在國稅局工作 —— 對使命、人民和國家的承諾

People holding the American flag

仔細檢閱為國稅局工作能夠如何讓您將您的才幹應用於實際問題、提供您成功所需要的成長,以及讓您能為您的國家服務。

瞭解國稅局、其人員以及影響納稅人的問題


People looking at Mission People Country

小羅賓·D·貝利
CL-21-06ZHT,2021 年 2 月 18 日

作為國稅局組織負責招募、僱用、開發和保留員工的負責人,我有很多機會來討論為何國稅局是理想的工作場所。投入國稅局職涯的原因很多,其中包括各種各樣的職涯道路、遍布全國的辦公地點、優良的補助、充滿挑戰的動態工作環境、專業性成長機會,以及我們多元化和包容性的工作場所。雖然這些都是有效和充分的理由,但我經常著重在三個能體現我認為國稅局是追求職涯的最佳場所的主題:

為了使命。

為了人民。

為了國家。

我確定大部人在想到國稅局時想到的都是稅收。我們的使命聲明反映了我們重要的稅務管理和執法工作:「透過幫助美國納稅人理解和履行其稅務責任,並以誠實正直的態度對待所有人,為美國納稅人提供最優質的服務。

我相信讓您仔細檢閱我司的使命以及執行的人才是很重要的 —— 讓您瞭解我為什麼相信這是致力於公共服務且擁有強烈的職業道德想為更大的利益做出貢獻的人士的理想機構。使命是正在尋找新僱主或職涯方向的申請人最主要考慮的因素,也是員工留在組織中的關鍵。有意義的工作加上重要的使命的結合是一個非常強大的力量。

在與潛在或新員工討論國稅局的使命時,我會請他們看得比使命聲明字面上的意義更加深遠,因為我們的使命遠不止於此,我們的使命讓美國能持續運轉下去。我經常將國稅局形容為美國的心跳。我們每年會收到超過 $3 兆美元的稅金,並且支撐聯邦政府營運的資金中有大約 96% 是來自於我們。我們所做的工作援助著這個國家最重要的計劃,從國土安全到美國國防和社會安全,以及與家稍微靠近一點的計劃和專案,例如公園和森林、道路和橋樑、圖書館、博物館、學校,以及其他事項。

我們的使命和工作範圍的成功需要一支敬業且多元化的員工隊伍,他們必須具備許多領域的技能。我們的職涯機會不僅限於會計和法律職位;我們擁有犯罪調查和法律遵從性職位,以及資訊科技、人力資本、設施管理、通訊和許多其他領域的職位。無論您擁有哪個學位或正在學習哪個領域都沒關係 —— 國稅局都為您提供了一些激動人心的職涯機會。例如,我們的犯罪調查人員曾在跨機構團隊中工作,這些團隊在暗網上暴露了一家涉及秘密使用加密貨幣的全球兒童色情企業,並協助將該網站的管理員以及位於 23 個州和 12 個國家 330 多名高流量使用者繩之以法。我們的資訊科技專業人員因在納稅人優先法案下採用技術解決方案為我們的營運做出創新而贏得了獎項。雷蒂格局長說他可以打賭我們能夠聘僱國內任何一所大學的全體大四畢業生,並將他們每個人都放在其專業領域上。我鼓勵任何正在尋找具有挑戰性和令人興奮的職涯的人仔細研究國稅局。

這讓我們能夠討論我們的員工,這是一個我非常熱衷的主題。員工是我們最重要的資產。在國稅局中,我們是一群致力於使事情成真的專業人士 —— 沒有克服不了的挑戰 —— 我們找到解決難題的方法!國稅局的全國員工日復一日地努力工作,協助稅務管理、幫助納稅人、與利害關係人接觸、執行法律以促進公平稅制、逮捕剝削兒童或從事恐怖主義活動的罪犯,並及時向納稅人退稅。正如我們在新冠肺炎疫情期間所證明的那樣,我們相互扶持,並為我們群體中的其他人伸出援手。這是一個很特別的工作場所。

我們對我們的員工有遠大的規劃。我們將確保我們的員工受到培訓,成為工作領域範圍中的佼佼者。這些是我們為了吸引最優秀和最聰明的人才並留住團隊中的人才而進行的投資。我們重視並擁抱員工的本質以及他們的個人生活經歷,從而提高國稅局全體員工的整體價值,並自豪地反映我們所服務的社區。底線是 —— 我們希望吸引人才、讓人才在這裡成長,並讓人才在這裡退休,但如果他們選擇離開,他們都將會準備好面對生命中的下一章節。我們致力於對他們進行全方面的投資。

知道您不論在國稅局擔任什麼職位都是在為我們國家的成功做出貢獻是一個令人欣喜的感受。並且不論您對什麼感到熱情,您都能在國稅局中找到屬於您的一片天地,並同時為更大的利益做出貢獻。

投資於我們的員工是其中一件我們可以做的最重要的事情。我對於我們目前所做得以及規劃在未來加強投資員工感到興奮,我們的目的在於拓寬視野並建立強大的人才儲備,這將使我們能夠更廣泛地觸及多元化和充滿活力的領域。為此,我們在企業大學的領導力和專業發展框架上進行了大量投資。我們正在建設國稅局大學,並希望在 2022 年啟用。國稅局大學意圖滿足我們員工的職涯發展和豐富的需求,並為國稅局員工提供刻意的培訓以及提供教育性和實驗性機會。

一旦我們將新員工帶入公司,我們將確保他們受到我們組織的熱烈歡迎。我們的新員工大使計劃透過將新員工與經驗豐富的國稅局員工配對來為他們提供協助和支援,從而為他們提供支援。大使會是自願幫助新員工過渡到他/她的新職位的同事,理想情況下將與新員工來自相同的職位以及業務營運部門。截至目前為止,我們已經在該計劃上取得了巨大的成功,並繼續招募員工參加。最後但並非最不重要的一點是,為國稅局工作是為了我們的國家。

我和國稅局的同事們都是敬業的公務員,致力於為我們的同胞們做正確的事和公平的事以協助我們的國家。難怪有這麼多退伍軍人和軍人家庭在這裡工作,繼續為我們的國家提供愛國服務。我們也是納稅人,也都會從這個角度審視我們所做的一切,我們致力於不斷改進使得執行稅務法律對每個人的負擔不那麼沉重。

知道您不論在國稅局擔任什麼職位都是在為我們國家的成功做出貢獻是一個令人欣喜的感受。並且不論您對什麼感到熱情,您都能在國稅局中找到屬於您的一片天地,並同時為更大的利益做出貢獻。這很令人興奮,又充滿回報,而且還能滿足愛國心...沒有比這更好的了!

如果您想要成為一個能讓您將您的才幹應用於實際問題、提供您成功所需要的成長,以及讓您能為您的國家服務的動態組織的一份子,您在國稅局就會找到的一切。所以,如果您想接受挑戰,與優秀的人才一起工作,請前往我們在 IRS.gov 上的職缺頁面(英文)或我們的 領英網頁(英文)頁面以獲得更多資訊。

小羅賓·D·貝利
國稅局人力資本主管

Robin D. Bailey, Jr., IRS Human Capital Officer

關於作者

小羅賓·D·貝利在空軍、農業部和國稅局的各個資深職位上為美國服務了 30 多年。作為國稅局的人力資本主管,他為 1,600 名專業人員提供行政領導和指導,這些專業人員成功處理了與 80,000 名國稅局員工相關的招募、僱用、員工發展、留才、績效管理、薪資、員工服務、勞資關係、員工敬業度和表彰計劃相關的所有事宜。

 

您的才能在國稅局能發揮所長(英文)

仔細瞭解

閱讀我們所有(英文)與納稅人及稅務界有關的即時議題

訂閱

國稅局在各種稅務主題上提供了數個電子報訂閱。訂閱(英文)以在發佈新內容時收到電子郵件通知。

Working for the IRS – A Commitment to Mission, People and Country

People holding the American flag

Take a closer look at how working for the IRS lets you apply your talents to real-world issues, provides you with the development you need to succeed, and enables you to serve your country.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


People looking at Mission People Country

By Robin D. Bailey, Jr.
CL-21-06, February 18, 2021

As the leader of the IRS organization responsible for recruiting, hiring, developing and retaining employees, I have numerous opportunities to talk about why the IRS is a great place to work. There are many attractive reasons to pursue a career at the IRS, including a wide variety of career paths, office locations all over the country, great benefits, a challenging and dynamic work environment, professional development opportunities and our diverse and inclusive workplace. And while these are all valid and good reasons, I often focus on three themes that capture the spirit of why I believe the IRS is the best place to pursue a career:

It’s about the mission.

It’s about the people.

It’s about the country.

I’m sure most people think of tax collection when they think of the IRS. Our mission statement reflects our important tax administration and enforcement work: “Provide America's taxpayers top quality service by helping them understand and meet their tax responsibilities and enforce the law with integrity and fairness to all.”

I think it’s important to give you a closer look at our agency’s mission - and the talented people who carry it out – so you understand why I believe this is definitely an agency for people who have a commitment to public service and a strong work ethic who want to contribute to a higher good. Mission is one of the primary considerations for applicants when looking for a new employer or career, and it’s the key to employees staying in their organization. The combination of meaningful work in support of an important mission is powerful.

When discussing the mission of the IRS with prospective or new employees, I ask them to look beyond the language in our mission statement because our mission is far greater, as it involves keeping America running. I often characterize the IRS as the heartbeat of America. Each year, we collect more than $3 trillion and generate approximately 96 percent of the funding that supports the federal government’s operations. The work we do supports the nation’s most vital programs, from homeland security to America’s defense, to Social Security, as well as programs and projects that are a bit closer to home, like parklands and forests, roads and bridges, libraries, museums, schools, and more.

The success of our mission and the scope of the work we do requires a committed and diverse workforce with skills in many areas. Our career opportunities extend beyond accounting and legal positions; we have criminal investigation and compliance positions, and positions in information technology, human capital, facilities management, communications and many other fields. It does not matter which degree you hold or the field you are studying - the IRS has some exciting career opportunities for you. For example, our criminal investigators have worked on interagency teams that exposed a global child pornography enterprise on the dark web involving surreptitious use of a cryptocurrency and helped bring to justice the site’s administrator and more than 330 high-volume users located in 23 states and 12 countries. Our Information Technology professionals have won awards for implementing technical solutions to innovate our operations under the Taxpayer First Act. Commissioner Rettig has said that he bets we could hire an entire senior class of any college in this country and place each person in their area of expertise. I encourage anyone who is looking for a challenging and exciting career to take a closer look at the IRS.

This brings us to a discussion about our people, and this is a topic I’m very passionate about. Our workforce is our most important asset. In the IRS, we are a group of dedicated professionals who make things happen - no challenge is too great - and we find solutions to difficult problems! Day in and day out, IRS employees nationwide are hard at work supporting tax administration, helping taxpayers, engaging stakeholders, enforcing laws to promote a fair tax system, apprehending criminals who exploit children or engage in terrorism, and issuing timely refunds to taxpayers. And as we’ve demonstrated during the COVID-19 pandemic, we support one another and people in our communities. This is a special place to work.

Our goal for our workforce is ambitious. We are going to make sure our folks are trained and developed to be the very best at what they do. These are investments we are making to attract the best and brightest and retain those who are on the team. We value and embrace employees for who they are and for their personal life experiences as enhancing the overall value of all IRS employees in being proudly reflective of the communities we serve. Bottom line - we want people to come here, grow here, and retire here, but if they leave, they will be well prepared for the next chapter in their life. We are committed to investing in them the entire way.

It’s a great feeling to know that no matter what position you hold at the IRS, you are contributing to the success of our country. And no matter what your passion is, you can find it in the IRS while making meaningful contributions to the greater good.

Investing in our people is one of the most important things we can do. I’m excited about our current work and future plans to make greater investments in our people, with the goal of broadening perspectives and building a strong bench which will give us a broader reach into diverse and dynamic areas. To that end, we are making a significant investment in a corporate university framework for leadership and professional development. We are in the process of building the IRS University and hope to launch it in 2022. The IRSU is being designed to meet the career development and enrichment needs of our workforce, providing deliberate training, educational, and experiential opportunities for IRS employees.

And once we bring new employees onboard, we make sure they are warmly welcomed into our organization. Our New Employee Ambassador Program supports new hires by pairing them with seasoned IRS employees who offer assistance and support. An Ambassador is a peer, ideally in the same occupation and Business Operating Division as the new employee, who has volunteered to help the new hire transition into his/her new position. We have had tremendous success with the program so far and continue to recruit employees to participate. And last, but not least, working for the IRS is about our country.

I, and my fellow IRS colleagues, are dedicated public servants committed to doing the right thing and the fair thing for our fellow citizens in support of our nation. It’s no wonder that so many veterans and military family members work here, continuing their patriotic service to our country. We are also taxpayers and look at all we do through that lens as well, striving to continuously improve to make enforcing the tax laws less burdensome for everyone.

It’s a great feeling to know that no matter what position you hold at the IRS, you are contributing to the success of our country. And no matter what your passion is, you can find it in the IRS while making meaningful contributions to the greater good. It’s exciting, it’s rewarding and it’s patriotic…it doesn’t get much better than this!

If you want to be part of a dynamic organization that lets you apply your talents to real-world issues, provides you with the development you need to succeed, and enables you to serve your country, that’s exactly what you'll find here at the Internal Revenue Service. So if you’re up for the challenge and want to work alongside some amazing people, visit our Jobs page on IRS.gov or our LinkedIn page for more information.

Robin D. Bailey, Jr.
IRS Human Capital Officer

Robin D. Bailey, Jr., IRS Human Capital Officer

About the Author

Robin D. Bailey Jr. has over 30 years of service to America in various senior level positions within the Department of the Air Force, Department of Agriculture, and the Internal Revenue Service. As the IRS Chief Human Capital Officer, he provides executive leadership and direction to 1,600 professionals who execute all matters relating to recruitment, hiring, employee development, retention, performance management, payroll, employee services, workforce relations, employee engagement, and recognition programs for the approximately 80,000 IRS employees who accomplish the mission.

 

 

Your Abilities Work at the IRS

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.