确定外国人的报税身份

若您是外国人(非美国公民),您会被视为非税法定义居民 (英文),除非您满足以下两种测试中其中一种测试外。若您满足绿卡测试 (英文)或在一个日历年度( 1 月 1 日- 12 月 31 日)内实质性居住测试 (英文), 您将视作基于美国纳税目的的 税法定义的居民 (英文)

确定外国人 居住开始和结束日期 (英文)规则。

在某些情况下,外国人允许选择优先于绿卡测试和实质性居住测试的规定,如下所述:

在同一税务年度,您可以同时是非税法定义居民和税法定义的居民。这通常发生在您抵达或离开美国的那一年。若是这样,您需要申报双重身份的所得税表 (英文)

如果您是居民身份的外国人,并且需要确定您的美国税法定义的居民身份以便申报外国税收协定福利,请参考基于税收协定目的之美国居民身份证明 (英文)

Determining Alien Tax Status

If you are an alien (not a U.S. citizen), you are considered a nonresident alien unless you meet one of two tests. You are a resident alien of the United States for tax purposes if you meet either the green card test or the substantial presence test for the calendar year (January 1-December 31).

Certain rules exist for determining the residency starting and ending dates for aliens.

In some cases, aliens are allowed to make elections which override the green card test and the substantial presence test, as follows:

You can be both a nonresident alien and a resident alien during the same tax year. This usually occurs in the year you arrive or depart from the United States. If so, you need to file a dual-status income tax return.

If you are a resident alien and need to establish your U.S. residency for the purpose of claiming a tax treaty benefit with a foreign country, refer to Certification of U.S. Residency for Tax Treaty Purposes.