主題608 - 超額預扣社會安全稅和RRTA稅

大多數雇主必須從您的工資中預扣社會安全稅。某些政府雇主(一些聯邦、州和當地政府)不需要預扣社會安全稅。

如果您為鐵路的雇主工作,您的雇主必須預扣1級鐵路退休金(RRTA)稅和 2級RRTA稅。1級RRTA稅提供社會安全和醫療保險的同等好處,第2級RRTA稅提供了一個私人的退休金福利。

雇主的錯誤。如果任何一個雇主扣留過多的社會安全稅、1級RRTA稅或2級RRTA稅,您不能申報多餘的部份作為對所得稅的抵減。您的雇主應為您多餘的部份作調整。如果雇主沒有調整超收預扣稅款,您可以使用 843表【申請退稅和減排要求沖銷】(英文)PDF 來申報退稅。

兩個或兩個以上的雇主。如果您在一個納稅年度中有一個以上的雇主且您的工資總額超過年度工資基數限制,社會安全稅或和社會安全稅相等的已扣除的1級RRTA稅可能已經超過了該納稅年度已繳納稅金的最大值。如果您有一個以上的鐵路雇主而您應扣的2級RRTA稅的報酬總額超過了最高金額,總扣除的2級RRTA稅可能已經超過了該納稅年度應繳納稅金的最大值。

  • 如果您有一個以上的雇主而且被預扣過多的社會安全稅或1級 RRTA稅,您可能可以在您的所得稅報稅表上申報多餘的部份作為對所得稅中的抵減。有關更多資訊,請參閱表格1040說明中的「超額預扣社會安全稅和1級RRTA預扣稅」。
  • 如果您有一個以上的雇主而且被預扣過多的2級 RRTA稅,您可以使用 843表( 英文)PDF要求退還多餘的2級 RRTA稅。在您的843表附上該年度的W-2表【工資和稅收報表】(英文)PDF副本。

聯合報稅。如果是夫妻聯合報稅,您和您的配偶必須分開計算任何多扣的社會安全稅或 1 級RRTA稅。

Topic No. 608 Excess Social Security and RRTA Tax Withheld

Most employers must withhold social security tax from your wages. Certain government employers (some federal, state and local governments) don't have to withhold social security tax.

If you work for a railroad employer, your employer must withhold Tier 1 Railroad Retirement Tax Act (RRTA) tax and Tier 2 RRTA tax. Tier 1 RRTA provides social security and Medicare equivalent benefits, and Tier 2 RRTA provides a private pension benefit.

Employer's error - If any one employer withheld too much social security, Tier 1 RRTA tax, or Tier 2 RRTA tax, you can't claim the excess as a credit against your income tax. Your employer should adjust the excess for you. If the employer doesn't adjust the overcollection, you can use Form 843, Claim for Refund and Request for Abatement PDF to claim a refund.

Two or more employers - If you had more than one employer during the taxable year and your total wages and compensation were over the wage base limit for the year, the total social security tax or social security equivalent Tier 1 RRTA tax withheld may have exceeded the maximum amount due for the tax year. If you had more than one railroad employer, and your total compensation was over the maximum amount of wages subject to Tier 2 RRTA, the total Tier 2 RRTA tax withheld may have exceeded the maximum due for the tax year. You can find the wage base limits for the social security, RRTA tier 1, and the RRTA tier 2 tax for the year in Chapter 36, Other Credits, of Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals PDF.

  • If you had more than one employer and too much social security tax or Tier 1 RRTA tax withheld, you may be able to claim the excess as a credit against your income tax on your income tax return.
  • If you had more than one employer and too much Tier 2 RRTA tax withheld, you may request a refund of the excess Tier 2 RRTA tax using Form 843 PDF. Attach copies of your Forms W-2, Wage and Tax Statement PDF for the year to Form 843. 

 

Joint returns - If you're filing a joint return, you and your spouse must figure any excess social security tax or Tier 1 RRTA tax separately.

Additional Information

For details, including how to compute the amount of excess credit, refer to Publication 17. Also, see the Instructions for Form 843  PDF.