當有人欺詐性申報您的被撫養人時該怎麼辦

如果您以電子方式報稅並收到一條消息,告知您的報稅表上的被撫養人已在另一份報稅表上或其自己的報稅表上申報過,或者您收到了IRS通知CP87A(英文),則需要找出其他人申報您的被撫養人的原因 。

您是否正確輸入了被撫養人的信息?

如果是這樣,您需要知道IRS被禁止告訴您誰申報了您的被撫養人。您可能可以識別是誰。如果您確信任何人都不能申報被撫養人,則您的被撫養人可能是身份盜用的受害者。

根據聯邦隱私法,在欺詐性申報表上,受害者的姓名和SSN必須列為主要或次要納稅人;否則,美國國稅局無法披露報稅表信息。因此,國稅局無法披露僅被列為被撫養人的稅表信息。如何索取欺詐性報稅表的副本(英文)

如果您確定其他人沒有資格申報您的被撫養人,則您需要採取措施來保護您申報被撫養人的權利並確保准確申報。

三個主要步驟

使用IRS.gov 互動助手(英文),驗證您是否符合申報被撫養人的要求。如果是,請執行以下步驟:

  1. 提交紙質報稅表
    • 準備紙質報稅表。
    • 申報被撫養人。
    • 郵寄完整的報稅表到IRS(英文)
      在我們調查您的案件時,您的退款將被延遲。紙質報稅表最多可能需要六至八週的時間來處理。
  2. 您需要證明您有權申報被撫養人
    • 該表格(886-H-DEP表格(英文))提供了完整的支持文檔列表,可幫助您解決案件。获得出生證,身份證明的副本,和可顯示您的被撫養人與您同住超过半個日曆年以上時間的文件。
    • 来自諸如學校,醫療服務,日託,社會服務機構或禮拜場所等記錄,有學校,醫療,日託,社會服務機構或禮拜場所的正式信箋, 其中顯示姓名,共同地址和日期。
    • 如果您收到CP75A 通知,則意味著我們正在調查您提供的信息,並且需要其他文檔來驗證您在納稅申報表中申報的被撫養人免稅額和報稅身份。
  3. 當美國國稅局與您聯繫時, 回答國稅局
    在您提交紙質報稅表大約兩個月後,我們將開始確定誰有權申報被撫養人。

您可能會收到我們的來信(CP87A(英文)),說明您的孩子在另一份報稅表中被申報為被撫養人。它將說明該怎麼做,或者提交修改的報稅表,或者什麼也不做。

申報被撫養人的人會收到相同的信。如果你們中的一個人沒有提交刪除與子女有關的福利的修正報稅表,那麼我們可能會審核您,以確定誰可以申報被撫養人。

在這種情況下,您會在幾個月後收到一封信,開始進行審核。在審核中,我們將要求您提供證明您有權申報被撫養人的證據。請務必在答复截止日期之前完整答复。作出決定後,我們將對錯誤地申報被撫養人的人收取額外的稅款,罰款和利息。

您應在這種情況出現之前與有關家庭成員討論對孩子的申報。

刊物501(英文)中了解有關被撫養人的更多信息,並了解您的選擇和權利。

What To Do When Someone Fraudulently Claims Your Dependent

If you e-file your tax return and get a message telling you that a dependent on your return has been claimed on another tax return or their own, or if you receive an IRS Notice CP87A, you’ll need to find out why someone else claimed your dependent.

Did you enter your dependent’s information correctly?

If so, you need to know the IRS is prohibited from telling you who claimed your dependent. You’ll possibly be able to identify who it was. If you don’t suspect anyone who could have claimed the dependent, your dependent may be a victim of identity theft.

Due to federal privacy laws, the victim’s name and SSN must be listed as either the primary or secondary taxpayer on the fraudulent return; otherwise the IRS cannot disclose the return information. For this reason, the IRS cannot disclose return information to any person listed only as a dependent. How to request a copy of a fraudulent return.

If you determine the other person was not eligible to claim your dependent, you’ll need to take steps to protect your right to claim the dependent and ensure an accurate filing.

Three primary steps

Using the IRS.gov Interactive Assistant, verify you meet the requirements to claim the dependent. If you are, take the following steps:

  1. File a paper return

    Your refund will be delayed while we investigate your case. Paper tax returns can take up to six to eight weeks for us to process.
     

  2. You need to prove you’re entitled to claim the dependent
    • This (Form 886-H-DEP) provides a comprehensive list of supporting documentation to assist in resolving your case. Secure copies of birth certificates, proof of identity and documents that show your dependent lived with you at the same address for more than half of the calendar year.
    • Recordation such as school, medical, daycare, or social service records on official letterhead from a school, medical provider, social service agency, or place of worship that shows names, common address and dates.
    • If you receive a CP75A Notice, it means we're investigating the information you’ve provided and need additional documentation to verify the dependent exemption(s) and filing status you claimed on your tax return.
       
  3. Answer when the IRS contacts you

    About two months after you file a paper return, we’ll begin to determine who’s entitled to claim the dependent.

    You may receive a letter (CP87A) from us, stating your child was claimed on another return. It will explain what to do, either file an amended return or do nothing.

    The person who claimed the dependent will get the same letter. If one of you do not file an amended return that removes the child-related benefits, then you may be audited by us to determine who can claim the dependent.

    In that case, you’ll get a letter in a few months to begin the audit. In the audit, we’ll require you to provide proof that you’re entitled to claim the dependent. Be sure to reply completely and by the response deadline. After we decide the issue, we’ll assess any additional taxes, penalties, and interest on the person who incorrectly claimed the dependent.

    You should discuss with concerned family members, the claiming of children before a situation like this arises.

Learn more about dependents and know your options and rights in Publication 501.