IRS Seeks Volunteers for Taxpayer Advocacy Panel 2012


Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

IR-2012-35, March 19, 2012 

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service seeks civic-minded volunteers to serve on the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel (TAP), a federal advisory committee that listens to taxpayers, identifies key issues, and makes recommendations for improving IRS service.

“TAP members give the IRS insights from every corner of our nation, helping the agency in its continuous effort to improve tax administration,” said IRS Commissioner Doug Shulman.

The TAP provides a forum for taxpayers from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico to raise concerns about IRS service and offer suggestions for improvement. The TAP reports annually to the Secretary of the Treasury, the IRS Commissioner and the National Taxpayer Advocate. The Office of the Taxpayer Advocate, an independent organization within the IRS, provides oversight of the TAP.

“In trying to comply with an increasingly complex tax system, taxpayers may find they need different services than the IRS is currently providing,” said Nina E. Olson, National Taxpayer Advocate. “The TAP is vital because it provides the IRS with the taxpayers’ perspective as well as recommendations for improvement. This will help the IRS deliver the best possible service to assist taxpayers in meeting their tax obligations.”

To be a member of the TAP you must be a U.S. citizen, current with your federal tax obligations, able to commit 300 to 500 hours during the year and able to pass an FBI criminal background check. 

New TAP members will serve a three-year term starting in December 2012.  If you’re chosen as an alternate member, you’ll be considered to fill any vacancies that open in your area during the next three years.

The TAP is seeking members in the following locations:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin 

The panel needs alternates for:

  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

Applications for the TAP will be accepted through April 27, 2012. Applications are available online at

For additional information about the TAP or the application process, please call toll-free 888-912-1227.

Follow the IRS on New Media
Subscribe to IRS Newswire