免費申報可以幫助不需要申報的人士找到被忽略的稅務抵免額

People holding the American flag

免費申報讓幾乎所有的納稅人都能填寫自身的納稅申報表、進行電子申報,並獲得退稅,並且這一切都是免費的。

瞭解國稅局、其人員以及影響納稅人的問題

Person Typing on Laptop with Free File text and Money Floating in Background

撰寫人 迪特拉·格蘭特

2021 年 3 月 4 日,CL-21-08

國稅局和稅務填寫產業已經合作了將近二十年的時間,提供免費的線上稅務填寫選項。這個程式的名字叫做免費申報,一如其名,這項程式的作用顯而易見

免費申報讓幾乎所有的納稅人都能填寫自身的納稅申報表、進行電子申報,並獲得退稅,並且這一切都是免費的。如果您去年的收入是 $72,000 美元或以下(這包含了 70% 的納稅人),您一般至少可以找到一種免費申報產品來使用。共有九項產品以英文提供,並為納稅人提供了西班牙文選項。

免費申報從未像現在這樣如此重要。去年,國會通過了兩輪的經濟影響補助金來應對新冠肺炎的可怕影響。

第一輪補助金每人最多發放 $1,200 美元,每位符合資格的子女發放 $500 美元。第二輪補助金每人最多發放 $600 美元,每位符合資格的子女發放 $600 美元。

符合資格但未獲得全額的第一輪或第二輪補助金的納稅人在 2021 年申報 2020 年的納稅申報表時能以復甦退稅抵免額申領他們應獲得的額外金額。

納稅人可在此利用免費申報。這是一種免費申領全額稅務優惠(包含復甦退稅抵免額)的方式,確保您能獲得您應獲得的退稅。

去年有許多人在就業市場受到負面影響,並且他們在 2020 年的收入可能會顯著地與 2019 年的不同。不要錯失省錢的機會:使用免費申報來幫助您。

免費申報對於通常被稱之為非申報人的人士特別寶貴,這些人沒有義務報稅。

這些是應稅收入低於特定收入水準的人士。例如,收入低於 $12,400 美元,也就是標準扣除額的單身人士,如沒有其他特殊稅務問題則無報稅義務。

符合資格的非申報人如要申領任何有資格領取的額外經濟影響補助金,他們必須申報 2020 年的納稅申報表並申領復甦退稅抵免額。

這樣做還有著其他好處:使用我們九項免費申報產品的非申報人可能會發現他們符合收入所得稅抵免額(EITC)等額外稅務優惠。線上免費申報使用易於操作的訪談式軟體產品,手把手的導引使用者完成稅務申報流程,並確保他們獲取所有應得的稅務減免。

例如,人們在 2020 年可能會因為有工作而賺取收入,但仍低於申報門檻。他們可能有資格獲得收入所得稅抵免額。 在去年賺取 $15,820 美元或以下的單身人士可能符合收入所得稅抵免額的資格,並且,如果他們沒有符合資格的子女,則可能根據他們的收入符合高達 $538 的收入所得稅抵免額。

收入所得稅抵免額只是不須申報的人士可能有資格獲取的多項與家人和被撫養人相關的稅務抵免額之一。這些稱之為可退稅抵免額,因為不論您付了多少稅款,您都能獲得您應得的退稅。

去年有許多人在就業市場受到負面影響,並且他們在 2020 年的收入可能會顯著地與 2019 年的不同。不要錯失省錢的機會:使用免費申報來幫助您。

並且,即便您沒有電腦,只要您有智慧型手機,就能存取線上免費申報並自行申報納稅申報表。

如果您不須申報稅務,下列是該如何進行:

  1. 前往IRS.gov/FreeFile
  2. 選取「選擇一項國稅局免費申報優惠」藍色鈕
  3. 選取「瀏覽所有優惠」,並搜尋無最低收入要求的產品
  4. 選取最滿足您的需求的產品,您將會自動被轉往公司的網站
  5. 回答稅務產品的問題以完成您的納稅申報表,準確地回報您的應稅收入(如有)
  6. 如果您沒有應稅收入,僅須回答包含為計算復甦退稅抵免額而請求資訊在內的問題。
  7. 為您的退稅完成資訊填寫、簽屬納稅申報表,並進行電子申報。

免費申報還為有信心能自行填寫納稅申報表的人士提供了另一個平台。這就是免費申報可填入表單選項。這是國稅局紙本表單的電子版本。這項表單能夠進行數學計算,但將不會尋找額外的優惠,或幫助您申報州納稅申報表,並且也不建議僅為申領復甦退稅抵免額的非申報人使用。

如果您需要的幫助超出了免費申報的能力範圍,我們還提供了義務所得稅協會(VITA)和老年人稅務諮詢(TCE)計劃。經過國稅局培訓的義工能夠幫助一般不進行申報的人士申報納稅申報表。請注意,由於疫情的關係,許多站點僅提供線上服務。此外,從軍人士、符合資格的家庭成員和一些退伍軍人都有資格使用免費的 MilTax(英文)服務來填寫並以電子方式申報其聯邦和州納稅申報表。

所有有資格申領收入所得稅抵免額及復甦退稅抵免額等抵免額的人士瞭解他們必須申報納稅深表才能申領這些抵免額,並且他們能夠免費地申報,是非常重要的。利用免費申報,您就能安全、迅速,以及簡單地滿足您的需求。

迪特拉·格蘭特

客戶帳戶服務處處長

Photo of Dietra Grant

關於作者

迪特拉·格蘭特是客戶帳戶服務處(CAS)組織的處長。薪資和投資部客戶帳戶服務處是國稅局最大的單一實體,並且在國稅局報稅季營運上扮演著基石,在報稅旺季期間,該組織在全國 25 個地區僱用了近 35,000 名員工。客戶帳戶服務處透過四項營運重點達成它的使命 —— 遞交處理、帳戶管理、聯合營運中心,以及電子產品和服務支援。

 

免費自行填寫納稅申報表

訂閱

國稅局提供幾種關於各種稅務主題的電子新聞訂閱。訂閱 (英文)之後,即可在新的內容發佈時,獲得電子郵件提醒。

Free File Can Help People Who Have No Filing Requirement Find Overlooked Tax Credits

People holding the American flag

Free File allows almost all taxpayers to prepare their own federal tax return, e-file it and get a refund – all for free.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


Person Typing on Laptop with Free File text and Money Floating in Background

By Dietra Grant
CL-21-08, March 4, 2021

For nearly two decades, the Internal Revenue Service and the tax preparation industry have partnered to offer free online tax preparation options. The program is called Free File and the name says it all.

Free File allows almost all taxpayers to prepare their own federal tax return, e-file it and get a refund – all for free. If your income last year was $72,000 or less, and that’s 70 percent of taxpayers, you can generally find at least one Free File product to use. There are nine products in English and taxpayers can use a Spanish option as well.

But never has Free File been as important as it is right now. Last year, Congress passed two rounds of Economic Impact Payments to counter the terrible impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The first payments were up to $1,200 per person and $500 per qualifying child. The second payments were up to $600 per eligible person and $600 per qualifying child.

In 2021, eligible taxpayers who did not receive the full amount of the first or second payments can claim the additional amount they are due as the Recovery Rebate Credit when they file their 2020 tax return.

And that’s where Free File comes in. It’s a free way to claim the full amount of tax benefits, including the Recovery Rebate Credit, and ensure you get the refund you’re due.

So many people were adversely affected last year in the job market, and their income may be substantially different in 2020 than it was in 2019. Don’t leave money on the table: use Free File online to help.

Free File online is especially valuable for people often referred to as non-filers, who do not have a tax filing obligation.

These are people whose taxable income is below certain income levels. For example, single people with incomes below $12,400, the amount of the standard deduction, would have no filing obligation if they had no other special tax issues.

For eligible non-filers to claim any additional Economic Impact Payment amount they are due, they must file a 2020 tax return and claim the Recovery Rebate Credit.

Here’s a bonus: Non-filers using our nine traditional Free File products may find they are eligible for additional tax benefits such as the Earned Income Tax Credit, or EITC. Free File online uses easy interview-based software products to walk users through the tax filing process step-by-step to help ensure they get all the tax breaks they are due.

For example, people can have earned income from a job in 2020 but still fall below the filing threshold. They may be eligible for the EITC.  A single person who earned $15,820 or less last year may qualify for the EITC, and, depending on their income, could be eligible for up to $538 of EITC if they have no qualifying child.

EITC is just one of several tax credits related to family and dependent care that someone without a filing requirement may be eligible to receive. These are called refundable credits because you get all the refund you are due regardless of how much in taxes, if any, you paid.

So many people were adversely affected last year in the job market, and their income may be substantially different in 2020 than it was in 2019. Don’t leave money on the table: use Free File online to help.

And even if you don’t have a computer, if you have a smart phone, you can access Free File online and do your tax return.

Here’s how it works if you do not have a tax filing requirement:

  1. Go to IRS.gov/FreeFile
  2. Select “Choose an IRS Free File Offer” blue button
  3. Select “Browse all offers” and look for a product that has no minimum income requirement
  4. Select the product that best meets your needs and you will be automatically redirected to the company’s website
  5. Answer the tax product questions to complete your tax return, accurately reporting your taxable income, if any  
  6. If you have no taxable income, simply answer the questions including those requesting information needed to compute the Recovery Rebate Credit
  7. Complete the information for your refund, sign the return and file it electronically

Free File also offers another platform that is best used by those people who are comfortable doing their own tax returns. This is the Free File Fillable Forms option. It is an electronic version of IRS paper forms. It will do the math calculations, but it will not help find additional benefits, or allow you to file a state tax return, and it is not recommended for non-filers who are filing solely to claim the Recovery Rebate Credit.

If you need more help than Free File can offer, we also have our Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) Programs. IRS-trained volunteers can help people file a tax return who don’t usually file. Please be advised that because of the pandemic, many sites are offering virtual services only. Additionally, military service members, qualifying family members and some veterans are eligible to use free MilTax services to prepare and electronically file their federal and state tax returns.

It’s important that everyone who is eligible to claim credits like the Earned Income Tax Credit and Recovery Rebate Credit know they must claim them by filing a tax return and they can do so at no cost. With Free File, you get what you need safely, quickly and easily.

Dietra Grant
Director, Customer Account Services

Photo of Dietra Grant

About the Author

Dietra Grant is the Director of the Customer Account Services (CAS) organization. W&I CAS is the largest single entity in IRS and serves as the cornerstone of IRS filing season operations, employing nearly 35,000 individuals in 25 locations nationwide during the peak filing season. CAS accomplishes its mission through four key operations - Submission Processing, Accounts Management, the Joint Operations Center, and Electronic Products and Services Support.

Prior to this assignment, Dietra was the Director of the Customer Assistance, Relationships and Education organization. In this role, she had oversight of the Stakeholder Partnerships, Education and Communication, Media and Publications, and Field Assistance functions of IRS’s W&I Division.

 

 

Do-It-Yourself Free Tax Preparation

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.