主題654 - 领会您的CP75通知书所要求的证明文件

您收到本通知,是因为国稅局正在审計您的稅表。此通知要求您提供相关资料去验证您在税表上认领的项目,请您勿必递交所需的各项文件以便审计结案。

请勿忽略本通知,务必确保我们在通知注明的日期之前收到您的回复。如果您需要更多时间来收集所要求的全部资料,请致电通知上的号码来告知我们。另外,重要的是我们能够在审计期间能与您联系。如果您搬家或是变更電话号码,请打电话或用传真回复来通知我们,免费电话号码和是传真号码均列在您的通知上。

本通知告知您,国稅局正在审计您稅表上的哪些項目。我们也附上了其它的表格或刊物,这些表格和刊物涵盖了重要的信息,其中包括您必須向我们递送的文件,以及您需要了解在审计期间您的个人权利等信息。我们將帮助您逐步了解需要採取的步驟,以及何时參考其他文件。阅读本通知时,请备好您的稅表副本以供参考。

开始之前,请注意如下重要提示:

  • 通知书右上方列出我们审计的稅务年度。当我们使用稅务年度一词时,意味只审计所列年度。
  • 您所递送的任何文件均需要注明此审计的年度。
  • 请勿递送正本文件,仅需递送副本文件。

低收入家庭福利优惠

所列首项是低收入家庭福利优惠。 您的资料袋中有一份886-H-EIC表 (Form 886-H-EIC) ,此表列出您能递送的各种文件,用以证明您可申报一个或多个合格子女的低收入家庭福利优惠。您可递交这些文件的任何组合,以提供我们需要的资料。请查看您与稅表一起提交的附表EIC(Form 1040A or 1040, Schedule EIC),並对所列每位合格子女完成以下步骤:

  • 第一,您必须证明您和子女在美国同住期超过半个稅务年度:
    • 如果您的子女和您同住在通知上注明的地址,您需要提交文件来证明您的子女在同一地址的居住期超过半个稅务年度。例如,您可提交子女学校记录副本,此记录列有您的姓名并显示您子女的地址。文件上的日期必須超半个稅务年度(对于学校紀录,您可能需要一个以上的学期來证明同住期超半个稅务年度)。
    • 如果您已搬家并与子女现住另一地址,您必须提交文件以显示你们兩人在该同一地址居住期超过半个稅务年度。
    • 如果您的子女沒有上学,您可以提供病历或托儿所出具的声明书副本。
    • 如果您需要從您孩子的學校、日托或醫療服務提供者那裡得到一份聲明, 您可以在這裡找到範本。为確保提供所有必需的資訊,您的學校或上述提供者可將範本複製並粘貼到其信頭上。
    • 别忘了查询886-H-EIC表(Form 886-H-EIC) 以获取您可提交文件的更多示例。
    • 如果您不能证明子女和您的同住期超过半个稅务年度,那么您就不能得到低收入家庭福利优惠。
       
  • 第二,您必须证明您和子女的亲属关系。子女必须和您有886-H-EIC表(Form 886-H-EIC)所列的任何一种亲属关系。该表给出应提供何种文件以证明你们亲属关系的实例。
     
  • 第三,如果您的子女年龄已19岁或以上,您必须确认证明二者之一该:
    • 您的子女年龄在24岁以下,而且在稅务年度中至少五个月是全日制学生(您可以提供正式的学校记录副本),或者
    • 提供886-H-EIC表(Form 886-H-EIC) 列出的任何一份官方文件副本,用以证明您的子女是完全永久性的残障。

您只能在符合下述条件时才可申报低收入家庭福利优惠:您的子女和您在美国的同住期超过半个稅务年度。您的子女和您的亲属关系也必须通过886-H-EIC表(Form 886-H-EIC) 中 所列的其中一种方式,并且符合年龄合的条件。如欲取得此优惠资格,您的子女必须同时符合上述的要求。如果您不能证明子女符合所有这三个要求,您可能仍然有资格申报无合格子女优惠

被抚养人

下一项是申报的被抚养人。您的被抚养人均列在稅表第一页的中部。886-H-DEP表(Form 886-H-DEP) (PDF) 的合格子女部分列出您可使用的所有文件或文件组合,用以证明您能申报每个所列子女为被抚养人。欲申报子女为被抚养的合格子女,该子女必须与您同住半个稅务年度以上(住所测试),和您有亲属关系(关系测试),处于某个年龄阶段(年龄测试); 而且该子女沒有提供自身所需一半以上的费用(抚养测试)。

  • 如果附表EIC上所列的每名子女和您申报为被抚养人是同个子女,您可使用证明您能申报低收入家庭福利优惠的同一文件,来证明该子女已符合被抚养的合格子女测试标准。您不必提交相同文件副本或是收集不同文件。但是,您必须查看886-H-DEP表(Form 886-H-DEP) (PDF)以核准必须提供哪些资料才能进行验证该子女符合抚养测试标准。
  • 抚养测试

    • 欲符合抚养测试标准,该子女须无力支付他或她自身所需一半以上的费用。

    • 此时您不需要提供抚养证明。

如果您收到此CP75通知,那么您已申报您的子女为被抚养的合格子女。如果您发现您的子女不符合作为合格子女的规则,那么您也许可申报该子女为被抚养的合格亲属。请参阅886-H-DEP表的合格亲属規则。如果该子女符合这些規則,您需要提交886-H-DEP表所列关于合格亲属的各项文件。

报税身份

下一项列出的是报稅身份。请查看您稅表首頁(您的姓名和地址下方)所示的报稅身份。

如果您作为戶主报稅,您需要查看886-H-DEP表(Form 886-H-DEP) 。 此表列出您可提交的所有不同文件或文件组合,以证明您可采用此报稅身份来申报。

若作为戶主报稅,您必须通過三项测试:婚姻测试,合格人士测试,以及养家费用测试。

  • 您必须符合婚姻测试标准
    • 如果您从未结婚或是现已丧偶,请勿提交用于婚姻测试的任何文件。仅提交合格人士测试以及养家费用的测试文件。
    • 除非您的配偶在该稅务年度内的任何时期为非美国居民,您在已婚并与配偶同住情况下是不能申保戶主报稅身份的。
    • 如果您在当年最后六个月内的任何时间仍然是已婚並与您的配偶同住,那么您不能作为戶主报稅,除非您的配偶在该稅务年度内的任何时间是非美国居民。反之,您必须作为已婚夫妇联合报稅或者是已婚夫妇分別报稅。
    • 如果您在通知上注明的稅务年度12月31日之前离婚或依法分居,您必须提交您的离婚判决书副本或分居文件副本。
    • 如果您在通知注明的稅务年度最后六个月仍然已婚但是分住,您必须向我们提交显示您和您配偶住于不同地址的相关文件,比如租赁协议副本。

 

  • 下一项是合格人士测试:您为低收入家庭福利优惠和被抚养人申报而提交的文件,均表明您符合本测试标准。因此,您不必为本测试提交其它文件。
  • 第三项是养家费用测试:
    • 如果您不符合婚姻测试及合格人士测试標准,则您不能以戶主身份报稅。
    • 如果您符合婚姻测试及合格人士测试標准,则您必须提交相关文件。这些文件用以证明您已支付维持合格人士和您同住期超过半个税务年度之住宅的过半数的费用。您必须向我们提交显示您支付了半数以上家庭费用的文件,例如住房租金、水电煤气费、食品费、维修护理费。如果合格人士是您的父母,您则不必与您父母同住,但是必须证明您支付了维持父母住宅整个税务年度超过半数的费用。
    • 如果您选择戶主以外的其它报税身份,目前不需要任何文件。

美国教育机会税务优惠

下一部份是美国教育机会税务优惠。如果您申报此优惠,您必须填写8863表【教育优惠】(Form 8863, Education Credits),并且和您的税表一起提交。另外,请查看稅表第二页的一或兩个条目,寻找列出「教育优惠」或「美国教育机会优惠」的各行。如果您的稅表显示您沒有申报此优惠,您则不必提交证明此优惠的相关文件。

如果您申报此优惠,您在表格8863上申报的学生应该已收到1098-T表【学费报表】(Form 1098-T, Tuition Statement)。除去特殊情況,各学校均必须向所有合格学生寄出该表格。如果学生沒有收到此表格,而且有資格获得美国教育税务优惠(AOTC),请联系学校索取此表。

如果您从雇主、退伍軍人教育补助处或其它福利机关收到教育費用的付款,您不能用这些相同費来申报此稅务优惠。您必須从总学費及其它合格費用中扣除这些付款和福利支付的費用。

  • 如果您申报教育优惠,我们需要8863表所列学生均符合資格的证明。1098-T表框1或2列出已支付或已开账单的合格教育金費。我们需要一份该表副本。
  • 如果您的费用超過1098-T表框1或2所列金额,我们需要为各门课程的杂費、书籍和用品而开立并兑现的支票或收据。

如果您有额外列出的項目

您的通知可能列有更多的項目,例如保险费稅务优惠或附表C。首先,让我们来看看您必须知道的其它重要信息。

如果我们沒有接到您的回音

请确保您在这部分注明的日期之前邮寄或传真所有必需的文件。如果您需要更多时间准备所有这些文件,请拨打本页右上方所列的号码来通知我們。

但是,如果在您查阅您的稅表和通知时,发现您不符合通知上所显示的任何项目,请勿寄出任何文件。我们將在您通知上所显示的截止日期之后给您寄出查稅報告。

回复表

通知的最后部分是回复表。如果您有文件证明您可以申报列出的一个或多个項目,您需要填写回复表,並且择以下其一:

  • 使用通知上的免费传真号码,向我门传送填好的回复表,各项记录、文件以及书面说明。
  • 使用資料袋中的回邮信封或者通知上显示的地址,向我们寄回填好的回复表,各项记录、文件以及书面说明。

我们收到您的资讯后

审查您寄給我们的文件至少需要30天。在您听到我们的回音之前,无需采取任何行动。

如果您寄給我们的文件副本证明您有资格享有稅表上申报的项目,我们將书面通知您审计已结案。

如果您寄出的文件沒向我们提供所需要的资料,或是只证明其中的某些項目,我们將向您寄出审计报告。此报告將解释我们所建议的更改,列明您的欠稅金额或是您可得到更正后的退稅金额。

若我们持有您的退稅,如果您不拖欠我们所必须收取的其它稅款或债务,那么您应该在八周內收到此退稅。

查稅时您的权利

  • 您的资料袋包括3498-A号刊物【查稅程序(邮寄查稅)】(Publication 3498-A), The Examination Process (Examinations by Mail))。本刊物含盖查稅期间会发生的事情,您在查稅期间的权利,以及您对查稅結果上诉的权利。它还列出更多資源来帮助您。
  • 您的资料袋也包括4134号刊物【低收入纳稅者服务处列表】(Publication 4134 ), Low Income Taxpayer Clinic List )。低收入纳稅者服务处(LITC)不属于国稅局,但是可免费或收取少量费用以帮助您处理查稅、上诉或收稅事务。

何处可获取更多帮助

若您需要更多帮助,请参阅通知上所列的重要号码和网站。您可在"额外资讯"标题下找到这些资讯。另外您还可以:

  • 在线上取得您的稅表副本。

浏览低收入家庭福利优惠网站IRS.gov/eitc/以获取:

  • 所需关于低收入家庭福利优惠的更多资讯,以及讨论其它主題的连接。
  • 如果不确定您是否符合低收入家庭福利优惠的条件,或者不确定您今年是否将符合条件,以及您今年是何种报稅身份,请在低收入家庭福利优惠网站上IRS.gov/eitc/ 寻找EITC助手(EITC Assistant)连接。

通知上的其它項目

附表C

如果您的通知列出1040表的附表C (Form 1040, Schedule C) 收入,請查看11652表【问题和证明文件,1040表的附表C(企业利润或亏损)】(Form 11652 ), Questionnaire and Supporting Documentation, Form 1040 Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business)。它列出您必须提交的文件以证明您的收入和支出。请查阅该表的每一行,以确保您回答了所有问題。请寄回11652表及所要求的证明文件,例如您的营业记录、Form 1099-MISC表,和您的营业执照。

大多数情況下,我们不要求您以特殊方式保存记录,但是您必须保存用来填写稅表的所有文件。您必须保存证明您所报收入、支出、扣除额或申请优惠的所有记录,例如发票、收据、里程记录,显示支付金额的支票帐戶报表,以及其它付款证明。您需要保存条理井然的记录,以便在您的稅表被选定审查时用于回答任何问題。而且在提交稅表后,这些证明稅表项目的各种记录您至少需要保存三年。

您必须提交您的记录副本以表明附表C上所申报的已得收入。您必须提交足够的记录及文件副本来证明您在查稅年度里从事企业经营,例如显示您的收支文件。您必须报告您的全部收入和全部支出。您不能选择免报任何支出,或者仅申报一部分的支出。

  • 总营收是您的企业收入。总营收凭证包括收银机磁帶、银行存款单,收据本,发票,信用卡收費单,和1099-MISC表。
  • 支出是因经营企业而支付的费用。支出凭证包括已兑现的支票,或明确记载的所付費用的支票帐戶報表,收银机磁帶,帐戶报表,信用卡销售单,以及发票。

在您填好回复后,请查看11652表以确保您囊括了所有必要的资讯。

若您需要关于保存记录的其它资讯,请參阅583号刊物【营业起步以及记录保存】(Publication 583, Starting a Business and Keeping Records)。

保险费稅务优惠

如果您的通知列出保险费稅务优惠Premium Tax Credit,(PTC),请查阅14950表【保险費税务优惠验证】(Form 14950 , Premium Tax Credit Verification)。该表列出您需要提交哪些文件从而证明您符合此优惠条件。

欲申报该优惠,您必须通过交易所或市场来获取健康保险。如果您的健康保险不是通过交易所或市场而取得的,那么您就无资格申报PTC,也没必要提交任何资料以证明符合该优惠。

如果您的保险是通过交易所或市场购买的,那么您必须提交文件副本以证明您的8962表【保险費稅务优惠(PTC)】(Form 8962, Premium Tax Credit (PTC)) 第4部分「保单金额分摊」或者第5部分「结婚年度替代演算法」的所填条目。我们需要一份显示您的计划承保人士的文件列表。该列表在您的投保注册表中或保险商所提供的声明书中。如果您支付了保险费,请提供付款证明。该证明可以是付款收据、信用卡报表、银行报表,或是兑现支票的双面副本,这些证明应显示收款人。

您还必须提交保险商所提供的1095-A表副本【健康保险市场报表】(Form 1095-A, Health Insurance Marketplace Statement) 。如果您沒有收到此表格或是沒有存档,请联系您的保险商或计划管理者。

Topic Number 654 - Understanding Your CP75 or CP75A Notice Request for Supporting Documentation

You received this notice because the IRS is auditing your return. We're asking for information. You must send in the documents needed to close your audit.

Please don't ignore this notice. It's very important that we hear from you by the date shown on your notice. If you need more time to get all the requested information, please call the number on your notice to let us know. Also, it's important that we can contact you during the audit. If you move or change your phone number, please let us know by calling the toll-free number on the notice or faxing the response part of your notice. The fax number is shown on your notice.

This notice tells you what items on your tax return the IRS is auditing. We've also included other forms or publications that have important information about what you must send us and about what you need to know about your rights during an audit and more. We'll walk you through each step of what to do and when to refer to the other documents. It's helpful to have a copy of your tax return when you're going through this notice.

Before we begin, here are some important tips:

  • At the top of the notice on the right side, we list the tax year that we're auditing. When we use the term tax year, we mean that year.
  • Any documents you send in need to cover the year we're auditing.
  • Don't send original documents. Send us copies.

 

Earned Income Credit

The first item listed is the earned income credit. Your package includes a Form 886-H-EIC that lists all the different documents you can send to prove you may claim the EIC with one or more qualifying children. You can send any combination of these documents to provide the information we need. Look at the Schedule EIC you filed with your tax return and complete the following steps for each qualifying child listed:

  • First, you must prove you lived with your child in the U.S. for more than half the tax year:
    • If your child lived with you at the address shown on your notice, you need to send a document showing your child lived at that same address for more than half the tax year. For example: you could send copies of school records for your child that have your name and show the child's address. The dates on the document must be for more than half the tax year (for school records you may need more than one semester to show more than half the year).
    • If you moved and you and your child lived at another address, you must send documents showing the same address for both of you for more than half the tax year.
    • If your child didn't go to school, you can send in copies of medical records or a statement from a daycare provider.
    • If you need to get a statement from your child's school, daycare or medical care provider, you can find templates here. Your school or provider can copy and paste the template to their letterhead to make sure all the required information is provided.
    • Don't forget to use the Form 886-H-EIC for more examples of documents you can send.
    • If you can't prove your child lived with you for more than half the tax year, you don't qualify for the EIC.
  • Second, you must prove how you're related to the child. The child must be related to you in one of the ways listed on the Form 886-H-EIC. The form gives examples of what to send to prove how you're related.
  • Third, if your child is age 19 years old or over, you must show either:
    • Your child was under age 24 and a full-time student for at least five months of the tax year (you can do this by sending copies of official school records), or
    • Your child is permanently and totally disabled by sending a copy of one of the official documents shown on Form 886-H-EIC.

 

You can only claim the earned income tax credit if your child lived with you for more than half the tax year in the United States, your child is related to you in one of the ways listed on the Form 886-H-EIC, and your child was an eligible age. Your child must meet all three of these requirements to qualify you for the credit. If you can't show that your child meets all three of these requirements, you may still be eligible for the credit without a qualifying child.

Dependents

The next item is your claim of dependents. Your dependents are listed in the middle of the first page of your tax return. The Form 886-H-DEP section for your qualifying child lists all the documents or combination of documents you can use to prove you can claim each child listed as your dependent. To claim a child as a dependent qualifying child, the child must have lived with you for more than half the tax year (the residency test), be related to you (the relationship test), be a certain age (the age test), and not have provided over half of his or her own support (the support test).

  • If each child listed on your Schedule EIC is the same one you claimed as a dependent, you can use the same documents you use to prove you may claim the EIC to prove the child met the tests for a dependent qualifying child. You don't have to send in copies of the same documents or look for different ones. But, you must look at the Form 886-H-DEP to see if the child meets the support test.
  • Support Test
    • To meet the support test, the child can't pay more than half of his or her own support.
    • You don't need to send proof of support at this time.

 

If you received this CP75 notice, you claimed your child as a dependent qualifying child. If you find your child doesn't meet the rules to be your qualifying child, you may be able to claim the child as a dependent qualifying relative. See the rules on the Form 886-H-DEP for a qualifying relative. If the child meets the rules, you need to send the documents listed on the Form 886-H-DEP for a qualifying relative.

Filing Status

The next item listed is filing status. Look at the first page of your tax return (below your name and address) for your filing status.

If you filed as head of household, you need to look at the Form 886-H-HOH that lists all the different documents or combination of documents you can send to prove that you may claim this filing status.

To file as head of household, you must pass three tests: the marriage test, the qualifying person test, and the cost of keeping up a home test.

 

  • First, you must meet the marriage test:
    • If you were never married or you're a widow or widower, don't submit anything for the marriage test. Only submit documents for the qualifying person and cost of keeping up a home tests.
    • You can't be married and living with your spouse and claim head of household filing status, unless your spouse was a nonresident alien at any time during the tax year.
    • If you're still married and lived with your spouse at any time during the last six months of the year, you can't file as head of household, unless your spouse was a nonresident alien at any time during the tax year. Instead, you must file either as married filing jointly or married filing separately.
    • If you were divorced or legally separated by December 31 of the tax year shown on your notice, you must send a copy of your divorce decree or separation papers.
    • If you're still married but lived apart for the last six months of the tax year shown on your notice, you must send us documents, such as a copy of a lease agreement, showing you and your spouse lived at different addresses.
  • Next is the qualifying person test: The documents you send for the EIC and your claim of dependents show you met this test. So, you don't have to send us any more documents for this test.
  • Third is the cost of keeping up a home test:
    • If you didn't meet both the marriage and the qualifying person tests, you can't file as head of household.
    • If you met both the marriage and the qualifying person tests, you must send documents showing you paid more than half the cost of keeping up the home that the qualifying person and you lived in for more than half the tax year. You must send us documents showing you paid more than half the household expenses, such as rent, utilities, groceries, repairs and maintenance. If the qualifying person was your parent, you did not have to live with your parent but you have to prove that you paid more than half of the cost of maintaining a home for your parent for the entire tax year.
    • If any other filing status box other than head of household is checked, you don't have to send anything in to prove your filing status.

 

American Opportunity Credit

The next section is the American opportunity credit. If you claimed this credit, you must complete Form 8863.pdf, Education Credits, and send it with your tax return. Also, look for one or two entries on the second page of your tax return for the lines listing "Education credits" or "American opportunity credit." If your tax return shows you didn't claim the credit, you don't need to send documents to prove this credit.

If you claimed this credit, the student claimed on your Form 8863 should have received a Form 1098-T.pdf, Tuition Statement. Schools must send this form to all eligible students unless an exception applies. If the student didn't receive this form and is eligible for the AOTC, contact the school for the form.

If you received payments for education expenses from your employer, veterans' educational assistance, or other benefits, you can't claim these same expenses for this tax credit. You have to subtract the expenses paid by these payments and benefits from your total tuition and other eligible expenses.

  • If you claimed an education credit, we need proof that each student listed on the Form 8863 is eligible. The Form 1098-T has the amount of qualified education expenses paid or billed in boxes 1 or 2. We need a copy of that form.
  • If you had more expenses than the amounts listed in boxes 1 or 2 of the Form 1098-T, we need cancelled checks or receipts for fees, books, and supplies needed for the course or courses.

 

If You Have Additional Items Listed

Your notice may have more items listed, such as the Premium Tax Credit or Schedule C. First, let's cover other important information you need to know.

If We Don't Hear From You

Make sure you mail or fax all the necessary documents by the date in this section. If you need more time to get all the documents ready, call us at the number listed on the top right part of the page.

But, if you review your return and your notice and realize you didn't qualify for any of the items shown on your notice, don't send anything. We'll get back to you with an examination report after the deadline shown on your notice.

Response Form

The last part of the notice is the response form. If you have documents proving you may claim one or more of the items listed, you need to complete the response form and either:

  • Fax the completed response form to us with copies of the records, documents, and statements toll-free to the fax number on your notice.
  • Return the completed response form to us with copies of the records, documents, and statements in the return envelope in your packet or to the address shown on the notice.

 

After We Receive Your Information

It takes at least 30 days to review the documents you send us. You don't need to do anything until you hear from us.

If you sent us copies of documents that prove you're eligible for items you claimed on your tax return, we will send you a notice to let you know your audit is closed.

If the documents you send don't give us the information we need or only prove some of the items, we will send you an audit report. The report will explain our proposed changes and show the amount of tax you owe or the corrected amount of any refund you may receive.

If we hold your refund, you should get your refund in eight weeks if you don't owe other taxes or debts we're required to collect.

Your Rights During an Audit

 

  • Your packet includes Publication 3498-A.pdf, The Examination Process (Audits by Mail). This publication covers what happens during an audit, your rights during the audit, and your rights to appeal the results of the audit. It also lists more resources to help you.
  • Your packet also includes Publication 4134.pdf, Low Income Taxpayer Clinic List. Low-income taxpayer clinics (LITCs) aren't part of the IRS, but an LITC may help you with an audit, an appeal, or collection issue for free or for a small fee.

 

Where to Get More Help

We also list on the notice important numbers and websites you can use if you need more help. You can find this information under the additional information heading. Also, you can:

  • Get a transcript of the information on your tax return online.
  • Visit IRS.gov/eitc for:
    • More information you need about the EIC and links to other topics discussed here
    • If you're not sure you qualified for the EIC, or will qualify this year, or what your filing status is this year, find the link to the EITC Assistant on IRS.gov/eitc

 

Additional Items on Your Notice

Schedule C

If your notice lists Form 1040, Schedule C.pdf income, look at Form 11652, Questionnaire and Supporting Documentation, Form 1040 Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business). It lists the documents you must send to prove your income and expenses. Please review each line of this form and make sure you answer every question. Return the Form 11652 with the requested supporting documents, such as copies of your business records, Form 1099-MISC.pdf, and your business license.

We don't require that you keep records in any special manner in most cases, but you must keep all documents you use to complete your tax return. You must keep records supporting the income, expenses, deductions or credits you claim, such as invoices, receipts, mileage logs, and checking account statements showing amounts paid, and any other proofs of payment. You need to keep well-organized records to answer any questions when your return is selected for audit. And, you need to keep the records supporting items on your tax returns for at least three years after filing your return.

You must send copies of your records that show you earned the income claimed on your Schedule C. You must send enough copies of your records and documents to prove you ran your business during the tax year under audit, such as documents that show your gross receipts and expenses. You must report all your income and all your expenses. You can't choose not to take any expenses or to claim only some of the expenses.

  • Gross receipts are the income from your business and proof of your gross receipts includes cash register tapes, bank deposit slips, receipt books, invoices, credit card charge slips, and Forms 1099-MISC.
  • Expenses are the costs paid to carry on your business and proof of your expenses includes canceled checks or checking account statements clearly showing the expenses paid, cash register tapes, account statements, credit card sales slips, and invoices.

 

After you complete your response, please look at the Form 11652 to make sure you included all the necessary information.

If you need additional information about recordkeeping, see Publication 583, Starting a Business and Keeping Records.

Premium Tax Credit

If your notice lists the Premium Tax Credit (PTC), look at the Form 14950.pdf, Premium Tax Credit Verification. This form lists what document or documents you need to submit to prove you qualify for this credit.

You must have health insurance through an exchange or marketplace to claim this credit. If you didn't get your health insurance through an exchange or marketplace, you're not eligible for the PTC and you don't need to send any information to prove this credit.

If you bought your insurance through an exchange or marketplace, you must send copies of documents to support any entries you have on Part 4, Allocation of Policy Amounts, or Part 5, Alternative Calculation for Year of Marriage, on your Form 8962.pdf, Premium Tax Credit (PTC). We need a document with a list showing whom your plan covers. This list is on your insurance enrollment form or on a statement from your insurance provider. If you paid insurance premiums, submit the proof of payment. This proof can be paid receipts, credit card statements, bank statements showing who was paid, or copies of both sides of your cancelled checks.

You also must submit a copy of your Form 1095-A.pdf, Health Insurance Marketplace Statement. If you didn't receive this form or you didn't keep it, contact your plan administrator.