Webinars for Small Businesses

Upcoming Webinars


Ethical Guidelines for Tax Professionals Under Circulars 230

This free 60-minute webinar will cover the following topics:

  • Define TIGTA's role in protecting the integrity of tax administration
  • Differentiate between TIGTA's jurisdiction and that of the IRS
  • Discuss preparer ethics and various forms of misconduct and Circular 230
  • Discuss the ongoing IRS impersonation scams
  • Plus a live Q & A

Closed captioning will be offered.

Continuing Education: All participants who qualify will receive a Certificate of Completion. Tax Professionals earn up to 1 CE Credits - Category: Ethics.

Registration: Please visit the registration website. Questions: Email: cl.sl.web.conference.team@irs.gov
Sponsored By: IRS Stakeholder Liaison

Date: August 29, 2019
Time: 2 p.m. (ET), 1 p.m. (CT), 12 p.m. (MT), 11 a.m. (PT), 10 a.m. (Alaska), 8 a.m. (Hawaii)

Tax Withholding Estimator

This webinar will:

  • Illustrate the user-friendly features and design improvements of the new IRS withholding estimator to help taxpayers check their withholding
  • Demonstrate how to use the new withholding estimator
  • Explain why taxpayers need to do a Paycheck Checkup to check their withholding
  • Provide a live Q & A

Closed captioning will be offered.

Continuing Education: All participants who qualify will receive a Certificate of Completion. Tax Professionals earn up to 2 CE Credits - Category: Federal Tax

Registration: Please visit the registration website. Questions: Email: cl.sl.web.conference.team@irs.gov
Sponsored By: IRS Stakeholder Liaison

Date: September 19, 2019
Time: 2 p.m. (ET), 1 p.m. (CT), 12 p.m. (MT), 11 a.m. (PT), 8 a.m. (Hawaii)

Employer Withholding Tax 2019 Workshops

In this FREE 2 hour workshop, the SCDOR, along with the IRS and the SC Department of Employment & Workforce (DEW) will present information to help you better understand your business obligations as they relate to withholding taxes. IRS is providing presentation materials and publications for distribution.

Topics

  • Federal tax law issues (taught by an Enrolled Agent) 
  • Unemployment Insurance - liability and reporting requirements (taught by an SCDEW representative) 
  • Basics of the SC Withholding Tax Law 
  • How to register for the Withholding Tax 
  • When to file and pay Withholding Taxes 
  • Electronic filing methods

Who Should Attend? Small business owners, bookkeepers, payroll clerks, new withholding tax registrants, businesses who employ seasonal workers, and tax professionals.

Registration: Pre-registration for workshops is necessary to receive the webinar link and log-in information. There are two ways to register

1.    Email the following information to TaxpayerEd@dor.sc.gov (preferred method):

  • Class Date 
  • Registrant Name 
  • Business Name 
  • Business Address 
  • Daytime Phone Number

A confirmation of your registration will be sent via email.

2.   Call our Taxpayer Education Phone Line: 803-898-5800

Webinar: Attendees should log on at least 20 minutes early to allow time for any system checks and trouble-shooting, ensure you are able to get online.

Sponsored By: SC Department of Revenue

Date: October 3, 2019
Time: 9 a.m. - 11 a.m.

An Overview of the Foreign Tax Credit

This webinar will cover the following:

  • Explain the impact of residency status on U.S. taxation.
  • Differentiate residency status under U.S. immigration law versus U.S. tax law.
  • Determine an individual's residency status for U.S. tax purposes.
  • Describe the special tax rules that apply to dual-status aliens.
  • Plus a live Q & A

Closed captioning will be offered.

Continuing Education: All participants who qualify will receive a Certificate of Completion. Tax Professionals earn up to 2 CE Credits - Category: Federal Tax.

Registration: Please visit the registration website. Questions: Email: cl.sl.web.conference.team@irs.gov
Sponsored By: IRS Stakeholder Liaison

Date: October 17, 2019
Time: 2 p.m. (ET), 1 p.m. (CT), 12 p.m. (MT), 11 a.m. (PT), 8 a.m. (Hawaii)

Tax Obligations of U.S. Individuals Living and Working Abroad

This webinar will cover the following:

  • Specify the U.S. income tax obligations of U.S. citizens and resident aliens abroad.
  • List the requirements for claiming the foreign earned income exclusion.
  • Summarize the U.S. employment tax obligations of U.S. citizens and resident aliens abroad.
  • Plus a live Q & A

Closed captioning will be offered.

Continuing Education: All participants who qualify will receive a Certificate of Completion. Tax Professionals earn up to 2 CE Credits - Category: Federal Tax.

Registration: Please visit the registration website. Questions: Email: cl.sl.web.conference.team@irs.gov
Sponsored By: IRS Stakeholder Liaison

Date: October 17, 2019
Time: 11 a.m. (ET), 10 a.m. (CT), 9 a.m. (MT), 8 a.m. (PT), 7 a.m. (Alaska), 6 a.m. (Hawaii)

Other Video Outreach Products

The IRS Video portal contains video and audio presentations on topics of interest to small businesses, individuals and tax professionals. You will find video clips of tax topics, archived versions of live panel discussions and webinars.

Back to Top