群體,本報稅季將會提供更多非英文語言的資訊(英文)。例如,我們將在今年首次以西班牙文提供《表格 1040》。我們還將 1 號發行物 —— 您作為納稅人的權利以 20 種語言提供,並且當納稅人聯絡我們尋求協助時,我們為他們提供了超過 350 種語言的電話口譯服務。我對國稅局在這些計劃上大步邁前感到無比自豪,並將繼續擴大這些努力,以幫助我們國家中缺乏服務的群體。

最後,隨著我們進入報稅季,我想向您保證,國稅局致力於為我們的國家服務。我們將從 2020 學習到的教訓以及最佳作法融入我們的能力,並且我們已經準備好、願意而且有能力幫助納稅人在 4 月 15 日申報截止日期之前完成申報。

肯·科賓
薪資和投資部部長
納稅人經驗長

Photo of Ken Corbin

關於作者

肯·科賓是薪資和投資部(WI)的部長,負責管理美國個人受薪勞動者的稅法。他掌管全國 350 多間納稅人援助中心、10 間服務中心,以及 15 間遠端通話站點大約 36,000 名員工。薪資和投資部為數以百萬計的個人和企業客戶提供服務,並負責處理超過 1.5 億份個人所得納稅申報表,發佈了超過 1.11 億份個人退稅,總計將近 3240 億美元。薪資和投資部的年度預算約為 25 億美元。

肯在本月被指派新兼任納稅人經驗長,以進一步統一和擴大整個機構的服務範圍,以服務納稅人。該國稅局的新職務是納稅人優先法案努力改善的一部分。

 

納稅申報表錯誤 —— 錯誤避開技巧 YouTube 影片(英文)

仔細瞭解

閱讀我們所有(英文)與納稅人及稅務界有關的即時議題

訂閱

國稅局在各種稅務主題上提供了數個電子報訂閱。訂閱(英文)以在發佈新內容時收到電子郵件通知。

Preparing for and Delivering the 2021 Filing Season

People holding the American flag

Get a closer look at how IRS employees have prepared to serve our nation this filing season and how they will continue doing everything they can to help taxpayers through the April 15 filing deadline and beyond.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


Stacks of multicolor block with various IRS topics written on them

By Ken Corbin
CL-21-05, February 11, 2021

The IRS serves and interacts with more people than most any other public or private organization. While people generally only interact with the IRS when they file their individual income tax return, it’s important to all of us at the IRS that each taxpayer’s experience is one that meets their needs and preferences. We recognize that taxpayers rely on us when they need help meeting their tax obligations whether they visit IRS.gov for information, use an online tool, call us toll-free or need assistance from one of our Taxpayer Assistance Centers. Putting taxpayers first and meeting their needs and expectations, while ensuring fairness and compliance with the tax laws, is vital to the success of our voluntary tax system.

Filing Season, which begins this year on February 12, represents extensive preparation and real time collaboration inside and outside the IRS. The efforts of our workforce, along with the important work done by our partners in the tax community and the software and financial industry, make it possible for the IRS to process more than 150 million tax returns and issue more than $400 billion in refunds to taxpayers each year.

Employees across our agency start preparing for the filing season over a year in advance by updating forms and instructions, planning for needed hiring, and programming our information technology systems to ensure everything runs smoothly. Every filing season comes with its own set of challenges and 2021 is no different. As the pandemic continues, we remain focused on continuing to do our part to support the federal government’s efforts to help those experiencing financial changes and challenges. In 2020, the IRS issued over 160 million of the first round of Economic Impact Payments (EIPs) authorized by the CARES Act. While making final preparations for the 2021 filing season, our workforce, together with Treasury, distributed the second round of Economic Impact Payments authorized by the COVID-related Tax Relief Act. Our quick action was made possible by the work the IRS and Treasury began months ago in anticipation of this legislation. We started building on lessons learned and data we already had for the first round of payments earlier in the spring. As a result, these payments began posting to bank accounts on December 29, just two days after the legislation providing for them was signed. In all, we issued over 140 million of the second payments throughout January including approximately 40 million paper checks or debit cards making their way to mailboxes in early February.

Two important reminders about the first and second Economic Impact Payments. First, they are advance payments of the Recovery Rebate Credit, or RRC, so anyone who may be eligible for an EIP but has not received one or didn’t get the full amount should determine if they are eligible when they file their 2020 tax return. Recovery Rebate Credit information on IRS.gov includes information about the Recovery Rebate Credit including steps for people who don’t normally file a tax return. The credit will be paid as part of your refund, so choosing direct deposit will help you receive that help as quickly as possible. On the other hand, people who were eligible and got the maximum amount of both payments do not need to report them or claim the Recovery Rebate Credit on their tax return.

As you begin to prepare your tax returns, we strongly encourage everyone to use electronic tools, including visiting IRS.gov, where there’s a wealth of helpful information. We know this can be a stressful time for taxpayers, and we ask for your patience as we do all that we are able to help you in a way that ensures the safety of our employees and the taxpayers we serve. Our face-to-face operations will continue to be limited, and we anticipate extremely heavy call volume on our telephone help lines to continue into the filing season. On that note, I can’t stress enough the importance of filing electronically and choosing direct deposit. This is the safest and easiest way to file an accurate tax return and get a refund. Most people can e-file for free without leaving their safe zone with the IRS Free File program. The software does all the work and it’s free for those who earned $72,000 or less in 2020. You can even access FreeFile from a mobile device with the IRS2Go app.

Employees across our agency start preparing for the filing season months in advance by updating forms and instructions, planning for needed hiring, and programming our information technology systems to ensure everything runs smoothly.

For taxpayers who need help preparing and filing their returns, I’m happy to report that the IRS sponsored Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) volunteer sites will again provide free assistance to low-income taxpayers, older Americans, people with disabilities and those whose primary language is not English. I’m so thankful and very proud of the work our VITA and TCE partners do during the filing season to help taxpayers at approximately 11,000 sites around the country, including military bases. This year, to ensure the health and safety of taxpayers and volunteers, many VITA and TCE sites will offer virtual help to taxpayers, either over the phone or online. To locate the nearest site, use the search tool on IRS.gov, the IRS2go smartphone application, or call toll-free 800-906-9887. Some sites may still offer in-person tax help, but safety and social distancing will be emphasized.

In addition to the Recovery Rebate Credit, you should know about the Earned Income Tax Credit, or EITC, which has helped lift working families out of poverty for more than four decades. Each year, millions of workers miss out because they don’t know about the EITC or don’t realize they’re eligible. And this tax season, there's a new rule that can help people who earned less income in 2020. Under the COVID-related Tax Relief Act of 2020, taxpayers may use their 2019 earned income to figure the credit if they earned more income in 2019 than in 2020. The same is true for the Additional Child Tax Credit (ACTC). The option to use prior year income will help maximize these credits for eligible individuals.

Speaking of the EITC, remember that by law the IRS can’t issue refunds that include the EITC or ACTC before mid-February. Congress passed this law several years ago to make it easier for the IRS to detect and prevent refund fraud. We anticipate early EITC and ACTC filers should see refunds in their bank accounts or on debit cards by the first week of March if they filed electronically, chose direct deposit and there were no issues with their tax return. As has been the case for several years, refund inquiries cannot be answered by our toll free or Taxpayer Assistance Center employees until it’s been 21 days since the tax return was filed electronically. That 21-day time frame starts February 12, or when your tax return is accepted by the IRS, whichever is later. However, you can check Where’s My Refund? on IRS.gov or the IRS2Go app for your personalized refund date as soon as 24 hours after your tax returns are electronically submitted. There is no need to call the IRS. This tool is the best way for you to monitor the status of your refund because the results are based on your tax return. All you need to check the status of your refund is your name, filing status and refund amount. It’s that simple. The Where’s My Refund? tool should update for most early EITC/ACTC filers by Feb. 22.

We’re also continuing to focus on other important aspects of the filing season, including our efforts to improve service to diverse communities in our country. To better assist and appropriately respect these communities, more information in non-English languages is available to help taxpayers this filing season. For example, we are providing the Form 1040 this year in Spanish for the first time. We have also made Publication 1, Your Rights as a Taxpayer, available in 20 languages, and when taxpayers call us for help, we are giving them access to over-the-phone interpreter services in more than 350 languages. I’m incredibly proud of the IRS for moving forward on these initiatives and will continue to expand on these efforts to help the underserved communities in our country.

Finally, as we head into the filing season, I want to reassure you that the IRS is dedicated to serving our nation. We have added to our capabilities the lessons learned and best practices of 2020, and we are ready, willing and able to help taxpayers meet the April 15 filing deadline.

Ken Corbin
Commissioner, Wage and Investment Division
Chief Taxpayer Experience Officer

Photo of Ken Corbin

About the Author

Kenneth (Ken) Corbin serves as the Commissioner of the Wage and Investment (W&I) Division, responsible for the administration of tax laws governing individual wage earners in the United States. He has responsibility for approximately 36,000 employees, located in over 350 Taxpayer Assistance Centers, 10 Service Centers and 15 Remote Call Sites, nationwide. The W&I Division serves millions of individual and business customers and is responsible for the processing of more than 150 million individual income tax returns, resulting in more than 111 million individual refunds issued, totaling nearly $324 billion. The W&I Division operates with an annual budget of approximately $2.5 billion.

This month, Ken was appointed for an additional role as Chief Taxpayer Experience Officer to help unify and expand efforts across the agency to serve taxpayers. This new IRS position is part of a larger effort related to the Taxpayer First Act.
 

 

Tax Return Errors-Tips to Avoid Them YouTube Video

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.