國稅局在受疫情影響的關鍵領域取得進展,但仍有更多工作要做

People holding the American flag

仔細看看與大流行病有關的問題如何仍然導致國稅局經歷創紀錄的活動水平而影響運營,以及儘管如此,該機構如何取得進展並為納稅人服務。

了解國稅局、其人員和影響納稅人的問題


United States currency behind the United States flag.

作者:查克· 雷蒂格(Chuck Rettig)
CL-21-27,2021 年9 月14 日

國稅局在為我們的國家服務方面發揮著重要作用。我們與美國人民的互動比任何其他美國政府機構都多 - 幾乎是關乎國家的每一個人和企業。我們為我們國家的重要項目處理了96% 的資金,但我們的機構和我們的人員在過去一年半里不得不加緊努力,為有需要的美國人提供更多支持。就像全國各地的企業和其他機構一樣,在疫情期間,我們不得不暫停或修改一些運營,直到我們擁有安全可靠的遠程方案,使我們的員工能夠開展工作並為納稅人服務。我為我們的員工 在處理 COVID-19 疫情期間致力於幫助美國納稅人履行稅務責任和解決稅務問題(英文)而感到無比自豪。

雖然我們不得不暫時縮減運營,但在大流行病期間國會通過的重要經濟救濟措施賦予了我們許多新的責任,我們自豪地致力於提供經濟影響補助金、子女稅優惠 (CTC) 的預付款和許多其他2020 年和2021 年的關鍵舉措。我們感謝納稅人並理解由於大量人工處理稅表、納稅人可獲得的有關稅表處理狀態的信息有限、退稅延遲以及難以聯繫到IRS 員工所造成的挫敗感。我們還了解到復雜的稅務問題、最近的立法和大流行病使尋求幫助的納稅人數量創下歷史新高。

在大流行病期間,我們的員工每時每刻都在努力保持我們的運營,在這一切中,我們感謝納稅人和稅務界的耐心和理解。即便如此,儘管我們盡了最大努力,與大流行病相關的問題仍然導致我們經歷創紀錄的活動水平,這些活動繼續影響整個機構的運營,包括納稅申報表和退稅的處理。從這個角度來看,國稅局今年前六個月收到了1.99 億通電話 - 是正常年度數量的五倍 - 我們今年人工審查的納稅申報表數量增加了11 倍(1100 萬),以糾正錯誤並收集納稅人的缺失信息。

我致力於確保國稅局將繼續盡我們所能為納稅人服務。在大流行病期間,我們不得不尋找新的方法來實現我們的使命。當我們面臨巨大的挑戰時,我們並不總能做到正確,但我們努力工作,通常是在有限的資源下。在可能的情況下,我們已重新部署資源以滿足不斷增長的需求。我們的目標是提供納稅人應得的高質量援助,但 儘管最近努力克服重大挑戰(英文),我們仍無法滿足這一目標。我想代表國稅局的全體工作人員向你們保證,我們將繼續取得進展,與國會、政府以及我們稅務界內外的合作夥伴共同努力。

我們知道,對於許多納稅人和稅務專業人員來說,這一直是並將繼續是個令人沮喪的時刻 - 對於我們所有國稅局的人來說,這也是一個充滿挑戰的時刻。在這種情況下,我們已經盡了最大努力,在面對當前的挑戰時,我們將繼續盡最大努力。我們對前所未有的COVID挑戰的回應 - 包括發放總和近1.5萬億美元的歷史性經濟救濟和個人退款 - 說明了每個美國人對國稅局的重要性以及國稅局對每個美國人的重要性。我想讓大家了解一下我們在國稅局內部所面臨的情況,以及我們正在做的事情 - 幫助陷入困境的納稅人,並在這個前所未有的時期迎頭趕上。

查看更多關於Rettig 局長對 運營狀況(英文)PDF的評論。

Chuck Rettig
國稅局局長

Commissioner Rettig

關於作者

查克·雷蒂格是國稅局第 49 任局長。作為局長,雷蒂格負責整個國家的稅務系統,每年徵收超過 $3.5 兆美元的稅收。這筆稅收挹注了大多數的政府營運及公共服務。他管理這所擁有大約 80,000 員工的機構,並掌握大約 $110 億美元的預算。

在領導國稅局上,雷蒂格致力於改善向我國納稅人提供的服務,並在尊重納稅人權利及國家稅法的適當執行之間取得平衡。

 

When Will I Get My Refund YouTube Video

仔細瞭解

閱讀我們所有(英文)與納稅人及稅務界有關的即時議題

訂閱

國稅局在各種稅務主題上提供了數個電子報訂閱。訂閱(英文)以在發佈新內容時收到電子郵件通知。

IRS Making Progress on Key Areas Slowed by the Pandemic, but More Work Remains

People holding the American flag

Take a closer look at how pandemic-related issues are still causing the IRS to experience record levels of activity that affect operations and how, despite that, the agency is making progress and serving taxpayers.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


United States currency behind the United States flag.

By Chuck Rettig
CL-21-27, September 14, 2021

The IRS plays an important role in serving our country. We interact with more Americans than any other U.S. government agency – virtually every individual and business in the country. We process 96 percent of the funding for our nation’s vital programs, but our agency and our people have had to really step up in the past year and a half to provide even more support to Americans in need. And just like businesses and other agencies around the country, we had to pause or modify some operations during the pandemic until we had safe and secure remote options in place to enable our employees to perform their work and serve taxpayers. I am extremely proud of the dedication of our workforce toward helping American taxpayers fulfill their tax responsibilities and resolve tax issues while they dealt with the COVID-19 situation.

While we had to temporarily scale back operations, important economic relief measures passed by Congress during the pandemic gave us many new responsibilities, and we have proudly worked to deliver Economic Impact Payments, advance payments of the Child Tax Credit (CTC) and many other critical initiatives in 2020 and 2021. We appreciate and understand the frustration caused by the high volume of manually processed returns, the limited information available to taxpayers about the status of the return processing, the refund delays, and the difficulty reaching IRS employees. We also understand that complex tax issues, recent legislation and the pandemic have  record numbers of taxpayers looking for help.

At every turn, our employees have gone above and beyond during the pandemic to keep our operations going, and through it all, we have appreciated the patience and understanding of taxpayers and the tax community. Even so, and despite our best efforts, pandemic-related issues are still causing us to experience record levels of activity that continue to affect operations across the agency, including the processing of tax returns and refunds. To put this in perspective, the IRS has received 199 million phone calls the first six months of this year – five times the normal annual volume – and we have manually reviewed 11 times more tax returns this year (11 million) to correct errors and gather missing information from taxpayers.

I am committed to ensuring the IRS will continue to do all we can to serve taxpayers. During the pandemic, we have had to find new ways to pursue our mission. As we faced enormous challenges, we didn’t always get it right, but we worked hard, often with limited resources. Where possible, we have redeployed resources to accommodate the increased demand. Our goal is to provide the quality of assistance taxpayers deserve, but we have been unable to satisfy this goal despite recent efforts to overcome significant challenges. On behalf of the entire IRS workforce, I want to assure you we will continue making progress, working together with Congress, the Administration and our partners inside and outside the tax community.

We know this has been and continues to be a frustrating time for many taxpayers and tax professionals – and it’s been a challenging time for all of us at the IRS as well. We have done the best we could under the circumstances, and we will continue to do our best as we face the current challenges. Our response to the unprecedented COVID challenges – including issuing almost $1.5 trillion in combined historic economic relief and individual refunds – illustrates the importance of every American to the IRS and the importance of the IRS to every American. I want to give you a glimpse of what we’re facing inside the IRS, and what we’re doing – to help struggling taxpayers and to get caught up during this unprecedented time.

See more on Commissioner Rettig's comments on the Status of Operations.

Chuck Rettig
IRS Commissioner

Commissioner Rettig

About the Author

Chuck Rettig is the 49th Commissioner of the IRS. As Commissioner, Rettig presides over the nation’s tax system, which collects more than $3.5 trillion in tax revenue each year. This revenue funds most government operations and public services. He manages an agency of about 80,000 employees and a budget of approximately $11 billion.

In leading the IRS, Rettig is focused on improving service to the nation’s taxpayers, balancing appropriate enforcement of the nation’s tax laws while respecting taxpayer rights.

 

When Will I Get My Refund YouTube Video

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.