主題558 從退休計劃而非IRA個人退休金帳戶提早取款的另加稅金

為了不鼓勵退休金使用在正常退休計劃以外的目的,法律對某些提前取款徵收10%的附加稅款。這筆額外的稅款相當於可包含在總收入中的分發金的10%。通常,提前取款是您從一個符合條件的退休計劃或遞延年金合約在年滿 59歲半之前收到的款項。「符合條件的退休計劃」一詞是指:

  • 在第401(a)條款下的符合條件的員工計劃,如第401(k)條款的計劃
  • 在第403(a)條款下的一個符合條件的員工年金計劃
  • 在第403(b)條款下為公立學校或免稅組織的員工所設的一個避稅年金計劃,或是
  • 在第408(a)條款下的個人退休帳戶或根據第408(b)(IRAs)條款的個人退休年金計劃

通常,合格州或地方政府的第457條款遞延補償計劃不是一項符合條件的退休計劃,提前取款不須徵收10%的附加稅款。其他任何的分發款額,來自於上述條件符合的退休計劃之一所轉存到第457條款遞延補償計劃的金額,不管是直接轉帳還是移轉而來都將被徵收10%的附加稅。

不需繳10%的附加稅的例外情況

不必課稅的分發金,比如您的分發款額移轉到另一個符合條件的退休計劃或您指定的羅斯IRA帳戶,是不被徵收 10%的附加稅。有關移轉的詳細資訊,請參閱主題 413並瀏覽我是否需要在稅表申報IRA或退休計劃的轉帳或轉存?(英文)

這項10%的附加稅有某些例外的情況。以下例外情況適用於來自IRA以外的合格計劃的分配款。有關完整清單,請參閱2020-62號通知 (英文PDF)的附錄。

  • 在您死亡時或之後給予您的受益人或置於遺產名下的分配款。
  • 因為您完全及永久傷殘所收到的分配款。
  • 該分配款屬於一系列同額定期付款的一部份,基於您的壽命預期值或您和您指定受益人的壽命預期值而定。如果這些分發款是來自一個IRA以外符合條件的計劃,您必須在付款開始之前就離開該雇主的工作崗位,才可應用本項條例。
  • 您的醫療費用的金額超過調整後總收入的10%, 不管該年度您是否分項扣抵。對於醫療費用的詳細資訊,參閱主題 502
  • 分發款的產生是由於國稅局根據第6331條款對該計劃徵稅。
  • 符合條件的預備役人員的分配款。通常,這些個人的分配款是給予在2001年9月11日以後和被徵召至少180天的人員。
  • 與某些緊急情況和災難有關的聯邦立法規定的額外所得稅豁免的分配。
  • 從固定繳款計劃或IRA中分配給你的不超過5,000美元的款項,如果該分配是合格的出生或收養分配。
  • 分發款是在您離開雇主的工作崗位以後,如果離職發生在您年滿或超過55歲時,或者分配款的分發來自符合條件的政府界定的福利計劃而如果您是符合條件的公共安全雇員(聯邦, 州或地方政府), 並在您滿50歲當年或更晚才離開的分配款的分發來自符合條件的政府福利計劃, 此福利計劃界定於美國稅務法第414 (d) 款。
  • 根據合格的家庭關係令向備用受款人作出的分配。
  • 分配是來自員工持股計劃的股息

參閱主題 557有關從IRA提早領取分配款稅金的資訊。更多資訊參閱575號刊物【退休金和年金收入】(英文)以及 590-B號刊物【個人退休安排(IRA)】(英文)

報告10% 附加税

在1040表副表4【其他税】附在您的1040表【美國個人所得稅報稅表】(英文)上申報10%的附加稅。您還必須申報5329表【符合計劃(包括IRAs)和其他稅收優惠帳戶的附加稅金】(英文) ,如果:

  1. 您的分配款是應交稅的,而且分配代碼「1」沒有顯示在1099-R表【退休金、年金、退休或利潤分享計劃、IRA個人退休帳戶、保險合約等的發配金】(英文)上適當位置的框格中,或者
  2. 適用以上例外之一,但標有「分配代碼」的框格沒有顯示「2」,「3」,或「4」的分配代碼。另一方面,您不需要申報5329表,如果您的分配款應繳交10%的附加稅並且分配代碼「1」顯示在相應的框格中。在這種情況下,填入10%附加稅到1040表副表2(英文)PDF的第8行上,並在相應的行列旁邊的虛線上寫「No」(否)。

預扣稅和預估稅

來自一個符合條件的退休計劃的分配款是要預扣聯邦所得稅;但是,如果您的分發金要繳交10%的附加稅,預扣稅額可能不足。您可能要繳交預估的稅金(英文)。有關預扣稅和預估稅金繳交的詳細資訊,請參閱 505號刊物【預扣稅及預估稅】(英文)

Topic No. 558 Additional Tax on Early Distributions From Retirement Plans Other Than IRAs

To discourage the use of retirement funds for purposes other than normal retirement, the law imposes a 10% additional tax on certain early distributions from certain retirement plans. The additional tax is equal to 10% of the portion of the distribution that's includible in gross income. Generally, early distributions are those you receive from a qualified retirement plan or deferred annuity contract before reaching age 59½. The term qualified retirement plan means:

  • A qualified employee plan under section 401(a), such as a section 401(k) plan
  • A qualified employee annuity plan under section 403(a)
  • A tax-sheltered annuity plan under section 403(b) for employees of public schools or tax-exempt organizations, or
  • An individual retirement account under section 408(a) or an individual retirement annuity under section 408(b) (IRAs)

In general, an eligible state or local government section 457 deferred compensation plan isn't a qualified retirement plan and any distribution from such plan isn't subject to the 10% additional tax on early distributions. However, any distribution attributable to amounts the section 457 plan received in a direct transfer or rollover from one of the qualified retirement plans listed above would be subject to the 10% additional tax.

Exceptions to the 10% Additional Tax

Distributions that aren't taxable, such as distributions that you roll over to another qualified retirement plan, aren't subject to this 10% additional tax. For more information on rollovers, refer to Topic No. 413 and visit Do I Need to Report the Transfer or Rollover of an IRA or Retirement Plan on My Tax Return?

There are certain exceptions to this 10% additional tax. The exceptions below apply to distributions from a qualified plan other than an IRA. For a complete list, look at the Appendix for Notice 2020-62 PDF.

  • Distributions made to your beneficiary or estate on or after your death.
  • Distributions made because you're totally and permanently disabled.
  • Distributions made as part of a series of substantially equal periodic payments over your life expectancy or the life expectancies of you and your designated beneficiary. If these distributions are from a qualified plan other than an IRA, you must separate from service with this employer before the payments begin for this exception to apply.
  • Distributions to the extent you have deductible medical expenses that exceed 7.5% of your adjusted gross income whether or not you itemize your deductions for the year. For more information on medical expenses, refer to Topic No. 502.
  • Distributions made due to an IRS levy of the plan under section 6331.
  • Distributions that are qualified reservist distributions. Generally, these are distributions made to individuals called to active duty for at least 180 days after September 11, 2001.
  • Distributions that are excepted from the additional income tax by federal legislation relating to certain emergencies and disasters.
  • Distributions up to $5,000 made to you from a defined contribution plan or an IRA if the distribution is a qualified birth or adoption distribution.
  • Distributions made to you after you separated from service with your employer if the separation occurred in or after the year you reached age 55, or distributions made from a qualified governmental benefit plan, as defined in section 414(d) if you were a qualified public safety employee (federal state or local government) who separated from service in or after the year you reached age 50.
  • Distributions made to an alternate payee under a qualified domestic relations order.
  • Distributions of dividends from employee stock ownership plans.

Refer to Topic No. 557 for information on the tax on early distributions from IRAs. For more information, refer to Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income and Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs).

Reporting the 10% Additional Tax

Report the 10% additional tax on Schedule 2 (Form 1040), Additional Taxes PDF and attach to your Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors. You must also file Form 5329, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts if:

  1. Your distribution is subject to the tax and distribution code 1 isn't shown in the appropriate box of Form 1099-R, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc., or
  2. One of the exceptions applies but the box labeled "Distribution Code(s)" doesn't show a distribution code 2, 3, or 4. On the other hand, you don't need to file Form 5329 if your distribution is subject to the 10% additional tax and a distribution code 1 shows in the appropriate box. In this case, enter the 10% additional tax on line 8 of Schedule 2 (Form 1040), Additional Taxes PDF PDF and write "No" on the dotted line next to that line.

Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax

Distributions from a qualified retirement plan are subject to federal income tax withholding; however, if your distribution is subject to the 10% additional tax, your withholding may not be enough. You may have to make estimated tax payments. For more information on withholding and estimated tax payments, refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.