在提交纳税申报表时,您可能需要将奖学金和助学金计入应税收入。高等教育应税福利(例如:贷款利息减免、抵免和学费计划)可能会有助于降低您的应交税款。

您可能需要报税,这取决于您的总收入以及您的父母是否可以声称您作为受抚养人。了解您是否需要报税(英文),以及您是否可以被声称为受抚养人(英文)

请记住,奖学金和助学金通常是免税的,但可能有一些情况下,您必须将其列入应税收入。

即使您不需要报税,您也可能获得退税。例如,如果您在这一年中从事兼职或全职工作,并且您的表格 W-2 显示联邦和州扣缴税款,您可能有资格获得退税。

表格与刊物

如果您有学生贷款或为自己支付教育费用,您可能有资格在报税表上申请教育减免和抵免,如贷款利息减免、合格学费计划(529 计划)和 卡维德尔教育储蓄帐户。

依赖父母报税表的学生通常没有资格申请教育抵免。在这种情况下,学生的父母可能有资格申请教育减免和抵免。

另请参看:

表格与刊物

If you're filing a tax return, you may need to include scholarships and grants as taxable income. Tax benefits for higher education, such as loan interest deductions, credits and tuition programs, may help lower the tax you owe.
 

You may need to file a tax return depending on your gross income and whether your parents can claim you as a dependent. Find out if you need to file a tax return and if you can be claimed as a dependent.

Keep in mind that scholarships and grants are typically tax free, but there may be situations where you have to include them in taxable income.

You may be able to get a refund even if you aren’t required to file. For example, you may qualify for a refund if you worked a part-time or full-time job for the year and your Form W-2 show federal and state withholding.

Forms and Publications

If you have student loans or pay education costs for yourself, you may be eligible to claim education deductions and credits on your tax return, such as loan interest deductions, qualified tuition programs (529 plans) and Coverdell Education Savings Accounts.

Students who are dependents on their parents' tax returns aren’t generally eligible to claim education credits. In this case, the student’s parents may be eligible to claim the education deductions and credits.

See also:

Forms and Publications