要求上訴

在您判斷您滿足上訴條件後(考慮上訴),您可以透過提出書面抗議來請求上訴。填寫完成您的抗議,並將其郵寄到解釋您上訴權的信函上的國稅局地址。請勿直接向 IRS 獨立上訴辦公室(上訴部門)提出抗議;這只會延遲訴訟過程,並可能阻止上訴部門考慮您的案件。

在將您的案件發送給上訴部門之前,做出稅務評估或發起徵收行動的國稅局審查或徵收辦公室將考慮您的抗議,並嘗試解決有爭議的稅務問題。如果該辦事處不能解決您的問題,他們將把您的案件轉交上訴部門考慮。

當您上訴时,您可以代表自己,或是請專業人士代表您。您的代表必須是:

  • 律師
  • 註冊會計師,或
  • 獲准在 IRS 執業的註冊稅務師

關於其他可以擔任代表者的資訊,請參閱 出版物 947 ── 註冊執業與 IRS 往來以及委托書(英文)PDF。如果您希望您的代表於您不在場時與我們談話,您必須向我們提供一份完整的委托代理證書表格 表格 2848, 委托書和代表聲明(英文)PDF

提交抗議

我們需要正式的書面抗議來請求上訴會議,除非您有資格獲得以下討論的小型案例請求程序。 有關提交正式書面抗議或小型案例請求的資訊,請參閱出版物 5 ──您的上訴權利和如果您不同意, 如何準備抗議 (英文)PDF

備註:如果您不同意一項留置權、徵收、扣押、拒絕、修改或終止一項分期付款計劃,請查閱 出版物 1660 ── 追討上訴權(英文)PDF有關提出抗議的資訊。

您必須在向您提供對提議變更之上訴權的信上指明的時限內,送交您的正式書面抗議。一般而言,時限是從信上日期算起的 30 天内。

如何提出小型案例要求

如果對於每個報稅期徵收的額外稅金和罰款總額在 $25,000 或以下,您可以提交小型案例要求。如果您正在就關於責任(DATL)提供妥協的否認疑問提出上訴,每個報稅年度的總金額包括了未支付稅金的總額、要繳的罰款和利息。員工計劃、免稅組織、S 型企業和合夥公司沒有資格提出小型案例要求。

  1. 遵守您收到信函的說明。
     
  2. 使用您收到的信上所述的 表格 12203 《要求上訴處審查》(英文)PDF來申报上訴,或準備一份簡短的書面聲明。列出不同意的項目及理由。

上訴徵收決定

此外,如果您要對徵收決定提出上訴,則應選擇下⾯列出的與您的案例類型相對應的申訴程序,以獲取準備上訴請求的具體說明。請記住,您需要將您的上訴郵寄到向您發送徵收行動信的徵收辦公室,並附上您的聽證權。 請勿將其直接發送至任何上訴辦公室。 IRS 徵收辦公室必須首先收到上訴,才能處理案件檔案並將其轉發給上訴部門。

徵收上訴計劃(CAP)可⽤於廣泛的徵收⾏動。CAP 案例與建議或採取的特定徵收行動有關,並通常會很快得到解決。然而,如果您不同意 CAP 聽證會上訴裁決,則不能上法庭。

如果您受到以下任何徵收行動,則可以使用 CAP 程序:

  • 遞交或提議遞交的聯邦稅收留置權通知
  • 已採取或提議採取的徵收行為
  • 拒絕分期付款協議
  • 終止分期付款協議
  • 分期付款協議的修改
  • 納稅人要求返還徵收的財產停止允許
  • 扣押

CAP程序

如果您唯⼀的徵收聯絡方式聯絡是透過一封通知或電話:

  • 撥打通知上顯⽰的美國國稅局電話號碼
  • 解釋為什麼你不同意並且你想對決定提出上訴
  • 準備好討論您的案件並準備好所有相關資訊
  • 在您向上訴辦公室啟動上訴程序之前,您需要⾸先與徵收主管討論您的案件,除非上訴涉及到被拒絕,建議修改,修改的,建議終止或終止的分期付款協議

如果您已經與收稅專員聯絡過:

  • 打電話給你⼀直在聯絡的收稅專員
  • 解釋為什麼你不同意並且你想對決定提出上訴
  • 準備好討論您的案件並準備好所有相關資訊
  • 在您向上訴辦公室啟動上訴程序之前,您需要⾸先與徵收主管討論您的案件,除非上訴涉及到被拒絕,建議修改,修改的,建議終止或終止的分期付款協議
  • 填寫表格 9423,追討上訴書(英文)PDF
  • 在您與徵收主管的會議3營業日內,遞交完成的表格 9423 ⾄收稅專員。

有關更多資訊,請參閱 出版物 1660 ── 追討上訴權(英文)PDF

如果美國國稅局向您發送通知,聲明您有權要求CDP聽證會,您有權通過上訴獲取徵收正當法律程序(CDP)聽證會,例如:

  • 根據 IRC 6320,聯邦稅抵押權和您的聽證權利通知
  • 最終通知 - 徵收意向通知和您的聽證權利通知
  • 危險徵收和上訴權的通知
  • 關於徵收州退稅的通知 - 關於你的聽證權利的通知
  • 徵收正當法律程序(CDP)徵收後通知

CDP 程序

  • 您通常需要在通知發出之⽇起 30 天內及時申請 CDP 聽證會
  • 填寫表格 12153,要求追討正當法律程序或等效聽證會(英文)PDF
    • 找出你不同意的所有原因很重要
  • 將填好的表格 12153 發送到您的 CDP 通知上顯⽰的同⼀地址
  • 如果您的請求及時完成,您將有權获得上訴聽證會並向稅務法庭尋求對該聽證會的司法審查
  • 如果您的請求是及時的,在您上訴的納稅期間,IRS 徵收行動通常會被暫停
  • 如果您的請求不及時,您仍有權在 12153 表格中描述的 1 年期限內申請 CDP 等同聽證會。但是,如果您仍然不同意等同聽證會的上訴決定,則您無權尋求稅務法院的司法審查

有關更多資訊,請參閱:

折衷要約(OIC)是納稅⼈與政府之間達成的協議,該協議規定了⽀付少於全部欠款的納稅義務。如果您收到⼀封信,通知您的提議遭到拒絕,您可以在信函發出之⽇起30天內請求對該決定提出     上訴。
有關更多資訊,請參閱:

如果您被國稅局判斷須對以下行為負責,國稅局可能會對您做出這種處罰:

  • 徵收或預扣
  • 會計
  • 存入或⽀付指定稅款

如果 IRS 判斷您是故意不採取這些行動,您可能需要承擔相當於未⽀付的全部稅額的罰款, 加上利息。這包括:

  • 就業稅
  • 工商稅
  • 非居⺠外國⼈(NRA)預扣

相關的負責⼈包含:

  • 公司的所有者或官員
  • 合作夥伴
  • 獨資經營者
  • 任何企業形式的員⼯。

對企業資⾦擁有權⼒的受託⼈或代理⼈也可對處罰負責。信託基⾦追回罰款的評估適⽤於以下稅表:CT-1, 720, 941, 943, 944, 945, 1042 和 8288。

有關如何準備您的抗議,請參閱出版物 5 ── 你的上訴權利,以及如果您不同意,如何準備抗議(英文)PDF。在準備正式書⾯抗議或小型案例請求時,除了刊物中概述的步驟外,請看以下:

  • 附上 1153 信件的副本,建議的信託基⾦追回罰款通知書
  • 解釋為什麼您不相信您對未繳稅款負責或您不同意擬議評估⾦額的原因
  • 包括對您的職責和責任的明確解釋
  • 如果有的話,引⽤您所依賴的法律或授權依據
  • 郵寄您的抗議給您收到的 1153 信件中列出姓名和地址的國稅局員工

Requesting an Appeal

After considering an appeal and determining that Appeals is the place for you, you may request an appeal by filing a written protest. Complete your protest and mail it to the IRS address on the letter that explains your appeal rights. Don’t send your protest directly to the Office of Appeals; this will only delay the process and may prevent Appeals from considering your case.

Before sending your case to Appeals, the IRS Examination or Collection office that made a tax assessment or initiated collection action will consider your protest and attempt to resolve the disputed tax issues. If that office can’t resolve these issues, they will forward your case to Appeals for consideration.

When you come to Appeals, you may represent yourself or have a professional represent you. Your representative must be:

  • An attorney
     
  • A certified public accountant, or
     
  • An enrolled agent authorized to practice before the IRS

See Publication 947, Practice before IRS and the Power of Attorney (PDF), for information regarding other individuals who may serve as representatives. If you want your representative to talk to us without you, you must provide us with  a copy of a completed power of attorney Form 2848, Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative (PDF).

File a Protest

We require a formal written protest to request an Appeals conference, unless you qualify under the Small Case Request procedures discussed below.  For information on filing a formal written protest or a Small Case Request, refer to Publication 5, Your Appeal Rights and How To Prepare a Protest If You Don’t Agree (PDF)

Note: If you disagree with a lien, levy, seizure or a denial, modification or termination of an installment agreement, see Publication 1660, Collection Appeal Rights (PDF), for information on filing your protest.

You must send your formal written protest within the time limit specified in the letter that offers you the right to appeal the proposed changes. Generally, the time limit is 30 days from the date of the letter.

How to File a Small Case Request

You may submit a Small Case Request if the entire amount of additional tax and penalty proposed for each tax period is $25,000 or less. If you are appealing the denial of an offer in compromise, the entire amount for each tax period includes total unpaid tax, penalty and interest due. Employee plans, exempt organizations, S corporations and partnerships are not eligible for Small Case Requests.

  1. Follow the instructions in the letter you received
     
  2. Use Form 12203, Request for Appeals Review (PDF), the form referenced in the letter you received to file your appeal or prepare a brief written statement. List the disagreed item(s) and the reason(s) you disagree.

Appeal a Collection Decision

In addition, if you’re appealing a collection decision, you should select the appeal procedure listed below that corresponds to your case for specific instructions to prepare your request for Appeals.  Remember, if you decide you want to present your dispute to Appeals, you will need to mail it to the office that sent you the decision letter.

Collection Appeals Program (CAP) is generally quick and available for a broad range of collection actions. However, you can’t go to court if you disagree with the Appeals decision.

You may go through the CAP process if you are involved in any of the following collection actions:

  • Lien
  • Levy
  • Seizure
  • Rejection of Installment Agreement
  • Termination of Installment Agreement
  • Modification of Installment Agreement

CAP Procedures

If your only collection contact has been a notice or telephone call:

  • Call the IRS telephone number shown on your notice
  • Explain why you disagree and that you want to appeal the decision
  • Be prepared to offer a solution
  • Before you can start the appeals process with the Office of Appeals, you will need to first discuss your case with a Collection manager, unless the appeal involved a rejected, proposed for modification, modified, proposed for termination or terminated installment agreement

If you have already been in contact with a revenue officer:

  • Call the revenue officer you've been dealing with
  • Explain why you disagree and that you want to appeal the decision
  • Be prepared to offer a solution
  • Before you can start the appeals process with the Office of Appeals, you will need to discuss your case with a Collection manager, unless the appeal involved a rejected, proposed for modification, modified, proposed for termination or terminated installment agreement
  • Complete Form 9423, Collection Appeals Request (PDF)
  • Submit the completed Form 9423 to the revenue officer within 3 days of your conference with the Collection manager

For more information, refer to Publication 1660, Collection Appeal Rights (PDF).

You are entitled to a Collection Due Process (CDP) hearing with Appeals if the IRS sends you a notice that states you have the right to request a CDP hearing, such as:

  • Notice of Federal Tax Lien Filing and Your Right to a Hearing Under IRC 6320
  • Final Notice - Notice of Intent to Levy and Notice of Your Right to A Hearing
  • Notice of Jeopardy Levy and Right of Appeal
  • Notice of Levy on Your State Tax Refund – Notice of Your Right to a Hearing
  • Post Levy Collection Due Process (CDP) Notice

CDP Procedures

  • You generally have 30 days from the date of the notice to timely request a CDP hearing
  • Complete Form 12153, Request for a Collection Due Process or Equivalent Hearing (PDF)
    • It’s important to identify all the reasons for any disagreement you have
  • Send the completed Form 12153 to the same address that is shown on your CDP Notice
  • If your request is timely made, you will be entitled to an Appeals hearing and to seek judicial review of that hearing with the Tax Court
  • If your request is timely, IRS levy action is generally suspended against you for the tax periods you appealed
  • If your request is not timely, you are still entitled to request a CDP Equivalent Hearing with Appeals within the 1-year period described in the Form 12153. However, if you still disagree with the Appeals decision in the Equivalent Hearing you have no right to judicial review by the Tax Court

For more information, refer to:

 An Offer in Compromise (OIC) is an agreement between the taxpayer and the government that settles a tax liability for payment of less than the full amount owed. If you received a letter notifying you that your offer was rejected, you have 30 days from the date on the letter to request an appeal of the decision.

For more information, refer to:

This penalty can apply if you are a person responsible for:

  • Collecting or withholding
  • Accounting for or
  • Depositing or paying specified taxes

If you willfully fail to do so, you can be held personally liable for a penalty equal to the full amount of the tax that was not paid, plus interest. This includes:

  • Non-resident alien (NRA) withholding
  • Employment taxes
  • Excise taxes

A responsible person for this purpose can be:

  • An owner or officer of a corporation
  • A partner
  • A sole proprietor
  • An employee of any form of business

A trustee or agent with authority over the funds of the business can also be held responsible for the penalty.  The assessment of the trust fund recovery penalty is applicable to the following tax forms:  CT-1, 720, 941, 943, 944, 945, 1042 and 8288.

Refer to Publication 5, Your Appeal Rights and How To Prepare a Protest If You Don’t Agree (PDF), for information on preparing your protest. In addition to the steps outlined in the publication, when preparing your formal written protest or small case request:

  • Enclose a copy of the Letter 1153, Proposed Trust Fund Recovery Penalty Notification
  • Explain why you don't believe you are responsible for the unpaid taxes or the reason you disagree with the amount of the proposed assessment(s)
  • Include a clear explanation of your duties and responsibilities
  • Cite the law or authority, if any, on which you are relying
  • Send your protest to the attention of the IRS officer whose name and address are listed in the Letter 1153 you received