小費的資料保留與申報

小費是由客戶決定的、雇員從客戶那裡獲得的可自由支配的(可選擇的或額外的)款項。

小費包括:

  • 直接從顧客那裡收到的現金小費。
  • 透過電子結算或支付方式留下小費的顧客提供的小費。其中包括信用卡、金融卡、禮品卡或任何其他電子支付方式。
  • 任何非現金小費的價值,如門票或其他有價值的物品。
  • 透過小費池、小費分成或其他正式/非正式的小費分享安排,從其他員工處獲得的小費金額。

雇員收到的所有現金和非現金小費都是收入,需要繳納聯邦所得稅。雇員在任何曆月收到的所有現金小費都要繳納社會保險和醫療保險稅,必須向雇主報告。如果雇員在單個曆月內由單個雇主收到的小費總額少於20美元,這些小費就不需要報告,也不需要預扣稅款。現金小費包括從顧客那裡收到的小費、由雇員的雇主配給給雇員的收費小費(例如,信用卡和金融卡收費),以及根據任何小費分享安排從其他雇員那裡收到的小費。小費也包括直接和間接給小費的員工所收到的小費。

雇員責任

作為收取小費的雇員,您必須做三件事:。

  1. 保持每天的小費記錄。
  2. 向雇主報告小費,除非每個雇主每月的總額低於20美元。
  3. 在個人所得稅申報表中報告所有小費。

保持每天的小費記錄

雇員必須保持每天收到的小費記錄。您可以使用4070A表,雇員的每日小費記錄,包括在1244號出版物,雇員的每日小費記錄和向雇主報告小費(英文) 。除了4070A表所要求的資訊外,您還需要記錄您得到的任何非現金小費的日期和價值,如門票、通行證或其他有價物品。雖然你不向雇主報告這些小費,但你必須在報稅時報告。

向雇主報告小費,除非每個雇主每月的總額少於20美元

《國內稅收法》要求雇員以書面形式向其雇主報告(所有收到的現金小費,但任何一個月的小費總額不超過20美元的除外)。現金小費包括從顧客那裡收到的小費、由其雇主配給給雇員的收費小費(例如,信用卡和金融卡收費),以及根據任何小費分享安排從其他雇員那裡收到的小費。不一定要使用特定的表格,但是,報表必須包括:

  • 雇員簽名,
  • 雇員的姓名、地址和社會保險號碼,
  • 雇主的名稱和地址(如果是不同的機構名稱),
  • 報告涵蓋的月份或時期,以及
  • 在該月或該期間收到的小費總額。

雇員可以使用任何具備上述要素的文件,如4070號表格,雇員向雇主報告小費、(僅在1244號出版物中提供)雇主提供的表格,或雇主提供的電子系統來報告你的小費。

直接和間接給小費的雇員都必須向雇主報告小費。

在個人所得稅申報表中報告所有小費


雇員必須使用4137號表格《未報告的小費收入的社會保險和醫療保險稅》(英文) ,報告任何未報告的小費收入金額,作為額外工資列入其1040號表格《美國個人所得稅申報表》1040-SR號表格《美國老年人納稅申報表》(英文) ,以及雇員對這些小費所欠的社會保險和醫療保險稅。

何時向雇主報告小費

雇員必須在收到小費的下一個月的10號之前向雇主報告小費。例如,雇員在2020年8月收到的小費,需要在2020年9月10日或之前向雇主報告。如果10日是週六、周日或法定假日,雇員可以在非週六、周日或法定假日的第二天向雇主報告。雇主可以要求雇員每月報告一次以上的小費;但是,報表不能涵蓋超過1個曆月的時間。

請勿在您的每日小費記錄中包括服務費

您的雇主在顧客的支票上添加的費用,如大型聚會,並分發給你,不應加入你的每日小費記錄中。您的雇主在顧客帳單上增加的這些額外費用並不構成小費,因為它們是服務費。這些服務費屬於非小費工資,需要繳納社會保險稅、醫療保險稅和聯邦所得稅的預扣。

雇主或雇員將某筆款項定性為「小費」並不具有最終決定性。配給的服務費(通常被服務業稱為「自動酬金」)應被定性為非小費工資。稅收裁決2012-18(英文) 重申了用於確定付款是否構成小費或服務費的因素。稅收裁決2012-18的Q&A 1規定,如果沒有以下任何因素,就會對某筆付款是否是小費產生懷疑,並表明該付款可能是服務費。

  • 付款必須是不受強迫的。
  • 顧客必須有不受限制的權利來決定金額。
  • 付款不應成為談判的主題或由雇主政策決定;以及
  •  一般來說,客戶有權決定誰收到付款。  

請參閱以下範例。

例如:餐館的功能表上規定,6人以上的聚會,所有帳單都要加收18%的費用。Dana的8人聚會的食品和飲料帳單中,「小費項目」上的金額相當於食品和飲料價格的18%,總額包括此一金額。餐廳將此一數額配給給女服務員和售貨員。在此情況下,Dana沒有不受限制的權利來決定付款的數額,因為這是由雇主政策規定的。Dana並沒有不受強迫地進行支付。18%的費用不是小費。相反,包含在小費項目中的金額是由餐廳規定的服務費。

報告由雇主配給的小費

如果大型餐飲機構(定義見下文)的所有雇員報告的小費總額低於總收入的8%(或國稅局批准的較低比率),則雇主必須在收取小費的雇員中配給差額。如果你的雇主將小費配給給你,配給的小費將在你的W-2表的第8格中單獨顯示。其不包括在您的W-2表《工資和稅金報表》的第1格(工資、小費、其他報酬)、第5格(醫療保險工資和小費)或第7格(社會保險小費)。

一般來說,您必須在您的所得稅申報表中報告雇主配給給你的小費。在1040表《美國個人所得稅申報表》或 1040-SR表《美國老年人納稅申報表》(英文) 中附上4137表《未申報小費收入的社會安全和醫療保險稅》(英文) ,以申報雇主配給的小費(在W-2表的第8格)。其他沒有報告給雇主的小費也必須在4137表上報告。但是,如果您有足夠的記錄表明你在該年度收到的小費少於配給的數額,您就不需要在聯邦所得稅申報表上報告雇主配給給您的小費。

雇主責任

雇主對雇員的小費收入有多種義務,包括保存記錄和報告的責任,收取小費的稅款,提交某些表格和支付或存入稅款。

雇主必須保留雇員小費報告。  雇主還必須根據雇員的工資和小費收入預扣稅款(包括所得稅和雇員應得的社會保險稅和醫療保險稅),並將這些稅款存入銀行。  此外,雇主還需要根據支付給小費雇員的工資總額以及報告的小費收入,支付雇主應承擔的社會保險和醫療保險稅。相關資訊和稅收最後將由雇主透過適當的表格報告給國稅局。

雇員報告給雇主的小費必須包括在雇員的W-2表《工資和稅金報表》的第1格(工資、小費、其他報酬)、第5格(醫療保險工資和小費)和第7格(社會保險小費)。在W-2表格的第12格輸入任何未徵收的社會保險稅和醫療保險稅的金額。更多資訊,請參閱W-2和W-3表格的一般說明(英文)

雇主必須在941表「雇主季度聯邦報稅表」(英文) 上報告從雇員工資中扣留的所得稅、社會保險稅和醫療保險稅以及雇主承擔的社會保險稅和醫療保險稅,並根據聯邦稅收存款要求存入這些稅收。

大多數雇主還負責提交940表,即雇主年度聯邦失業(FUTA)稅申報表(英文) ,並交存這些稅款。只有雇主支付FUTA稅,因為其並未從雇員的工資中扣留。

雇主對未報告的小費所應承擔的社會保險和醫療保險稅款

如果雇員沒有向其雇主報告小費,在美國國稅局向雇主發出通知並要求其繳納稅款之前,雇主沒有責任為未報告的小費繳納雇主份額的社會保險和醫療保險稅。雇主沒有責任為未報告的小費預扣和支付雇員應繳的社會保險和醫療保障稅。

關於第3121(q)條通知和要求的更多資訊,請參閱稅收裁決2012-18(英文) ,該裁決對小費的社會保險和醫療保障稅提出了更多的指導意見。

小費的額外醫療保障稅

從2013年開始,0.9%的額外聯邦醫療保險稅適用於聯邦醫療保險工資,雇主在一個曆年內支付給雇員的任何聯邦醫療保險工資或RRTA補償超過20萬美元時,必須預扣該額外聯邦醫療保險稅,而不需要考慮該雇員的申報身分。額外的醫療保險稅只對雇員徵收。雇主不承擔額外的醫療保障稅。
所有需要繳納Medicare稅的工資和報酬,如果超過了20萬美元的預扣門檻,則需要預扣額外的Medicare稅。如果小費與雇主支付的其他工資或其他RRTA補償加在一起超過了20萬美元的預扣門檻,則應預扣額外的醫療保險稅。

如欲瞭解更多資訊,請參閱主題560 - 額外的醫療保險稅

分發的服務費

分發給雇員的服務費必須被視為這些雇員的工資。雇主必須記錄雇員的姓名、位址和社會保險號碼,每次付款的金額和日期,以及與付款有關的收入、社會保險和醫療保險稅的金額。 

在審查中,國稅局可能會要求雇主證明如何區分應收取服務費的銷售和應收取小費的銷售。審查員可能會要求提供銷售點(POS)的記錄,例如關於銷售交易的總結報告。為了進一步驗證雇主的流程,審查員可以對每日收據進行抽樣,並要求雇主走一遍完整的交易,從客戶的帳單,到POS交易或銷售日誌,並追蹤到工資單,以驗證配給的服務費是如何支付給雇員的。

雇主保留的服務費是雇主的收入

服務費是雇主向顧客收取的費用;因此,無論雇主是否將全部或部分服務費配給給員工,服務費始終是雇主的收入。這與顧客自願支付給雇員的小費是有區別的。小費不是雇主的總收入。

雇主可以按照自己的選擇將從顧客那裡收取的服務費(有時被稱為自動酬金)配給給它所選擇的任何雇員。雇主也可以選擇保留全部或部分的服務費。無論這些服務費是否配給給雇員,這些金額都是雇主的總收入。

請注意,如果符合《國內稅收法》第162條規定的所有商業扣減標準,雇主可能有權對配給給雇員的服務費進行商業扣減。

客戶支票上的小費計算不是服務費

稅收裁決2012-18(英文) 的Q&A 1所示,企業提供的小費計算樣本允許出現在顧客的帳單上。請參閱以下範例:
例如:餐館在提供給顧客的食品和飲料的收費收據上,在簽名欄下方有小費金額的計算樣本。實際的小費欄是空白的。傑基的收費收據上顯示小費計算樣本為食品和飲料價格的15%、18%和20%。傑基在小費欄中插入按15%計算的金額,並將此金額與食品和飲料的價格相加,以計算出總額。在此情況下,傑基可以自由地在小費一欄中輸入任何金額或留空;因此,傑基輸入15%的金額是不受強迫的。傑基和餐廳沒有就此數額進行協商,餐廳也沒有規定此一數額。一般來說,傑基決定誰會得到此一數額。傑基在小費欄輸入的金額是小費,而不是服務費。

自願遵守小費協議

國稅局已經為那些習慣給小費的行業,如餐飲業和賭場,制定了自願小費遵守協議。各該協定旨在透過對納稅人的教育,而不是透過傳統的執法行動,如小費檢查,來提高小費雇員及其雇主的納稅合規性。除了幫助納稅人瞭解和履行其小費報告責任外,各該協議為雇主和雇員提供了許多好處。
該局目前為雇主提供了簽訂幾種類型的自願舉報協議之一的機會。 

TRAC - 小費報告替代承諾
TRDA - 小費率確定協議
GITCA - 博彩業小費遵守協議

市場細分理解計畫為習慣支付小費的行業提供了自願遵守小費協議(英文)

作為服務費的金額處理

稅收裁決2012-18(英文) 公佈後立即生效,並可追溯適用。然而,在有限的事實和情況下,對於在2014年1月1日之前支付的金額,如果被不適當地定性為小費,而它們本應被定性為服務費,根據第2012-50號公告(英文) ,2012-18號稅收裁決的問答1可被提前適用。如果問答1的適用沒有追溯力,雇主將不需要支付任何額外的稅款。
在有限的情況下,一些簽訂了博彩業小費合規協議(GITCA)或小費率確定協議(TRDA)的雇主可以獲得延長到2014年1月1日之後。國稅局決定,參加GITCA計畫或參加與博彩有關的TRDA的雇主可以在國稅局適用2012-18號稅收裁決的問答1之前,要求增加一個GITCA或TRDA合約期限。國稅局要求雇主同意,推遲處理符合2012-18號稅收裁決的服務費並不使任何服務費有資格獲得《國內收入法》第45B節的抵免或列入8846表,即雇主對某些雇員小費支付的社會保險和醫療保險稅的抵免(英文) .。  

經營大型食品或飲料場所的雇主

提交8027表

經營「大型食品或飲料機構」的雇主必須提交8027表,即「雇主年度小費收入和配給小費資訊報表」(英文) ,以向國稅局報告其自食品和飲料中獲得的收入以及雇員向雇主報告的小費。此外,雇主使用8027表來確定給小費員工的配給小費。作為雇主,您必須為每個大型食品或飲料機構提交一份8027表;因此,一些雇主需要提交多個8027表。
如果符合以下所有條件,則該食品或飲料經營機構為大型食品或飲料經營機構:

  • 食品或飲料經營場所位於美國50個州或哥倫比亞特區。
  • 提供食品或飲料供在場所內消費(速食業除外)。
  • 顧客給食品或飲料員工支付小費是一種習慣做法,並且
  • 雇主在上一個曆年的典型工作日通常雇用10名以上的雇員(參見8027表的說明,以確定你在典型工作日是否有10名以上的雇員)。

小費配給

如果大型餐飲機構的所有雇員報告的小費總額低於總收入的8%(或國稅局批准的較低比率),雇主必須在收取小費的雇員中配給差額。「配給的小費」會在8027表上計算和報告,即雇主的小費收入和配給的小費年度資訊報表(英文) 。雇主在雇員的W-2表,工資和稅收報表(英文) 上,在名為「小費配給」的第8格顯示配給的小費。對小費配給不預扣所得稅、社會保險或醫療保險稅。

相關主題:

第 761 號主題 小費-預扣和報告

視訊影片:

國稅局視訊影片-小費協定的年終報告義務(英文)

IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

Tip Recordkeeping & Reporting

Español | 中文

Tips are discretionary (optional or extra) payments determined by a customer that employees receive from customers.

Tips include:

  • Cash tips received directly from customers.
  • Tips from customers who leave a tip through electronic settlement or payment. This includes a credit card, debit card, gift card, or any other electronic payment method.
  • The value of any noncash tips, such as tickets, or other items of value.
  • Tip amounts received from other employees paid out through tip pools or tip splitting, or other formal or informal tip sharing arrangement.

All cash and non-cash tips an employee receives are income and are subject to Federal income taxes. All cash tips received by an employee in any calendar month are subject to social security and Medicare taxes and must be reported to the employer, unless the tips received by the employee during a single calendar month while working for the employer total less than $20. Cash tips include tips received from customers, charged tips (e.g., credit and debit card charges) distributed to the employee by his or her employer, and tips received from other employees under any tip-sharing arrangement.  

Employee Responsibilities

As an employee who receives tips, you must do three things:

  1. Keep a daily tip record.
  2. Report tips to the employer, unless less than $20.
  3. Report all tips on an individual income tax return.

Keep a daily tip record
Employees must keep a daily record of tips received. You can use Form 4070A, Employee's Daily Record of Tips, included in Publication 1244. In addition to the information asked for on Form 4070A, you also need to keep a record of the date and value of any noncash tips you get, such as tickets, passes, or other items of value. Although you do not report these tips to your employer, you must report them on your tax return.

Report tips to the employer, unless less than $20
The Internal Revenue Code requires employees to report to their employer in a written statement, all cash tips received except for the tips from any month that do not total at least $20. Cash tips include tips received from customers, charged tips (e.g., credit and debit card charges) distributed to the employee by his or her employer, and tips received from other employees under any tip-sharing arrangement. No particular form must be used. The statement must be signed by the employee and must include:

  • Employee's name, address, and social security number,
  • Employer's name and address (establishment name if different),
  • Month or period the report covers, and
  • Total of tips received during the month or period.

The employee may use Form 4070, Employee's Report of Tips to Employer, (available only in Pub. 1244, Employee's Daily Record of Tips and Report to Employer), unless some other form is provided by the employer. You can use an electronic system provided by your employer to report your tips.

Both directly and indirectly tipped employees must report tips to the employer.

Report all tips on an individual income tax return
An employee must use Form 4137, Social Security and Medicare Tax on Unreported Tip Income, to report the amount of any unreported tip income to include as additional wages on their Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, and the employee share of social security and Medicare tax owed on those tips.

When to Report Tips to Your Employer

Employees must report tips to the employer by the 10th of the month after the month the tips are received. For example, tips received by an employee in August 2014 are required to be reported by the employee to the employer on or before September 10, 2014. If the 10th falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, an employee may give the report to the employer by the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. An employer may require employees to report tips more than once a month. However, the statement cannot cover a period of more than 1 calendar month.

Do Not Include Service Charges in Your Daily Tip Record

Charges added to a customer's check, such as for large parties, by your employer and distributed to you should not be added to your daily tip record. These additional charges your employer adds to a customer's bill do not constitute tips; they are service charges. These distributed payments are non-tip wages, and are subject to social security tax, Medicare tax, and federal income tax withholding.

An employer's or employee's characterization of a payment as a "tip" is not determinative. Distributed service charges (often referred to as "auto-gratuities" by service industries) should be characterized as non-tip wages. Revenue Ruling 2012-18 reaffirms the factors which are used to determine whether payments constitute tips or service charges. Q&A 1 of Revenue Ruling 2012-18 provides that the absence of any of the following factors creates a doubt as to whether a payment is a tip and indicates that the payment may be a service charge:

  • The payment must be made free from compulsion;
  • The customer must have the unrestricted right to determine the amount;
  • The payment should not be the subject of negotiation or dictated by employer policy; and,
  • Generally, the customer has the right to determine who receives the payment.  

See example below.

Example: Restaurant's menu specifies that an 18% charge will be added to all bills for parties of 6 or more customers. Dana's bill for food and beverages for her party of 8 includes an amount on the "tip line" equal to 18% of the price for food and beverages and the total includes this amount. Restaurant distributes this amount to the waitresses and bussers. Under these circumstances, Dana did not have the unrestricted right to determine the amount of the payment because it was dictated by employer policy. Dana did not make the payment free from compulsion. The 18% charge is not a tip. Instead, the amount included on the tip line is a service charge dictated by Restaurant.

Reporting Tips Allocated by Your Employer

If the total tips reported by all employees at a large food or beverage establishment are less than 8 percent of the gross receipts (or a lower rate approved by the IRS), the employer must allocate the difference among the employees who receive tips.  If your employer allocated tips to you, they are shown separately in Box 8 of your Form W-2. They are not included in Box 1 (Wages, tips, other compensation), Box 5 (Medicare wages and tips), or Box 7 (Social security tips) of your Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. Generally, you must report the tips allocated to you by your employer on your income tax return. Attach Form 4137, Social Security and Medicare Tax on Unreported Tip Income, to Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, to report tips allocated by your employer (in Box 8 of Form W-2). Other tips not reported to the employer must also be reported on Form 4137. However, you do not need to report tips allocated to you by your employer on your federal income tax return if you have adequate records to show that you received less tips in the year than the allocated amount.

Employer Responsibilities

The employer has multiple obligations with regard to employee tip income, including recordkeeping and reporting responsibilities, collecting taxes on tips, filing certain forms, and paying or depositing taxes.

Employers are required to retain employee tip reports, withhold employee income taxes and the employee share of social security and Medicare taxes based upon wages and tip income received, and then report this information to the IRS. In addition, employers are required to pay the employer share of social security and Medicare taxes based on the total wages paid to tipped employees as well as the reported tip income.

Tips reported to the employer by the employee must be included in Box 1 (Wages, tips, other compensation), Box 5 (Medicare wages and tips), and Box 7 (Social security tips) of the employee's Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. Enter the amount of any uncollected social security tax and Medicare tax in Box 12 of Form W-2. For more information, see the General Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3.

Employers must report income tax and social security and Medicare taxes withheld from their employees' wages and the employer share of social security and Medicare taxes on Form 941, Employer's QUARTERLY Federal Tax Return, and deposit these taxes pursuant to federal tax deposit requirements.

Most employers are also responsible for filing Form 940, Employer's Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return, and depositing those taxes. Only the employer pays FUTA tax; it is not withheld from the employee's wages.

Employer Share of Social Security and Medicare Taxes on Unreported Tips

If an employee fails to report tips to his or her employer, the employer is not liable for the employer share of social security and Medicare taxes on the unreported tips until notice and demand for the taxes is made to the employer by the IRS. The employer is not liable to withhold and pay the employee share of social security and Medicare taxes on the unreported tips.

For more information on the Section 3121(q) Notice and Demand, see Revenue Ruling 2012-18, which sets forth guidance on social security and Medicare taxes on tips.

Additional Medicare Tax on Tips

Beginning in 2013, a 0.9% Additional Medicare Tax applies to Medicare wages, Railroad Retirement Tax Act (RRTA) compensation, and self-employment income that are more than:

  • $125,000 if married filing separately,
  • $250,000 if married filing jointly, or
  • $200,000 for any other filing status.

An employer is required to withhold Additional Medicare Tax on any Medicare wages or RRTA compensation it pays to an employee in excess of $200,000 in a calendar year without regard to the employee's filing status. An employer is required to begin withholding Additional Medicare Tax in the pay period in which it pays wages or compensation in excess of $200,000 to an employee and continue to withhold it until the end of the calendar year. Additional Medicare Tax is only imposed on the employee. There is no employer share of Additional Medicare Tax. All wages and compensation that are subject to Medicare tax are subject to Additional Medicare Tax withholding if paid in excess of the $200,000 withholding threshold. Tips are subject to Additional Medicare Tax withholding, if, in combination with other wages paid by the employer, they exceed the $200,000 withholding threshold. Similarly, tips are subject to Additional Medicare Tax withholding, if, in combination with other RRTA compensation paid by the employer, they exceed the $200,000 withholding threshold.

For more information, see Topic 560 - Additional Medicare Tax.

Distributed Service Charges

Service charges distributed to employees must be treated as wages to those employees. The employer must keep a record of the name, address, and social security number of the employee, the amount and date of each payment and the amount of income, social security, and Medicare taxes collected with respect to the payment.  

In an examination, the IRS may ask the employer to demonstrate how sales subject to service charges are distinguished from sales subject to tipping. Examiners may ask for Point of Sale (POS) records, such as their summary reports regarding their sales transactions. To further validate the employer's procedures, examiners may sample daily receipts and ask the employer to walk through a complete transaction, from the customer's bill, to the POS transaction or sales journal, and trace it to payroll to validate how the distributed service charges were paid out to the employee.

Service Charges Retained by Employer Are Income to the Employer

Service charges are fees imposed upon customers by the employer. Thus, service charges are always income to the employer regardless of whether the employer distributes all or a portion of the service charges to employees. This is distinguished from "tips" which are voluntarily paid by customers to employees. Tips are not gross income to the employer.

An employer may distribute service charges (sometimes referred to as "autogratuities") collected from customers as it chooses and to any employee it chooses. The employer also has the option of retaining all or part of the service charges. Regardless of whether the service charges are distributed to employees, these amounts are gross income to the employer.

Note that the employer may be entitled to a business deduction with regard to the service charges distributed to employees provided all the usual criteria for a business deduction under section 162 of the Internal Revenue Code are met.

Tip Calculations on Customer’s Check are Not Service Charges

Sample tip calculations provided by the business are allowed on the customer’s bill as indicated by Q&A 1 of Revenue Ruling 2012-18. See example below:

Example: Restaurant includes sample calculations of tip amounts beneath the signature line on its charge receipts for food and beverages provided to customers. The actual tip line is left blank. Jackie's charge receipt shows sample tip calculations of 15%, 18% and 20% of the price of food and beverages. Jackie inserts the amount calculated at 15% on the tip line and adds this amount to the price of food and beverages to compute the total. Under these circumstances, Jackie was free to enter any amount on the tip line or leave it blank; thus, Jackie entered the 15% amount free from compulsion. Jackie and Restaurant did not negotiate the amount nor did Restaurant dictate the amount. Jackie generally determined who would get the amount. The amount Jackie entered on the tip line is a tip and not a service charge.

Voluntary Tip Compliance Agreements

Voluntary tip compliance agreements have been established by the IRS for industries where tipping is customary, such as the restaurant industry and casinos. These agreements are designed to enhance tax compliance among tipped employees and their employers through taxpayer education instead of through traditional enforcement actions, such as tip examinations. In addition to helping taxpayers understand and meet their tip reporting responsibilities, these agreements offer many benefits for the employer and the employee.

The Service currently offers employers the opportunity of entering into one of several types of voluntary tip compliance agreements:  

TRAC – Tip Reporting Alternative Commitment
TRDA – Tip Rate Determination Agreement
GITCA – Gaming Industry Tip Compliance Agreement

The Market Segment Understandings program has voluntary tip compliance agreements available for industries where tipping is customary.

Treatment of Amounts as Service Charges

Revenue Ruling 2012-18 was effective immediately upon publication and was applicable retroactively. However, under limited facts and circumstances with regard to amounts paid before January 1, 2014 which were improperly characterized as tips when they properly should have been characterized as service charges, Q&A 1 of Revenue Ruling 2012-18 may be applied prospectively under Announcement 2012-50. To the extent that Q&A 1 is applied without retroactive effect, an employer will not be required to pay any additional taxes.

In limited circumstances, some employers that have either a Gaming Industry Tip Compliance Agreement (GITCA) or a Tip Rate Determination Agreement (TRDA) may receive an extension beyond January 1, 2014. The IRS determined that employers participating in the GITCA Program or participating in a TRDA related to gaming may request one additional GITCA or TRDA contract term before the IRS applies Q&A 1 of Revenue Ruling 2012-18. The IRS requires the employers to agree that postponing the treatment of service charges consistent with Revenue Ruling 2012-18 does not make any service charge eligible for the section 45B credit under the Internal Revenue Code or inclusion on Form 8846, Credit for Employer Social Security and Medicare Taxes Paid on Certain Employee Tips.  

Employers Who Operate Large Food or Beverage Establishments


File Form 8027
An employer who operates a "large food or beverage establishment" must file Form 8027, Employer’s Annual Information Return of Tip Income and Allocated Tips, to make an annual report to the IRS for their receipts from food and beverages and tips employees reported to the employer. In addition, employers use Form 8027 to determine allocated tips for tipped employees. As an employer, you must file a Form 8027 for each large food or beverage establishment. Thus, many employers are required to file multiple Forms 8027.

A food or beverage operation is a large food or beverage establishment if all of the following apply:

  • Food or beverage operation is located in the 50 states or in the District of Columbia.
  • Food or beverages are provided for consumption on the premises (other than fast food operations).
  • Tipping of food or beverage employees by customers is a customary practice.
  • Employer normally employed more than 10 employees on a typical business day during the preceding calendar year. See the Instructions for Form 8027, to determine if you had more than 10 employees on a typical business day.

Allocating Tips
If the total tips reported by all employees at a large food or beverage establishment are less than 8 percent of the gross receipts (or a lower rate approved by the IRS), the employer must allocate the difference among the employees who receive tips. These "allocated tips" are computed and reported on Form 8027, Employer’s Annual Information Return of Tip Income and Allocated Tips. Employers show allocated tips on the employee's Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, in the box titled "Allocated tips." No income tax, social security or Medicare taxes are withheld on allocated tips.


Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Website

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 07-Jul-2016