主題 557 從傳統及羅斯個人退休金帳戶提早取款的稅金

為了不鼓勵除了退休之外而使用個人退休金帳戶分配款﹐您從傳統及羅斯個人退休金帳戶提早取款會被課徵了10%的附加税,除非為例外情況。一般情況下,提前分發指您在未滿59歲半前從個人退休金帳戶所收到的款項,10%的附加稅適用於分配款這個部分,您必須將這個部分加在總收入中。10%的附加稅是除了一般所得稅以外加在您收到分配款項上的稅金。

不需繳10%的附加稅

把分配款轉入或轉移到另外一個退休金帳戶或合格的退休計劃,您將不需加付這項10%的額外稅。只要您遵守個人退休金帳戶至個人退休金帳戶一年轉移規定的準則即可。欲取得更多有關帳戶轉移的資訊﹐請參考主題 413 【退休計劃的轉移】 並瀏覽 我是否需要在稅表申報IRA或退休計劃的轉帳或轉存?(英文)

以下是這項對於提前分配額附加10%稅款的例外情況:

  • IRA主人死亡因此而給予受益人或遺產的帳戶
  • 用於完全及 永久性殘疾人的帳戶
  • 您和您受益人在您生命中(或壽命期中)或聯合生命中(或聯合壽命期中)收到一系列、間隔相等的定期分配款。
  • 符合資格的首次購屋者
  • 不超出的合格高等教育費用
  • 當失業時﹐不超出醫療保險的保費
  • 不超出您調整後總收入的某個百分比外的未報銷醫療費用
  • 根據美國稅務法典第6331條, 國稅局IRS對退休福利安排計劃(IRAs)徵稅,或
  • 符合條件的後備軍員的分配額

欲取得更多有關這些例外和羅斯 IRAs分配款的一般資訊,請參閱 590-B號刊物【個人退休福利安排計劃(IRAs)】(英文)以及個人退休金帳戶分配款。

其他的例外的情況適用於其他符合條件的雇員退休計劃的分配額。有關這些例外情況的資訊,參閱主題 558 或是 575號刊物【退休金和年金收入】(英文)

對於受 COVID-19 影響的從退休計劃中獲取發配金或貸款的納稅人的寬減, 請參閱 2020-50 通知(英文) PDFIR-2020-124 (英文)

報告10% 附加税

10% 附加税申報在5329表【符合計劃(包括IRAs)和其他稅收優惠帳戶的附加稅金】(英文) 和1040表副表4【其他税】。但是,如果您的1099-R表【退休金、年金、退休或利潤分享計劃、IRA個人退休帳戶、保險合約等的發配金】(英文) 第7格中顯示了分配額代碼 「1」,您則不須要申報5329表。在這種情況下,您只需要在1040表副表4【其他税】上直接輸入額外的10%税。如果您符合10%附加稅的例外條件之一,但是您的1099-R的所標識的「分配額代碼」框格裡沒有「 2」,「 3」,或「 4」,或者如果顯示出的代碼不正確,您必須提交5329表和副表4來申報例外情況。

預扣稅和預估稅

除非您選擇不要預扣分發金,否則您必須從IRA帳戶分發金中預扣聯邦所得稅。如果您選擇不要有預扣額,您也許必須繳付預估稅(英文) 。有關更多預扣稅和預估稅的資訊,請參考 505號刊物【預扣稅及預估稅】(英文)

Topic Number 557 - Additional Tax on Early Distributions from Traditional and Roth IRAs

To discourage the use of IRA distributions for purposes other than retirement, you'll be assessed an additional 10% tax on early distributions from traditional and Roth IRAs, unless an exception applies. Generally, early distributions are those you receive from an IRA before reaching age 59½. The additional 10% tax applies to the part of the distribution that you have to include in gross income. It's in addition to any regular income tax on that amount.

No Additional 10% Tax

Distributions that you roll over or transfer to another IRA or qualified retirement plan aren't subject to this additional 10% tax. This is true as long as you follow the one IRA-to-IRA rollover per year rule. For more information on rollovers, refer to Topic No. 413, Rollovers from Retirement Plans, and visit Do I Need to Report the Transfer or Rollover of an IRA or Retirement Plan on My Tax Return?

Exceptions to the additional 10% tax apply for early distributions that are:

  • Made to a beneficiary or estate on account of the IRA owner's death
  • Made because you're totally and permanently disabled
  • Made as part of a series of substantially equal periodic payments for your life (or life expectancy) or the joint lives (or joint life expectancies) of you and your designated beneficiary
  • Qualified first-time homebuyer distributions
  • Not in excess of your qualified higher education expenses
  • Not in excess of certain medical insurance premiums paid while unemployed
  • Not in excess of your unreimbursed medical expenses that are more than a certain percentage of your adjusted gross income
  • Due to an IRS levy of the IRA under section 6331 of the Code, or
  • A qualified reservist distribution

 

Refer to Publication 590-B.pdf, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs), for more information on these exceptions and on IRA distributions generally.

Other exceptions apply to distributions from other qualified employee retirement plans. For information on these exceptions, refer to Topic No. 558 or Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income.

Reporting the Additional 10% Tax

The additional 10% tax is reported on Form 5329.pdf, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. However, you don't have to file Form 5329 if your Form 1099-R.pdf, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc., shows distribution code 1 in Box 7. In this instance, you need only enter the additional 10% tax directly on the appropriate line of your Form 1040.pdf, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return. If you qualify for one of the exceptions to the additional 10% tax, but your Form 1099-R doesn't have a distribution code 2, 3, or 4 in the box labeled "distribution code(s)," or if the code shown is incorrect, you must file Form 5329 to claim the exception.

Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax

Federal income tax withholding is required for distributions from IRAs unless you elect out of withholding on the distribution. If you elect out of withholding, you may have to make estimated tax payments. For more information on withholding and estimated tax payments, refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.