IRS Outlines Filing and Payment Options for NY Taxpayers Affected by Hurricane Irene, Tropical Storm Lee

Notice: Historical Content

This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current law, policies or procedures.

Updated 10/11/2011 to add Fulton county

NY-2011-38, Oct. 4, 2011

New York –– The Internal Revenue Service today reminded New York State taxpayers affected by Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee that they have until Oct. 31 to meet certain tax filing and payment obligations and announced that e-File and Free File would remain available to accept their returns.

E-file, which will close for all other taxpayers following the Oct. 17 extension filing deadline, will be open through the end of October to any taxpayer who lives or has a business in areas granted tax relief because of Hurricane Irene or Tropical Storm Lee.

The New York State areas granted tax relief are the counties of Albany, Bronx, Broome, Clinton, Chemung, Columbia, Chenango, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Fulton, Greene, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Oneida, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester

Special Instructions for e-Filers

The IRS encouraged any taxpayer who wants to include a payment with the tax return to e-File by Oct. 20.

Because of year-end programming changes, IRS e-File will not accept returns that include payments after Oct 20. E-file returns that include a payment after that date will be rejected, but the IRS offers other options for these taxpayers to still e-file but pay separately by using:

These guidelines apply to e-File and Free File returns only. Payments accompanying paper returns are not affected.